About FSCO

FSCO was established under the Financial Services Commission of Ontario Act, 1997 (FSCO Act) with a legislative mandate set out in the FSCO Act. 
FSCO's legislative mandate is to provide regulatory services that protect the public interest and enhance public confidence in the sectors it regulates.


FSCO regulates the insurance sector; pension plans; loan and trust companies; credit unions and caisses populaires; the mortgage brokering sector; co-operative corporations in Ontario; and service providers who invoice auto insurers for statutory accident benefits claims. FSCO is accountable to the Minister of Finance.

In order to support FSCO’s legislative mandate, the FSCO Act sets out a three-part structure for FSCO, which includes the Commission; the Superintendent of Financial Services and Staff; and the Financial Services Tribunal (Tribunal).

Statutes We Administer


Regulations We Administer


FSCO's Superintendent & Staff



Who We Regulate


As of March 31, 2019, FSCO regulated or registered:
  • 305 insurance companies
  • 6,950 pension plans
  • 79 credit unions and caisses populaires
  • 51 loan and trust corporations
  • 1,230 mortgage brokerages
  • 2,484 mortgage brokers
  • 12,072 mortgage agents
  • 210 mortgage administrators
  • 4,898 accident benefit service providers
  • 1,740 co-operative corporations
  • 56,450 insurance agents
  • 6,151 corporate insurance agencies
  • 2,155 insurance adjusters


​ ​