Life Licence Qualification Program (LLQP)

FSCO working with CISRO on updating the LLQP

FSCO has joined with Canada's other insurance regulators through the Canadian Insurance Services Regulatory Organizations (CISRO) [New Window] to streamline and update the entry level qualification program for new life insurance agents. This initiative involves replacing two old standards with one common standard to be used across Canada. The updated program is scheduled to be implemented in January 2016.
Developing one standard aligns with the Agreement on Internal Trade to promote labour mobility and support business across Canada.  The insurance industry is also continually asking regulators and Governments to develop common standards for business.  
The common standard will address problems in the quality of training currently provided to agents.  Some course providers do a poor job compared to others. This is demonstrated by the examination results their candidates achieve.  For example, in 2013, the percentage of each course provider’s students that passed the licensing examination on their first attempt ranged from 62 to 98 per cent.
FSCO is committed to keeping insurance agents and other industry stakeholders informed about this initiative.

Additional Information

For more information on the updating of the LLQP, please go to the CISRO website [New Window] 
To comment on the LLQP update, please address comments to:
Ron Fullan, Chair, CISRO
Insurance Councils of Saskatchewan
310 - 2631 - 28th Avenue
Regina SK S4S 6X3
Phone: 306-347-0862
Fax: 306-347-0525
CISRO may post submissions.


Course Providers for Students Writing the LLQP Exam after December 31, 2015

Course providers should note that the Superintendent’s approval of LLQP training courses intended for students writing exams prior to January 1, 2016 will expire on December 31, 2015. Providers who wish to offer courses for students writing the LLQP exam in Ontario as of January 1, 2016 must first apply to CISRO [New Window] for national accreditation, and then request FSCO approval to offer the training in Ontario. For more information, please refer to FSCO's web page on how to obtain approval to offer an LLQP training course in Ontario.

(Note: Approved Course providers for students writing the LLQP after January 1, 2016 will be listed here starting in Oct. 2015.)


Course Providers for Students Writing the LLQP Exam before January 1, 2016

The following list contains the names and links to the websites of each of the current LLQP course providers that has been approved to offer the LLQP course until December 31, 2015. These courses are provided commercially, and course fees are set by the individual course providers. Courses provided by different course providers are designed to cover the same material and are developed using the same curriculum, but they can take different formats, such as a classroom course, correspondence, or Internet. Agents are encouraged to research the various course options to ensure the course selected is appropriate for their needs.

The following insurance companies are also course providers: 


Additional Information




Life Licence Qualification Program (LLQP) Examination Rewrite Policy


This policy only applies for the current LLQP which is effective until December 31, 2015. The rewrite policy for the harmonized LLQP that goes into effect January 1, 2016 will be posted on this page in fall 2015.

Effective September 1, 2005, a candidate who is not successful after three attempts at a Life Licence Qualification Program (LLQP) examination is not eligible to write the same type of examination for six months after the date of his or her third unsuccessful attempt. Each subsequent attempt at passing the examination requires a further six month waiting period. 


To be eligible to attempt the LLQP examination, a candidate must have a valid certificate from an authorized course provider. If the certificate has expired and the candidate hasn’t passed the LLQP examination, he or she is required to obtain another certificate before being permitted to attempt the LLQP examination. Qualified candidates may make three attempts at passing each of the LLQP examinations (life or accident and sickness only) without being subject to the six month waiting period.