Message from Brian Mills, CEO and Superintendent of Financial Services: Changes to Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act you need to be aware of

This message is intended for credit unions, farm mutuals and Ontario-incorporated insurers.

 

 

I am reaching out to remind you of your legal obligations with regards to the fight against money laundering and terrorist financing. I also want to inform you of some important changes you need to be aware of.


Money laundering and terrorist financing are of growing international concern; those committing these crimes have become much more sophisticated in the way they move money. It is up to all of us to work together to stop our financial system from being used to support destructive activities such as terrorist attacks, weapons training and propaganda.

 

What you need to do

 

It is your responsibility to be familiar with the Federal Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act [New Window] (PCMLTFA). Among other obligations, you must meet the PCMLTFA requirements regarding: record keeping; verification of identity of designated persons; reporting suspicious and other prescribed financial transactions; and establishing and implementing an internal compliance regime.

 

In addition, under the Criminal Code of Canada, you must continue to submit a report to FSCO on the 15th day of every month, indicating whether you are in possession or control of any property owned or controlled by, or on behalf of, any entity that is named on Canada’s Anti-terrorism Financing list [New Window]. If you are in possession or control of such property, you must report the number of persons, contracts or accounts involved and the total value of the property.

 

Changes to the PCMLTFA

 

  • Effective June 17, 2017, you will be subject to new obligations related to politically exposed persons (domestic and foreign), and heads of international organizations. Read the Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada’s (FINTRAC’s) updated guidelines [New Window].
  • Effective June 30, 2017, you must use new methods for confirming the identity of clients. Read FINTRAC’s guideline [New Window] for more information.

FSCO also expects you to visit FINTRAC’s website regularly, in order to stay up-to-date on FINTRAC’s advisories [New Window].


 

For more information

 

Email FINTRAC at guidelines-lignesdirectrices@fintrac-canafe.gc.ca.

 

Brian Mills

Chief Executive Officer and Superintendent of Financial Services

 

June 1, 2017

Message de Brian Mills, directeur général et surintendant des services financiers : Changements apportés à la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes dont vous devez prendre connaissance

Ce message est destiné aux credit unions, aux mutuelles agricoles et aux assureurs constitués en personne morale en Ontario.

 

 

Je vous écris afin de vous rappeler vos obligations juridiques en ce qui a trait à la lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent et le financement d’activités terroristes. Je souhaite également vous informer de certains changements importants dont vous devez prendre connaissance.

 

Le blanchiment d’argent et le financement d’activités terroristes suscitent des inquiétudes croissantes à l’échelle internationale, car les responsables de ces crimes utilisent des moyens de plus en plus sophistiqués pour transférer des fonds. Il est de notre ressort à tous de collaborer afin d’empêcher notre système financier de soutenir des activités destructrices, comme des attaques terroristes, de l’entraînement aux armes ou de la propagande.

 

Ce que vous devez faire

 

Vous devez vous familiariser avec la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes [New Window] (LRPCFAT) du Canada. Parmi vos obligations, vous devez notamment vous conformer aux exigences de la LRPCFAT en ce qui a trait à la tenue des dossiers, à la vérification de l’identité des personnes désignées; à la déclaration de toute opération financière douteuse ou prescrite et à la mise en œuvre d’un programme de conformité interne.

 

En outre, en vertu du Code criminel du Canada, vous devez continuer de soumettre un rapport à la CFSO le 15e jour de chaque mois, dans lequel vous déclarez l’existence de biens en votre possession ou sous votre contrôle qui appartiennent à toute entité inscrite sur la liste de Lutte contre le financement d’activités terroristes [New Window] du Canada, ou qui sont contrôlés par cette entité ou en son nom. Si vous avez de tels biens en votre possession ou sous votre contrôle, vous devez déclarer le nombre de personnes, de contrats ou de comptes touchés, ainsi que la valeur totale des biens.

 

Changements à la LRPCFAT

 

Le CFSO vous incite à visiter régulièrement le site Web de CANAFE afin de vous tenir au fait des Avis de CANAFE [New Window].

 

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements

 

Contactez le CANAFE à l’adresse guidelines-lignesdirectrices@fintrac-canafe.gc.ca.

 

Brian Mills

Directeur général et surintendant des services financiers

 

Le 1er juin 2017