FSCO's AODA Report Card for 2016

The Ontario Public Service’s (OPS) promise to create a barrier-free and accessible Ontario by 2025 is further enhanced by the new 2017-2021 OPS Multi-Year Accessibility Plan [New Window]. The Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) strongly supports the OPS’s commitment and is dedicated to this journey towards accessibility.

 

FSCO’s mandate is to provide regulatory services that protect the public interest and enhance public confidence in the sectors it regulates. FSCO’s 2012-2018 Multi-Year Accessibility Plan outlines the policies and actions FSCO will implement to provide inclusive and accessible services to the public and all its stakeholders.

 

Since the launch of the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA) in 2005, a number of initiatives were implemented to ensure our mandate was fulfilled in a manner accessible to all Ontarians.

 

This Annual Report Card summarizes what FSCO has done as of December 31, 2016 to meet and exceed AODA requirements.

 

Customer Service

What is it?

FSCO is committed to treating all people in a way that allows them to maintain their dignity and independence and strives at all times to provide services and conduct its business by preventing and removing barriers to accessibility.

Why is it important?

FSCO believes that all consumers should have the same opportunity to access and benefit from services. 

What we did:

FSCO issued an internal guideline that established a process to be followed when feedback on the delivery of its services is received from members of the public. 

 

The guideline supports the OPS Accessible Customer Service Policy as it includes protocols for handling requests for accommodation and concerns about the accessibility of FSCO services.

 

FSCO remains dedicated to its Customer Service Policy, published on its public website, which outlines its commitment to provide customer service, and to conduct its business with both the public, and staff, in an accessible way that respects the dignity and independence of people with disabilities. This policy also outlines the training provided to staff including, but not limited to, interacting and communicating with persons who have disabilities, and/or who use service animals, support persons or assistive devices.

 

FSCO continues to use a monitoring tool for the procurement of goods and services related to requests for accommodation under the AODA from the public. Accessibility Leads throughout the organization are responsible for handling requests for accessible services for meetings or events hosted by FSCO. Information such as the type of service requested, associated costs and vendor information are tracked to identify the need for permanent or ongoing accessibility-related goods and services, and to assist Leads in handling similar requests.  

 

Information and Communications

What is it?

FSCO is committed to creating and providing information that is accessible to people with disabilities, and communicating with individuals in a way that takes into account their accessibility needs. 

Why is it  important?

FSCO is committed to service excellence as we carry out our regulatory responsibilities. Communicating and providing information that is accessible to all its employees and clients is fundamental to FSCO and the OPS as a service organization.   

What we did:

Accessible Formats and Communication Supports

Under section 12 of the Integrated Accessibility Standards (O. Reg. 191/11), by January 1, 2015, FSCO was required to:

 

  • upon request, provide or arrange for the provision of accessible formats and communication supports for persons with disabilities; and,
  • notify the public about the availability of accessible formats and communication supports.

FSCO has been fully compliant with the requirements of section 12 since 2011 and has developed and published service standards for responding to requests for accessible formats.

 

Accessible Websites and Web Content

FSCO continues to make new HTML webpages compliant with WCAG 2.0 AA standards. In 2016, 652 new accessible HTML pages were posted. Work is ongoing to bring historical web resources up to a similar standard. Where applicable, information in PDF format is being converted or primarily offered as HTML webpages to make it more accessible. In 2016, offering the Annual Report in HTML format was the major project in the PDF to HTML conversion effort.

 

FSCO is also continuing to take steps to enhance the accessibility and usability of its forms by providing them on FSCO’s website in accessible PDF and additional, user-friendly formats such as HTML. Currently, approximately 100 of FSCO’s forms are available online in an accessible format, meeting the WCAG 2.0 AA standards. FSCO is developing a plan to make all public facing forms AODA compliant by January 1, 2021.

 

Training

What is it?

FSCO is committed to providing all staff with training on Ontario’s accessibility laws.

Why is it important?

Through awareness and ongoing education, it is important to provide all staff with the necessary knowledge, skills and tools needed to identify and remove barriers to accessibility, and to meet or exceed compliance requirements.

What we did:

With the addition of the Disability Accommodation training course to FSCO’s learning curriculum in 2015, FSCO now provides more than eight mandatory training courses relating to accessibility. These courses cover a variety of topics including Integrated Accessibility Standards Regulation (IASR), Welcoming Customers with Disabilities, and Accessible Customer Service. These courses give staff and managers a better understanding of the accessibility requirements in Ontario so they can create a more accessible and inclusive workplace for employees with disabilities.

 

FSCO continues to make these training courses mandatory for all staff and managers and remains committed to monitoring activity to ensure compliance with training requirements. As of December 31, 2016, an average of 75% of staff and managers at FSCO completed all required AODA training courses.

 

We would like to hear from you

 

To support our success in meeting the needs of our clients, we welcome any comments and suggestions on FSCO’s services, including whether our services were accessible or if your accommodation needs were met.

 

Mail:
Financial Services Commission of Ontario
5160 Yonge Street, 16th Floor
P.O. Box 85
Toronto, Ontario, M2N 6L9

 

E-mail: QualityService@fsco.gov.on.ca
Phone: 416 226 7850
Toll Free: 1 800 668 0128
TTY: 1 800 387 0584

Fiche de rendement de la CSFO en vertu de la LAPHO pour 2016

L’engagement de la fonction publique de l’Ontario (FPO) de créer un Ontario accessible et exempt d’obstacle d’ici 2025 est renforcé par le nouveau Plan pluriannuel d’accessibilité de la FPO pour 2017–2021 [New Window]. La Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO) appuie fermement l’engagement de la FPO et se dévoue à ce cheminement vers l’accessibilité.

 

Le mandat de la CSFO consiste à fournir des services de réglementation afin de protéger l’intérêt du public et de favoriser la confiance du public dans les secteurs réglementés. Le Plan pluriannuel d’accessibilité de la CSFO de 2012-2018 décrit les politiques et mesures qui seront mises en œuvre par la CSFO pour offrir des services inclusifs et accessibles au public et à l’ensemble de ses parties intéressées.

 

Depuis l’adoption de la Loi sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario (LAPHO) en 2005, un certain nombre d’initiatives ont été mises en œuvre pour veiller à nous acquitter de notre mandat d’une manière accessible pour l’ensemble des Ontariennes et Ontariens.

 

La présente fiche de rendement annuelle résume les mesures prises par la CSFO en date du 31 décembre 2016 pour respecter les exigences de la LAPHO et les surpasser.

 

Service à la clientèle

Qu’est-ce que c’est?

La CSFO s’engage à traiter toute personne d’une manière qui lui permet de conserver sa dignité et son indépendance, et s’efforce en tout temps de fournir ses services et d’exercer ses activités d’une manière qui prévient et élimine les obstacles à l’accessibilité.

Pourquoi est-ce important?

La CSFO croit que tous les consommateurs devraient pouvoir accéder à ses services et en profiter. 

Qu’avons-nous fait?

La CSFO a publié une ligne directrice interne établissant une procédure à suivre lorsqu’elle reçoit des commentaires du public sur la prestation de ses services. 

 

La ligne directrice appuie la Politique d’accessibilité pour les services à la clientèle de la FPO puisqu’elle contient des protocoles sur le traitement des demandes d’accommodement et des préoccupations sur l’accessibilité des services de la CSFO.

 

La CSFO continue de mettre de l’avant sa politique sur le service à la clientèle, qui est publiée sur son site Web public et qui décrit son engagement à offrir son service à la clientèle et à exercer ses activités d’une manière accessible qui respecte la dignité et l’indépendance des personnes handicapées, qu’il s’agisse de membres de son personnel ou du public. La politique décrit également la formation donnée au personnel, notamment sur l’interaction et la communication avec des personnes handicapées et des personnes qui ont recours à un animal d’assistance, une personne de soutien ou des appareils fonctionnels.

 

La CSFO continue d’utiliser un outil de surveillance visant l’approvisionnement des biens et services pour donner suite à des demandes d’accommodement du public en vertu de la LAPHO. Les responsables des mesures d’accessibilité dans l’ensemble de l’organisation sont chargés du traitement des demandes de services accessibles pour les réunions et les événements organisés par la CSFO. L’information comme le type de service demandé, les coûts associés et les renseignements sur le fournisseur est suivie afin de déterminer si des biens et services liés à l’accessibilité sont nécessaires de manière permanente ou continue et pour aider les responsables à traiter les demandes similaires.  

 

Information et communication

Qu’est-ce que c’est?

La CSFO s’engage à créer et à fournir de l’information accessible aux personnes handicapées et à communiquer d’une manière qui tient compte des besoins des personnes en matière d’accessibilité. 

Pourquoi est-ce important?

La CSFO s’engage à offrir un service d’excellence en s’acquittant de ses responsabilités d’ordre réglementaire. La communication et la transmission d’information accessible à l’ensemble de ses employés et clients sont fondamentales pour la CSFO et la FPO à titre d’organisation de services.   

Qu’avons-nous fait?

Formats accessibles et aides à la communication

En vertu de l’article 12 des Normes d’accessibilité intégrées (Règl. de l’Ont. 191/11), la CSFO devait, au plus tard le 1er janvier 2015 :

 

  • fournir ou faire fournir à la personne handicapée qui le demande des formats accessibles et des aides à la communication;
  • informer le public de la disponibilité de formats accessibles et d’aides à la communication.

La CSFO se conforme entièrement aux exigences de l’article 12 depuis 2011 et elle a élaboré et publié des normes de service pour répondre aux demandes de formats accessibles.

Sites et contenu Web accessibles

La CSFO continue de créer de nouvelles pages Web en HTML accessibles selon les normes WCAG 2.0 AA. En 2016, 652 nouvelles pages HTML accessibles ont été publiées. Des travaux sont également en cours pour que les anciennes ressources Web respectent une norme similaire. Lorsque cela s’applique, l’information en format PDF est convertie ou offerte principalement dans des pages HTML pour la rendre plus accessible. En 2016, la présentation du rapport annuel en format HTML constituait la principale initiative de conversion des documents PDF en HTML.

 

La CSFO continue de prendre des mesures pour améliorer l’accessibilité la facilité d’utilisation de ses formulaires en les offrant sur son site Web en format PDF accessible et en d’autres formats conviviaux, comme le HTML. Actuellement, environ 100 des formulaires de la CSFO sont offerts en ligne dans un format accessible et répondent aux normes WCAG 2.0 A. La CSFO élabore actuellement un plan pour rendre tous les formulaires à l’intention du public conformes à la LAPHO d’ici le 1er janvier 2021.

 

Formation

Qu’est-ce que c’est?

La CSFO s’engage à fournir à tous les membres de son personnel de la formation sur les lois en matière d’accessibilité.

Pourquoi est-ce important?

Par la formation continue et la sensibilisation, il est important de fournir à l’ensemble du personnel les connaissances, les compétences et les outils leur permettant d’identifier et d’éliminer les obstacles à l’accessibilité ainsi que de répondre aux exigences en matière de conformité ou de les dépasser.

Qu’avons-nous fait?

Depuis l’ajout de la formation sur les accommodements à l’intention des personnes handicapées au programme des cours de la CSFO en 2015, la CSFO offre maintenant plus de huit formations obligatoires sur l’accessibilité. Ces cours portent sur divers sujets, notamment le règlement sur les normes d’accessibilité intégrées, l’accueil des clients handicapés et le service à la clientèle accessible. Ils permettent au personnel et aux gestionnaires de mieux comprendre les exigences en matière d’accessibilité en Ontario en vue de créer un milieu de travail plus accessible et plus inclusif pour les employés ayant un handicap.

 

Ces formations sont encore obligatoires pour tous les membres du personnel et les gestionnaires, et la CSFO continue de s’engager à assurer le respect des exigences de formation. En date du 31 décembre 2016, 75 % des membres du personnel et des gestionnaires en moyenne avaient suivi tous les cours obligatoires sur la LAPHO auprès de la CSFO.

 

Nous aimerions beaucoup vous lire

 

Pour appuyer nos efforts en vue de répondre aux besoins de nos clients, nous accueillons tout commentaire ou toute suggestion sur les services de la CSFO, y compris sur l’accessibilité de nos services ou le respect de vos besoins d’accommodement.

 

Par la poste :
Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario
5160, rue Yonge, 16e étage
Case postale 85
Toronto (Ontario) M2N 6L9


 

Courriel : QualityService@fsco.gov.on.ca
Téléphone : 416 226-7850
Numéro sans frais : 1 800 668-0128
ATS : 1 800 387-0584