Governance

FSCO is a regulatory agency of the Ministry of Finance that was established by the Financial Services Commission of Ontario Act, 1997 [New Window] (FSCO Act), with a mandate to provide regulatory services that protect the public interest and enhance public confidence in the regulated sectors.

 

Governance involves processes that permit the effective supervision and management of FSCO’s activities by senior management, the Commission, and the Minister of Finance.

 

A Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) [PDF Document] Size: 869 kb between the Minister of Finance, FSCO’s Chair, and the Superintendent of Financial Services/Chief Executive Officer (Superintendent) provides the foundation of FSCO’s governance. The MOU, which is updated every five years or more frequently as required, outlines the accountability framework between the Minister and FSCO, and establishes tools for governance and accountability. It also explains the roles, relationships, and mutual expectations of the Minister and FSCO.

 

As a regulatory agency, FSCO complies with the government’s Agency Establishment and Accountability Directive (AEAD). The AEAD sets out the process for establishing a new agency classified under the directive; the accountability framework governing agencies and ministries in the operation of agencies; and uses a risk-based approach in managing agency accountability. FSCO has a three-part structure, comprised of the:

 

The Commission has five members and each member is appointed for a fixed term by the Lieutenant Governor in Council. Appointments to the Commission are made in accordance with the guidelines established by Ontario’s Public Appointments Secretariat [New Window].

 

Together with the Superintendent, FSCO’s Commission is responsible for reviewing and approving key planning, and strategic and accountability documents including various internal documents, the Statement of Priorities, and the Annual Report.

 

The Superintendent administers and enforces the FSCO Act and all other Acts that confer powers on or assign duties to the Superintendent. All staff, who are public servants under the Public Service of Ontario Act, 2006 [New Window], report directly or indirectly to the Superintendent and perform FSCO's daily work. Under the direction of the Superintendent of Financial Services, FSCO has a number of internal committees that provide strategic leadership and oversee FSCO’s day-to-day activities.

 

FSCO’s Executive Committee provides strategic leadership and management to the organization and makes recommendations and decisions on organizational matters, including financial and human resource issues. The Corporate Management Committee leads and participates in strategic initiatives established by the Executive Committee and develops solutions to address policy and other matters identified by the Executive Committee. The Audit and Risk Committee oversees the quality of FSCO’s internal controls to ensure compliance with policies and procedures, risk management, accounting policies, and financial reporting.

 

The Financial Services Tribunal is an independent, adjudicative body that has exclusive jurisdiction to exercise powers conferred under the FSCO Act and other Acts that confer powers on or assign duties to the Tribunal.

 

Key Reporting Requirements

 

The Annual Financial Statements, Statement of Priorities, and Annual Report are publicly available and demonstrate how FSCO governs itself.

Financial Accountability

As an agency, FSCO is allocated an annual spending authority through the government resource planning process based on its organizational needs and government priorities. FSCO files quarterly reports with the government on its spending. The Office of the Auditor General of Ontario audits FSCO’s annual financial statements, as well as the annual financial statements of the Pension Benefits Guarantee Fund (PBGF) and the Motor Vehicle Accident Claims Fund (MVACF).

Statement of Priorities

No later than June 30 of each year, FSCO is required by the FSCO Act to deliver a Statement of Priorities to the Minister of Finance and publish it in The Ontario Gazette. The Statement of Priorities sets out FSCO’s strategic priorities and initiatives for the current fiscal year. The Statement also includes a report-back to stakeholders on key results from the previous year.

Annual Report

Also under the FSCO Act, FSCO must file an annual report with the Minister of Finance each year. It outlines FSCO’s activities to regulate insurance, pension plans, credit unions, caisses populaires, mortgage brokerages, co-operative corporations, and loan and trust companies in Ontario for the fiscal year. The financial statements of FSCO, the PBGF, and MVACF are included in the Annual Report.

 

Recovering FSCO's Costs

 

The majority of FSCO's costs are recovered from the regulated sectors through a combination of assessments and fees.

Gouvernance

 

La gouvernance sous-entend la mise en place de processus permettant une supervision et une gestion efficaces des activités de la CSFO par la haute direction, la Commission et le ministre des Finances.
 
Un protocole d’entente (PE) [PDF Document] entre le ministre des Finances, le président de la CSFO et le surintendant des services financiers/directeur général a permis d’établir les fondements de la gouvernance de la CSFO. Le protocole d’entente, qui est mis à jour tous les cinq ans ou plus fréquemment s’il y a lieu, décrit le cadre de responsabilisation entre le ministre et la CSFO, et établit les outils devant être utilisés aux fins de gouvernance et de responsabilisation. Il explique aussi les rôles, les relations ainsi que les attentes respectives du ministre et de la CSFO.
 
À titre d’organisme de réglementation, la CSFO se conforme à la Directive sur l’établissement et l’obligation de rendre compte des organismes du gouvernement. La directive décrit le processus d’établissement d’un nouvel organisme classifié en vertu de la directive, dresse le cadre de responsabilisation régissant l’exploitation des organismes par ces derniers et par les ministères, et fait appel à une approche axée sur les risques dans la gestion de l’obligation de rendre compte de l’organisme.
 
La structure de la CSFO se divise en trois entités :

 

La Commission est formée de cinq membres nommés par le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil pour une période déterminée.  Les nominations à la Commission sont effectuées conformément aux lignes directrices établies par le Secrétariat des nominations [New Window] de l'Ontario.

 

En collaboration avec le surintendant des services financiers, la Commission de la CSFO est chargée de la révision et de l'approbation des documents clés en matière de planification, de stratégie et de responsabilisation, y compris divers documents internes, l'énoncé des priorités et le rapport annuel.

 

Le surintendant des services financiers/directeur général applique la Loi sur la CSFO et toutes les autres lois qui lui confèrent des pouvoirs ou des fonctions.  Il exerce en outre les pouvoirs et les fonctions conférés par ces lois.  Tout le personnel, qui est composé de fonctionnaires nommés en vertu de la Loi de 2006 sur la fonction publique de l'Ontario [New Window], est sous la responsabilité directe ou indirecte du surintendant et effectue le travail quotidien de la CSFO.  Sous la direction du surintendant des services financiers, la CSFO dispose d'un certain nombre de comités internes qui offrent un leadership stratégique et surveillent les activités quotidiennes de la CSFO.

 

Le comité de direction de la CSFO joue un rôle en matière de leadership stratégique et de gestion pour l'organisation et formule des recommandations et des décisions sur les questions organisationnelles, notamment en ce qui concerne les questions touchant le domaine financier et les ressources humaines.  Le comité de gestion ministérielle dirige des initiatives stratégiques établies par le comité de direction et y participe, et développe des solutions en vue de régler les questions de politique et autres questions soulevées par le comité de direction.  Le comité de vérification et de gestion des risques surveille la qualité des contrôles internes de la CSFO mis en place pour garantir la conformité aux politiques et aux procédures, ainsi que pour surveiller la gestion du risque, les conventions comptables et les rapports financiers.

 

Le le Tribunal des services financiers est un organisme d'arbitrage indépendant qui a la juridiction exclusive d'exercer les pouvoirs que lui confère la Loi sur la CSFO ainsi que les pouvoirs et les fonctions que lui confèrent d'autres lois.

 

Principales exigences en matière de production de rapports

 

Les états financiers annuels, l'énoncé des priorités et le rapport annuel sont rendus publics et démontrent comment la CSFO assure sa gouvernance.

Responsabilisation en matière de finances

À titre d'organisme, la CSFO se voit chaque année accorder l'autorisation de dépenser dans le cadre du processus gouvernemental de planification des ressources, en fonction des priorités gouvernementales et des besoins organisationnels.  La CSFO présente au gouvernement des rapports trimestriels sur l'état de ses dépenses.  Le Bureau du vérificateur général de l'Ontario vérifie les états financiers annuels de la CSFO, ainsi que ceux du Fonds de garantie des prestations de retraite (FGPR) et du Fonds d'indemnisation des victimes d'accidents de véhicules automobiles (FIVAVA).

Énoncé des priorités

Au plus tard le 30 juin de chaque année, la CSFO est tenue, en vertu de la Loi sur la CSFO, de présenter un énoncé des priorités au ministère des Finances et de le publier dans la Gazette de l'Ontario.  L'énoncé des priorités décrit les initiatives et les priorités stratégiques de la CSFO pour l'exercice en cours.  Ce document comprend aussi à l'intention des parties intéressées un compte rendu des principaux résultats de l'exercice précédent.

Rapport annuel

En vertu de la Loi sur la CSFO, la CSFO est aussi tenue de déposer chaque année un rapport annuel devant le ministre des Finances.  Cette publication donne un aperçu des activités menées par la CSFO pour réglementer les compagnies d'assurance, les régimes de retraite, les credit unions, les caisses populaires, les maisons de courtage d'hypothèques, les sociétés coopératives et les sociétés de prêt et de fiducie en Ontario pendant l'exercice.  Le rapport annuel contient aussi les états financiers de la CSFO, du FGPR et du FIVAVA.

 

Recouvrement des coûts de la CSFO

 

La plupart des coûts de la CSFO sont recouvrés auprès des secteurs réglementés par l'application de cotisations ainsi que par l'imposition de droits.