Legal Student Program

 

 

 
The Ministry of the Attorney General Civil Law Division, Financial Services Commission of Ontario Branch (FSCO Branch) hires Second Year Summer Law Students and Articling Students in accordance with the Law Society of Upper Canada’s (LSUC) recruitment processes which set out specific timelines for applications. 

Please refer to the LSUC Recruitment Procedures [New Window] for more information.
 

Message from the Director

 
The Legal Services Branch of the Financial Services Commission of Ontario is a centre of legal excellence. We are responsible for delivering high-quality legal advice and services to the Superintendent of Financial Services on a broad range of regulatory and administrative law issues pertaining to the financial services sectors that the Superintendent regulates. Our branch is at the forefront of innovative legal policy development and regulatory enforcement in Ontario.
 
Our team includes over 30 staff consisting of lawyers, law students, law clerks, and administrative support employed by the Ministry of the Attorney General of Ontario. We pride ourselves on promoting a collegial and supportive workplace culture that is collaborative, respectful and professional. Our work environment is dynamic and features many interesting challenges given the ever-increasing complexity of our work, and the many demands that we face. We strive to deliver effective and thoughtful work products that offer practical and timely solutions.
 
We share the privilege and responsibility of working on very important legal issues that directly affect the regulated sectors and the public. As a branch, we are committed to serving the Superintendent in keeping with the best traditions of the Ministry of the Attorney General.
 
Michael Doi
Legal Director
 
 

What Our Students Do


Students will have the opportunity to gain experience with legal research and analysis, statutory interpretation, reviewing and drafting legal materials (i.e., opinions, agreements, pension plans, pleadings and other court documents, prosecution briefs, written submissions, etc.), litigation before courts and tribunals (e.g., Provincial Offences Act prosecutions, insurance defence litigation for the Motor Vehicle Accident Claims Fund, hearings before the Financial Services Tribunal, judicial reviews and other applications, appeals, etc.), assisting legal counsel in advising clients, and supporting various policy development initiatives.

Our articling students:

  • Have the opportunity to work both independently and with experienced counsel on a range of legal matters
  • Can expect exposure to diverse areas of law that will help to refine their skills and focus their interests
  • Are an integral part of our office and are given significant responsibility from the start of their time with us, including the opportunity to participate with counsel in all aspects of litigation, opinion writing and legal drafting
  • Attend meetings with counsel to learn about client interactions and the development of a file and attend court and tribunal hearings to watch senior counsel in action, particularly on files they have assisted on
  • Are assigned a designated articling principal to provide support and assistance throughout the articling term, including fostering relationships with other counsel
  • Have the opportunity to attend relevant educational programs in addition to MAG-wide articling student educational seminars, including educational programs presented by the Law Society of Upper Canada, the Canadian and Ontario Bar Associations, the Advocates' Society, and ALOC (Association of Law Officers of the Crown)
Our summer students:

  • Are provided with a stimulating experience in a collegial work environment
  • Like our articling students, are involved in all stages of our files
  • Are assigned a mentor to provide support, guidance and feedback
  • May apply to return to our office for their articles
 

Why Choose Us


  1. As the legal branch supporting an arm's length agency, FSCO Branch provides articling and summer law students with the opportunity to join a legal team practicing at the leading edge of public law. FSCO Branch is particularly suited for students looking for a practice focused on the regulation of financial services, including pension plans, insurance, health service providers for auto insurance, loan and trust companies, credit unions, caisses populaires, mortgage brokering and cooperative corporations.
  2. Whether you are interested in honing your skills through solicitors work or litigation, there is ample opportunity to do so by providing thought-provoking analysis and participating in court and enforcement-related tribunal proceedings with experienced FSCO counsel.
  3. Students play an integral role in our busy office. We are committed to providing students with the opportunity to participate in exciting and important public sector legal work and to make meaningful contributions to the office by joining committees and participating in MAG and FSCO educational programs.
  4. Our office maintains a collegial atmosphere in which students have the opportunity to thrive personally and professionally. Students receive a well-rounded and highly valued experience.
 
 
 

About Us

Litigators' Group

 
The Litigation Group consists of lawyers that specialize in financial sector enforcement and civil litigation.  Collectively, litigation counsel practicing with the Litigation Group have extensive experience dealing with complex financial litigation on a broad range of matters before various administrative tribunals and all levels of court. 
 
Enforcement litigation counsel regularly appear before the Financial Services Tribunal on enforcement and discipline matters, and regularly prosecute provincial offences cases before the Ontario Court of Justice.  They also deal with complex applications for judicial review and/or appeals that arise in enforcement matters, as well as applications for judicial review of FSCO motor vehicle accident benefit decisions.
 
Civil litigation counsel from the Litigation Group provide legal advice and insurance defence litigation services to the Superintendent of Financial Services and Minister of Finance in respect of the Motor Vehicle Accident Claims Fund, which provides compensation to persons injured in automobile accidents where there is no recourse to private automobile insurance.  These lawyers regularly argue cases before arbitrators and the courts, and have expertise defending complex insurance litigation matters. 
 
Pension litigation counsel appear on behalf of the Superintendent to address pension related issues before the Financial Services Tribunal and before the courts.  They also litigate complex insolvency matters before the Commercial List of the Superior Court of Justice under the Companies Creditors’ Arrangement Act (Canada) to address pension funding issues.

Solicitors' Group

 
The Solicitors’ Group is composed of lawyers who specialize in financial services and pension law and have a broad range of public and private sector legal experience.  The primary role of the Solicitors’ Group is to provide regulatory advice and legal services to the Superintendent and FSCO staff.  
 
FSCO solicitors work closely with FSCO staff to deliver a full range of legal services that includes: performing legal research; giving advice and drafting legal opinions; preparing agreements and legal documents such as contracts, MOUs, notices of intended decisions (pensions) and orders in council; reviewing/approving offering statements prepared by co-ops; preparing drafts of new and amending regulations and legislation; drafting appeal submissions in freedom of information matters; assisting in the policy development process; and delivering staff training. 
 
In addition to working with FSCO clients, FSCO solicitors also work on projects with lawyers and staff from the Ministry of Finance and the Ministry of the Attorney General, and with other provincial and federal financial services regulators.  FSCO solicitors play a key role in legislative and regulatory development and projects (e.g. pensions, mortgage broker and automobile insurance reform reviews).
 

Our Major Cases

 
In addition to regulatory proceedings and provincial prosecutions against parties such as insurance agents, mortgage brokers and health care providers, some of our major cases include:
 
  • Navistar Canada Inc.: FSCO counsel represented the Superintendent of Financial Services at a Financial Services Tribunal hearing, then a Divisional Court appeal of the Tribunal’s decision, and finally on a leave to appeal motion to the Court of Appeal.  The issues were the scope of a partial wind up pursuant to the Pension Benefits Act of Navistar’s pension plan following the plant closure in Chatham, Ontario, as well as certain special retirement benefits, credited service benefits, and the standard of review.  The Union Unifor was a party and supported the Superintendent’s position, which prevailed at the Tribunal, the Divisional Court, and in the Court of Appeal’s dismissal of the leave motion.
  • De los Santos: After a two day trial regarding a charge of assuming to act as an insurance agent without a licence, the defendant was convicted under the Insurance Act and sentenced to a fine of $4,000 plus restitution of $2,000 to the victim.  The defendant had sold an insurance policy that belonged to someone else to the victim.  The defendant raised a number of novel defences, including alleged domestic abuse and medical issues.
  • General Motors of Canada Limited v. Ontario (Superintendent Financial Services), 2014 ONFST 11 – clarified that an indexation benefit is a "pension benefit" within the meaning of the Pension Benefits Act
  • Sun Indalex Finance, LLC v. United Steelworkers, 2013 SCC 6 - a significant decision clarifying the scope of a deemed trust, that a debtor-in-possession financing charge made under the CCAA can trump a provincial law deemed trust, and that an employer-administrator has a fiduciary duty to address conflict of interests once it is aware of one
  • Gordyukova v. Certas Direct Insurance Company et al., 2012 ONCA 563 – the Court of Appeal affirmed that while an insured is free to choose his/her preferred forum for resolution of any particular accident benefits claim pursuant to section 281.1(1) of the Insurance Act, he/she is prohibited from re-electing a new mode of proceeding after the expiration of the two year limitation period
  • Boucher v. Stelco Inc., 2005 SCC 64, [2005] 3 SCR 279 - non-Ontario members of an Ontario-based pension plan could not contest the Superintendent’s decision with respect to the partial wind-up of a pension plan by means of a challenge in a Quebec court. This matter came to the Supreme Court via the Pension Commission of Ontario, the Divisional Court and the Ontario Court of Appeal
  • Co-operative Housing Federation of Canada v. Bridlewood Co-operative Inc., 2012 ONSC 5936 – whether a receiver has conducted a fair and transparent sale of a federal non-profit housing co-operative
  • Auto Insurance Prosecutions – Along with the Insurance Bureau of Canada, FSCO has worked closely with the various police services to prosecute offences under the Insurance Act involving various clinics and healthcare providers that were improperly invoicing insurance companies for services.
Please also visit the following FSCO Webpages for more information:
 

 

Contact Us


All applications submitted to FSCO Branch should be directed to:

LegalRecruitment@fsco.gov.on.ca

For general articling and summer law student program questions, please contact:

 
Scott Lamb
Counsel
Scott.Lamb@fsco.gov.on.ca
(416) 590-7024

Programme pour les étudiants en droit

 

Allez à la page du site Web du Ministère du procureur général  sur le Programme de stages et d'emplois d'été en droit pour les étudiants [New Window]
 
La division du droit civil du ministère du Procureur général, Direction des services juridiques de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (Direction de la CSFO) offre des stages et des emplois d'été en droit pour les étudiants de deuxième année conformément aux procédures de recrutement du Barreau du Haut-Canada (BHC) qui établit les dates limites pour soumettre sa candidature.

Pour plus d’informations, veuillez consulter les Procédures de recrutement du BHC [New Window].

 

Message du directeur

 
La Direction des services juridiques de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario est reconnue pour son excellence dans le domaine du droit. Il nous incombe d’offrir des services et des conseils juridiques de qualité sur un vaste éventail de questions en matière de réglementation et de droit administratif qui touchent les secteurs des services financiers que réglemente au surintendant. Nous sommes à l’avant-garde de l’élaboration de politiques juridiques et de l’application de règlements en Ontario.
 
Notre équipe, composée d’avocats, de stagiaires en droit, d’adjoints juridiques et d’agents de soutien administratif, compte plus d’une trentaine d’employés au service du ministère du Procureur général de l’Ontario. Nous sommes fiers de promouvoir une culture du milieu de travail qui est axée sur la collaboration, le respect et le professionnalisme. Notre milieu de travail, dynamique, offre de nombreux défis stimulants en raison de la complexité croissante de notre mission et des multiples demandes auxquelles nous répondons. Nous nous efforçons d’offrir des produits et services efficaces qui reposent sur des solutions concrètes et adaptées aux besoins.
 
Nous partageons le privilège et la responsabilité de contribuer à l’avancement de très importants enjeux juridiques qui ont une incidence directe sur les secteurs réglementés et le public. En tant que succursale nous sommes engagés à servir au surintendant dans la plus pure tradition instaurée au ministère du Procureur général.
 
Michael Doi
Directeur des services juridiques
 

Ce que font les étudiants


Les élèves auront l'occasion d'acquérir de l'expérience en analyse et recherche juridiques, interprétation des lois, révision et ébauche de documents juridiques (p. ex. opinions, ententes, régimes de retraite, plaidoiries et autres documents de la cour,  dossiers de poursuites judiciaires, observations écrites, etc.), litiges devant les cours et tribunaux (p. ex., poursuites liées à la Loi sur les infractions provinciales, défense de litiges en matière d'assurance pour le Fonds d'indemnisation des victimes d'accidents de véhicules automobiles, audiences devant le Tribunal des services financiers, examens judiciaires et autres demandes, appels, etc.) en aidant les avocats à conseiller leurs clients, et en participant à diverses initiatives d'élaboration de politiques.

Nos étudiants stagiaires :

  • ont la chance de travailler à la fois de manière indépendante et en équipe, avec des avocats d'expérience dans un éventail de dossiers juridiques;
  • peuvent s'attendre à intervenir dans divers domaines du droit, à perfectionner leurs compétences et à préciser leurs intérêts;
  • font partie intégrante de notre division et se voient attribuer d'importantes responsabilités dès le début de leur stage auprès de nous, y compris la participation, avec les avocats, à tous les aspects du règlement des litiges ainsi que de la rédaction d'avis et de textes juridiques;
  • assistent à des réunions avec les avocats pour s'instruire au sujet des interactions avec les clients et de la préparation d'un dossier, ainsi qu'à des audiences devant des tribunaux pour voir des avocats chevronnés en action, plus particulièrement dans les affaires auxquelles ils ont travaillé;
  • sont jumelés avec un directeur de stage particulier, qui les appuiera et les aidera tout au long du stage, y compris pour l'établissement de liens avec d'autres avocats;
  • ont la possibilité de participer à des programmes éducatifs pertinents, outre les séminaires d'études destinés aux stagiaires de l'ensemble du ministère du Procureur général, y compris les programmes proposés par le Barreau du Haut-Canada, l'Association du Barreau canadien, l'Association du Barreau de l'Ontario, l'Advocates Society et l'Association des avocats de la Couronne.
Nos étudiants occupant un emploi d'été :

  • ont la chance de vivre une expérience stimulante dans un milieu de travail convivial;
  • participent à toutes les étapes des dossiers que nous préparons, à l'instar de nos étudiants stagiaires;
  • sont jumelés avec un mentor, qui les appuiera, les guidera et leur fournira une rétroaction;
  • peuvent poser leur candidature dans le cadre d'un stage pour revenir travailler à la DSJ.

  

Pourquoi choisir notre Bureau


  1. En tant que direction des services juridiques qui appuie un organisme indépendant, la Direction des services juridiques de la CSFO offre aux étudiants en droit stagiaires ou occupant un emploi d'été la chance de se joindre à une équipe de professionnels juridiques à l'avant-garde du droit public. La direction des services juridiques de la CSFO offre une expérience qui conviendra particulièrement aux étudiantes et étudiants qui souhaitent se spécialiser dans une pratique de réglementation axée sur les services financiers, notamment les régimes de retraite, l'assurance, les fournisseurs de services de santé pour l'assurance automobile, les sociétés de prêt et de fiducie, les credit unions, les caisses populaires, le courtage hypothécaire et les sociétés coopératives.
  2. Vous aurez amplement l'occasion de parfaire vos compétences en ce qui a trait au règlement de litiges ou au travail de conseillers juridiques en général, si tel est votre souhait, en vous livrant à des analyses percutantes et en assistant ou en participant à des procédures judiciaires ou administratives avec des avocats chevronnés de la CSFO.
  3. Les étudiants sont appelés à jouer un rôle de premier plan au sein de notre bureau constamment occupé. Nous nous engageons à offrir aux étudiants la possibilité de prendre part à d'importants et stimulants dossiers juridiques dans le secteur public, et à apporter des contributions utiles à notre division en devenant membres de comités et en participant aux programmes éducatifs du MPG et de la CSFO.
  4. Notre division veille au maintien d'un climat convivial, propice à la réussite des étudiants sur les plans personnel et professionnel. Nos étudiants bénéficient d'une expérience de qualité et bien équilibrée.
 
 

Nos avocats plaidants et nos conseillers juridiques

Le Groupe des avocats plaidants

Le Groupe des avocats plaidants de la Direction des services juridiques (DSJ) de la CSFO se compose d’avocats qui se spécialisent dans le contentieux des affaires civiles et l’application des lois dans le secteur financier. Les avocats plaidants qui pratiquent le droit au sein de cette équipe détiennent une vaste expérience du traitement de litiges financiers sur un vaste éventail de questions devant des tribunaux de tous les niveaux, y compris divers tribunaux administratifs.
 
Experts de l’application des lois, ces avocats conduisent régulièrement des litiges devant le Tribunal des services financiers dans des affaires entraînant des mesures de discipline et d’exécution, en plus d’intenter des poursuites pour des infractions provinciales devant la Cour de justice de l’Ontario. Ils doivent également composer avec de complexes demandes de révision judiciaire ou les appels que soulèvent des questions d’application, ou encore des demandes de révision judiciaire touchant des décisions de la CSFO sur l’indemnisation des victimes d’accidents de véhicules automobiles.
 
Les avocats œuvrant dans le domaine du contentieux des affaires civiles, au sein du Groupe des avocats plaidants, fournissent des conseils juridiques et des services de défense lors de litiges en matière d’assurance au surintendant des services financiers et au ministre des Finances en ce qui a trait au Fonds d’indemnisation des victimes d’accidents de véhicules automobiles, qui prévoit l’indemnisation des personnes blessées dans des accidents de la route en l’absence de recours à l’assurance-automobile privée. Ces avocats, qui plaident régulièrement des causes devant des arbitres et des tribunaux, ont une expertise dans la défense de litiges en matière d’assurance.
 
Les avocats spécialisés dans les litiges touchant les régimes de retraite comparaissent devant le Tribunal des services financiers ou d’autres tribunaux au nom du surintendant. Ils plaident également dans de complexes dossiers d’insolvabilité devant la Cour supérieure de justice (rôle commercial) en vertu de la Loi sur les arrangements avec les créanciers des compagnies (Canada), notamment pour des problèmes de financement des régimes de retraite.

Le Groupe des conseillers juridiques

Le Groupe des conseillers juridiques est composé d’avocats se spécialisant dans les services financiers et les lois sur les régimes de retraite. Ces avocats possèdent une vaste expérience juridique dans les secteurs public et privé. Le principal rôle du Groupe des conseillers juridiques est de fournir des conseils en matière de réglementation ainsi que des services juridiques au surintendant et au personnel de la CSFO. 
 
Les conseillers juridiques de la CSFO travaillent en étroite collaboration avec le personnel de la CSFO pour : offrir une gamme complète de services juridiques, entre autres des services de recherche, de consultation et de préparation d’avis juridiques; préparer des ententes et des documents légaux comme des contrats, des protocoles d’entente, des avis d’intention de prendre une décision (régimes de retraite) et des décrets; examiner et approuver des notes d’information et prospectus préparés par des coopératives; rédiger des versions nouvelles ou modifiées de règlements et de lois; rédiger des mémoires d’appel dans des affaires touchant l’accès à l’information; contribuer au processus d’élaboration de politiques; fournir des formations au personnel.
 
En plus de travailler avec les clients de la CSFO, les conseillers juridiques collaborent à des projets avec des avocats et des employés des ministères des Finances et du Procureur général, ainsi qu’avec d’autres organismes de réglementation des services provinciaux et fédéraux. Les conseillers juridiques de la CSFO jouent un rôle de premier plan dans l’élaboration de lois et de règlements de même que dans la mise en œuvre de projets (projets touchant les régimes de retraite et les courtiers en hypothèques, examens relatifs à la réforme de l’assurance-automobile, etc.). 
 
 

Nos affaires importantes

 
Outre les instances de réglementation et les poursuites provinciales contre des agents d'assurance, des agents en hypothèques et des fournisseurs de soins de santé, notamment, nous intervenons dans des affaires de grande envergure, comme par exemple :
 
  • Navistar Canada Inc. : L’avocat de la CSFO a représenté le surintendant des services financiers dans le cadre d’une audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers, puis lors d’un appel de la décision devant la Cour divisionnaire et, enfin, dans le cadre d’une motion en autorisation d'interjeter appel devant la Cour d’appel. Les questions en litige concernaient la portée de la liquidation partielle conformément à la Loi sur les régimes de retraite du régime de retraite de Navistar suite à la fermeture de l’usine à Chatham (Ontario), ainsi que certaines prestations de retraite spéciales, le service décompté et la norme de contrôle judiciaire. Le syndicat Unifor était partie à l’instance et appuyait la position du surintendant soutenue devant le Tribunal, la Cour divisionnaire et dans le cadre de la demande d’autorisation d’interjeter appel à la Cour d’appel qui a été rejetée.
  • De los Santos : Après un procès de deux jours portant sur des accusations pour avoir prétendu être un agent d'assurance non titulaire d'un permis, le défendeur a été reconnu coupable en vertu de la Loi sur les assurances et condamné à verser une amende de 4 000 $ en plus de restituer 2 000 $ à la victime. Le défendeur avait vendu à la victime une police d'assurance qui appartenait à quelqu'un d'autre. Le défendeur a invoqué des défenses inhabituelles, y compris violence familiale présumée et problèmes de santé.
  • General Motors of Canada Limited c. Ontario (Superintendent Financial Services), 2014 ONFST 11 – La décision a clarifié le fait qu'une indemnité d'indexation constituait une « prestation de retraite » au sens de la Loi sur les régimes de retraite.
  • Sun Indalex Finance, LLC c. United Steelworkers, 2013 SCC 6 - Cette décision importante a précisé la portée d'une fiducie réputée, le fait que la constitution de sûretés pour financer le débiteur demeuré en possession des biens en vertu de la LACC peut l'emporter sur une fiducie réputée en vertu du droit provincial et qu'un employeur-administrateur a l'obligation fiduciaire de régler un conflit d'intérêts dès qu'il en a connaissance. 
  • Gordyukova c. Certas Direct Insurance Company et al., 2012 ONCA 563 – La Cour d'appel a affirmé que même si une personne assurée pouvait choisir le lieu du règlement d'une demande d'indemnités d'accident en vertu du paragraphe 281.1 (1) de la Loi sur les assurances, elle n'a pas le droit de choisir un autre mode de procédure après l'expiration du délai de prescription de deux ans. 
  • Boucher c. Stelco Inc., 2005 CSC 64, [2005] 3 RCS 279 - Les participants non-Ontariens d'un régime de retraite basé en Ontario ne peuvent pas contester la décision du surintendant relative à la liquidation partielle d'un régime de retraite au moyen d'une contestation devant un tribunal du Québec. Cette affaire a été portée devant la Cour suprême par le biais de la Commission des régimes de retraite de l'Ontario, de la Cour divisionnaire et de la Cour d'appel de l'Ontario.
  • Co-operative Housing Federation of Canada c. Bridlewood Co-operative Inc., 2012 ONSC 5936 – Tranche la question de savoir si un séquestre a exécuté une vente juste et transparente d'une coopérative de logement sans but lucratif relevant du droit fédéral.
  • Poursuites en matière d'assurance-automobile – Aux côtés du Bureau d'assurance du Canada, la CSFO a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec divers services de police pour poursuivre des infractions en vertu de la Loi sur les assurances mettant en jeu diverses cliniques et fournisseurs de soins de santé qui facturaient incorrectement des compagnies d'assurance pour des services rendus.
Prière de consulter les sites Web de la CSFO pour en savoir plus :
 

 

Pour nous joindre


Toutes les demandes soumises à la direction des services juridiques de la CSFO doivent être envoyées à :
LegalRecruitment@fsco.gov.on.ca

Pour toute question sur les programmes de stages en droit et d'emplois d'été en droit, veuillez communiquer avec :

Scott Lamb
Avocat
Scott.Lamb@fsco.gov.on.ca
416 590-7024

 

Allez à la page du site Web du Ministère du procureur général sur le Programme de stages et d'emplois d'été en droit pour les étudiants [New Window]