Annual Report 2015-2016

Table of Contents

Message from the Chair and the Chief Executive Officer 

 
We are pleased to present the 2015-2016 annual report of the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO), which reports on FSCO’s activities over the 12 months ending March 31, 2016.
 
People across Ontario depend on FSCO to effectively regulate the sectors we oversee. Families and businesses spend $45 billion a year on insurance to help manage risk. Pension plans hold over $574 billion in assets to provide for pension benefits payments for more than four million beneficiaries, including retirees. Millions of Ontarians receive savings, loans and other financial services through deposit-taking institutions; credit unions and caisses populaires alone hold assets totalling $47.6 billion. Across the province, Ontarians purchase properties with the support of licensed mortgage agents, brokers and brokerages. The more than 76,000 individuals and corporations FSCO licenses across these sectors form part of the engine of economic growth and financial stability in Ontario and nationally.

Assessing the Environment

The financial services sector is rapidly evolving in the face of significant disruptors, adding complexity and new risks. New and less traditional market entrants and products are altering market dynamics in response to changing financial technologies and consumer needs.
 
Since the 2008 financial crisis caused equity market values to fall, an extended period of low interest rates has reduced investment returns well below historic levels. This has had a significant impact on the value of pension assets and insurance company funds. Tightened rules for federal mortgage lending across Canada have also led more Ontarians to seek out non-traditional mortgage providers. In response, consumers and pension plan beneficiaries are expecting more from their financial services intermediaries and the regulators who protect their interests and ensure market  integrity.

 

FSCO’s strategic priorities are informed by the need for effective and integrated regulatory frameworks that foster a strong financial services sector while protecting the public interest; markets are more interconnected, with fewer distinctions between participants who operate across multi-product lines. This need is compounded by the increase in multi-jurisdictional entities, product innovation and the trend toward market consolidation.

 

We apply a risk-based approach to our work and remain committed to continually reviewing our systems and processes to ensure Ontario has a strong, flexible and integrated regulator that can keep pace with change, adapt to the environment, embrace modernization and identify and address emerging risks.

Reviewing FSCO’s Mandate

In fiscal 2015-16, the Ontario Minister of Finance appointed an Expert Advisory Panel to review the mandates of FSCO, the Financial Services Tribunal (FST) and the Deposit Insurance Corporation of Ontario (DICO), to modernize the regulation of financial services and pension plans while increasing accountability. The panel undertook consultations and reporting over the course of the fiscal year, and is in the process of completing its final report. FSCO continues to make priority-driven decisions to strengthen  our  regulatory  capabilities.

Implementing Reform

In the 2015 Ontario Budget, the government announced auto insurance reforms to strengthen consumer protection, improve affordability, and give Ontario consumers more choice when buying coverage to suit their needs. FSCO supported the Ministry of Finance with the development of reforms and worked with industry partners to revise 23 claims and policy forms. FSCO also communicated with consumers to aid in their understanding of the auto insurance product changes that will be implemented June 1, 2016.

 

As a part of these reforms, FSCO also prepared for the transition of the Automobile Insurance Dispute Resolution Services from FSCO to the Ministry of the Attorney General’s Licence Appeal Tribunal as of April 1, 2016. FSCO will continue to complete mediation, neutral evaluation and arbitration for applications received before March 31, 2016. More information on the transition appears later in this report.

Embracing Innovation

FSCO has partnered with industry to find regulatory approaches that support financial services product and service innovations while protecting consumer interests. FSCO has continued to work with insurers to monitor and improve conditionally approved usage-based auto insurance (UBI) programs while they gain statistically relevant data and experience. These programs give consumers a new tool to reduce their auto insurance cost, as driving patterns can directly influence their rates. As of March 2016, FSCO has approved usage-based auto insurance programs for 17 insurers representing 56% of the Ontario private passenger auto market.
 
As the sharing economy continues to grow in Ontario, ridesharing services have presented new challenges. The 2016 Ontario Budget noted, “there continues to be a significant insurance coverage gap for thousands of Ontarians driving and using ride-sharing services every day.”
 
FSCO is proactively working with the insurance industry and other groups to cover this gap in consumer and driver protection. One ridesharing insurance product has been approved on an interim basis, and work has begun to explore a flexible approach to approve others.

Regulating Service Providers

FSCO completed its first full fiscal year licensing health service providers that provide medical and rehabilitation services to injured auto accident benefit claimants. While licensing is voluntary, adoption rates have been high – FSCO has already issued more than 4,300 licences, and 99% of all billings for these expenses occur through licensed health service providers.
 
The first year of licensing was an opportunity for FSCO to engage and educate health service providers about their obligations under the law. FSCO completed over 600 examinations in the sector, and is building relationships with health services associations, enhancing awareness of emerging issues in the sector, and working to ensure service providers fully understand FSCO’s compliance expectations. Going forward, FSCO will shift its focus from activities aimed at building awareness of regulatory requirements  to  examination-based compliance activities.

Enhancing Market Intelligence

FSCO collects market intelligence from entities in the sectors it regulates by working with industry partners through advisory committees, information returns, on-site examinations and inquiries to identify changes that may   be affecting consumers and pension plan beneficiaries and may require greater regulatory focus.
 
FSCO also continues to pursue information-sharing agreements with industry organizations and other regulators. In March 2016, FSCO signed an agreement with the Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada (IIROC) through which the regulators will share   the decisions and sanctions of their respective disciplinary processes.

Strengthening Pension Regulation

In fiscal 2015-16, FSCO strengthened pension regulation capacity, shared information with pension plan administrators on regulatory changes and their impact,  and educated Ontarians on the importance of planning for retirement.
 
FSCO supported the Ministry of Finance in its development of new regulations under the Pension Benefits Act. FSCO also provided data on the pension sector to the Ontario Retirement Pension Plan Implementation Secretariat and informed pension plan administrators about key legislative and  regulatory  changes,  including  multi-jurisdictional pension plans, asset transfers and solvency funding relief. As well, FSCO launched a series of educational videos on its website to help Ontarians prepare for and make informed decisions about financing their retirement.

Recommendations of the Auditor General’s Report

FSCO made progress in 2015-16 on commitments to strengthen its regulatory oversight in response to recommendations in the 2014 Annual Report of the Office of the Auditor General of Ontario (OAGO).
 
In 2015, FSCO launched a mandatory Information Return  for co-operatives, designed to obtain and compile data on the sector in Ontario to support policy-making in this area. FSCO also upgraded its online licensing system to make it easier for agents to comply with errors and omissions (E&O) requirements in the Insurance Act.
 
In addition, FSCO strengthened procedures around delinquent pension filings, revised its pension examination processes, and increased the number and scope of examinations of defined contribution pension plans. FSCO’s quarterly estimates of the overall funded status of defined benefit pension plans also give plan members a benchmark against which they can measure the performance of their own pension plan.

Fostering National Regulatory Coordination

By working collaboratively with other regulatory bodies across the country, FSCO strives to play a leadership role in the development of national regulatory standards.
 
This year, FSCO and insurance regulators across Canada implemented a streamlined and updated entry-level qualification program for new life insurance agents and new accident and sickness insurance agents. The updated Life Licence Qualification Program (LLQP) aligns provincial educational standards with one harmonized standard.
 
The Canadian Insurance Services Regulatory Organization (CISRO) led the program development, supported by members of the Canadian Council of Insurance Regulators (CCIR), as part of a coordinated national approach to regulation. All new life insurance agents in Canada will now be measured against one common proficiency standard, which sets a minimum level of understanding for life agents in each area in which their licence allows them to operate, supporting FSCO’s efforts to protect the public interest.
 
FSCO also led research and analysis on regulatory requirements governing mortgage broker activities in other countries to better understand practices related to product suitability and identify potential consumer protection gaps. As well, FSCO supported the Mortgage Broker Regulators’ Council of Canada (MBRCC) to conduct a survey to identify brokerage practices in certain MBRCC member jurisdictions. MBRCC used the survey results to develop consumer education materials that describe what processes and practices they can expect from a mortgage brokerage.
 
Through the Canadian Association of Pension Supervisory Authorities (CAPSA), FSCO and pension regulators across Canada began work to develop a new inter-governmental agreement for the regulation of pension plans that operate in multiple Canadian jurisdictions. FSCO also actively contributed to delivering initiatives undertaken by other national organizations, including the General Insurance Statistical Agency  (GISA).

Serving the Best Interests of Ontarians

FSCO works to create opportunities to get input from Ontario consumers and pension plan beneficiaries as well as industry stakeholders on key issues affecting the sectors we regulate. This helps FSCO better understand changes affecting the marketplace, identify risks and deliver onits mandate to protect the public interest and enhance confidence in the sectors it regulates.its mandate to protect the public interest and enhance confidence in the sectors it regulates.
 
While this report reflects only a glimpse of the scope and depth of the work FSCO does to serve Ontarians, it highlights the strategic guidance of FSCO’s executive committee, the solid leadership of management, and the expertise and dedication of employees who deliver FSCO’s regulatory  services.

 

Florence A. Holden, Chair, Financial Services Commission of Ontario, Chair, Financial Services Tribunal

Florence A. Holden
Chair,
Financial Services Commission of Ontario


Chair, Financial Services Tribunal

Brian Mills,Chief Executive Officer and Superintendent of Financial Services, Financial Services Commission of Ontario 

Brian Mills
Chief Executive Officer and
Superintendent of Financial Services


Financial Services Commission of Ontario

 

Return to top

Rapport annuel 2015-2016

Table des matières

 

Message de la présidente et du président-directeur général

 

Nous sommes heureux de présenter le rapport 2015- 2016 de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO), qui fait état des activités qu’elle a menées à bien durant la période de 12 mois close le 31 mars 2016.

 

La population de l’Ontario dépend de la CSFO pour qu’elle réglemente efficacement les secteurs dont nous avons la compétence. Les familles et entreprises paient 45 milliards de dollars par année en assurance dans le but de gérer leurs risques. Les régimes de retraite détiennent des actifs d’une valeur de plus de 574 millions de dollars en vue du versement des prestations de retraite à plus de quatre millions de bénéficiaires, y compris des retraités. Des millions d’Ontariens reçoivent des services financiers, notamment pour l’épargne et les prêts, fournis par des établissements qui acceptent des dépôts. À elles seules, les caisses populaires et les credit unions détiennent des actifs évalués à 47,6 milliards de dollars. Partout dans la province, des Ontariens achètent des propriétés avec l’aide d’agents et de courtiers en hypothèques, et de maisons de courtage d’hypothèques titulaires d’un permis. Les quelques 76 000 particuliers et sociétés qui détiennent un permis de la CSFO dans l’un de ces secteurs font partie du moteur de la croissance économique et de la stabilité financière à l’échelle de l’Ontario et du pays.

Évaluer le contexte

Le secteur des services financiers évolue rapidement en raison de facteurs perturbateurs importants, ce qui ajoute à la complexité de la situation et amplifie les risques. De nouveaux venus et nouveaux produits moins classiques sur le marché modifient la dynamique du marché en réponse à l’évolution des technologies et des besoins des consommateurs en matière de finances.

 

Compte tenu du repli considérable des valorisations boursières qu’a entraîné la crise financière de 2008, la période prolongée de faiblesse des taux d’intérêt qui s’est ensuivie a fait chuter le rendement des placements bien en deçà des niveaux passés. Cela a eu une incidence considérable sur la valeur des actifs des régimes de retraite et des fonds des compagnies d’assurance. Le resserrement des règles fédérales relatives aux prêts hypothécaires au Canada a poussé davantage d’Ontariens à chercher des fournisseurs de prêts hypothécaires non traditionnels. Par conséquent, les consommateurs et les bénéficiaires de régimes de retraite se montrent plus exigeants envers les intermédiaires et les organismes de réglementation qui protègent leurs intérêts et assurent l’intégrité du marché. Les priorités stratégiques de la CSFO se fondent sur la nécessité d’adopter un cadre de réglementation efficace et intégré favorisant la robustesse du secteur des services financiers tout en protégeant l’intérêt du public; les marchés sont davantage interreliés et il existe moins de différences entre les participants. Ce besoin est amplifié par la hausse du nombre d’entités multiterritoriales, l’innovation dans les produits et la tendance vers la consolidation du marché.

 

Nous avons recours à une approche axée sur les risques dans notre travail et demeurons engagés à examiner nos systèmes et processus de façon continue afin de veiller à ce que l’Ontario dispose d’un organisme de réglementation fort, souple et intégré qui peut suivre les changements, s’adapter à l’environnement, accepter la modernisation et identifier les risques émergents et s’en occuper.

Examiner le mandat de la CSFO

Au cours de l’exercice 2015-2016, le ministre des Finances de l’Ontario a nommé un comité chargé d’examiner les mandats de la CSFO, du Tribunal des services financiers (le TSF) et de la Société ontarienne d’assurance-dépôts (SOAD), dans le but de moderniser la réglementation visant les services financiers et les régimes de retraite tout en augmentant la responsabilisation. Le comité a mené des consultations et élaboré des rapports au cours de l’exercice. Il présentera sous peu son rapport final. La CSFO continue de prendre des décisions axées sur les priorités afin de renforcer ses capacités en matière de réglementation.

Mettre en oeuvre la réforme

Dans le budget de l’Ontario de 2015, le gouvernement a annoncé des réformes de l’assurance-automobile pour renforcer la protection des consommateurs, améliorer l’accessibilité et donner aux consommateurs de l’Ontario davantage de choix lorsqu’ils cherchent une couverture répondant à leurs besoins. La CSFO a aidé le ministre des Finances à élaborer des réformes et, en collaboration avec des partenaires du secteur, a révisé 23 formulaires de demande et de police. La CSFO a également communiqué avec les consommateurs pour les aider à comprendre les changements importants qui seront apportés aux produits d’assurance-automobile le 1er juin 2016.

 

Dans le cadre de ces réformes, la CSFO a également préparé le transfert des services de résolution des différends en matière d’assurance-automobile de la CSFO au Tribunal d’appel en matière de permis du ministère du Procureur général, au 1er avril 2016. La CSFO continue d’effectuer la médiation, l’évaluation neutre et l’arbitrage pour les demandes reçues avant le 31 mars 2016. On trouvera de plus amples renseignements sur la transition plus loin dans le présent rapport.

Accueillir l’innovation

La CSFO s’est associée avec le secteur pour trouver des approches réglementaires appuyant l’innovation relative aux produits et services en matière de services financiers tout en protégeant les intérêts des consommateurs.

 

La CSFO a continué de travailler avec les assureurs afin de surveiller et d’améliorer les programmes d’assuranceautomobile fondés sur l’usage (AAU) approuvés de façon conditionnelle alors qu’ils accumulent des données et de l’expérience aux fins des statistiques. Ces programmes offrent aux consommateurs un nouvel outil permettant de réduire leurs coûts d’assurance-automobile, puisque leurs habitudes de conduite peuvent avoir une influence directe sur leurs primes. Pour mars 2016, la CSFO a approuvé les programmes d’assurance-automobile fondés sur l’usage de 17 assureurs, ce qui représente environ 56 % du marché de l’assurance-automobile de tourisme de l’Ontario.

 

Avec la croissance de l’économie de partage en Ontario, les services de covoiturage posent de nouveaux défis. Le budget 2016 de l’Ontario mentionnait ce qui suit : « le fait est que des milliers d’Ontariennes et d’Ontariens manquent de couverture adéquate quand ils conduisent ou utilisent quotidiennement les services de partage de voiture1 ».

 

La CSFO travaille activement avec le secteur de l’assurance et d’autres groupes pour corriger cette lacune dans la protection des consommateurs et des conducteurs. Nous avons approuvé un produit d’assurance visant les services de covoiturage et avons commencé à explorer une approche souple pour en approuver d’autres.

Réglementer les fournisseurs de services

La CSFO a terminé son premier exercice complet de délivrance de permis aux fournisseurs de services de santé offrant des services médicaux et de réadaptation aux demandeurs d’indemnités d’assurance-automobile ayant subi des blessures. Bien que l’agrément ne soit pas obligatoire, le taux d’adoption a été élevé : la CSFO a déjà délivré plus de 4 300 permis et 99 % des frais engagés à cette fin l’ont été par des fournisseurs de soins de santé qui détiennent un permis.

 

La première année de délivrance de permis constituait l’occasion pour la CSFO de communiquer avec les fournisseurs de services de santé et pour les informer de leurs obligations en vertu de la loi. La CSFO a effectué plus de 600 examens dans le secteur et elle cultive des relations avec les associations de services de santé, en les sensibilisant aux problèmes émergents du secteur et en tentant de s’assurer que les fournisseurs de services comprennent bien les attentes de la CSFO en matière de conformité. À l’avenir, la CSFO portera son attention sur les activités de conformité fondées sur un examen plutôt que sur les activités de sensibilisation.

Améliorer les renseignements relatifs au marché

La CSFO recueille des renseignements relatifs au marché auprès des entités des secteurs qu’elle réglemente, par l’entremise des partenaires du secteur avec lesquels elle travaille dans le cadre de comités consultatifs, et grâce aux rapports d’information, aux examens sur le site et aux enquêtes visant à découvrir les changements pouvant toucher les consommateurs et les bénéficiaires des régimes de retraite et nécessiter une attente plus soutenue sur le plan de la réglementation.

 

La CSFO tente toujours de conclure des ententes de partage de données avec des organismes du secteur et d’autres organismes de réglementation. En mars 2016, la CSFO a signé une entente avec l’Organisme canadien de réglementation du commerce des valeurs mobilières (l’OCRCVM) aux termes de laquelle les deux organismes de réglementation se feront part mutuellement des décisions et sanctions qui résulteront de leurs processus disciplinaires respectifs.

Renforcer la réglementation des régimes de retraite

Au cours de l’exercice 2015-2016, la CSFO a renforcé la capacité de réglementation des régimes de retraite, transmis des renseignements aux administrateurs de régimes de retraite sur les modifications réglementaires et leur incidence, et informé les Ontariens de l’importance de planifier leur retraite.

 

La CSFO a appuyé le ministère des Finances au cours de l’élaboration de nouveaux règlements pris en application de la Loi sur les régimes de retraite. Elle a également fourni des données sur le secteur des régimes de retraite au Secrétariat de la mise en oeuvre du Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario et informé les administrateurs de régimes de retraite des principales modifications législatives et réglementaires, notamment les régimes de retraite relevant de plus d’une autorité gouvernementale, les transferts d’actifs et l’allègement de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité. En outre, la CSFO a publié sur son site Web une série de vidéos d’information conçues pour aider les Ontariens et Ontariennes à préparer leur retraite et à prendre des décisions éclairées à ce sujet.

Recommandations du rapport du vérificateur général

La CSFO a réalisé des progrès en 2015-2016 quant aux engagements qu’elle avait pris pour tenir compte des recommandations du Rapport annuel 2014 du Bureau de la vérificatrice générale de l’Ontario (BVGO).

 

En 2015, la CSFO a contraint les coopératives à lui soumettre une déclaration de renseignements afin d’obtenir et de compiler des données sur le secteur des coopératives de l’Ontario et d’appuyer l’élaboration des politiques dans ce domaine. La CSFO a également amélioré son système de délivrance de permis pour faciliter la conformité des agents aux exigences en matière d’assurance responsabilité civile de la Loi sur les assurances.

 

De plus, la CSFO a renforcé les procédures relatives aux omissions de dépôts des documents des régimes de retraite, révisé ses processus d’examen des régimes de retraite et haussé le nombre d’examens de régimes de retraite à cotisations déterminées et leur portée. Les estimations trimestrielles de la CSFO relatives au statut de régime financé des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées offrent également aux participants de régimes un repère pour mesurer le rendement de leur propre régime de retraite.

Promouvoir la coordination des activités de réglementation à l’échelle nationale

En collaborant avec les autres organismes de réglementation du pays, la CSFO cherche à jouer un rôle de chef de file dans l’élaboration des normes réglementaires nationales.

 

Cette année, la CSFO et les organismes de réglementation en assurance du Canada ont mis en oeuvre et harmonisé des programmes de qualification de niveau débutant destinés aux nouveaux agents d’assurance-vie et aux nouveaux agents d’assurance accidents et maladie. Le Programme de qualification du permis d’assurance-vie (PQPAV) actualisé harmonise les normes de formation provinciales dans le cadre d’une norme commune. Les Organismes canadiens de réglementation en assurance (OCRA) ont dirigé l’élaboration du programme avec l’appui des membres du Conseil canadien des responsables de la réglementation d’assurance (CCRRA), dans le cadre d’une approche réglementaire coordonnée à l’échelle nationale. Les nouveaux agents d’assurance-vie du Canada seront désormais soumis à une norme de compétence commune, selon laquelle ils devront tous avoir une compréhension minimale des secteurs couverts par leur permis pour l’obtenir, contribuant ainsi aux efforts de la CSFO pour protéger les intérêts du public.

 

La CSFO a aussi mené la recherche et l’analyse au sujet des exigences réglementaires visant les activités des courtiers en hypothèques dans d’autres pays pour mieux comprendre les pratiques relatives à la pertinence des produits et trouver les lacunes potentielles de la protection des consommateurs. De plus, la CSFO a appuyé le Conseil canadien des autorités de réglementation des courtiers hypothécaires (CCARCH), qui menait un sondage pour connaître les pratiques de courtage sur le marché dans certains territoires membres du CCARCH. Le CCARCH s’est servi des résultats du sondage pour rédiger des documents d’information des consommateurs décrivant les processus et pratiques qu’ils peuvent attendre d’une maison de courtage d’hypothèques.

 

Par l’entremise de l’Association canadienne des organismes de contrôle des régimes de retraite (ACOR), la CSFO et les organismes de réglementation des régimes de retraite de partout au Canada ont entamé l’élaboration d’une nouvelle entente intergouvernementale sur la réglementation des régimes de retraite qui relèvent de plusieurs autorités gouvernementales. La CSFO a également contribué activement à la mise en oeuvre d’initiatives prises par d’autres organismes nationaux, comme l’Agence statistique d’assurance générale (ASAG).

Agir dans l’intérêt supérieur des Ontariens

La CSFO s’efforce de créer des occasions d’obtenir des commentaires des consommateurs et bénéficiaires de régimes de retraite ontariens ainsi que des parties prenantes du secteur sur les principaux enjeux touchant les secteurs qu’elle réglemente. Cela aide la CSFO à mieux comprendre les changements touchant le marché, à identifier les risques et à s’acquitter de son mandat de protéger l’intérêt du public et d’améliorer la confiance envers les secteurs qu’elle réglemente.

 

Bien que ce rapport ne donne qu’un aperçu de la portée et de la profondeur du travail accompli par la CSFO pour les Ontariens, il souligne l’orientation stratégique du comité exécutif de la CSFO, le leadership solide de ses dirigeants et l’expertise et le dévouement des employés qui assurent la prestation des services de réglementation de la Commission.

 

Florence A. Holden, Présidente de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario, Présidente du Tribunal des services financiers (intérimaire)

Florence A. Holden
Présidente de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario,

 

Présidente du Tribunal des services financiers

Brian Mills, Directeur général et surintendant des services financiers (intérimaire), Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario

Brian Mills
Directeur général et surintendant des services financiers

 

Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario

 

 


 

 

1 Budget de l’Ontario 2016, page 48

Haut de la page