Draft 2017 Statement of Priorities

Message from the Chair and Chief Executive Officer

 

The financial services sector is Ontario’s second largest industry. The economic growth and financial stability of both the province and the country depend on it. As such, the regulation of this sector, and the more than 89,000 individuals and corporations licensed by the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO), is a significant responsibility.

 

Last year, the expert advisory panel appointed by the government to review the mandates of FSCO, the Financial Services Tribunal (FST) and the Deposit Insurance Corporation of Ontario (DICO) submitted its final report to the Minister of Finance.

 

The report recommended some important and positive changes for the future of financial services regulation in Ontario, such as enhanced powers for the regulator that would strengthen its ability to enforce regulations.

 
In the fall of 2016, the government passed legislation to create and establish the initial parameters of the Financial Services Regulatory Authority (FSRA) – a new independent and flexible regulator that would be “more consumer-focused and improve protections for consumers, investors and pension plan beneficiaries.”

 

Since then, the government has created a temporary Secretariat responsible for supporting FSRA’s implementation. However, this is a complex project that will take time, and there are still many decisions to be made by the government.

 

In the meantime, FSCO remains the financial services regulator in Ontario, and the FST will continue to hear cases on financial services matters. We will work diligently to continue to improve our effectiveness and responsiveness, while also being flexible and adaptable to change. FSCO’s priorities for the coming year reflect our intention to focus on enabling innovation and reinforcing expectations to treat consumers and pension plan beneficiaries fairly – important themes that address the needs of today and align with those of the future.

 

This statement is an opportunity for our stakeholders and the public to comment and provide input on FSCO and the FST’s strategic direction for the year ahead. We look forward to reading your submissions as we work to protect the public interest and enhance public confidence in our regulated sectors.

 

Florence A. Holden
Acting Chair, Financial Services Commission of Ontario
Acting Chair, Financial Services Tribunal

Brian Mills
Chief Executive Officer and
Superintendent of Financial Services,
Financial Services Commission of Ontario

 

About FSCO

 

FSCO’s legislative mandate is to provide regulatory services that protect the public interest and enhance public confidence in the sectors it regulates.

 

Using a risk-based approach to enforce legislation, FSCO regulates the insurance sector, including service providers who invoice auto insurers for statutory accident benefit claims; pension plans; credit unions and caisses populaires; the mortgage brokering sector; co-operative corporations; and loan and trust companies.

 

FSCO's approach to fulfilling its legislated regulatory responsibilities is outlined in greater detail in its Regulatory Framework. Accountable to the Minister of Finance, FSCO also seeks approval for its projects and direction through the Agency Business Plan and reports back on its core activities through its Annual Report.

 

FSCO Priorities

 

Section 11 of the Financial Services Commission of Ontario Act, 1997, requires that FSCO publish a statement each year setting out its proposed priorities and the reasons for adopting these priorities.

 

The 2017 Statement of Priorities provides a snapshot of FSCO objectives over the coming fiscal year. In 2017-18, FSCO will continue to focus its efforts on core activities and initiatives in seven priority areas to:

 

  1. Ensure financial services industry compliance with laws and regulations.
  2. Provide adequate disclosure of information to enable informed decisions by consumers and pension plan members.
  3. Raise awareness of FSCO's actions in the financial services marketplace.
  4. Create common and integrated processes enabled by integrated technology solutions.
  5. Enhance the collection, use and sharing of market intelligence.
  6. Be an agile and adaptable organization.
  7. Influence the development of provincial, national and international regulatory policy.

While FSCO has made important progress on these priorities, this year, FSCO sees an opportunity to advance its work by focusing on the themes of treating consumers fairly and enabling innovation.

Treating Consumers Fairly

In today’s complex and interconnected financial services marketplace, the fair treatment of consumers across all financial sectors – and the related stability and strength of the overall financial marketplace – is fundamental.

 

Treating consumers fairly means putting the interests of consumers first. It means taking the time to understand their needs and putting in the extra effort to make sure they understand the risks and their responsibilities. This concept is nothing new, but it is of utmost importance because financial services touch every Ontarian’s life.

 

FSCO recognizes the need to empower consumers and pension plan beneficiaries so they have the information they need to make decisions about their financial futures. This year, FSCO will place a strong emphasis on industry compliance with laws and regulations specifically relating to disclosure of risk and responsibility for consumers. FSCO will develop new tools and partnerships to help increase the level of financial literacy among Ontarians and help them identify and reject fraud.

 

FSCO and industry partners have a shared responsibility to treat consumers and pension plan beneficiaries fairly. Which is why FSCO will also be raising awareness of its actions and expectations in this regard by continuing to issue guidance and bulletins and by hosting additional symposiums and stakeholder meetings. These opportunities will also provide a forum for sharing market intelligence on trends and areas for improvement that will help industry participants take action to increase consumer protection.

 

FSCO will also continue to support discussions, policies and projects at the national level through its participation in the:

 

  • Canadian Association of Pension Supervisory Authorities (CAPSA)
  • Canadian Automobile Insurance Rate Regulators Association (CARR)
  • Canadian Council of Insurance Regulators (CCIR)
  • Canadian Insurance Services Regulatory Organizations (CISRO)
  • General Insurance Statistical Agency (GISA)
  • Mortgage Broker Regulators’ Council of Canada (MBRCC)

A number of these groups are engaging in work that will empower consumers and pension plan beneficiaries through clearer disclosure documents, increased awareness and education, and a greater emphasis on the consumer experience. We support many of these initiatives. One example is FSCO’s work to support CCIR in the development of a new account statement for segregated funds that would address identified gaps in consumer protection and enable investors to make more informed decisions.

 

Finally, we note that the mandate review panel, the International Monetary Fund and Ontario’s Auditor General have highlighted the importance of consumer protection as a focus of regulating financial services.

Enabling Innovation

The marketplace drives the creation of new and innovative products, services and delivery models. While emerging financial technology (fintech) provides new opportunities, it also brings new challenges for everyone involved.

 

In her September 2016 mandate letter to the Minister of Finance [New Window], the Premier of Ontario outlined that she wants the province to “foster a dynamic, innovative and growing economy.” With industry showing interest in discussing and implementing innovative solutions, FSCO recognizes the need to find ways to modernize the regulation of financial services to accommodate the rapidly evolving digital sphere.

 

As the regulator, FSCO must balance moving quickly enough to support product and service innovation, with taking the time to ensure consumer interests are protected and legislative and regulatory requirements are met. That is why FSCO’s relationships with industry, fellow Canadian regulators and lawmakers are so important. Many industry partners have excelled at raising early awareness of their innovative work and sharing market intelligence with us. By increasing efforts to work together in the early stages of product and service advancements, FSCO will be better positioned to support and adapt to new opportunities.

 

This year for example, FSCO is working to enable the broader use of electronic proof of automobile insurance. This is a modernization in the insurance industry that is already available in some jurisdictions, such as the United States. Last year, by working with industry and regulatory partners, FSCO provided limited approval of electronic pink slips as part of the interim insurance solution for ridesharing. Following consultations held by CCIR and recommendations from industry stakeholders, FSCO will now be moving forward with this important initiative along with other Canadian regulators.

 

While the Ontario government makes decisions about the overall regulation of financial services in the province, FSCO will continue to invest in ways to modernize and sustain its operations through changes to technology and business practices, creating common and integrated processes wherever possible. This work will increase industry compliance and allow FSCO to be a more efficient and responsive regulator in this current climate of change.

 

About the Financial Services Tribunal

 

The Financial Services Tribunal (FST) [New Window] is an independent, decision-making body that, at the request of affected persons, hears appeals from decisions and proposed decisions of the Superintendent of the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) and of the Deposit Insurance Corporation of Ontario (DICO).

 

FST has exclusive jurisdiction to exercise the powers conferred under the Financial Services Commission of Ontario Act, 1997 [New Window] and other acts that confer powers on or assign duties to it.

 

FST Priorities

Maintain a pool of qualified members to adjudicate hearings

The tribunal will continue to work with the Ministry of Finance and the Public Appointments Secretariat to ensure the appointment of additional qualified members sufficient to meet the tribunal's expected caseload. The FST will continue to provide adequate training (internal and external resources) to ensure that tribunal members have the appropriate education and expertise to hear tribunal matters to which they are assigned.

Dialogue with members of the legal profession

The FST will continue its dialogue with members of the legal profession through its Legal Advisory Committee to address matters related to its hearing rules, practices and procedures. The tribunal will continue to receive an annual report from the committee chair.

Update Tribunal rules, practices and procedures

The tribunal will review rules, practices and procedures as required to reflect changes to its mandate and other legislated change. The tribunal will review and revise performance standards as needed to ensure that adjudicative services are delivered effectively by available resources.

 

Send us your comments

 

FSCO invites interested parties to make written submissions regarding FSCO's Draft 2017 Statement of Priorities.

 

Interested parties may send submissions by May 26, 2017, to:

 

Chief Executive Officer and
Superintendent of Financial Services
Financial Services Commission of Ontario
5160 Yonge Street, Box 85
Toronto ON  M2N 6L9
Fax: (416) 590-7070
Email: priorities@fsco.gov.on.ca

 

To request a paper copy, please call (416) 250-7250 or toll-free: 1-800-668-0128.

 

FSCO's 2017 Statement of Priorities will be submitted to the Minister of Finance in June 2017 and will be published in The Ontario Gazette shortly thereafter.

Énoncé des priorités pour 2017 - Version préliminaire

Message du président du conseil et du président-directeur général

 

Le secteur des services financiers est le deuxième secteur d’activité en importance en Ontario. La croissance économique et la stabilité financière de la province et du pays en dépendent. C’est pourquoi la réglementation de ce secteur et de plus de 89 000 personnes et sociétés titulaires de permis de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO) constitue une importante responsabilité.

 

L’an dernier, le Comité consultatif d’experts nommé par le gouvernement pour examiner les mandats de la CSFO, du Tribunal des services financiers (TSF) et de la Société ontarienne d’assurance-dépôt (SOAD) a présenté son rapport final au ministre des Finances.

 

Le rapport recommandait des changements importants et positifs pour l’avenir de la réglementation des services financiers en Ontario, comme l’attribution de pouvoirs accrus à l’organisme de réglementation qui renforceraient sa capacité de faire appliquer des règlements.

 

À l’automne 2016, le gouvernement a adopté une loi pour créer et établir les paramètres de base de l’Office de réglementation des services financiers (ORSF) – un nouvel organisme de réglementation indépendant et souple qui serait « davantage centré sur les consommateurs et améliorerait la protection des consommateurs, des investisseurs et des bénéficiaires de régimes de retraite ».

 

Depuis, le gouvernement a créé un Secrétariat temporaire pour appuyer la mise sur pied de l’ORSF. Cependant, il s’agit d’un projet complexe dont la réalisation exigera du temps, et pour lequel le gouvernement doit encore prendre de nombreuses décisions.

 

En attendant, la CSFO demeure l’organisme de réglementation des services financiers de l’Ontario, et le TSF continuera d’entendre des causes dans les affaires touchant les services financiers. Nous travaillerons avec diligence pour continuer d’améliorer notre efficacité et notre réceptivité tout en nous montrant souples et agiles. Les priorités de la CSFO pour le prochain exercice reflètent son intention d’encourager l’innovation et de renforcer les attentes afin de traiter les consommateurs et les bénéficiaires des régimes de retraite de façon équitable – des thèmes importants qui touchent des besoins d’aujourd’hui et concordent avec ceux de demain.

 

Cet énoncé est une occasion pour nos intervenants et le public de commenter l’orientation stratégique de la CSFO et du TSF pour l’année à venir et de faire des suggestions. Nous espérons que vos commentaires éclaireront notre travail qui vise à protéger l’intérêt public et à accroître la confiance du public à l’égard de nos secteurs réglementés.

 

Florence A. Holden
Présidente intérimaire, Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario
Présidente intérimaire, Tribunal des services financiers

Brian Mills
Directeur général et
surintendant des services financiers,
Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario

 

 

À propos de la CSFO

 

Le mandat de la CSFO, défini par la loi, consiste à fournir des services de réglementation afin de protéger l’intérêt public et d’accroître la confiance du public dans les secteurs qu’elle réglemente.

 

Utilisant une approche fondée sur le risque pour appliquer la législation, la CSFO réglemente le secteur des assurances, y compris les fournisseurs de services qui soumettent des factures aux assureurs automobiles pour des demandes d’indemnités d’assurance-automobile, ainsi que les secteurs des régimes de retraite, des credit unions et des caisses populaires, des courtiers en hypothèques, des coopératives et des sociétés de prêt et de fiducie.

 

La démarche adoptée par la CSFO pour respecter les obligations que lui impose la loi en matière de réglementation est décrite en détail dans son cadre réglementaire. Relevant du ministre des Finances, la CSFO obtient également l’approbation de ses projets et de son orientation par la présentation de son plan d’activités et rend compte de ses activités principales dans son rapport annuel.

 

Priorités de la CSFO

 

L’article 11 de la Loi de 1997 sur la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario exige que la CSFO publie chaque année un énoncé des priorités qu’elle se propose de suivre et des raisons pour lesquelles elle a adopté ces priorités.

 

L’Énoncé des priorités pour 2017 procure un instantané des objectifs de la CSFO pour le prochain exercice. En 2017-2018, la CSFO continuera de centrer ses principales activités et initiatives sur sept aspects prioritaires :

 

  1. Assurer la conformité du secteur des services financiers aux lois et règlements;
  2. Favoriser une divulgation adéquate de l’information pour permettre aux consommateurs et aux bénéficiaires des régimes de retraite de prendre des décisions éclairées;
  3. Faire connaître les interventions de la CSFO sur le marché des services financiers;
  4. Créer des processus communs et intégrés grâce aux solutions de technologie intégrée;
  5. Améliorer la collecte, l’utilisation et l’échange de renseignements sur le marché;
  6. Être une organisation souple et agile;
  7. Influer sur la conception des politiques de réglementation provinciales, nationales et internationales.

Si la CSFO a réalisé d’importants progrès en ce qui concerne ces priorités, elle y voit cette année l’occasion de pousser plus avant son travail en se concentrant sur les thèmes du traitement équitable des consommateurs et de l’innovation.

Traiter les consommateurs de façon équitable

Dans le marché complexe et interrelié des services financiers d’aujourd’hui, le traitement équitable des consommateurs dans tous les secteurs financiers – ainsi que la stabilité et la force de l’ensemble du marché financier qui en découlent – est une nécessité.

 

Traiter les consommateurs de façon équitable, c’est donner la priorité à leurs intérêts. C’est prendre le temps de comprendre leurs besoins et en faire un peu plus pour s’assurer qu’ils comprennent les risques et leurs responsabilités. Le concept n’est pas nouveau, mais il est d’une importance capitale, parce que les services financiers touchent la vie de tous les Ontariens.

 

La CSFO reconnaît la nécessité de donner aux consommateurs et aux bénéficiaires des régimes de retraite l’information dont ils ont besoin pour prendre des décisions éclairées à propos de leur avenir financier. La CSFO fera donc cette année une grande place à la conformité du secteur aux lois et aux règlements, en particulier en ce qui a trait à la divulgation des risques et à la responsabilité des consommateurs. La CSFO élaborera de nouveaux outils et établira de nouveaux partenariats pour accroître le niveau de littératie financière des Ontariens et les aider à repérer et à éviter la fraude.

 

La CSFO et ses partenaires sectoriels ont une responsabilité commune de traiter les consommateurs et les bénéficiaires des régimes de retraite de façon équitable. C’est pourquoi la CSFO sensibilisera la population à ses activités et à ses attentes à cet égard en continuant à publier des conseils et des bulletins d’information et en organisant d’autres colloques et d’autres rencontres avec ses intervenants. Ces occasions lui fourniront en outre un forum où échanger des renseignements sur le marché relativement aux tendances et aux domaines susceptibles d’être améliorés en vue d’aider les participants du secteur à prendre des mesures pour accroître la protection des consommateurs.

 

La CSFO continuera également à appuyer les discussions, les politiques et les projets lancés à l’échelle nationale grâce à sa participation dans les organismes suivants :

 

  • Association canadienne des organismes de contrôle des régimes de retraite (ACOR);
  • Canadian Automobile Insurance Rate Regulators Association (CARR);
  • Conseil canadien des responsables de la réglementation d’assurance (CCRRA);
  • Organismes canadiens de réglementation en assurance (OCRA);
  • Agence statistique d’assurance générale (ASAG);
  • Conseil canadien des autorités de réglementation des courtiers hypothécaires (CCARCH).

Un certain nombre de ces groupes sont engagés dans des travaux qui permettront de donner aux consommateurs et aux bénéficiaires des régimes de retraite un accès à des documents d’information plus clairs, d’accroître leur sensibilisation et leur éducation, ainsi que de mettre davantage d’accent sur l’expérience des consommateurs. Et nous appuyons un grand nombre de ces initiatives. Ainsi, la CSFO appuie le CCRRA dans l’élaboration d’un nouveau relevé de compte pour les fonds distincts qui comblera les lacunes relevées en matière de protection des consommateurs et permettra aux investisseurs de prendre des décisions plus éclairées.

 

Enfin, mentionnons que le comité chargé d’examiner les mandats, le Fonds monétaire international et le vérificateur général de l’Ontario ont tous souligné l’importance de la protection des consommateurs dans la réglementation des services financiers.

Faciliter l’innovation

Les marchés stimulent la création de produits, de services et de modèles de prestation à la fois nouveaux et novateurs. Si l’émergence de la technologie financière offre de nouvelles possibilités, elle comporte également de nouveaux défis pour tous ceux qui sont touchés.

 

Dans sa Lettre de mandat de septembre 2016 au ministre des Finances [New Window], la première ministre de l’Ontario précise qu’elle souhaite que la province « favorise le développement d’une économie dynamique, innovatrice et en expansion ». Le secteur fait preuve d’un intérêt certain pour la discussion et la mise en œuvre de solutions novatrices, et la CSFO reconnaît la nécessité de trouver des façons de moderniser la réglementation des services financiers pour tenir compte de l’évolution rapide de la sphère numérique.

 

À titre d’organisme de réglementation, la CSFO doit trouver un équilibre entre l’adaptation rapide aux innovations en matière de produits et services et la nécessité de prendre le temps de s’assurer que les intérêts des consommateurs sont protégés et que les exigences législatives et réglementaires sont respectées. C’est pourquoi les relations de la CSFO avec les intervenants du secteur, les autres organismes de réglementation au Canada et les législateurs sont si importantes. Beaucoup de partenaires du secteur excellent à nous faire connaître leurs innovations à un stade précoce et à partager avec nous leurs renseignements sur les marchés. En intensifiant ses efforts pour collaborer avec eux aux stades précoces du développement des produits et des services, la CSFO sera en meilleure position pour saisir de nouvelles occasions et s’y adapter.

 

Cette année, par exemple, la CSFO s’efforce de permettre une utilisation élargie de la preuve d’assurance-automobile électronique. Il s’agit d’une avancée dans le secteur de l’assurance qui est déjà en œuvre dans d’autres pays, notamment aux États-Unis. L’an dernier, grâce à sa collaboration avec des partenaires du secteur et de la réglementation, la CSFO a approuvé une utilisation limitée de la carte d’assurance-automobile électronique (carte rose) dans le cadre d’une solution d’assurance intérimaire pour le covoiturage. À la suite des consultations tenues par le CCRRA et des recommandations provenant des intervenants du secteur, la CSFO ainsi que d’autres organismes de réglementation du Canada iront de l’avant avec cette importante initiative.

 

Si le gouvernement de l’Ontario prend des décisions sur la réglementation globale des services financiers dans la province, la CSFO continuera à investir dans des façons de moderniser et de soutenir ses activités grâce aux innovations apportées aux technologies et aux pratiques commerciales, créant chaque fois que c’est possible des processus communs et intégrés. Ce travail augmentera la conformité du secteur et permettra à la CSFO d’être un organisme de réglementation plus efficace et plus réceptif dans le paysage changeant actuel.

 

À propos du Tribunal des services financiers

 

Le Tribunal des services financiers (TSF) [New Window] est un organisme décisionnel indépendant qui, à la demande des personnes touchées, entend les appels relatifs aux décisions rendues et aux décisions proposées par le surintendant de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO) et la Société ontarienne d’assurance-dépôts (SOAD).

 

Le TSF a la compétence exclusive pour exercer les pouvoirs qui lui sont conférés par la Loi de 1997 sur la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario [New Window] et d’autres lois lui conférant des pouvoirs ou lui attribuant des fonctions.

 

Priorités du TSF

Maintenir en place un groupe de membres compétents pour rendre des jugements

De concert avec le ministère des Finances et le Secrétariat des nominations, le TSF poursuivra ses efforts en vue de nommer un nombre suffisant de membres compétents pour répondre à la charge de travail qu’il prévoit. Il continuera à assurer la formation adéquate de ses ressources internes et externes pour faire en sorte que les membres du tribunal aient la formation et les compétences appropriées pour entendre les affaires dont le tribunal est saisi et auxquelles ils sont affectés.

Dialogue avec les spécialistes du droit

Le TSF continuera son dialogue avec les spécialistes du droit par l’entremise de son Comité consultatif juridique pour discuter de questions liées à ses règles, pratiques et procédures pour les audiences. Le TSF continuera à recevoir un rapport annuel du président du comité.

Revoir les règles, pratiques et procédures du TSF

Le TSF examinera au besoin les règles, pratiques et procédures en fonction des modifications apportées à son mandat ainsi qu’à la loi dans son ensemble. Il examinera et révisera au besoin les normes de rendement pour s’assurer que les services d’arbitrage sont offerts de façon efficace par les ressources disponibles.

 

Envoyez-nous vos commentaires

 

La CSFO invite les parties intéressées à présenter par écrit leurs observations sur la version préliminaire de son Énoncé des priorités pour 2017.

 

Les parties intéressées ont jusqu’au 26 mai 2017 pour envoyer leurs observations à l’adresse suivante :

 

Directeur général et
surintendant des services financiers
Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario
5160, rue Yonge, C.P. 85
Toronto (Ontario)  M2N 6L9
Télécopieur : 416 590-7070
Courriel : priorities@fsco.gov.on.ca

 

Pour demander une copie papier, veuillez composer le 416 250-7250 ou, sans frais, le 1 800 668-0128.

 

L’Énoncé des priorités de la CSFO pour 2017 sera présenté au ministre des Finances en juin 2017 et publié peu après dans la Gazette de l’Ontario.