Draft 2018 Statement of Priorities

Message from the Chair and Chief Executive Officer


Every day, people and companies that provide financial services make a meaningful impact on the lives of Ontarians.


Financial services consumers – including retirees receiving a pension, new parents buying life insurance, first-time homebuyers shopping for a mortgage, and drivers looking to renew their vehicle insurance – all want to feel their interests are being protected as they make important decisions.


For the past two decades, the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) has provided regulatory oversight of financial services and pension plans – working to ensure the nearly 94,000 entities we regulate are following the law. We undertake our activities with consumers and pension plan beneficiaries in mind, because we know Ontarians count on our regulated sectors to help protect their assets, manage risk, and enhance their financial security.


As we look ahead, we recognize the need not only to protect the public, but also to empower them. We see the growing need to nurture healthy innovation in the marketplace, and the ongoing importance of promoting consistent approaches to regulation on both a provincial and national level.


At the same time, we have identified goals and activities that align with the vision for the new regulator being created – the Financial Services Regulatory Authority (FSRA). The Ontario government has made significant progress towards implementing FSRA, and FSCO will continue to support those efforts. Until FSRA is operational, FSCO remains the financial services regulator in Ontario, and we will continue to deliver on our mandate to protect consumers and enhance public confidence in the sectors we regulate.


None of this would be possible without the commitment and efforts of our talented staff. Their creativity and drive have helped us achieve positive results that make a difference for all Ontario stakeholders. We are proud of the accomplishments of this organization and look forward to the year ahead.


Ian McSweeney
Chair, Financial Services Commission of Ontario
Chair, Financial Services Tribunal

Brian Mills
Chief Executive Officer and
Superintendent of Financial Services,
Financial Services Commission of Ontario


About FSCO


FSCO’s legislative mandate is to provide regulatory services that protect the public interest and enhance public confidence in the sectors it regulates.


Using a risk-based approach to enforce legislation, FSCO regulates the insurance sector (including service providers who invoice auto insurers for statutory accident benefit claims); pension plans; credit unions and caisses populaires; the mortgage brokering sector; co-operative corporations; and loan and trust companies in Ontario.


FSCO's approach to fulfilling its legislated regulatory responsibilities is outlined in greater detail in its Regulatory Framework. Accountable to the Minister of Finance, FSCO also seeks approval for its projects and direction through the Agency Business Plan and reports back on its core activities through its Annual Report.


FSCO Priorities


Section 11 of the Financial Services Commission of Ontario Act, 1997 [New Window] (FSCO Act), requires that FSCO publish a statement each year setting out its proposed priorities and the reasons for adopting these priorities.


FSCO’s mission is to continue to be an effective regulator that protects the public interest while supporting a dynamic financial services marketplace.


Building on last year’s key themes of treating consumers fairly and enabling innovation, FSCO is embarking on a new strategic plan in 2018-19 with overarching goals and associated outcomes aimed at empowering consumers, fostering innovation and providing leadership on the national stage. The 2018 Statement of Priorities provides a brief overview of FSCO’s areas of focus in the coming year.

1. Create greater consumer awareness and understanding of their rights and responsibilities and how to protect themselves

FSCO is committed to protecting consumers in the sectors it regulates. We recognize one of the most effective ways to do this is to equip consumers with the tools they need to protect themselves. In 2018-19, FSCO will continue to invest in public education initiatives, such as national Fraud Prevention Month and Financial Literacy Month, to help empower consumers and pension plan members to make informed financial decisions. These efforts will include actively seeking relevant partnerships to broaden our reach, as well as improving consumer-facing tools and information.


In addition, FSCO will continue to work with industry stakeholders to strengthen their understanding of FSCO’s expectations regarding statutory compliance and the fair treatment of consumers. For example, FSCO will hold public consultations in 2018 in advance of the release of a new Superintendent’s guideline establishing a common understanding of what it means to treat financial services consumers fairly. The guideline will align with international best practices and strengthen confidence in the sectors through measurable and demonstrable outcomes for the consumer.  

2. Be proactive with respect to industry transformation and new technologies

Technology continues to evolve and advance at a rapid pace. FSCO recognizes the need for regulators to be more adaptable and agile to foster innovation in the marketplace. Over the coming year, FSCO will work to re-assess and re-align our processes to find ways to be more responsive to innovation in our regulated sectors. We will also equip and empower staff to develop regulatory solutions and use innovative supervisory approaches to better support new technologies and business models while remaining focused on our consumer protection mandate.


As more financial technology (fintech) businesses seek to operate in Ontario, and as consumer demand for innovative financial services continues to rise, FSCO is responding to the need to support them as they navigate and comply with the Ontario’s financial services legislation. Drawing on our past experience, we will also work closely with the government and other partners to support Ontario’s broader fintech strategy, helping encourage innovation while ensuring consumer protection.

3. Achieve a higher degree of harmonization, supervisory cooperation, and jurisdictional participation

In today’s global environment, financial services are interconnected, crossing jurisdictional and sectoral boundaries. It is critical that regulators throughout Canada work together and coordinate efforts. Greater cooperation leads to the identification of emerging risks, sharing of best practices, and a more consistent level of protection for consumers across jurisdictions. In addition, greater regulatory harmonization can result in reduced regulatory burden, and supports market competition, new entrants and greater innovation, which ultimately benefits the consumer and the economy.


FSCO demonstrates its commitment to regulatory coordination and communication through its leadership engagement and active participation in the following inter-jurisdictional associations of financial services regulators:


  • Canadian Council of Insurance Regulators (CCIR)
  • Canadian Association of Pension Supervisory Authorities (CAPSA)
  • Mortgage Broker Regulator’s Council of Canada (MBRCC)
  • Canadian Insurance Services Regulatory Organization (CISRO)
  • Joint Forum of Financial Market Regulators
  • Canadian Automobile Insurance Rate Regulators (CARR)
  • General Insurance Statistical Agency (GISA)

FSCO will strengthen collaborative relationships with other regulators and provide leadership in the delivery of strategic national policy initiatives. For example, FSCO will work with other CCIR members to coordinate simultaneous thematic and insurer-specific reviews across jurisdictions, to ensure that insurance customers are being treated fairly throughout the country. These reviews will capitalize on information from the Annual Statement on Market Conduct introduced last year to identify areas of potential risk requiring attention.

4. Support the implementation of the Financial Services Regulatory Authority of Ontario

In the fall of 2016, the provincial government passed legislation to create and establish the initial parameters of the Financial Services Regulatory Authority (FSRA) – a new, independent and flexible regulator with a stronger focus on protecting consumers, investors and pension plan beneficiaries.


At this time, no date has been set for the implementation of FSRA. As such, FSCO remains the financial services regulator in Ontario, and we continue to deliver on our mandate and serve the public interest.


FSCO’s chosen priorities for 2018-19 are consistent with the vision for the new organization, and all operational decisions made this year will consider the potential impact on the implementation of FSRA. As it progresses, FSCO will continue to work with the Ministry of Finance and the FSRA board to support a seamless experience for our regulated sectors, while maintaining a focus on consumer protection.


About the Financial Services Tribunal


The Financial Services Tribunal (FST or Tribunal) is an independent, expert decision-making body that, at the request of affected persons, holds hearings and appeals from decisions and proposed decisions of the Ontario Superintendent of the Financial Services and of the Deposit Insurance Corporation of Ontario (DICO).


The FST has exclusive jurisdiction to exercise the powers conferred upon it under the FSCO Act and other Ontario statutes.


FST Priorities

Maintain a pool of qualified members to adjudicate hearings

The Tribunal will continue to work with the Ministry of Finance and the Public Appointments Secretariat to ensure the appointment of additional qualified members sufficient to meet the Tribunal's expected caseload. The FST will continue to provide adequate training (internal and external resources) to ensure Tribunal members have the appropriate education and expertise to hear Tribunal matters to which they are assigned.

Dialogue with members of the legal profession

The FST will continue its dialogue with members of the legal profession through its Legal Advisory Committee to address matters related to its hearing rules, practices and procedures. The Tribunal will continue to receive an annual report from the committee chair.

Update Tribunal rules, practices and procedures

The Tribunal will review rules, practices and procedures as required to reflect changes to its mandate and other legislated change. The Tribunal will review and revise performance standards as needed to ensure available resources deliver adjudicative services effectively and efficiently.

Transition to the FST Act

In 2017, the government passed the Financial Services Tribunal Act, 2017 (the “FST Act” ), which, upon proclamation, will remove the FST from the FSCO Act and continue it as an independent Tribunal with respect to proceedings arising out of Superintendent regulatory enforcement under the FSCO Act/FSRA Act.


In 2018-19, the Tribunal will continue to work with the Ministry of Finance to ensure a smooth and efficient transition of its mandate from the FSCO Act to the FST Act.


Send us your comments


FSCO invites interested parties to make written submissions regarding FSCO's Draft 2018 Statement of Priorities.


Interested parties may send submissions by May 8, 2018, to:


Chief Executive Officer and
Superintendent of Financial Services

Financial Services Commission of Ontario
5160 Yonge Street, Box 85
Toronto ON  M2N 6L9


Fax: (416) 590-7070
Email: priorities@fsco.gov.on.ca


To request a paper copy, please call (416) 250-7250 or toll-free: 1-800-668-0128.


FSCO's 2018 Statement of Priorities will be submitted to the Minister of Finance in June 2018 and will be published in The Ontario Gazette shortly thereafter.

Énoncé des priorités pour 2018 – Version préliminaire

Message du président et du directeur général

 

Chaque jour, des personnes et des entreprises qui fournissent des services financiers ont une incidence significative sur la vie des Ontariens.

 

Les consommateurs de services financiers – qu’il s’agisse de retraités recevant une pension, de nouveaux parents qui contractent une assurance-vie, d’acheteurs d’une première maison à la recherche d’un prêt hypothécaire ou de conducteurs renouvelant leur assurance-automobile – souhaitent savoir que leurs intérêts sont protégés au moment de prendre des décisions importantes.

 

Au cours des deux dernières décennies, la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (CSFO) a assuré la surveillance réglementaire des services financiers et des régimes de retraite, s’efforçant de voir à ce que les quelque 94 000 entités qu’elle réglemente respectent la loi. Nous tenons compte des consommateurs et des bénéficiaires de régimes de retraite dans la réalisation de nos activités puisque nous savons que les Ontariens comptent sur nos secteurs réglementés pour aider à protéger leurs actifs, à gérer leurs risques et à améliorer leur sécurité financière.

 

Alors que nous regardons vers l’avenir, nous reconnaissons la nécessité non seulement de protéger le public, mais de l’habiliter à prendre de bonnes décisions. Nous constatons le besoin croissant de favoriser de saines innovations sur le marché, et l’importance soutenue de la promotion d’approches de réglementation uniformes tant à l’échelle provinciale que nationale.

 

Parallèlement, nous avons dégagé des objectifs et des activités qui s’harmonisent à la vision du nouvel organisme de réglementation en cours de création – l’Office de réglementation des services financiers (ORSF). Le gouvernement de l’Ontario a réalisé d’importants progrès dans la mise en œuvre de l’ORSF, et la CSFO continuera de soutenir ces efforts. Jusqu’à ce que l’ORSF soit opérationnel, la CSFO demeure l’organisme de réglementation des services financiers en Ontario, et elle continuera de réaliser son mandat de protéger les consommateurs et d’améliorer la confiance du public dans les secteurs qu’elle réglemente.

 

Rien de tout cela ne serait possible sans l’engagement et les efforts de nos effectifs de talent. Leur créativité et leur engagement nous ont aidés à atteindre les résultats positifs qui font une différence pour tous les intervenants de l’Ontario. Nous sommes fiers des réalisations de l’organisme et entrevoyons l’avenir avec enthousiasme.

 

Ian McSweeney
Président, Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario
Président, Tribunal des services financiers

Brian Mills
Directeur général et surintendant des services financiers, Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario

 

À propos de la CSFO

 

Le mandat de la CSFO, défini par la loi, consiste à fournir des services de réglementation afin de protéger l’intérêt public et d’accroître la confiance du public dans les secteurs qu’elle réglemente.

 

Utilisant une approche fondée sur le risque pour veiller à l’application de la loi, la CSFO réglemente le secteur des assurances, y compris les fournisseurs de services qui soumettent des factures aux assureurs automobiles pour des demandes d’indemnités d’assurance-automobile, ainsi que les secteurs des régimes de retraite, des credit unions et des caisses populaires, du courtage d’hypothèques, des coopératives et des sociétés de prêt et de fiducie en Ontario.

 

La démarche adoptée par la CSFO pour respecter les obligations que lui impose la loi en matière de réglementation est décrite en détail dans son cadre réglementaire. Relevant du ministre des Finances, la CSFO obtient également l’approbation de ses projets et de son orientation par la présentation de son plan d’activités et rend compte de ses activités principales dans son rapport annuel.

 

Priorités de la CSFO

 

L’article 11 de la Loi de 1997 sur la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario [New Window] (la Loi sur la CSFO) exige que la CSFO publie chaque année un énoncé des priorités qu’elle se propose de suivre et des raisons pour lesquelles elle a adopté ces priorités.

 

La mission de la CSFO est de continuer d’être une autorité de réglementation efficace qui protège l’intérêt public et qui soutient un secteur des services financiers dynamique.

 

S’inspirant des thèmes principaux de l’an dernier, soit traiter les consommateurs de façon équitable et encourager l’innovation, la CSFO adopte un nouveau plan stratégique en 2018-2019 dont les objectifs généraux et les résultats escomptés visent à habiliter les consommateurs, à favoriser l’innovation et à assurer un leadership sur la scène nationale. L’Énoncé des priorités pour 2018 fournit un instantané des objectifs de la CSFO pour le prochain exercice.

1. Sensibiliser davantage les consommateurs, les aider à mieux comprendre leurs droits et leurs responsabilités et la façon de se protéger

La CSFO est déterminée à protéger les consommateurs dans les secteurs qu’elle réglemente. Nous reconnaissons que l’une des façons les plus efficaces pour y arriver est de doter les consommateurs des outils dont ils ont besoin pour se protéger. En 2018-2019, la CSFO continuera d’investir dans les initiatives nationales de sensibilisation du public, notamment le Mois de la prévention de la fraude et le Mois de la littératie financière, afin d’habiliter les consommateurs et les participants aux régimes de retraite à prendre des décisions financières éclairées. Ces efforts supposeront la recherche active de partenariats pertinents pour augmenter notre portée et améliorer les outils et l’information destinés aux consommateurs.

 

En outre, la CSFO continuera de travailler avec des intervenants de l’industrie pour renforcer leur compréhension des attentes de la CSFO à l’égard de la conformité à la réglementation et du traitement équitable des consommateurs. Par exemple, en 2018, la CSFO organisera des consultations publiques en prévision de la publication d’une nouvelle Ligne directrice du surintendant qui établira une compréhension commune du traitement équitable des consommateurs de services financiers. La ligne directrice s’harmonisera avec les pratiques exemplaires internationales et renforcera la confiance dans les secteurs grâce à des résultats mesurables et démontrables pour le consommateur.

2. Être proactif en ce qui a trait à la transformation de l’industrie et aux nouvelles technologies

La technologie continue d’évoluer très rapidement. La CSFO reconnaît que les organismes de réglementation doivent faire preuve de davantage d’adaptabilité et de souplesse pour favoriser l’innovation sur le marché. Au cours du prochain exercice, la CSFO verra à réévaluer et à réaligner ses processus afin de trouver des façons de mieux s’adapter à l’innovation dans les secteurs qu’elle réglemente. Nous verrons à outiller et à habiliter nos effectifs pour leur permettre d’élaborer des solutions de réglementation et de recourir à des approches de surveillance innovatrices pour mieux soutenir les nouvelles technologies et les modèles d’affaires tout en continuant de mettre l’accent sur notre mandat de protection des consommateurs.

 

Alors que de plus en plus d’entreprises de technologie financière veulent s’établir en Ontario, et que la demande de services financiers innovateurs de la part des consommateurs continue d’augmenter, la CSFO répond à leur besoin de soutien en matière d’orientation et de conformité à l’égard des lois sur les services financiers en Ontario. Tirant profit de notre expérience passée, nous collaborerons aussi étroitement avec le gouvernement et d’autres partenaires pour soutenir la stratégie de technologie financière globale de l’Ontario et encourager l’innovation tout en assurant la protection des consommateurs.

3. Atteindre une harmonisation, une coopération en matière de surveillance et une participation juridictionnelle accrues

En cette époque de mondialisation, les services financiers sont interreliés, traversant les frontières administratives et sectorielles. Il est essentiel que les organismes de réglementation au Canada travaillent ensemble et coordonnent leurs efforts. Une plus grande coopération aide à cerner les risques possibles, à échanger des pratiques exemplaires et à assurer un niveau de protection plus uniforme pour les consommateurs dans l’ensemble des administrations. En outre, une plus grande harmonisation de réglementation peut alléger le fardeau réglementaire et soutenir la concurrence sur le marché, l’arrivée de nouveaux joueurs et l’innovation, éléments qui, en fin de compte, sont bénéfiques pour les consommateurs et l’économie.

 

La FSCO démontre son engagement envers la coordination et la communication en matière de réglementation grâce à son leadership mobilisateur et à sa participation active relativement aux associations intergouvernementales de réglementation des services financiers suivantes :

 

  • Conseil canadien des responsables de la réglementation d’assurance (CCRRA);
  • Association canadienne des organismes de contrôle des régimes de retraite (ACOR);
  • Conseil canadien des autorités de réglementation des courtiers hypothécaires (CCARCH);
  • Organismes canadiens de réglementation en assurance (OCRA);
  • Forum conjoint des autorités de réglementation du marché financier;
  • Canadian Automobile Insurance Rate Regulators (CARR);
  • Agence statistique d’assurance générale (ASAG).

La CSFO renforcera ses relations de collaboration avec d’autres organismes de réglementation et assurera un leadership dans la mise en œuvre d’initiatives nationales stratégiques en matière de politique. Par exemple, la CSFO collaborera avec d’autres membres du CCRRA afin de coordonner des examens thématiques simultanés et adaptés aux assureurs dans l’ensemble des administrations, lesquels feront en sorte que les consommateurs de produits d’assurance soient traités de façon équitable à l’échelle nationale. Ces examens tireront parti des renseignements fournis dans la Déclaration annuelle sur les pratiques commerciales lancée l’an dernier qui permet de cerner des secteurs de risque possibles qui exigent une certaine attention.

4. Soutenir la mise en œuvre de l’Office de réglementation des services financiers de l’Ontario

À l’automne 2016, le gouvernement provincial a adopté une loi pour créer et établir les paramètres de base de l’Office de réglementation des services financiers (ORSF), nouvel organisme de réglementation indépendant et souple qui serait davantage axé sur la protection des consommateurs, des investisseurs et des prestataires des régimes de retraite.

 

Pour le moment, aucune date n’a encore été fixée pour la mise en œuvre de l’ORSF. Ainsi, la CSFO demeure l’organisme de réglementation des services financiers en Ontario et nous maintenons notre mandat et continuons de servir l’intérêt public.

 

Les priorités de la CSFO pour 2018-2019 coïncident avec la vision du nouvel organisme, et toutes les décisions opérationnelles prises au cours de l’exercice tiendront compte de l’incidence possible sur la mise en œuvre de l’ORSF. À mesure que la mise en œuvre progresse, la CSFO continuera de collaborer avec le ministère des Finances et le conseil d’administration de l’ORSF pour assurer une migration sans heurt pour les secteurs réglementés, tout en continuant de mettre l’accent sur la protection des consommateurs.

 

À propos du Tribunal des services financiers

 

Le Tribunal des services financiers (TSF, ou Tribunal) est un organisme décisionnel indépendant qui, à la demande des personnes touchées, tient des audiences et entend des appels relatifs aux décisions rendues et aux décisions proposées par le surintendant des services financiers de l’Ontario et la Société ontarienne d’assurance-dépôts (SOAD).

 

Le TSF a la compétence exclusive pour exercer les pouvoirs que lui confèrent la Loi sur la CSFO et d’autres lois de l’Ontario.

 

Priorités du TSF

Maintenir en place un groupe de membres compétents pour rendre des jugements

De concert avec le ministère des Finances et le Secrétariat des nominations, le Tribunal poursuivra ses efforts en vue de nommer un nombre suffisant de membres compétents pour répondre à la charge de travail qu’il prévoit. Il continuera à assurer la formation adéquate de ses ressources internes et externes pour faire en sorte que les membres du Tribunal aient la formation et les compétences appropriées pour entendre les affaires dont le Tribunal est saisi et auxquelles ils sont affectés.

Dialoguer avec les spécialistes du droit

Le TSF continuera son dialogue avec les spécialistes du droit par l’entremise de son Comité consultatif juridique pour discuter de questions liées à ses règles, pratiques et procédures pour les audiences. Le TSF continuera à recevoir un rapport annuel du président du comité.

Revoir les règles, pratiques et procédures du Tribunal

Le Tribunal examinera au besoin les règles, pratiques et procédures en fonction des modifications apportées à son mandat ainsi qu’à la loi dans son ensemble. Il examinera et révisera au besoin les normes de rendement pour s’assurer que les ressources disponibles offrent des services d’arbitrage de façon efficace et efficiente.

Assurer la transition vers la Loi de 2017 sur le Tribunal des services financiers

En 2017, le gouvernement a adopté la Loi de 2017 sur le Tribunal des services financiers qui, à sa proclamation, fera en sorte de soustraire le TSF à la Loi sur la CSFO et de le traiter en tant que Tribunal indépendant en ce qui a trait aux procédures découlant des activités réglementaires du surintendant en vertu de la Loi sur la CSFO ou de la Loi de 2016 sur l’Office ontarien de réglementation des services financiers.

 

En 2018-2019, le Tribunal continuera de collaborer avec le ministère des Finances pour assurer une transition harmonieuse et efficiente de son mandat de la Loi sur la CSFO vers la Loi de 2017 sur le Tribunal des services financiers.

 

Envoyez-nous vos commentaires

 

La CSFO invite les parties intéressées à présenter par écrit leurs observations sur la version préliminaire de son Énoncé des priorités pour 2018.

 

Les parties intéressées ont jusqu’au 8 mai 2018 pour envoyer leurs observations à l’adresse suivante :

 

Directeur général et
surintendant des services financiers
Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario
5160, rue Yonge, C.P. 85
Toronto (Ontario)  M2N 6L9
Télécopieur : 416 590-7070
Courriel : priorities@fsco.gov.on.ca

 

Pour demander une copie papier, veuillez composer le 416 250-7250 ou, sans frais, le 1 800 668-0128.

 

L’Énoncé des priorités de la CSFO pour 2018 sera présenté au ministre des Finances en juin 2018 et publié peu après dans la Gazette de l’Ontario.