The Commission

The Commission has four members, three of whom are appointed for a fixed term by the Lieutenant Governor in Council in accordance with the guidelines established by Ontario's Public Appointments Secretariat [New Window]. The fourth member of the Commission is the Superintendent of Financial Services, by virtue of his position.

 

The current Commission members are: the Chair, Ian McSweeney; Vice-Chair, Professor Denis Boivin; Vice-Chair, Bethune Whiston; and, the Superintendent of Financial Services, Brian Mills. The Superintendent is also the Chief Executive Officer of FSCO. The Chair and Vice-Chairs of the Commission are also the Chair and Vice-Chairs of the Tribunal.


The purposes of the Commission are set out in the Financial Services Commission of Ontario Act, 1997:

 

  • to provide regulatory services that protect the public interest and enhance public confidence in the regulated sectors;
  • make recommendations to the Minister of Finance (Minister) about the regulated sectors; and
  • provide resources necessary for the proper functioning of the Tribunal.

It is also charged with some statutory responsibilities:

 

  • recommend to the Minister and the Lieutenant Governor-in-Council fees and assessments to cover regulatory costs;
  • establish conflict of interest guidelines for the Commission and Tribunal members and FSCO staff; and
  • publish and deliver to the Minister an annual statement of priorities of FSCO, and provide an annual report.  

Chair

Mr. Ian McSweeney was appointed Chair of the Commission and the Tribunal on September 13, 2017. Ian is a retired partner of Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP. At Osler, he chaired the firm’s Pension and Employee Benefits Department for many years and practiced exclusively in that area for most of his 35 plus year legal career. He is a former member of Osler’s Executive Committee and a former Chair of the firm’s Legal Professionals Committee. Ian is the past Editor of Pension Benefits Law in Ontario (Carswell) and a former Vice-Chair of the Pension Commission of Ontario’s (now FSCO) Legal Advisory Committee. Ian is also a former (founding) member of the executive of the Canadian Bar Association (Ontario) Pension and Benefits Section and former Chair and founding member of the International Pension & Employee Benefits Lawyers Association (IPEBLA). He has an honours business degree from Ivey (HBA, 1975) and obtained his law degree from The University of Western Ontario (LLB, 1979).

 

Vice-Chair

Professor Denis Boivin was appointed Vice-Chair of the Commission and the Tribunal on October 18, 2017. Previously, he was Vice-Chair (Acting) of the Commission and the Tribunal since December 1, 2014. Full Professor at the University of Ottawa, he teaches Insurance Law, Remedies and Torts, and has written several articles and four books on these subjects, in French and English. Professor Boivin is a graduate of the University of Ottawa (B.Soc.Sc., LL.B.) and of Yale University (LL.M.), a Fulbright Scholar, and the recipient of many awards for teaching and scholarship, including the 1999 Canadian Association of Law Teachers Award for Scholarly Writing and the 2007 University of Ottawa prize for Excellence in Education. Professor Boivin was appointed a member to the Financial Services Tribunal on June 7, 2006, having served as a special purpose member of the Tribunal from December 1, 2004.

 

​​Ms. Bethune Whiston was appointed Vice-Chair of the Commission and the Tribunal on April 11, 2018. Ms. Whiston is a Partner in the Ontario Retirement Solutions and International Practice of Morneau Shepell and consults, speaks and writes internationally on pension & benefit plan issues. With over 25 years of experience, Ms. Whiston manages Morneau Shepell’s Pension & Benefits Consulting Legal Team in Toronto and co-manages the Toronto Regulatory Practice, a large multi-specialty team of people working on over 180 pension plan wind-ups and restructurings in Canada. She is also responsible for advising the firm’s professionals and clients on a broad range of pension & benefit plan issues. Ms. Whiston was appointed a member to the Financial Services Tribunal on December 17, 2013.

 

Bethune is a faculty member of the Osgoode Certificate in Pension Law, a past faculty member of the Centre for Employee Benefits (Humber College), and has held leadership positions on a number of committees and councils in the industry. She is Executive Editor of the Morneau Shepell Summary of Pension Legislation in Canada, and coordinates publication of the Morneau Shepell Handbook of Canadian Pension and Benefit Plans. Ms. Whiston holds a B.A. from Western University (1983) and a J.D. from the University of Toronto (1986).

 

 

CEO and Superintendent of Financial Services

Mr. Brian Mills was appointed CEO and Superintendent of Financial Services in October 2014.  He previously served as FSCO’s Deputy Superintendent, Pensions.
 
Mr. Mills has three decades of experience in both the private and public sectors. He began his career in the Ontario Public Service working in policy at several ministries, including the Ministry of Financial Institutions, and spent five years as Vice President of Pension Administration at the Ontario Pension Board. He was also a Managing Partner at Towers Perrin (now Towers Watson), responsible for running the firm’s pension and benefit outsourcing business operations in Canada, Europe, Australia and Latin America. Mr. Mills has an honours degree in Economics from Queen's University.

La Commission

La Commission est formée de quatre membres, dont trois sont nommés par le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil pendant une période déterminée, conformément aux lignes directrices établies par le Secrétariat des nominations [New Window]. Le quatrième membre de la Commission est le surintendant des services financiers, de par sa fonction.
 
Les membres actuels de la Commission sont le président Ian McSweeney, le vice-président professeur Denis Boivin, la vice-présidente Bethune Whiston et le surintendant des services financiers Brian Mills. Le surintendant est aussi le directeur général de la CSFO. De plus, le président et les deux vice-présidents de la Commission sont, respectivement, le président et les vice-présidents du Tribunal.

Les objectifs de la Commission sont énoncés dans la Loi de 1997 sur la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario :
 
  • offrir des services de réglementation qui protègent les intérêts de la population et rehaussent la confiance du public dans les secteurs réglementés;
  • faire des recommandations au ministre des Finances (le ministre) sur les secteurs réglementés; et
  • offrir les ressources nécessaires au bon fonctionnement du Tribunal.
La Commission est également chargée de certaines responsabilités législatives :
 
  • recommander au ministre et au lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil les droits et les évaluations requis pour couvrir les frais réglementaires;
  • établir les lignes directrices relatives aux conflits d’intérêts pour les membres de la Commission, du Tribunal et du personnel de la CSFO; et
  • publier et remettre au ministre un énoncé annuel des priorités de la CSFO ainsi qu’un rapport annuel.
 

Président

M. Ian McSweeney a été nommé président de la Commission et du Tribunal le 13 septembre 2017. Avant de prendre sa retraite, il était associé chez Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP où il a dirigé les services des régimes de retraite et des avantages sociaux du cabinet et exercé exclusivement dans ce domaine pendant la majeure partie de ses 35 années de services dans le milieu juridique. Il est ancien membre du comité exécutif de Osler et ancien président du conseil des professionnels juridiques du cabinet. M. McSweeney a été rédacteur de la Loi sur les régimes de retraite de l'Ontario (Carswell) et ancien vice-président du Comité consultatif juridique de la Commission des régimes de retraite de l'Ontario (aujourd'hui la CSFO). Il est aussi ancien membre (fondateur) du Conseil exécutif de la Section des régimes de retraite et des avantages sociaux de l'Association du Barreau canadien (Ontario) et président et membre fondateur de l'International Pension & Employee Benefits Lawyers Association (IPEBLA). M. McSweeney détient un diplôme spécialisé en administration des affaires de la Richard Ivey School of Business (HBA, 1975) ainsi qu'un diplôme en droit de l'Université de Western Ontario (LLB, 1979).

 

Vice-président

Le professeur Denis Boivin a été nommé vice-président de la Commission et du Tribunal le 18 octobre 2017. Précédemment, il était le vice-président intérimaire de la Commission et du Tribunal depuis le 1er décembre 2014. Professeur titulaire à l’Université d’Ottawa, il enseigne le droit des assurances ainsi que la théorie des recours et de la responsabilité délictuelle. Il est l’auteur de plusieurs articles et de quatre essais sur ces sujets, en français comme en anglais. Denis Boivin est diplômé de l’Université d’Ottawa (B.Soc.Sc., LL.B.) et de l’Université Yale (LL.M.), a remporté une bourse d’études Fulbright et est lauréat de nombreux prix pour la qualité de son enseignement et de ses recherches, dont, en 1999, le concours d’essai juridique de l’Association canadienne des professeurs de droit et, en 2007, le Prix d’excellence en éducation de l’Université d’Ottawa. Le professeur Boivin a été nommé membre du Tribunal des services financiers le 7 juin 2006, où il agissait déjà comme membre ad hoc depuis le 1er décembre 2004.

Mme Bethune Whiston a été nommée vice-présidente de la Commission et du Tribunal le 11 avril 2018. Mme Whiston est associée responsable des solutions en matière de retraite et du groupe de services-conseils internationaux chez Morneau Shepell en Ontario. Elle travaille comme experte-conseil, conférencière et auteure d’envergure internationale dans le domaine des régimes de retraites et d’assurance collective. Forte de plus de 25 ans d’expérience, Mme Whiston dirige l’équipe juridique de services-conseils en régimes de retraite et d’assurance collective à Toronto. Elle codirige aussi, à Toronto, l’équipe de services-conseils en réglementation de Morneau Shepell, un vaste groupe multidisciplinaire d’experts qui assure la liquidation ou la restructuration de plus de 180 régimes de retraite au Canada. Elle intervient également comme conseillère auprès des professionnels et des clients de l’entreprise sur une foule d’enjeux liés aux régimes de retraite et d’assurance collective. Mme Whiston a été nommé membre du Tribunal des services financiers le 17 décembre 2013.

 

Mme Whiston enseigne à la faculté de droit Osgoode de l’Université York, au programme de certificat en droit des régimes de retraite. Elle a aussi enseigné au Centre for Employee Benefits du Collège Humber et occupé des postes de direction au sein d’un bon nombre de commissions et de conseils du secteur. Elle dirige la rédaction de la publication Summary of Pension Legislation in Canada, de Morneau Shepell, et coordonne la publication du guide Handbook of Canadian Pension and Benefit Plans (toujours de Morneau Shepell). Titulaire d'un baccalauréat ès arts de l'Université Western Ontario (1983), Mme Whiston détient en outre un diplôme Juris Doctor de l'Université de Toronto (1986).

 
 

Directeur général de la CSFO et surintendant des services financiers

M. Brian Mills a été nommé directeur général et surintendant des services financiers en octobre 2014. Il a auparavant occupé le poste de surintendant adjoint des régimes de retraite.

 

M. Mills a trois décennies d’expérience dans les secteurs public et privé. Il a débuté dans la fonction publique de l’Ontario en œuvrant dans le secteur des politiques au sein de plusieurs ministères, y compris le ministère des Institutions financières. Il a agi comme vice-président, Administration des pensions, à la Commission du Régime de retraite de l’Ontario pendant cinq ans. Il a aussi été associé directeur chez Towers Perrin (maintenant Towers Watson), où il administrait le régime de retraite de la société et veillait à ce que celle-ci bénéficie de l’externalisation d’activités commerciales au Canada, en Europe, en Australie et Amérique latine. M. Mills détient un baccalauréat spécialisé en économie de l’Université Queen’s.