Superior Court Order requiring Antoinette Gail Freeman and 1301137 Ontario Inc. o/a TAKE II and TAKE II CONSULTANTS to comply with the Superintendent’s Permanent Cease and Desist Order

​Court File No.: CV-15-543404

 

ONTARIO
SUPERIOR COURT OF JUSTICE
THE HONOURABLE                       )           THIS THURSDAY, THE 1st DAY
JUSTICE MATHESON                    )           OF JUNE, 2016
 

Between:

Superintendent of Financial Services
Applicant

 

and
Antoinette Gail Freeman and 1301137 Ontario Inc. o/a Take II and Take II Consultants
Respondents

 

Order

 
THIS APPLICATION, made by the Applicant, the Superintendent of Financial Services, under section 448 of the Insurance Act and Rule 14.05(2) of the Rules of Civil Procedure for an Order:
 
  1. requiring Antoinette Gail Freeman and 1301137 Ontario Inc. o/a TAKE II and TAKE II Consultants to comply with the Cease and Desist Order issued on April 13, 2005 by the Superintendent of Financial Services, effective immediately, pursuant to section 448 of the Insurance Act, R.S.O 1990, c.I.8;
  2. authorizing service of the Notice of Application and Notice of Return of Application as contained in the Application Record on the Respondent, Antoinette Gail Freeman, as her last known address of address 17 Connorvale Ave, Toronto, ON M8W 3Z9, by regular mail, with such service deemed to be effective as of 5th day following the mailing of this Application Record;
  3. authorizing service of this Notice of Application and Notice of Return of Application as contained in the Application Record on the Respondent, 1301137 ONTARIO INC., o/a TAKE II and TAKE II CONSULTANTS, as its last known address 17 Connorvale Ave, Toronto, ON M8W 3Z9 with such service deemed to be effective as of 5th day following the mailing of this Application Record;
  4. directing Antoinette Gail Freeman and 1301137 Ontario Inc. o/a TAKE II and TAKE II Consultants to cease and refrain from:
    1. holding themselves out as an insurance agent or consultant;
    2. using the name “TAKE II Insurance” and any other business name containing the word “insurance” or “assurance”;
    3. soliciting insurance on behalf of an insurer or on behalf of the Facility Association under the Compulsory Automobile Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990, Chapter C.25;
    4. engaging in any form of advertisement, advice, solicitation or negotiation relating to the sale of insurance to the public; and
    5. transmitting for a person other than herself or itself, an application for or a policy of insurance to or from an insurer or the Facility Association.
  5. authorizing the service of this Order, as granted by the Honourable Court, on the Respondents by regular mail;
  6. directing that there be no costs of this Application; and
  7. such further or other relief as this Honourable Court shall deem just.
was heard on June 1, 2016 at the Courthouse at 393 University Ave., Toronto, Ontario.
 
ON READING the Applicant’s Application Record including the Notice of Application, the Notice of Application as Amended, the affidavit of Anatol Monid, sworn December 21, 2015, together with exhibits attached thereto, the Consent of the Respondents as contained in the Minutes of Settlement, dated June 30, 2015, attached as Exhibit F to the said Affidavit of Anatol Monid, and the Applicant’s factum;
 
ON HEARING the submissions of Daniel Di Fonzo and of counsel for the Respondents;
 
  1. THIS COURT ORDERS that Antoinette Gail Freeman and 1301137 Ontario Inc. o/a TAKE II and TAKE II Consultants comply with the Cease and Desist Order issued on April 13, 2005 by the Superintendent of Financial Services, attached hereto as Schedule “A”.
  2. THIS COURT ORDERS that service of this Notice of Application and Notice of Return of Application as contained in the Application Record on the Respondent, Antoinette Gail Freeman, at her last known address of address 17 Connorvale Ave, Toronto, ON M8W 3Z9, by regular mail, with such service deemed effective as of 5th day following the mailing of this Application Record be and is hereby approved, nunc pro tunc.
  3. THIS COURT ORDERS that service of this Notice of Application and Notice of Return of Application as contained in the Application Record on the Respondent, 1301137 ONTARIO INC., o/a TAKE II and TAKE II CONSULTANTS, as its last known address 17 Connorvale Ave, Toronto, ON M8W 3Z9 with such service deemed effective as of 5th day following the mailing of this Application Record be and is hereby approved, nunc pro tunc.
  4. THIS COURT ORDERS that Antoinette Gail Freeman and 1301137 Ontario Inc. o/a TAKE II and TAKE II Consultants cease and refrain from holding themselves out as an insurance agent or consultant.
  5. THIS COURT ORDERS that Antoinette Gail Freeman and 1301137 Ontario Inc. o/a TAKE II and TAKE II Consultants cease and refrain from using the name “TAKE II Insurance” and any other business name containing the word “insurance” or “assurance.
  6. THIS COURT ORDERS that Antoinette Gail Freeman and 1301137 Ontario Inc. o/a TAKE II and TAKE II Consultants cease and refrain from soliciting insurance on behalf of an insurer or on behalf of the Facility Association under the Compulsory Automobile Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990, Chapter C.25
  7. THIS COURT ORDERS that Antoinette Gail Freeman and 1301137 Ontario Inc. o/a TAKE II and TAKE II Consultants cease and refrain from engaging in any form of advertisement, advice, solicitation or negotiation relating to the sale of insurance to the public.
  8. THIS COURT ORDERS that Antoinette Gail Freeman and 1301137 Ontario Inc. o/a TAKE II and TAKE II Consultants cease and refrain from transmitting for a person other than herself or itself, an application for or a policy of insurance to or from an insurer or the Facility Association.
  9. THIS COURT ORDERS that service of this Order, as granted by the Honourable Court, on the Respondents by regular mail be hereby authorized and approved.
  10. THIS COURT ORDERS that there be no award of costs of the Application.
Original signed by “Matheson, J.”    

 
ONTARIO
SUPERIOR COURT OF JUSTICE

ORDER OF THE HONOURABLE JUSTICE
AS HEARD ON JUNE 1, 2016

Ordonnance de la Cour supérieure exigeant qu’Antoinette Gail Freeman et 1301137 Ontario Inc., faisant affaire sous les noms de TAKE II et de TAKE II CONSULTANTS, se conforme à l’ordonnance permanente de cesser et de s’abstenir émise par le surintendant

​Dossier : CV-15-543404

 

ONTARIO
COUR SUPÉRIEURE DE JUSTICE
L’HONORABLE                              )                     CE JEUDI, 1er JUIN 2016
JUGE MATHESON                         )       
 
Entre :
Le Surintendant des services Financiers
Demandeur
 
et
Antoinette Gail Freeman et 1301137 Ontario Inc.
faisant affaire sous les noms de Take et Take II Consultants
Défendeurs


Ordonnance

 

LA PRÉSENTE REQUÊTE, déposée par le surintendant des services financiers, demandeur, en vertu de l’article 448 de la Loi sur les assurances et du paragraphe 14.05(2) des Règles de procédure civile :
 
  1. demande qu’Antoinette Gail Freeman et 1301137 Ontario Inc., faisant affaire sous les noms TAKE II et TAKE II Consultants, se conforme à l’ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir émise le 13 avril 2005 par le surintendant des services financiers, à partir de maintenant, conformément à l’article 448 de la Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O. 1990, chap. I.8;
  2. autorise la signification de l’avis de requête et avis de retour de requête telle que contenue dans le dossier de la demande de la défenderesse, Antoinette Gail Freeman, à sa dernière adresse connue, soit le 17, avenue Connorvale, Toronto (Ontario) M8W 3Z9, par courrier ordinaire, lesquels avis auront été réputés avoir été signifiés le 5e jour suivant l’envoi du présent dossier de demande;
  3. autorise la signification de cet avis de requête et avis de retour de requête telle que contenue dans le dossier de la demande sur la défenderesse, 1301137 ONTARIO INC., faisant affaire sous les noms de TAKE II et de TAKE II CONSULTANTS, à sa dernière adresse connue, soit le 17 avenue Connorvale, Toronto (Ontario) M8W 3Z9, lesquels avis auront été réputés avoir été signifiés le 5e jour suivant l’envoi du présent dossier de demande;
  4. demande à Antoinette Gail Freeman et à 1301137 Ontario Inc., faisant affaire sous les noms de TAKE II et de TAKE II CONSULTANTS, de cesser et de s’abstenir :
    1. de se présenter comme agent d’assurances ou conseiller en matière d’assurances;
    2. d’utiliser le nom « TAKE II INSURANCE » et tout autre nom commercial qui contient le mot « insurance » ou « assurance »;
    3. de solliciter la souscription d’assurance au nom d’un assureur ou au nom de l’Association des assureurs aux termes de la Loi sur l’assurance automobile obligatoire, L.R.O. 1990, chap. C.25;
    4. de s’engager dans toute forme de message publicitaire, conseil, sollicitation ou négociation liés à la vente d’assurances au public;
    5. de transmettre, pour une autre personne qu’eux-mêmes, une demande de police d’assurance ou une police d’assurance à un assureur ou à l’Association des assureurs, ainsi que de transmettre ces mêmes documents à un assuré.
  5. autorise la signification de cette ordonnance, telle qu’accordée par l’honorable Cour, aux défendeurs par courrier ordinaire;
  6. demande qu’aucuns dépens découlant de la présente requête ne soient accordés;
  7. ainsi que toute mesure ou toute décision considérée juste et équitable par l’honorable Cour.


a été entendue le 1er juin 2016 au Palais de justice sis au 393, avenue University, Toronto (Ontario).

 

À LA LECTURE du dossier de la demande du demandeur, y compris l’avis de requête, l’avis de requête tel que modifié, de l’affidavit d’Anatol Monid, présenté sous serment le 21 décembre 2015, de même que les pièces qui y sont jointes, le consentement des défendeurs tel que consigné dans le procès-verbal de transaction, daté du 30 juin 2015, joint comme pièce F au dit affidavit d’Anatol Monid, ainsi que le mémoire du demandeur;
 
À L’AUDIENCE des représentations de Daniel Di Fonzo et de l’avocat des défendeurs;
 
  1. LE TRIBUNAL ORDONNE qu’Antoinette Gail Freeman et 1301137 Ontario Inc., faisant affaire sous les noms de TAKE II and TAKE II Consultants, se conforme à l’ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir émise le 13 avril 2005 par le surintendant des services financiers et jointe aux présentes à l’annexe A.
  2. LE TRIBUNAL ORDONNE que la signification du présent avis de requête et avis de retour de requête tel que contenu dans le dossier de demande sur la défenderesse, Antoinette Gail Freeman, à sa dernière adresse connue, soit le 17, avenue Connorvale, Toronto (Ontario) M8W 3Z9, par courrier ordinaire, lesquels avis auront été réputés avoir été signifiés le 5e jour suivant l’envoi du présent dossier, soit et est par la présente approuvée nunc pro tunc.
  3. LE TRIBUNAL ORDONNE que la signification de cet avis de requête et avis de retour de requête telle que contenue dans le dossier de la demande sur le défendeur, 1301137 ONTARIO INC., faisant affaire sous les noms de TAKE II et de TAKE II CONSULTANTS, à sa dernière adresse connue, soit le 17, avenue Connorvale, Toronto (Ontario) M8W 3Z9, lesquels avis auront été réputés avoir été signifiés le 5e jour suivant l’envoi du présent dossier de demande, soit et est par la présente approuvée nunc pro tunc.
  4. LE TRIBUNAL ORDONNE qu’Antoinette Gail Freeman et 1301137 Ontario Inc., faisant affaire sous les noms de TAKE II and TAKE II Consultants, cessent et s’abstiennent de se présenter comme agent d’assurances ou conseiller en matière d’assurances.
  5. LE TRIBUNAL ORDONNE qu’Antoinette Gail Freeman et 1301137 Ontario Inc., faisant affaire sous les noms de TAKE II and TAKE II Consultants, cesse et s’abstienne d’utiliser le nom « TAKE II INSURANCE » et tout autre nom commercial qui contient le mot « insurance » ou « assurance ».
  6. LE TRIBUNAL ORDONNE qu’Antoinette Gail Freeman et 1301137 Ontario Inc., faisant affaire sous les noms de TAKE II and TAKE II Consultants, cesse et s’abstienne de solliciter la souscription d’assurance au nom d’un assureur ou au nom de l’Association des assureurs aux termes de la Loi sur l’assurance automobile obligatoire, L.R.O. 1990, chap. C.25.
  7. LE TRIBUNAL ORDONNE qu’Antoinette Gail Freeman et 1301137 Ontario Inc. faisant affaire sous les noms de TAKE II and TAKE II Consultants, cesse et s’abstienne de s’engager dans toute forme de message publicitaire, conseil, sollicitation ou négociation liés à la vente d’assurances au public.
  8. LE TRIBUNAL ORDONNE qu’Antoinette Gail Freeman et1301137 Ontario Inc., faisant affaire sous les noms de TAKE II and TAKE II Consultants, cesse et s’abstienne de transmettre, pour une autre personne qu’eux-mêmes, une demande de police d’assurance ou une police d’assurance à un assureur ou à l’Association des assureurs, ainsi que de transmettre ces mêmes documents à un assuré.
  9. LE TRIBUNAL ORDONNE que la signification de la présente ordonnance aux défendeurs, telle qu’accordée par l’honorable Cour, soit et est par la présente autorisée et approuvée.  
  10. LE TRIBUNAL ORDONNE qu’aucuns dépens découlant de la présente requête ne soient alloués.  
Original signé par « Matheson, J. »    

 
ONTARIO
COUR SUPÉRIEURE DE JUSTICE
 
ORDONNANCE DE L’HONORABLE JUGE
TELLE QU’ENTENDUE LE 1er JUIN 2016