Order to Cease and Desist Unlicensed Activity Against Darcy Schanck

REGARDING the Mortgage Brokerages, Lenders and Administrators Act, 2006, S.O. 2006, c.29 (the “Act”), in particular sections 2 and 35;

 

AND REGARDING Darcy Schanck

Order to Cease and Desist Unlicensed Activity

 

TO: Darcy Schanck

 

On January 9, 2017, the Superintendent of Financial Services (the “Superintendent”) issued an Interim Compliance Order to Cease and Desist Unlicensed Activity (the “Interim Order”) against Darcy Schanck (“Mr. Schanck”) and a Notice of Proposal to Impose Compliance Order to Cease and Desist Unlicensed Activity against Mr. Schanck (the Notice”) pursuant to subsection 35(3) of the Act.

 

Service of the Interim Order and Notice by registered and regular mail was ineffective as Mr. Schanck did not reside at the last address on record with the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (“FSCO”). Efforts to determine Mr. Schanck’s most current address yielded only the address currently on record with FSCO. 

 

Accordingly, on January 24, 2017 the Superintendent served the Interim Order and the Notice on Mr. Schanck by email, pursuant to section 7 of Ontario Regulation 190/08. There was no indication that Mr. Schanck did not receive the email as there was no delivery error message.  Mr. Schanck had 15 days after service of the Notice to request a hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal (the “Tribunal”) in accordance with subsections 35(3) and 35(4) of the Act.

 

The Registrar of the Tribunal has confirmed that no request for a hearing has been received from Mr. Schanck or anyone on his behalf, in respect of the proposal to impose a compliance order to cease and desist unlicensed activity.


Subsection 35(6) of the Act provides that the Superintendent may carry out the proposal to impose a compliance order when no hearing has been requested.

Order

IT IS ORDERED THAT that pursuant to sections 2 and 35 of the Act, and for the reasons described above, Darcy Schanck:

 

  1. Immediately cease soliciting persons or entities to borrow or lend money on the security of real property in Ontario, or holding itself out as doing so;
  2. Immediately cease providing information about a prospective borrower to a prospective mortgage lender or holding itself out as doing so, in respect of real property in Ontario;
  3. Immediately cease negotiating or arranging a mortgage in respect of real property in Ontario on behalf of another person or entity, or attempting or holding itself out as doing so;
  4. Immediately cease accepting any fees or funds in connection with the solicitation, negotiation, or arrangement of a mortgage in respect of real property in Ontario;
  5. Immediately cease using a description that might reasonably be expected to lead to the belief that it is a licensed mortgage agent in Ontario; and
  6. Immediately cease advertising as a mortgage agent in Ontario.

TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to subsections 48(4) and 49(1) and (2) of the Act, every person who fails to comply with an order made under this Act is guilty of an offence and every individual convicted of an offence under the Act is liable to a fine of not more than $100,000.00 or imprisonment for a term of not more than a year or both a fine and imprisonment.  Every corporation convicted of an offence under the Act is liable to a fine of not more than $200,000.00.

 

Pursuant to subsection 48(5) of the Act, every director or officer of a corporation that commits an offence under this Act who directed, authorized, assented to, acquiesced in or participated in the commission of the offence, or who failed to take reasonable care to prevent the corporation from committing the offence, is guilty of an offence, whether or not the corporation is prosecuted or convicted.

 

Subsection 48(6) of the Act provides that every partner of a partnership and every individual who is a member of the directing body of an entity, other than a person or partnership, who directed, authorized, assented to, acquiesced in or participated in the commission of an act or omission by the partnership or entity which, if committed by a person, would be an offence under the Act, is guilty of an offence.

 

Si vous désirez recevoir cet ordre en français, veuillez envoyer votre demande immédiatement à: Adjointe, audiences, Greffe, Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario, 5160 rue Yonge, 14em, Toronto ON M2N 6L9.

 

DATED at Toronto, February 24, 2017.

 

original signed by “Brian Mills”
__________________________________
Brian Mills
Superintendent of Financial Services
Financial Services Commission of Ontario

Ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir contre Darcy Schanck

RELATIVEMENT À la Loi de 2006 sur les maisons de courtage d’hypothèques, les prêteurs hypothécaires et les administrateurs d’hypothèques, L.O. 2006, chap. 29 (ci-après la « Loi »), en particulier les articles 2 et 35;

 

ET RELATIVEMENT À Darcy Schanck

Ordonnance de cesser et de s'abstenir

 

À : Darcy Schanck

 

Le 9 janvier 2017, le surintendant des services financiers (ci-après le « surintendant ») a émis une ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir (ci-après « l’ordonnance provisoire ») à l’encontre de Darcy Schanck (ci-après « M. Schanck ») ainsi qu’un avis d’intention d’imposer une ordonnance exécutoire de cesser et de s’abstenir d’exercer une activité sans permis (ci-après « l’avis ») à l’encontre de M. Schanck, conformément au paragraphe 35 (3) de la Loi.

 

Il a été impossible de signifier l’ordonnance provisoire ni l’ordonnance exécutoire à M. Schanck par courrier recommandé ni de lui faire parvenir par la poste, puisque M. Schanck ne réside plus à la dernière adresse contenue dans les dossiers de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (ci-après la « CSFO »). Tous les efforts déployés pour trouver l’adresse la plus récente de M. Schanck n’ont conduit qu’à l’adresse contenue dans les dossiers de la CSFO.

 

En conséquence, le 24 janvier 2017, le surintendant a signifié l’ordonnance provisoire et l’avis à M. Schanck par courriel, comme le prévoit l’article 7 du Règlement de l’Ontario 190/08. Rien ne permet de croire que M. Schanck n’a pas reçu ce courriel, puisqu’il n’y a eu aucun avis d’erreur de livraison du message à la suite de son envoi. M. Schanck disposait de 15 jours à la suite de la signification de cette ordonnance et de cet avis pour déposer une demande d’audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers (ci-après « le Tribunal »), conformément aux paragraphes 35 (3) et 35 (4) de la Loi.

 

Le greffier du Tribunal a confirmé qu’aucune demande d’audience n’avait été reçue de la part de M. Schanck ni de quelque autre personne agissant en son nom relativement à l’avis d’intention d’imposer une ordonnance exécutoire de cesser et de s’abstenir d’exercer une activité sans permis.

 

Le paragraphe 35 (6) de la Loi prévoit que le surintendant peut donner suite à son intention d’imposer une ordonnance exécutoire lorsqu’aucune audience n’a été demandée.

Ordonnance

 

IL EST DONC ORDONNÉ QUE conformément aux articles 2 et 35 de la Loi, et pour les motifs décrits ci-dessus, Darcy Schanck :

 

  1. cesse immédiatement de solliciter des personnes ou des entités pour qu’elles empruntent ou prêtent de l’argent garanti par des biens immeubles en Ontario, ou se présente comme exerçant ces activités;
  2. cesse immédiatement de fournir de l’information sur un emprunteur potentiel à un prêteur potentiel et de se présenter comme exerçant ces activités relativement à des biens immeubles en Ontario;
  3. cesse immédiatement de négocier des hypothèques ou de prendre les dispositions nécessaires à leur égard relativement à des biens immeubles en Ontario pour le compte d’une autre personne ou entité, ou de se présenter comme exerçant ces activités; 
  4. cesse immédiatement d’accepter des honoraires ou des fonds ayant trait à la sollicitation, la négociation ou la prise de dispositions relatives à une hypothèque concernant des biens immeubles en Ontario;
  5. cesse immédiatement d’utiliser une description qui pourrait raisonnablement porter le public à croire qu’il est courtier en hypothèques en Ontario;  
  6. cesse immédiatement de faire de la publicité en qualité de courtier en hypothèques en Ontario.

PRENEZ AVIS QUE conformément aux paragraphes 48 (4), 49 (1) et 49 (2) de la Loi, quiconque omet de se conformer à une ordonnance rendue en vertu de la Loi est coupable d’une infraction et que toute personne déclarée coupable d’une infraction en vertu de la Loi est passible d’une amende maximale de 100 000 $ ou d’une peine d’emprisonnement pour une durée maximale d’un an, ou les deux. De même, toute société qui est déclarée coupable d’une infraction à la Loi est passible d’une amende maximale de 200 000 $. 

 

En vertu du paragraphe 48 (5), tout dirigeant ou tout administrateur d’une société qui commet une infraction en vertu de la Loi, qui l’a ordonnée ou autorisée, qui y a consenti ou participé ou qui a n’a pas pris de précautions raisonnables pour empêcher la société de la commettre est coupable d’une infraction, que la société ait été ou non poursuivie ou déclarée coupable.

 

Le paragraphe 48 (6) prévoit que sont coupables d’une infraction les associés d’une société de personnes ou les particuliers membres de l’instance dirigeante d’une entité qui n’est pas une personne ou une société de personnes, qui ont ordonné ou autorisé la commission, par la société de personnes ou l’entité, d’un acte ou d’une omission, laquelle constituerait une infraction à la Loi si elle était le fait d’une personne, ou qui y ont consenti ou participé.

 

If you would like to receive this order in English, please send your request immediately to: Assistant, Hearings, Registry, Financial Services Commission of Ontario, 5160 Yonge Street, P.O. Box 85, Toronto, Ontario, M2N 6L9.

 

FAIT À Toronto (Ontario) le 24 février 2017.

 

Original signé par Brian Mills
__________________________________
Brian Mills
Surintendant des services financiers
Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario