Permanent Cease and Desist Order Against Kostyantyn Poshtarenko

REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. I.8, as amended, in particular section 441;

 

AND REGARDING Kostyantyn Poshtarenko.

Permanent Cease & Desist Order

 

TO: Kostyantyn Poshtarenko

 

On January 18, 2017, the Superintendent of Financial Services (“Superintendent”) issued a Notice of Proposal to Make a Permanent Cease & Desist Order. This Notice of Proposal was delivered to Mr. Poshtarenko by email and registered mail.

 

Pursuant to subsection 441(3), Mr. Poshtarenko had 15 days to request a hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal.

 

On March 3, 2017, the Registrar of the Financial Services Tribunal confirmed that no request for hearing was filed by Mr. Poshtarenko or anyone on his behalf.

 

Pursuant to subsection 441(7), if the individual does not request a hearing within the time period allowed, the Superintendent may make an order in accordance with the Notice of Proposal.

Order

Kostyantyn Poshtarenko is ordered to cease and refrain from conducting insurance business in the Province of Ontario, including the advertising, soliciting, offering, sale and adjusting of auto insurance.

 

AND TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to subsections 447(2)(b) and (3) of the Act, every person who fails to comply with an order made under this Act is guilty of an offence and every person convicted of an offence under the Act is liable to a fine of not more than $250,000.00 on a first conviction and to a fine of not more than $500,000.00 on each subsequent conviction. 

 

AND TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to subsection 447(4) of the Act, every director or officer of a corporation who caused, authorized, permitted or participated in the corporation or unincorporated association committing an offence, or who failed to take reasonable care to prevent the corporation or unincorporated association from committing an offence, is guilty of an offence, whether or not the corporation is prosecuted or convicted, and liable to a fine of not more than $100,000.00 on a first conviction and a fine of not more than $200,000.00 on each subsequent conviction.

 

Si vous désirez recevoir cet ordre en français, veuillez envoyer votre demande immédiatement à: Adjointe, audiences, Greffe, Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario, 5160 rue Yonge, 14em, Toronto ON M2N 6L9.

 

ISSUED at the City Toronto, Ontario, March 3, 2017.

 

original signed by "Brian Mills"

 

Brian Mills
Superintendent of Financial Services
Financial Services Commission of Ontario

Ordonnance permanente de cesser et de s'abstenir contre Kostyantyn Poshtarenko

RELATIVEMENT À la Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O. 1990, chap. I.8, telle que modifiée (ci-après la « Loi »), en particulier l’article 441;

 

ET RELATIVEMENT À Kostyantyn Poshtarenko

Ordonnance permanente de cesser et de s'abstenir

 

À : Kostyantyn Poshtarenko

 

Le 18 janvier 2017, le surintendant des services financiers (ci-après « le surintendant ») a émis un avis d’intention (ci-après « l’avis ») de rendre une ordonnance permanente de cesser et de s'abstenir. Cet avis a été envoyé par courriel et par la poste, sous forme de courrier recommandé, à Kostyantyn Poshtarenko (ci-après « M. Poshtarenko »).

 

Conformément au paragraphe 441 (3), M. Poshtarenko disposait de 15 jours pour demander une audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers (ci-après le « Tribunal »).

 

Le 3 mars 2017, le greffier du Tribunal a confirmé qu’aucune demande d’audience n’avait été présentée par M. Poshtarenko ni par quiconque agissant en son nom.

 

En vertu du paragraphe 441 (7), si la personne ne demande pas d'audience dans la période impartie, le surintendant peut rendre une ordonnance conformément à l'avis.

Ordonnance

Il est ordonné à Kostyantyn Poshtarenko de cesser et de s'abstenir de toute activité ou d'opération d'assurance en Ontario, soit de faire de la publicité, de solliciter, d’offrir, de vendre ou de mettre au point toute forme d’assurance automobile.

 

PRENEZ ÉGALEMENT AVIS QUE conformément à l’alinéa 447 (2) b) et au paragraphe 447 (3) de la Loi, toute personne ne se conformant pas aux exigences des ordonnances rendues ou directives données aux termes de la Loi se rend coupable d’une infraction et que toute personne qui est déclarée coupable d’une infraction à la présente Loi est passible d’une amende d’au plus 250 000 $ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 500 000 $ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes. 

 

PRENEZ ÉGALEMENT AVIS QUE conformément au paragraphe 447 (4) de la Loi, est également coupable d’une infraction tout administrateur, dirigeant ou mandataire principaux d’une personne morale ou toute personne agissant à ce titre ou ayant des fonctions semblables ayant causé, autorisé, permis ou participé à la perpétration d’une infraction, ou qui n’a pas pris les soins raisonnables pour empêcher la perpétration d’une telle infraction et qu’à ce titre, cette personne est passible d’une amende d’au plus 100 000 $ pour une première déclaration de culpabilité et d’une amende d’au plus 200 000 $ pour toute déclaration de culpabilité subséquente.

 

If you would like to receive this order in English, please send your request immediately to: Assistant, Hearings, Registry, Financial Services Commission of Ontario, 5160 Yonge Street, P.O. Box 85, Toronto, Ontario, M2N 6L9.

 

FAIT à Toronto (Ontario) le 3 mars 2017.

 

Original signé par Brian Mills

 

Brian Mills
Surintendant des services financiers
Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario