Order to Cease and Desist Unlicensed Activity Against Pannirshelvan Kannuthurai

REGARDING the Mortgage Brokerages, Lenders and Administrators Act, 2006, S.O. 2006, c.29 (the “Act”), in particular section 35.

 

AND REGARDING Pannirshelvan Kannuthurai

Order to Cease and Desist Unlicensed Activity

On May 15, 2017, the Superintendent of Financial Services (the “Superintendent”) issued a Notice of Proposal to Impose a Compliance Order to Cease and Desist Unlicensed Activity (the “Notice”) against Pannirshelvan Kannuthurai pursuant to subsection 35(3) of the Act.

 

Mr. Kannuthurai had 15 days after service of the Notice to request a hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal (the “Tribunal”) in accordance with subsections 35(3) and 35(4) of the Act. Mr. Kannuthurai filed his request for hearing outside this 15 day deadline.

 

On November 20, 2017, the Tribunal issued a decision ordering that the request for hearing filed by Mr. Kannuthurai be dismissed without a hearing.

 

Subsection 35(6) of the Act provides that the Superintendent may carry out the proposal to impose a compliance order when no hearing has been requested.

Order

IT IS ORDERED that Pannirshelvan Kannuthurai is required to:

 

  1. Immediately cease soliciting persons or entities to borrow or lend money on the security of real property in Ontario, or holding himself out as doing so, including the soliciting of investors in any syndicated mortgage investments or soliciting investors to lend money to be secured against property owned or previously owned by Mr. Kannuthurai or a company related to Mr. Kannuthurai including the property at 189-195 Milner Avenue, Toronto and 4570 Sheppard Avenue East, Toronto; and
  2. Immediately cease otherwise dealing in mortgages as defined in section 2(1) of the Act.

TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to subsections 48(4) and 49(1) and (2) of the Act, every person who fails to comply with an order made under this Act is guilty of an offence and every individual convicted of an offence under the Act is liable to a fine of not more than $100,000.00 or imprisonment for a term of not more than a year or both a fine and imprisonment.  Every corporation convicted of an offence under the Act is liable to a fine of not more than $200,000.00.

 

Pursuant to subsection 48(5) of the Act, every director or officer of a corporation that commits an offence under this Act who directed, authorized, assented to, acquiesced in or participated in the commission of the offence, or who failed to take reasonable care to prevent the corporation from committing the offence, is guilty of an offence, whether or not the corporation is prosecuted or convicted.

 

Subsection 48(6) provides that every partner of a partnership and every individual who is a member of the directing body of an entity, other than a person or partnership, who directed, authorized, assented to, acquiesced in or participated in the commission of an act or omission by the partnership or entity which, if committed by a person, would be an offence under the Act, is guilty of an offence.

 

Si vous désirez recevoir cet ordre en français, veuillez envoyer votre demande immédiatement à: Adjointe, audiences, Greffe, Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario, 5160 rue Yonge, boîte 85, Toronto ON M2N 6L9.

 

DATED at Toronto, Ontario, November 27, 2017.

 

Brian Mills
Superintendent of Financial Services

Ordonnance de cesser et de s'abstenir contre Pannirshelvan Kannuthurai

RELATIVEMENT À la Loi de 2006 sur les maisons de courtage d’hypothèques, les prêteurs hypothécaires et les administrateurs d’hypothèques, L.O. 2006, chap. 29 (ci après la « Loi »), en particulier l’article 35;

 

ET RELATIVEMENT À Pannirshelvan Kannuthurai

Ordonnace de cesser et de s'abstenir

 

Le 15 mai 2017, le surintendant des services financiers (ci après le « surintendant ») a émis un avis d’intention d’imposer une ordonnance de conformité pour cesser et s’abstenir d’exercer une activité sans permis (ci après « l’avis ») à l’encontre de Pannirshelvan Kannuthurai (ci après « M. Kannuthurai »), conformément au paragraphe 35 (3) de la Loi.

 

M. Kannuthurai disposait de 15 jours à la suite de la signification de cet avis pour déposer une demande d’audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers (ci après « le Tribunal »), conformément aux paragraphes 35 (3) et 35 (4) de la Loi. M. Kannuthurai a déposé sa demande d’audience après le délai de 15 jours.

 

Le 20 novembre 2017, le Tribunal a rendu une décision ordonnant que la demande d’audience déposée par M. Kannuthurai soit rejetée sans audience.

 

Le paragraphe 35 (6) de la Loi prévoit que le surintendant peut donner suite à son intention d’imposer une ordonnance exécutoire lorsqu’aucune audience n’a été demandée.

Ordonnance

IL EST ORDONNÉ que Pannirshelvan Kannuthurai :

 

  1. cesse immédiatement de solliciter des personnes ou des entités pour qu’elles empruntent ou prêtent de l’argent garanti par des biens immeubles en Ontario, ou qu’il donne l’impression de ce faire, y compris solliciter des investisseurs concernant des placements hypothécaires consortiaux ou solliciter des investisseurs pour qu’ils prêtent de l’argent garanti par un bien dont M. Kannuthurai ou une société liée à M. Kannuthurai est ou a déjà été propriétaire, y compris les biens situés au 189‑195, avenue Milner, à Toronto et au 4570, avenue Sheppard Est, à Toronto; et
  2. cesse immédiatement de faire le courtage d’hypothèques de toute autre façon, tel que défini au paragraphe 2 (1) de la Loi.

PRENEZ AVIS QUE conformément aux paragraphes 48 (4), 49 (1) et 49 (2) de la Loi, quiconque omet de se conformer à une ordonnance rendue en vertu de la Loi est coupable d’une infraction et que toute personne déclarée coupable d’une infraction en vertu de la Loi est passible d’une amende maximale de 100 000 dollars ou d’une peine d’emprisonnement pour une durée maximale d’un an, ou les deux. De même, toute société qui est déclarée coupable d’une infraction à la Loi est passible d’une amende maximale de 200 000 dollars.

 

En vertu du paragraphe 48 (5) de la Loi, tout dirigeant ou tout administrateur d’une société qui commet une infraction en vertu de la Loi, qui l’a ordonnée ou autorisée, qui y a consenti ou participé ou qui a n’a pas pris de précautions raisonnables pour empêcher la société de la commettre est coupable d’une infraction, que la société ait été ou non poursuivie ou déclarée coupable.

 

Le paragraphe 48 (6) prévoit que sont coupables d’une infraction les associés d’une société de personnes et les particuliers membres de l’instance dirigeante d’une entité qui n’est pas une personne ou une société de personnes, qui ont ordonné ou autorisé la commission, par la société de personnes ou l’entité, d’un acte ou d’une omission, laquelle constituerait une infraction à la Loi si elle était le fait d’une personne, qui y ont consenti ou participé.

 

If you would like to receive this order in English, please send your request immediately to: Assistant, Hearings, Registry, Financial Services Commission of Ontario, 5160 Yonge Street, P.O. Box 85, Toronto, Ontario, M2N 6L9.

 

FAIT À Toronto (Ontario), le 27 novembre 2017.

 

Brian Mills
Surintendant des services financiers