Permanent Remedial Order Against Platinum Health Benefits Solutions Inc.

REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. I.8, as amended, in particular section 441;

 

AND REGARDING Platinum Health Benefits Solutions Inc.

PERMANENT REMEDIAL ORDER

TO: 

Platinum Health Benefits Solutions Inc.

5090 Explorer Drive, Suite 501

Mississauga ON  

L4W 4T9

 

On July 31, 2017, the Superintendent of Financial Services (the “Superintendent”) and Platinum Health Benefits Solutions Inc. (“Platinum”) entered into Minutes of Settlement imposing certain obligations and sanctions against Platinum including, inter alia, an administrative penalty of $50,000, a revocation of Platinum’s corporate insurance agent licence and certain obligations in respect of winding down Platinum’s business.

 

Paragraph 14 of the Minutes of Settlement state that in the event that Platinum fails to comply with the obligations within the deadlines in Schedule “A”, Platinum consents to the Superintendent making orders pursuant to section 441 of the Insurance Act (the “Act”) requiring it to comply with those obligations in Schedule “A”.

 

Schedule “A” is attached hereto.

 

Platinum has failed to comply with the obligation to pay all eligible health and dental claims arising under all TPA agreements by December 31, 2017 and the obligation to pay all commissions owed to licensed agents or brokers in accordance with the terms of the contracts under which those commissions are owed, as set out in Schedule “A”.

ORDER

Platinum Health Benefits Solutions Inc. is ordered to immediately comply with the obligations set out in Schedule “A” of the Minutes of Settlement, attached hereto.

 

AND TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to subsections 447(2)(b) and (3) of the Act, every person who fails to comply with an order made under this Act is guilty of an offence and every person convicted of an offence under the Act is liable to a fine of not more than $250,000.00 on a first conviction and to a fine of not more than $500,000.00 on each subsequent conviction. 

 

AND TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to subsection 447(4) of the Act, every director or officer of a corporation who caused, authorized, permitted or participated in the corporation or unincorporated association committing an offence, or who failed to take reasonable care to prevent the corporation or unincorporated association from committing an offence, is guilty of an offence, whether or not the corporation is prosecuted or convicted, and liable to a fine of not more than $100,000.00 on a first conviction and a fine of not more than $200,000.00 on each subsequent conviction.

 

Si vous désirez recevoir cet ordre en français, veuillez envoyer votre demande immédiatement à: Adjointe, audiences, Greffe, Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario, 5160 rue Yonge, 14em, Toronto ON M2N 6L9.

 

ISSUED at the City of Toronto, Ontario, April 25, 2018.

 

Original signed by

______________________________
Brian Mills

Superintendent of Financial Services

SCHEDULE “A”   
WIND DOWN OF BUSINESS

Obligation

Deadline

Refrain from renewing or entering into any new third party administrator (“TPA”) agreements or other agreements relating to insurance or benefits programs.

Immediately

Send a notice to every insurer with whom Platinum has an executed and in-force agreement for insurance brokering or third party administration services (“Insurer Agreement”) informing them that (i) Platinum has ceased entering into new or renewal TPA agreements, and (ii) intends to wind down its insurance agency and TPA business effective December 31, 2017.

August 10, 2017

Provide a solicitor’s undertaking confirming that the notice to insurers has been sent, together with copies of the notices that have been sent.

August 18, 2017

Use commercially reasonable efforts to remove any content from Platinum website and online social media that solicits or advertises the sale of insurance products or TPA services (except as it relates to claims handling services and content).

August 15, 2017

Send a notice in a format agreed to by the Superintendent to every person with whom Platinum has an executed and in-force TPA agreement (an “Employer”):

 

  • advising that Platinum is winding down its business effective December 31, 2017;
  • giving notice of termination of the TPA agreement pursuant to the terms of the TPA Agreement;
  • advising the Employer that they may terminate the contract earlier if they wish;
  • use commercially reasonable efforts to negotiate the earliest termination of the TPA Agreement as is reasonably possible considering the rights and interests of the covered employees under the TPA Agreement; and
  • terminating the TPA Agreement in accordance with its terms, or such earlier date as agreed to by the Employer.

September 1, 2017

Provide a solicitor’s undertaking confirming that the notices have to been sent to every Employer together with copies of the notices that have been sent.

September 22, 2017

Return any premiums or deposits received from Employers in respect of any month after November, 2017.

December 1, 2017

Pay all commissions owed to licensed agents or brokers in accordance with the terms of the contracts under which those commissions are owed. Monies paid by licensed agents or brokers to Platinum, with the exception of insurance premiums and deposits, may be deposited into Platinum’s general bank account.

December 31, 2017

Pay all eligible health and dental claims arising under all TPA agreements by December 31, 2017 or as otherwise agreed to by the Superintendent considering the rights and interests of the covered employees.

December 31, 2017

Remit all insurance premiums collected on behalf of Employers to insurers underwriting the policies to which the premiums relate in accordance with the terms of Platinum’s Insurer Agreements

December 31, 2017

Provide to the Superintendent copies of the monthly bank statements for each account held by Platinum for each month until December 31, 2017 by the 15th day of the next succeeding month, together with electronic transfer documentation to support each deposit transaction and copies of cancelled cheques to support each withdrawal or payment transaction occurring in such month

 

Provide a statement of cash flow 60 days from the later of (1) the date of the last claims payment effected prior to wind up or (2) December 31, 2017. Statement of cash flow to cover the period from January 1, 2017 to December 31, 2017 or the date the last claims payment is effected.

Ordonnance corrective permanente contre Platinum Health Benefits Solutions Inc.

RELATIVEMENT À la Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O. 1990, chap. I.8, telle que modifiée (ci-après la « Loi »), en particulier l’article 441; 

 

ET RELATIVEMENT À Platinum Health Benefits Solutions Inc. (ci‑après « Platinum »)

ORDONNANCE CORRECTIVE PERMANENTE

à l’encontre de :

Platinum Health Benefits Solutions Inc.

5090 Explorer Drive, bureau 501

Mississauga (Ontario)  L4W 4T9

 

Le 31 juillet 2017, le Surintendant des services financiers (ci-après le « surintendant ») et Platinum ont conclu un procès-verbal de transaction imposant certaines obligations et des sanctions à l’encontre de Platinum y compris, entre autres choses, une sanction administrative pécuniaire de 50 000 dollars ainsi que la révocation de son permis d’agent d’assurance pour personnes morales ainsi que certaines obligations concernant la cessation des activités de Platinum.

 

L’alinéa 14 du procès-verbal de transaction stipule que si Platinum ne se conforme pas aux obligations qui lui sont imposées aux dates prévues à l’annexe A, Platinum consent de ce fait à ce que le surintendant émette des ordonnances conformément à l’article 441 de la Loi exigeant que Platinum se conforme aux obligations précisées à l’annexe A.

 

L’annexe A est jointe à la présente.

 

Platinum ne s’est pas conformé à l’obligation de payer toutes les réclamations admissibles pour soins médicaux et soins dentaires découlant de toutes les ententes de tiers administrateur au plus tard le 31 décembre 2017 et à l’obligation de payer toutes les commissions dues aux courtiers et agents d’assurance agréés conformément aux conditions des contrats en vertu desquels ces commissions leur sont dues, comme précisé à l’annexe A. 

ORDONNANCE

Le surintendant ordonne à Platinum Health Benefits Solutions Inc. de se conformer immédiatement aux obligations précisées à l’annexe A du procès-verbal de transaction, laquelle est jointe à la présente. 

 

PRENEZ AVIS QUE conformément à l’alinéa 447 (2) b) et au paragraphe (3) de la Loi, toute personne qui ne se conforme pas aux ordonnances données aux termes de la Loi se rend coupable d’une infraction et que toute personne reconnue coupable d’une infraction en vertu de la Loi est passible d’une amende d’au plus 250 000 dollars à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 500 000 dollars à chacune des déclarations de culpabilité subséquentes.

 

PRENEZ ÉGALEMENT AVIS QUE conformément au paragraphe 447 (4) de la Loi, les administrateurs, dirigeants et mandataires principaux d’une personne morale et les personnes agissant à titre semblable ou ayant des fonctions semblables au sein d’une association sans personnalité morale et qui ont causé, autorisé ou permis la perpétration d’une infraction sont coupables d’une infraction et passibles d’une amende d’au plus 100 000 dollars à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200 000 dollars à chacune des déclarations de culpabilité subséquentes, et ce, que la personne morale ou l’association sans personnalité morale ait ou non été poursuivie ou déclarée coupable relativement à l’infraction.

 

If you would like to receive this order in English, please send your request immediately to: Assistant, Hearings, Registry, Financial Services Commission of Ontario, 5160 Yonge Street, 14th Floor, Toronto, Ontario,  M2N 6L9.

 

FAIT À Toronto (Ontario) le 25 avril 2018.

 

Original signé par
______________________________
Brian Mills

Surintendant des services financiers –

Annexe A
CESSATION DES ACTIVITÉS

Obligation

Date limite

S’abstenir de renouveler toute entente conclue avec des tiers administrateurs ou toute autre entente liée à des régimes d’assurance ou d’avantages sociaux.

Immédiatement

Envoyer un avis à chaque assuré avec qui Platinum a signé et détient une entente encore en vigueur en matière de courtage d’assurance ou de services d’administration par des tiers (ci-après les « ententes avec des assureurs ») les informant que (i) Platinum a cessé de conclure des ententes à titre de tiers administrateur et ne renouvellera pas les ententes existantes, et que (ii) Platinum a l’intention de mettre fin aux activités de son agence d’assurance et de cesser ses activités de tiers administrateur à compter du 31 décembre 2017.

10 août 2017

Fournir un engagement notarié confirmant que l’avis aux assureurs a bel et bien été envoyé, accompagné de copies des avis qui ont été envoyés.

18 août 2017

Déployer tous les efforts jugés raisonnables sur le plan commercial pour retirer tout contenu dans le site Web de Platinum et des médias sociaux qui concernent Platinum dans lequel on sollicite ou on fait de la publicité pour la vente de produits d’assurance ou de services de tiers administrateur (à l’exception du contenu et des services de traitement des réclamations).

15 août 2017

Envoyer un avis sous la forme convenue avec le surintendant à chaque personne avec qui Platinum a signé et détient une entente de tiers administrateur (ci-après les « employeurs ») : 

 

  • informant que Platinum cessera ses activités à compter du 31 décembre 2017;
  • avisant de la fin des ententes de tiers administrateur, conformément aux modalités des ententes de tiers administrateur;
  • informant les employeurs qu’ils ont la possibilité de mettre un terme au contrat plus tôt s’ils le souhaitent;
  • précisant que tous les efforts jugés raisonnables sur le plan commercial seront déployés pour négocier une résiliation anticipée des ententes de tiers administrateur aussi raisonnablement que possible en tenant compte des droits et des intérêts des employés couverts par les régimes concernés dans le cadre des ententes de tiers administrateur;
  • mettant un terme aux ententes de tiers administrateur conformément aux modalités qui leur sont propres, ou à une date anticipée comme convenu avec les employeurs.

1er septembre 2017

Fournir un engagement notarié confirmant que les avis ont été envoyés à chaque employeur, accompagné de copies des avis qui ont été envoyés.

22 septembre 2017

Rembourser toute prime ou dépôt reçus des employeurs pour tous les mois suivant le mois de novembre 2017.

1er décembre 2017

Payer toutes les commissions dues à des agents d’assurance ou à des courtiers d’assurance agréés, conformément aux conditions des contrats en vertu desquels ces commissions leur sont dues. Les sommes versées à Platinum par des agents d’assurance ou par des courtiers d’assurance agréés, à l’exception des primes d’assurance et des dépôts, peuvent être déposées dans le compte de banque général de Platinum.

31 décembre 2017

Payer toutes les réclamations de soins de santé et de soins dentaires admissibles en vertu des ententes de tiers administrateur d’ici le 31 décembre 2017, ou tel que convenu autrement par le surintendant, en fonction des droits et des intérêts des employés couverts par le régime.

31 décembre 2017

Rembourser toute prime d’assurance perçue au nom des employeurs aux assureurs souscrivant les polices d’assurance et de qui relèvent ces primes, conformément aux modalités des ententes intervenues entre Platinum et les assureurs.

31 décembre 2017

Fournir au surintendant des copies des relevés bancaires mensuels de chaque compte détenu par Platinum, et ce, pour chaque mois jusqu’au 31 décembre 2017, le 15e jour de chacun des mois suivant chaque relevé, ainsi que les pièces justificatives de tout transfert électronique du fonds relativement à chaque dépôt, ainsi que des copies de tous les chèques annulés correspondant à chaque retrait ou paiement effectué au cours du mois concerné.  

 

Fournir un état du flux de trésorerie dans les 60 jours suivant 1) la date des derniers paiements de réclamation effectués avant la cessation des activités ou 2) le 31 décembre 2017, selon la dernière éventualité. L’état du flux de trésorerie doit couvrir la période du 1er janvier au 31 décembre 2017 ou la date à laquelle le dernier paiement pour une réclamation a été effectué.