Interim Compliance Order to Cease and Desist Training Activity Against Kuljeet Singh

REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. I.8, as amended, in particular section 441

 

AND REGARDING Kuljeet Singh

INTERIM COMPLIANCE ORDER TO CEASE AND DESIST TRAINING ACTIVITY

TO:

Kuljeet Singh

 

Section 441 of the Insurance Act (the “Act”) provides that the Superintendent of Financial Services (the “Superintendent”) may give notice in writing of a cease and desist order with respect to unfair or deceptive acts or practices.

 

Subsection 441(4) provides that if the Superintendent is of the opinion that the interests of the public may be prejudiced or adversely affected by any delay in the issuance of a permanent order, the Superintendent, without prior notice, may make an order which shall take effect immediately, and which shall become permanent on the 15th day after its making unless within that time the person requests a hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal.

 

The Superintendent will issue a Notice of Proposal to make a Permanent Cease and Desist Order and makes this Interim Cease and Desist Order.

INTERIM COMPLIANCE ORDER TO CEASE AND DESIST
TRAINING ACTIVITY

IT IS ORDERED THAT pursuant to section 441(4) of the Act, and for the reasons described below, Kuljeet Singh:

 

  1. Immediately cease and desist providing training or teaching in any manner with respect to the Life Licence Qualification Program (“LLQP”) examination, in Ontario.
  2. Immediately cease and desist assisting anyone with any activity related to the teaching or training of the LLQP examination, in Ontario.
  3. Immediately cease and desist disseminating any information or documents related to the LLQP examination to anyone, including any insurance agents, insurance agent applicants, or anyone involved in training or teaching with respect to the LLQP examination.
  4. Immediately cease and desist posting any information or documents related to the LLQP examination on the internet.
  5. Immediately cease and desist accepting any fees or funds or anything of value with respect to teaching or training of the LLQP examination, in Ontario.
  6. Immediately cease and desist advertising, soliciting, or offering any services related to LLQP examination training or teaching, in Ontario.

TAKE NOTICE THAT this Interim Order takes effect immediately and will remain in effect until the expiry of the period for requesting a hearing in respect of the Superintendent’s Notice of Proposal as detailed in that Notice of Proposal (15 days after the Notice is given, or deemed to have been delivered).

 

AND TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to section 447 of the Act any person who fails to comply with any order made under the Act is guilty of an offence and liable on first conviction to a fine of not more than $250,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $500,000.

 

AND TAKE NOTICE THAT subsection 447(4) of the Act provides that every director, officer and chief agent of a corporation and every person acting in a similar capacity or performing similar functions in an unincorporated association who caused, authorized, permitted or participated in a corporation committing an offence, or who fails to take reasonable care to prevent a corporation from committing an offence, is also guilty of an offence and is liable on first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction a fine of not more than $200,000.

 

Si vous désirez recevoir cet ordre en français, veuillez envoyer votre demande immédiatement à: Adjointe, audiences, Greffe, Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario, 5160 rue Yonge, 14em, Toronto ON M2N 6L9.

REASONS FOR ORDER

  1. Kuljeet Singh (“Mr.Singh”) was first licensed as a Life Insurance Agent on December 23, 2014.  He was sponsored by an insurer. Mr. Singh’s licence was reissued on December 22, 2016 as a Life Insurance and Accident and Sickness Insurance Agent.  His licence is scheduled to expire on December 22, 2018.
  2. The Superintendent received information that Mr. Singh was providing training to insurance agent applicants for the Life License Qualification Program (“LLQP”) examination. 
  3. The Superintendent received reports that some insurance licence applicants were completing the LLQP examination in an abnormally short time, and passing with a high score.
  4. As part of the investigation of the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (“FSCO”), some of these candidates wrote a different variation of the LLQP examination under the Superintendent’s supervision.  Those candidates took a much longer time to write the varied examination, and failed the examination.
  5. The Superintendent conducted an examination of Mr. Singh’s training activities with respect to the LLQP examination.
  6. An Investigator from FSCO interviewed Mr. Singh on October 12, 2017.
  7. During the examination, Mr. Singh stated that he ran the LLQP training program together with Sania Muzaffar (“Ms. Muzaffar”).  Mr. Singh stated that he developed the course together with Ms. Muzaffar.  Ms. Muzaffar was also present during the interview. 
  8. The FSCO Investigator asked Ms. Muzaffar for a copy of her training materials, contained on a USB key.  The Investigator advised that he will be seizing the USB key.  Before Ms. Muzaffar provided the USB key to the Investigator, the Investigator noticed that Ms. Muzaffar appeared to delete some content from it.
  9. During the interview, the FSCO Investigator asked Ms. Muzaffar if she had copies of questions from the LLQP examination.  Ms. Muzaffar stated that she did not have copies of questions from the LLQP examination. 
  10. After Ms. Muzaffar’s USB key was seized, deleted files were recovered from it.  The deleted files included questions which were confirmed to be almost identical copies of LLQP examination questions in the same order as in the examination.
  11. Ms. Muzaffar later admitted that she did delete the examination questions from her USB key during the meeting with the investigator.
  12. The Superintendent is satisfied that Mr. Singh engaged in unfair or deceptive acts or practices by indirectly furnishing false, misleading or incomplete information to the Commission. By writing examinations that are submitted to FSCO as a part of the licensing process, applicants represent to FSCO that they are writing the examination in good faith, and that if they pass, they do so through legitimate means.  In the case of applicants trained by Mr. Singh to pass through illegitimate methods, the applicants provided false and misleading information to FSCO. The Superintendent is therefore satisfied that Mr. Singh indirectly provided false or misleading information to FSCO by providing such training and compromising the LLQP examination.
  13. The Superintendent is satisfied that Mr. Singh engaged in unfair or deceptive acts or practices by contravening a term, condition, or restriction imposed by a licence. A condition of an insurance agent licence is that the applicant is not engaged in any business or occupation that would jeopardize the applicant’s integrity, independence, or competence as an agent. By providing training on how to pass the LLQP examination illegitimately, Mr. Singh has jeopardized his integrity as an insurance agent.
  14. The Superintendent is of the opinion that the interest of the public may be adversely affected by any delay in making a permanent compliance order against Mr. Singh for the following reasons:

    1. Mr. Singh taught applicants how to illegitimately pass the LLQP examination, in part by using copies of actual questions from the LLQP examination in his training;
    2. There is a risk that applicants that obtain life insurance agent licenses with the help of Mr. Singh’s methods do not have an adequate understanding of insurance principles and products.  This represents a significant risk to the public, as licensed agents may be offering improper advice and suggesting products that may not be suitable to consumers’ needs.
  15. The Superintendent is therefore satisfied that it is necessary to make an interim order preventing Mr. Singh from providing training for the LLQP examination.

 

DATED at Toronto, Ontario, July 19, 2018.

 

Original signed by

 

__________________________________
Brian Mills

Superintendent of Financial Services 

 

TO:

 

Financial Services Tribunal
5160 Yonge Street, 14th Floor, Box 85
Toronto ON  M2N 6L9

 

Attention: Registrar

 

Tel:     (416) 226-7752
Fax:    (416) 226-7750
Email:  contact@fstontario.ca

 

AND TO:

 

Ministry of the Attorney General, Civil Law Division
Financial Services Commission of Ontario Branch
5160 Yonge Street, 17th Floor
Toronto ON  M2N 6L9

 

Michael Spagnolo / Ariel Schneider

 

Tel: (416) 226-7851 / (416) 590-7203

Fax: (416) 590-7556

 

Email:

michael.spagnolo@fsco.gov.on.ca

ariel.schneider@fsco.gov.on.ca

 

Counsel for the Superintendent of Financial Services

Ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s'abstenir d'exercer une activité de formation contre Kuljeet Singh

RELATIVEMENT À la Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O. 1990, chap. I.8, telle que modifiée, en particulier l’article 441;

 

ET RELATIVEMENT À Kuljeet Singh

ORDONNANCE PROVISOIRE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR D'EXERCER UNE ACTIVITÉ DE FORMATION

À :

Kuljeet Singh

 

L’article 441 de la Loi sur les assurances (ci-après la « Loi ») prévoit que le surintendant des services financiers (ci‑après le « surintendant ») peut donner un avis écrit de son intention de rendre une ordonnance de cesser ou de s’abstenir relativement à un acte ou une pratique malhonnête ou mensonger.

 

Le paragraphe 441 (4) de la Loi prévoit que si, de l’avis du surintendant, tout retard dans la délivrance de l’ordonnance permanente risque de porter atteinte ou de nuire à l’intérêt public, le surintendant peut, sans avis préalable, rendre une ordonnance provisoire qui prendra effet immédiatement et qui deviendra permanente le 15e jour qui suit celui où elle est rendue, sauf si la personne présente une demande d’audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers.

 

Le surintendant émettra un avis d’intention de rendre une ordonnance permanente de cesser et de s’abstenir et rend par la présente une ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir.

ORDONNANCE PROVISOIRE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR D'EXERCER UNE ACTIVITÉ DE FORMATION

IL EST ORDONNÉ que, conformément au paragraphe 441 (4) de la Loi et pour les motifs décrits ci‑dessous, Kuljeet Singh :

 

  1. Cesse et s’abstienne immédiatement d’offrir de quelque manière que ce soit de la formation ou un enseignement ayant trait à l’examen du Programme de qualification en assurance de personnes (« PQAP »), en Ontario.
  2. Cesse et s’abstienne immédiatement d’aider toute personne dans toute activité d’enseignement ou de formation concernant l’examen du PQAP en Ontario.
  3. Cesse et s’abstienne immédiatement de diffuser toute information ou tout document relativement à l’examen du PQAP à quiconque, y compris aux agents d’assurance, aux candidats au permis d’assurance ou à toute personne participant à de la formation ou à de l’enseignement ayant trait à l’examen du PQAP.
  4. Cesse et s’abstienne immédiatement d’afficher toute information ou tout document relatif à l’examen du PQAP dans Internet.
  5. Cesse et s’abstienne immédiatement d’accepter des honoraires ou des fonds ou toute chose de valeur pour de l’enseignement ou de la formation concernant l’examen du PQAP en Ontario.
  6. Cesse et s’abstienne immédiatement de promouvoir, de solliciter, de vendre ou d’offrir toute forme de service relatif à de la formation ou à de l’enseignement concernant l’examen du PQAP, en Ontario.

VEUILLEZ PRENDRE AVIS QUE cette ordonnance provisoire entre en vigueur immédiatement et demeurera en vigueur jusqu’à la fin de la période où une demande d’audience peut être déposée relativement à l’avis d’intention du surintendant tel que détaillé dans le présent avis (soit 15 jours après la signification de l’avis, ou que ledit avis est réputé avoir été signifié).

 

PRENEZ ÉGALEMENT AVIS QUE, conformément à l’article 447 de la Loi, toute personne ne se conformant pas aux exigences des ordonnances rendues aux termes de la Loi se rend coupable d’une infraction et est passible d’une amende d’au plus 250 000 $ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’une amende d’au plus 500 000 $ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.

 

PRENEZ ÉGALEMENT AVIS QUE, conformément au paragraphe 447 (4) de la Loi, est également coupable d’une infraction tout administrateur, dirigeant ou mandataire principaux d’une personne morale ou toute personne agissant à ce titre ou ayant des fonctions semblables ayant causé, autorisé, permis la perpétration d’une infraction ou y ayant participé, ou qui n’a pas pris les soins raisonnables pour empêcher la perpétration d’une telle infraction et qu’à ce titre, cette personne est passible d’une amende d’au plus 100 000 $ pour une première déclaration de culpabilité et d’une amende d’au plus 200 000 $ pour toute déclaration de culpabilité subséquente.

 

If you would like to receive this order in English, please send your request immediately to: Assistant, Hearings, Registry, Financial Services Commission of Ontario, 5160 Yonge Street, P.O. Box 85, Toronto, Ontario, M2N 6L9.

MOTIFS DE L’ORDONNANCE

  1. Kuljeet Singh (ci-après « M. Singh ») a obtenu son permis d’agent d’assurance-vie la première fois le 23 décembre 2014. Il a été parrainé par un assureur. Le permis de M. Singh a été délivré à nouveau le 22 décembre 2016 en tant qu’agent d’assurance-vie, et d’assurance contre les accidents et la maladie. L’échéance de son permis est prévue le 22 décembre 2018.
  2. Le surintendant a été informé que M. Singh offrait aux candidats au permis d’assurance de la formation à l’examen du Programme de qualification en assurance de personnes (« PQAP »).
  3. Il a été signalé au surintendant que certains candidats au permis d’assurance terminaient l’examen du PQAP d’une manière anormalement rapide et l’obtenaient avec une note élevée.
  4. Dans le cadre de l’enquête de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (ci-après la « CSFO »), plusieurs de ces candidats ont été soumis à une version différente de l’examen du PQAP sous la surveillance du surintendant. Il a fallu à ces candidats beaucoup plus de temps pour passer l’examen modifié, auquel ils ont échoué.
  5. Le surintendant a mené l’examen des activités de formation de M. Singh ayant trait à l’examen du PQAP.
  6. Un enquêteur de la CSFO a interrogé M. Singh le 12 octobre 2017.
  7. Pendant cet examen, M. Singh a déclaré gérer ce programme de formation avec Sania Muzaffar (ci‑après « Mme Muzaffar »). M. Singh a déclaré avoir élaboré ce cours avec Mme Muzaffar. Mme Muzaffar était également présente pendant l’entrevue.
  8. L’enquêteur de la CSFO a demandé à Mme Muzaffar une copie de ses documents de formation, contenus dans une clé USB. L’enquêteur l’a informée qu’il allait saisir la clé USB. Avant que Mme Muzaffar fournisse la clé USB à l’enquêteur, ce dernier a remarqué que Mme Muzaffar a semblé supprimer partiellement son contenu.
  9. Pendant l’entrevue, l’enquêteur de la CSFO a demandé à Mme Muzaffar si elle avait des copies des questions de l’examen du PQAP. Mme Muzaffar a déclaré ne pas avoir des copies des questions de l’examen du PQAP.
  10. Après la saisie de la clé USB de Mme Muzaffar, les fichiers qui en avaient été supprimés ont été récupérés. Les fichiers supprimés contenaient des questions qui se sont avérées presque identiques à celles de l’examen du PQAP et placées dans le même ordre qu’à l’examen.
  11. Mme Muzaffar a avoué ultérieurement qu’elle avait effectivement supprimé les questions de l’examen de sa clé USB pendant la réunion avec l’enquêteur.
  12. Le surintendant est convaincu que M. Singh s’est engagé dans des actes ou des pratiques malhonnêtes ou mensongers en fournissant des informations fausses, trompeuses ou incomplètes à la Commission. En passant les examens dont ils font état dans le processus de délivrance des permis du CSFO, les candidats déclarent au CSFO les passer de bonne foi et que, s’ils y réussissent, c’est par des moyens légitimes. Dans le cas des candidats entraînés par M. Singh à les réussir par des moyens illégitimes, ceux-ci ont fourni des informations fausses et trompeuses au CSFO. Le surintendant est, par conséquent, convaincu que M. Singh a fourni indirectement des informations fausses ou trompeuses au CSFO en offrant une telle formation et en compromettant l’intégrité de l’examen du PQAP.
  13. Le surintendant est convaincu que M. Singh s’est engagé dans des actes ou des pratiques malhonnêtes ou mensongers en contrevenant à une condition ou à une restriction imposée par un permis. Une des conditions à satisfaire par un candidat à un permis d’agent d’assurance est de n’exercer aucune activité commerciale ou profession qui compromettrait son intégrité, son indépendance ou sa compétence en qualité d’agent d’assurance. En préparant des candidats à réussir de manière illégitime l’examen du PQAP, M. Singh a compromis son intégrité en tant qu’agent d’assurance.
  14. Le surintendant est d’avis que tout retard dans la délivrance de l’ordonnance permanente contre M. Singh risque de porter atteinte ou de nuire à l’intérêt public pour les motifs suivants :

    1. M. Singh a enseigné aux candidats à réussir de manière illégitime l’examen du PQAP, notamment en utilisant des copies des questions réelles de l’examen du PQAP dans sa formation;
    2. les candidats qui obtiennent le permis d’agent d’assurance grâce aux méthodes de M. Singh risquent de connaître insuffisamment les principes et les produits d’assurance. Cela représente un risque important pour le public, puisque des agents titulaires d’un permis peuvent offrir des conseils inadéquats et proposer des produits qui ne répondent peut-être pas aux besoins des consommateurs.
  15. Le surintendant est, par conséquent, convaincu qu’il est nécessaire de prendre une ordonnance provisoire empêchant M. Singh d’offrir de la formation à l’examen du PQAP.

FAIT à Toronto (Ontario), le 19 juillet 2018.

 

Original signé par

 

__________________________________
Brian Mills

Surintendant des services financiers

 

À :

 

Tribunal des Services financiers

5160, rue Yonge, 14e étage Case postale 85
Toronto (Ontario) M2N 6L9

 

À l’attention du greffier

 

Tél. : 416 226-7752

Téléc. : 416 226-7750

Courriel : contact@fstontario.ca

 

ET À :

 

Ministère du Procureur général, Division du droit civil

Direction des services à la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario

5160, rue Yonge, 17e étage
Toronto (Ontario) M2N 6L9

 

Michael Spagnolo / Ariel Schneider

 

Tél. : 416 226-7851 / 416 590-7203

Téléc. : 416 590-7556

 

Courriel :

michael.spagnolo@fsco.gov.on.ca

ariel.schneider@fsco.gov.on.ca

 

Avocat du surintendant des services financiers