Permanent Cease and Desist Order Against Lili Tabidze

​REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. I.8 (“the Act”), as amended, in particular section 441

 

AND REGARDING Lili Tabidze (“Ms. Tabidze”)

 

PERMANENT CEASE & DESIST ORDER

TO:

Lili Tabidze

 

On September 10, 2018, the Superintendent of Financial Services (“Superintendent”) issued a Notice of Proposal to Make a Permanent Cease and Desist Order (“Notice”) and a corresponding report under subsection 441(1) and 441(2)(b) of the Act.

 

Canada Post records confirm that the Notice was delivered to Ms. Tabidze on September 15, 2018.

 

Pursuant to subsection 441(3) of the Act Ms. Tabidze had 15 days after receiving the notice to request in writing that the Financial Services Tribunal (“Tribunal”) hold a hearing.

 

On October 5, 2018, the Registrar of the Tribunal confirmed that no request for hearing was filed by Ms. Tabidze or anyone on her behalf.

 

Pursuant to subsection 441(7) of the Act, if the individual does not request a hearing within the time period allowed, the Superintendent may make an order in accordance with the Notice.

 

ORDER

 

Pursuant to section 441 of the Act, the Superintendent makes a permanent order against Lili Tabidze to:

 

  1. Immediately cease and desist acting as an insurance agent or holding herself out as an insurance agent within the meaning of the Act including transmitting, for a person other than herself, an application for, or a policy of insurance, to an insurer, or offering or assuming to act in the negotiation of such insurance or its continuance or renewal;
  2. Immediately cease and desist soliciting, receiving, or collecting payments, money or anything else of value from any member of the public in exchange for assisting or purporting to assist in the placement or negotiation of an insurance policy or the continuance or renewal thereof; and
  3. Mail to all persons in Ontario, to whom any such insurance policies have been issued through her, a copy of the Cease and Desist order and provide evidence satisfactory to the Superintendent no later than thirty (30) days from the date of the Cease and Desist Order that the mailing was done.

AND TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to section 447(2)(b) of the Act any person who fails to comply with any order made under the Act is guilty of an offence. Subsection 447(3) of the Act provides that on conviction for an offence under the Act, the person is liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $250,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $500,000.

 

AND TAKE NOTICE THAT subsection 447(4) of the Act provides that every director, officer and chief agent of a corporation and every person acting in a similar capacity or performing similar functions in an unincorporated association who caused, authorized, permitted or participated in a corporation committing an offence, or who fails to take reasonable care to prevent a corporation from committing an offence, is also guilty of an offence and is liable on first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction a fine of not more than $200,000.

 

Si vous désirez recevoir cet ordre en français, veuillez envoyer votre demande immédiatement à: Adjointe, audiences, Greffe, Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario, 5160 rue Yonge, 14em, Toronto ON M2N 6L9.

 
DATED at Toronto, Ontario, this 17th day of October, 2018.
 
 
Original signed by
 
______________________________
Brian Mills
Superintendent of Financial Services

Ordonnance permanente de cesser et de s’abstenir contre Lili Tadidze

​RELATIVEMENT À la Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O. 1990, chap. I.8, telle que modifiée (ci‑après la « Loi »), en particulier l’article 441;

 

ET RELATIVEMENT À Lili Tabidze (ci‑après « Mme Tabidze »)

 

ORDONNANCE PERMANENTE DE CESSER ET DE S’ASBSTENIR

À :

Lili Tabidze

 

Le 10 septembre 2018, le surintendant des services financiers (ci‑après le « surintendant ») a émis un avis d’intention d’imposer une ordonnance permanente de cesser et de s’abstenir (ci‑après « l’avis ») ainsi qu’un rapport correspondant en vertu du paragraphe 441 (1) et de l’alinéa 441 (2) b) de la Loi.

 

Le registre de Postes Canada confirme que l’avis a été livré à Mme Tabidze le 15 septembre 2018.

 

Conformément au paragraphe 441 (3) de la Loi, Mme Tabidze disposait de 15 jours après la réception de l’avis pour demander, par écrit, une audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers (ci‑après le « Tribunal »).

 

Le 5 octobre 2018, le greffier du Tribunal a confirmé qu’aucune demande d’audience n’avait été reçue de la part de Mme Tabidze ni de quiconque agissant en son nom.

 

En vertu du paragraphe 441 (7) de la Loi, si la personne ne demande pas d’audience dans la période impartie, le surintendant peut rendre une ordonnance conformément à l’avis.

 

ORDONNANCE

 

En vertu de l’article 441 de la Loi, le surintendant rend une ordonnance permanente contre Lili Tabidze stipulant qu’elle doit :

 

  1. immédiatement cesser et s’abstenir d’agir à titre d’agent d’assurances ou de se présenter comme agent d’assurances au sens de la Loi, y compris transmettre pour une autre personne qu’elle‑même, une proposition d’assurance ou une police d’assurance à un assureur, ou offrir ou se charger de prendre part à la négociation de cette assurance, de sa prolongation ou de son renouvellement;
  2. immédiatement cesser et s’abstenir de solliciter, de recevoir ou d’encaisser des paiements, des sommes d’argent ou toute autre chose de valeur provenant de tout membre du public en échange de son assistance pour souscrire ou négocier une police d’assurance, ou de l’allégation de son assistance pour ce faire, ou pour en négocier la prolongation ou le renouvellement;
  3. poster à toute personne en Ontario à qui de telles polices d’assurance ont été émises par son entremise une copie de l’ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir, et présenter des preuves que ces envois ont été effectués, jugées satisfaisantes par le surintendant, au plus tard trente (30) jours après la date de l’ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir.

PRENEZ ÉGALEMENT AVIS QUE conformément à l’alinéa 447 (2) b) de la Loi, toute personne ne se conformant pas aux exigences des ordonnances rendues aux termes de la Loi se rend coupable d’une infraction. Le paragraphe 447 (3) de la Loi stipule que toute personne qui est déclarée coupable d’une infraction à la présente Loi est passible d’une amende d’au plus 250 000 $ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 500 000 $ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.

 

PRENEZ ÉGALEMENT AVIS QUE, conformément au paragraphe 447 (4) de la Loi, est également coupable d’une infraction tout administrateur, dirigeant ou mandataire principal d’une personne morale ou toute personne agissant à ce titre ou ayant des fonctions semblables ayant causé, autorisé, permis la perpétration d’une infraction ou y ayant participé, ou qui n’a pas pris les soins raisonnables pour empêcher la perpétration d’une telle infraction et qu’à ce titre, cette personne est passible d’une amende d’au plus 100 000 $ pour une première déclaration de culpabilité et d’une amende d’au plus 200 000 $ pour toute déclaration de culpabilité subséquente.

 

If you would like to receive this order in English, please send your request immediately to: Assistant, Hearings, Registry, Financial Services Commission of Ontario, 5160 Yonge Street, P.O. Box 85, Toronto, Ontario,  M2N 6L9.

 

FAIT À Toronto (Ontario), le 17 octobre 2018.


 

Original signé par Brian Mills

__________________________________
Brian Mills
Surintendant des services financiers