Permanent Cease and Desist Order Against Antoinette Gail Freeman and 1301137 Ontario Inc. operating as TAKE II, TAKE II TEXTILES, ("1301137 Ontario Inc.")

REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990, Chapter I.8, as amended, in particular sections393 and 441

 

AND REGARDING a Notice of Proposed Cease and Desist Order Against Antoinette Gail Freeman and 1301137 Ontario Inc. operating as  (“1301137 Ontario Inc.”)

 

AND REGARDING an Interim Cease and Desist Order Against Antoinette Gail Freeman and 1301137 Ontario Inc. operating as TAKE II, TAKE II TEXTILES, TAKE II INSURANCE and TAKE II INTROVISUALS (“1301137 Ontario Inc.”)

NOTICE OF PERMANENT CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

Section 441(2)of the Insurance Act, (the “Act”), provides that where the Superintendent is of the opinion that a person has committed or is committing any act, or has pursued or is pursuing any course of conduct, that is an unfair or deceptive act or practice, or might reasonably be expected to result in a state of affairs that would constitute an unfair or deceptive act or practice, the Superintendent may give notice in writing of his intention to order any person to cease or refrain from doing any act or pursuing any course of conduct identified by the Superintendent or to perform such acts that, in the opinion of the Superintendent, are necessary to remedy the situation. Within 15 days of receiving the notice, a person may request in writing that the Financial Services Tribunal hold a hearing before the Superintendent takes any action described in the notice.

Section 441(4) of the Act provides that if the Superintendent is of the opinion that the interests of the public may be adversely affected by any delay in the issuance of the order, the Superintendent may, without prior notice, make an interim order which takes effect immediately and which shall become permanent on the 15th day after its making unless within that time a hearing is requested.

On March 4, 2005 the Superintendent issued a notice under section 441(2) and an Interim Order under section 441(4) of the Act. The notice and Interim Order were served on Antoinette Gail Freeman and 1301137 Ontario Inc. on March 9, 2005. There has been no request for a hearing, and in accordance with section 441(4) of the Act the Interim Order became permanent on March 25, 2005.

The Superintendent confirms that the Interim Order dated March 4, 2005 (attached) is a Permanent Order as of March 25, 2005.

DATED at the City of Toronto on the th day of April, 2005.

___________________
Bryan P. Davies
Chief Executive Officer and
Superintendent of Financial Services

TO:
Antoinette Gail Freeman
22 Southport Street, Suite #437
Toronto ON M6S 4Y9

AND TO:
1301137 Ontario Inc. o/a TAKE II, TAKE II TEXTILES, TAKE II INSURANCE, and TAKE II INTROVISUALS
22 Southport Street, Suite #437
Toronto ON M6S 4Y9

Ordonnance permanente de cesser et de s'abstenir contre Antoinette Gail Freeman et 1301137 Ontario Inc., qui font affaire sous les noms de TAKE II, TAKE II TEXTILES, («1301137 Ontario Inc.»)

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O. 1990, chapitre I.8, telle que modifiée, et plus particulièrement les articles 393 et 441
 
ET DANS L’AFFAIRE D’UN avis de proposition d’une ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir contre Antoinette Gail Freeman et 1301137 Ontario Inc.
 
ET DANS L’AFFAIRE D’UNE ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir contre Antoinette Gail Freeman et 1301137 Ontario Inc., qui font affaire sous les noms de TAKE II, TAKE II TEXTILES, TAKE II INSURANCE et TAKE II INTROVISUALS («1301137 Ontario Inc.»)
 

AVIS D’ORDONNANCE PERMANENTE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR

 

Le paragraphe 441 (2) de la Loi sur les assurances (la «Loi») prévoit que, si le surintendant est d’avis qu’une personne a commis ou commet un acte, ou a suivi ou suit une ligne de conduite qui constituent un acte ou une pratique malhonnêtes ou mensongers, ou dont la poursuite risque vraisemblablement de créer une situation qui constituerait un acte ou une pratique malhonnêtes ou mensongers, il peut donner à cette personne un avis écrit qui lui enjoint de cesser de cesser ou de s’abstenir de commettre des actes ou de poursuivre une ligne de conduite que le surintendant précise, ou de prendre les mesures qui, de l’avis du surintendant, s’imposent afin de remédier à la situation. Une personne peut, dans les 15 jours de la réception de l’avis, demander par écrit que le Tribunal des services financiers tienne une audience avant que le surintendant ne prenne les mesures prévues dans l’avis.
 
Le paragraphe 441 (4) de la Loi prévoit que si, de l’avis du surintendant, tout retard dans la délivrance de l’ordonnance risque de porter atteinte ou de nuire à l’intérêt public, le surintendant peut, sans avis préalable, rendre une ordonnance provisoire qui prend effet dès qu’elle est rendue et devient permanente le 15e jour qui suit celui où elle est rendue, sauf si la personne présente une demande d’audience devant le Tribunal dans ce délai.
 
Le 4mars 2005, le surintendant a émis un avis conformément au paragraphe 441 (2) et une ordonnance provisoire conformément au paragraphe 441 (4) de la Loi. L’avis et l’ordonnance provisoire ont été signifiés à Antoinette Gail Freeman et 1301137 Ontario Inc. le 9 mars 2005. Il n’y a pas eu de demande d’audience devant le Tribunal et, conformément au paragraphe 441 (4) de la Loi, l’ordonnance provisoire est devenue permanente le 25 mars 2005.
 
Le surintendant confirme que l’ordonnance provisoire datée du 4 mars 2005 (ci-jointe) est devenue une ordonnance permanente le 25 mars 2005.
 
DATÉ du jour d’avril 2005, à Toronto.

___________________
Bryan P. Davies
Directeur général et
surintendant des services financiers

À L’ATTENTION DE:
Antoinette Gail Freeman
22, rue Southport, bureau 437
Toronto (Ontario)  M6S 4Y9
 

 

ET À L’ATTENTION DE:
1301137 Ontario Inc. a/s TAKE II, TAKE II TEXTILES, TAKE II INSURANCE
et TAKE II INTROVISUALS
22, rue Southport, bureau 437
Toronto (Ontario)  M6S 4Y9