Cease and Desist Order against Hanis Ateka ("Ateka") and GTA Immigration Consulting Agency ("GTA")

REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O.,1990,
C. I.8, as amended, (“Act”) in particular
sections 441 and 393(23),

AND REGARDING a Cease and Desist Order
against Hanis Ateka (“Ateka”) and GTA
Immigration Consulting Agency (“GTA”)


CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

Ateka and GTA have committed an unfair and deceptive act or practice by acting as agents without a licence contrary to section 393(23) of the Act. The particulars are set out in Schedule “A” attached to, and forming part of this Order. Pursuant to written Minutes of Settlement, also attached to, and forming part of this Order, Ateka and GTA have consented to the issuance of an Order by the Superintendent requiring them to cease and desist acting as agents without a licence.

The Superintendent Hereby Orders that Hanis Ateka and GTA Immigration Consulting Agency:

1. Cease and desist, no later than two weeks from the date of this order, any advertisements indicating that GTA Agency will provide auto insurance to members of the public in Ontario.

2. Immediately cease and desist referring members of the public in Ontario to unlicenced agents or brokers, including David Spektor.

3. Immediately cease and desist from contacting any insurance company or broker or agent in Ontario for the purpose of putting into place insurance on vehicles, property or other things of value that do not belong to Ateka or GTA Agency.

Take Notice That section 447(2)(b) of the Insurance Act provides that any person who fails to comply with any Order made under the Act is guilty of an offence, and section 447(3) provides that such person is liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

And Take Notice That section 447(4) of the Insurance Act provides that every director, officer and chief agent of a corporation and every person acting in a similar capacity or performing similar functions in an unincorporated association who,


(a) caused, authorized, permitted or participated in the corporation or unincorporated association committing an offence referred to in section 447(2); or

(b) failed to take reasonable care to prevent the corporation or unincorporated association from committing an offence referred to in section 447(2),
is guilty of an offence and is liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000, whether or not the corporation or unincorporated association has been prosecuted for or convicted of the offence.

 

ISSUED AT the City of Toronto the day of August, 2005.


Cheryl Cottle
Chief Executive Officer
and Superintendent of Financial Services (Acting)

TO: Hanis Ateka and GTA Immigration Consulting Agency
c/o 215 - 4915 Bathurst Street
Toronto ON M2R 1X9

Ordonnance de cesser et de s'abstenir contre Hanis Ateka ("M. Ateka") et GTA Immigration Consulting Agency ("GTA")

DANS L'AFFAIRE de la Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O. 1990, chap. I-8, dans sa version modifiée (la « Loi »), en particulier l’article 441 et le paragraphe 393 (23),

 
ET DANS L'AFFAIRE d’une ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir contre Hanis Ateka (« M. Ateka ») et GTA Immigration Consulting Agency (« GTA »)

 
ORDONNANCE DE CESSER ET DE S'ABSTENIR

 

M. Ateka et GTA ont commis des actes ou des pratiques malhonnêtes ou mensongers en agissant en qualité d’agents sans être titulaires du permis, contrairement au paragraphe 393 (23) de la Loi. Des renseignements plus détaillés figurent à l'annexe « A » ci-jointe, qui fait partie intégrante de la présente ordonnance. Conformément au procès-verbal de transaction écrit, également ci-joint, qui fait partie intégrante de la présente ordonnance, M. Ateka et GTA ont consenti à ce que la surintendante rende une ordonnance leur imposant de cesser et de s’abstenir d’agir en qualité d’agents sans être titulaire du permis.
 
La surintendante ordonne par la présente que M. Hanis Ateka et GTA Immigration Consulting Agency :
 
1. cessent et s’abstiennent, au plus tard deux semaines à compter de la date de la présente ordonnance, de faire de la publicité annonçant que GTA Agency offre des services d’assurance-automobile aux membres du public de l’Ontario;
 
2. cessent immédiatement et s’abstiennent d’orienter des membres du public de l’Ontario vers des agents ou des courtiers non titulaires de permis, y compris David Spektor;
 
3. cessent immédiatement et s’abstiennent de contacter une compagnie d’assurance ou un courtier ou agent en Ontario aux fins d’établir une assurance sur des véhicules, des biens ou d’autres objets de valeur qui n’appartiennent pas à M. Ateka ou à GTA Agency.
 
Prenez avis que l’alinéa 447 (2) b) de la Loi sur les assurances énonce que sont coupables d’une infraction les personnes qui ne se conforment pas aux ordonnances rendues en vertu de la Loi, et le paragraphe 447 (3) ajoute que sur déclaration de culpabilité pour une infraction à la présente loi, la personne reconnue coupable est passible d’une amende d’au plus 100 000 $ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200 000 $ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 
Et prenez avis que le paragraphe 447 (4) de la Loi sur les assurances prévoit que les administrateurs, dirigeants et mandataires principaux d’une personne morale et les personnes agissant à titre semblable ou ayant des fonctions semblables au sein d’une association sans personnalité morale et qui, selon le cas,

(a) ont causé, autorisé ou permis la perpétration d’une infraction visée au paragraphe 447 (2) par la personne morale ou l’association sans personnalité morale, ou qui y ont participé;

(b) n’ont pas pris les soins raisonnables afin d’empêcher la perpétration d’une infraction visée au paragraphe (2) par la personne morale ou l’association sans personnalité morale, sont coupables d’une infraction et passibles d’une amende d’au plus 100 000 $ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200 000 $ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes, que la personne morale ou l’association sans personnalité morale ait été ou non poursuivie ou déclarée coupable relativement à l’infraction.
 
FAIT DANS la ville de Toronto, en août 2005.

Cheryl Cottle
Directrice générale
et surintendante intérimaire, Services financiers
 
À L'ATTENTION DE : Hanis Ateka et GTA Immigration Consulting Agency
a/s de 215 - 4915, rue Bathurst
Toronto (Ontario)  M2R 1X9