Notice of Proposed Cease and Desist Order and Interim Cease and Desist Order Against Axccess Lifestyle Membership Corporation and Robert Mattacchione

REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. I.8, as amended (the “Act”), in particular section 441

 

AND REGARDING a Proposed Cease and Desist Order against Axccess Lifestyle Membership Corporation and Robert Mattacchione

 

AND REGARDING an Interim Cease and Desist Order against Axccess Lifestyle Membership Corporation and Robert Mattacchione.

 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

and

INTERIM CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

 
 
The Superintendent of Financial Services ("Superintendent") is of the opinion that Axccess Lifestyle Membership Corporation (“Axccess”) and its sole Director, Robert Mattacchione, has or have committed unfair or deceptive acts or practices by making false or misleading statements as to the terms benefits or advantages of any contract of insurance issued or to be issued.  The particulars are set out in the Report of the Superintendent which will be served upon Axccess and Mr. Mattacchione with this Notice and Order. 
 
Pursuant to section 441(2) of the Act, the Superintendent intends to order Axccess and Mr. Mattacchione, and any of their agents, representatives and successors thereof, to: 

 

A. Immediately cease making and/or publishing any statements, written or otherwise, to the effect that Axccess Lifestyle Membership Corporation can arrange for, secure, or facilitate insurance coverage provided by Lloyd’s Canada. 

 

B. Immediately cease making and/or publishing any statements to the effect that Axccess Lifestyle Membership Corporation can arrange for, secure, or facilitate insurance coverage whose clearance and brokerage is provided by Chesterfield Insurance Brokers Limited, and/or Chesterfield Insurance Brokers Ltd., and/or Chesterfield Canada Inc.

 
WITHIN 15 DAYS after receiving this notice, the persons named in this notice may request in writing that the Financial Services Tribunal (“Tribunal”) hold a hearing before the Superintendent takes any action described in this notice.
 
IF NO HEARING IS REQUESTED within 15 days, the Superintendent may make a permanent order in accordance with this notice, which shall take effect on the date set out in the order.
 
Any request for a hearing should be directed to:
 
Financial Services Tribunal
5160 Yonge Street
Toronto, Ontario M2N 6L9
Fax No.: (416) 226-7750
 
Attention: Registrar
 
If a hearing is requested, section 441(8) of the Act provides that if the Tribunal is of the opinion that a Cease and Desist Order should be made, the Tribunal may make an order which shall take effect on the date set out in the Order.
 
At the hearing, your good character, propriety of conduct or competence may be in issue.
 
The hearing before the Tribunal will proceed in accordance with the Rules of Practice and Procedure of the Financial Services Tribunal under the authority of the Statutory Powers Procedure Act, R.S.O. 1990, Chapter S.22.  The Rules of Practice and Procedure are available at the website of the Tribunal: http://www.fstontario.ca.  Alternatively, a copy can be obtained by telephoning the Registrar of the Financial Services Tribunal at (416) 226-7294, or toll free at 1-800-668-0128 ext. 7294.
 
You may be furnished with further or other particulars in respect of any matter herein or in respect of any other matter, including further grounds to impose a Cease and Desist Order.

INTERIM CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

 
Pursuant to section 441(4) of the Act, the Superintendent is of the opinion that the interests of the public may be prejudiced or adversely affected by a delay in the issuance of a permanent order for the following reasons:
 
  1. Axccess has been promoting the sale to the public of “memberships” in Axccess Lifestyle Membership Corporation for $399.  That offer was directed by email to members of the public and financial advisors who were in turn encouraged to offer this product to their clients.  
  2. According to promotional material, membership in Axccess carries with it the opportunity to purchase an insurance package which covers one home and two automobiles for a five year term at a prepaid cost of $7797, with a “no claim bonus rebate” of $2,000 to be paid at the end of the five year term. That premium would be about 50% less than the premium for similar coverage in the regular insurance market.
  3. According to the promotional material, the insurance coverage provided under this plan would be provided by Lloyd’s Canada (Lloyd’s) through Chesterfield Insurance Brokers Ltd., an insurance broker. 
  4.  Lloyd’s has advised that Axccess does not hold, and has never held, any authority from Lloyd’s that would allow it to bind or accept insurance, or issue insurance documentation on behalf of Lloyd’s.
  5. Chesterfield Insurance Brokers Limited is a fully accredited Lloyd’s broker and registered in the United Kingdom. Chesterfield Canada Inc., is an insurance broker registered in Ontario with the Registered Insurance Brokers of Ontario, the regulatory body governing insurance brokers in Ontario.
  6. Chesterfield Canada Inc. has advised that contrary to the promotional material, Chesterfield Canada Inc., Lloyd’s Canada, and Chesterfield Insurance Brokers Limited are not providing any brokerage support for the Axccess product and that the use of the Chesterfield and Lloyd’s names and logos in the promotional material “are false and without their explicit permission.”
  7. Based on the above, it appears that the statements in the promotional material to the effect that membership in Axccess carries with it the opportunity to purchase low cost insurance from Lloyd’s, brokered through Chesterfield Insurance Brokers Ltd., is false and misleading. 
  8. The Insurance Act provides that no person shall engage in any “unfair or deceptive act or practice”.
  9. Ontario Regulation 7/00, made under the Act, defines an unfair or deceptive act or practice to be (among other things), “Any false or misleading statement as to the terms benefits or advantages of any contract or policy of insurance issued or to be issued”.
  10. The Superintendent is of the opinion that in the circumstances described above, Axccess Lifestyle Membership Corporation and its director, Robert Mattacchione have made, or have been responsible for making, false or misleading statements about the terms, benefits or advantages of a policy of insurance to be issued: specifically that coverage would be available to members of Axccess from Lloyd’s Canada and brokered through Chesterfield Insurance Brokers Limited. 
  11. It appears that the public is at risk. Axccess’ promotional material asks that “subscribers” commit to insurance coverage for a five year period upon the immediate payment of $7797. The promotional material invites the public to purchase, and invites financial advisers to promote, a product that does not exist as described, and which may not exist at all.  
  12. In these circumstances, it is appropriate to issue an immediate order requiring that Axccess Lifestyle Membership Corporation and its director, Robert Mattacchione cease and desist making and/or publishing any statement to the effect that insurance coverage is available to members of Axccess provided by Lloyd’s Canada and/or that brokerage for such coverage may be provided by Chesterfield Insurance Brokers Limited, and/or Chesterfield Insurance Brokers Ltd., and/or Chesterfield Canada Inc.   
 
In accordance with section 441(4) of the Act, the Superintendent, without prior notice, may make an interim order which will take effect immediately.

INTERIM ORDER

 
Effective this date, pursuant to section 441(4) of the Act, the Superintendent orders that Axccess Lifestyle Membership Corporation and Robert Mattacchione, and any agents, representatives and successors thereof:
 
A. Immediately cease making and/or publishing any statements, written or otherwise, to the effect that Axccess Lifestyle Membership Corporation can arrange for, secure, or facilitate insurance coverage provided by Lloyd’s Canada. 
 
B. Immediately cease making and/or publishing any statements to the effect Axccess Lifestyle Membership Corporation can arrange for, secure, or facilitate insurance coverage whose clearance and brokerage is provided by Chesterfield Insurance Brokers Limited and/or Chesterfield Insurance Brokers Ltd. and/or Chesterfield Canada Inc.  
 
If a hearing is requested pursuant to the Notice of Proposed Cease and Desist Order, the Superintendent may extend the Interim Cease and Desist Order until the hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal is concluded.
 
Section 447(2)(b) of the Act provides that any person who fails to comply with any order made under the Act is guilty of an offence and liable on first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.
 
Section 447(4) of the Act provides that every director, officer, and chief agent of a corporation who caused, authorized, permitted or participated in a corporation committing an offence, or who fails to take reasonable care to prevent a corporation from committing an offence, is also guilty of an offence and is liable on first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.
 
 
ISSUED AT the City of Toronto, this 20 day of October, 2011.
 
 
Philip Howell
Superintendent of Financial Services
 
 
 
TO:                Axccess Lifestyle Membership Corporation
                     ICC Global Group
                     665 Millway Avenue, Suite 38
                     Concord, Ontario
                     L4K 3T8
 
AND TO:         Robert Mattacchione
                     79 Selvapiano Cresent
                     Woodbridge, Ontario
                     L4H OX1
                    
 
AND TO:         Stephen Scharbach
                     Financial Services Commission of Ontario
                     Legal Services Branch
                     5160 Yonge Street, Suite 1700
                     Toronto ON  M2N 6L9
                     Tel: 416-590-7244
                     Fax: 416-590-7556

Ignorer les commandes du Ruban
Passer au contenu principal

Avis d'intention de rendre une ordonnance de cesser et de s'abstenir et ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir contre Axccess Lifestyle Membership Corporation et Robert Mattacchione

RELATIVEMENT à la Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O. 1990, chapitre I.8, en sa version modifiée (la « Loi »), et plus particulièrement à l’article 441

 

RELATIVEMENT à l’intention de rendre une ordonnance de cesser et de s'abstenir contre Axccess Lifestyle Membership Corporation et Robert Mattacchione

 

ET RELATIVEMENT à une ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir contre Axccess Lifestyle Membership Corporation et Robert Mattacchione.

 
 

AVIS D'INTENTION DE RENDRE UNE ORDONNANCE DE CESSER ET DE S'ABSTENIR

et

ORDONNANCE PROVISOIRE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR

 
Le surintendant des services financiers (le « surintendant ») est d’avis qu’Axccess Lifestyle Membership Corporation (« Axccess ») et Robert Mattacchione, son unique administrateur, se sont livrés à des actes ou à des pratiques malhonnêtes ou mensongers en faisant des déclarations erronées ou trompeuses quant aux conditions, prestations ou avantages de tout contrat d’assurance établi ou à établir. Les détails figurent dans le rapport du surintendant, qui sera signifié à Axccess et M. Mattacchione avec le présent avis et la présente ordonnance.
 
Conformément au paragraphe 441(2) de la Loi, le surintendant a l’intention d’ordonner à Axccess et M. Mattacchione ainsi qu’à tous leurs mandataires, représentants et ayants droit :
 

A. de cesser immédiatement de faire, par écrit ou de toute façon, et (ou) de publier des déclarations selon lesquelles Axccess Lifestyle Membership Corporation peut faire en sorte d’obtenir ou obtenir une assurance fournie par de Lloyd’s Canada, ou en faciliter l’obtention;

 

B. de cesser immédiatement de faire, par écrit ou de toute façon, et (ou) de publier des déclarations selon lesquelles Axccess Lifestyle Membership Corporation peut faire en sorte d’obtenir ou obtenir une assurance, dont Insurance Brokers Limited et (ou) Chesterfield Insurance Brokers Ltd. et (ou) Chesterfield Canada Inc. se chargent de l’autorisation et du courtage, ou en faciliter l’obtention.

     
    DANS LES 15 JOURS de la réception du présent avis, les personnes qui y sont nommées peuvent demander par écrit que le Tribunal des services financiers (le « Tribunal ») tienne une audience avant que le surintendant ne prenne les mesures prévues dans le présent avis.
     
    S’IL N’EST PAS DEMANDÉ D’AUDIENCE dans le délai de 15 jours, le surintendant peut rendre l’ordonnance permanente prévue au présent avis, laquelle prendra effet à la date qui y est précisée.
     
    Toute demande d’audience doit être adressée au :
     
    Tribunal des services financiers
    5160, rue Yonge
    Toronto (Ontario) M2N 6L9
    N° de téléc.: 416 226-7750
     
    À l’attention du greffier
     
    Si une audience est demandée, le paragraphe 441(8) de la Loi prévoit que, si le Tribunal est d’avis qu’une ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir devrait être rendue, il peut rendre une ordonnance qui prend effet à la date qui y est précisée.
     
    À l’audience, votre réputation, bonne conduite ou compétence peuvent être mises en cause.
     
    L'audience devant le Tribunal se déroulera selon les Règles des audiences du Tribunal des services financiers, adoptées en vertu de la Loi sur l'exercice des compétences légales, L.R.O. 1990, chapitre S.22. Les Règles des audiences peuvent être consultées sur le site Web du Tribunal, à l'adresse http://www.fstontario.ca. Vous pouvez également en obtenir un exemplaire en appelant le greffe du Tribunal, au 416 226-7294, ou sans frais, au 1 800 668-0128, poste 7294.
     
    Vous pouvez recevoir des renseignements additionnels ou d’autres renseignements concernant toute affaire dont il est question dans la présente ou toute autre affaire, y compris les autres motifs de rendre une ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir.
     

    ORDONNANCE PROVISOIRE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR

     
    Conformément au paragraphe 441(4) de la Loi, le surintendant est d’avis que tout retard dans la délivrance de l’ordonnance permanente risque de porter atteinte ou de nuire à l’intérêt public pour les raisons suivantes :
     
    1. 1.Axccess offre au public des « adhésions » à Axccess Lifestyle Membership Corporation en contrepartie de 399 $; cette offre est faite par courriel aux membres du public et à des conseillers financiers qui, à leur tour, sont invités à offrir ce produit à leurs clients;
    2. Selon le matériel promotionnel, l’adhésion à Axccess permet de souscrire un forfait d’assurance à l’égard d’une habitation et de deux automobiles d’une durée de cinq ans en contrepartie d’une prime de 7 797 $ réglée à l’avance, assorti d’un « rabais pour absence de sinistre » de 2 000 $ payable à la fin de la durée de cinq ans, soit une prime qui correspond à environ 50 % de moins de ce qui est exigé pour une protection similaire sur la marché de l’assurance;
    3. Selon le matériel promotionnel, l’assurance prévue dans ce forfait doit être fournie par Lloyd’s Canada (Lloyd’s) par l’intermédiaire de Chesterfield Insurance Brokers Ltd., un courtier d’assurance;
    4. Lloyd’s a précisé qu’Axccess n’est pas ni n’a jamais été autorisée par elle à la lier, à accepter des demandes d’assurance ou à émettre des polices d’assurance en son nom;
    5. Chesterfield Insurance Brokers Limited est un courtier dûment agréé et inscrit au Royaume-Uni et Chesterfield Canada Inc. est un courtier d’assurance inscrit auprès de Courtiers d'assurances inscrits de l'Ontario, l’organisme de règlementation des courtiers d’assurance en Ontario;
    6. Chesterfield Canada Inc. a précisé que, contrairement à ce que laisse entendre le matériel promotionnel, Chesterfield Canada Inc., Lloyd’s Canada et Chesterfield Insurance Brokers Limited n’offrent pas de services de soutien en matière de courtage au produit d’Axccess et que l’utilisation de la dénomination sociale et des logos de Chesterfield et de Lloyd’s dans le matériel promotionnel « constitue une pratique mensongère sans leur autorisation explicite »;
    7. Compte tenu de ce qui précède, il semblerait que les énoncés dans le matériel promotionnel, selon lesquels une adhésion à Axccess permet de souscrire de l’assurance à coût modique auprès de Lloyd’s et pour laquelle Chesterfield Insurance Brokers Ltd. agit comme courtier, sont faux et trompeurs;
    8. La Loi sur les assurances stipule que « nul ne doit se livrer à des actes ou à des pratiques malhonnêtes ou mensongers »;
    9. Aux termes du Règlement de l’Ontario 7/00, adopté en vertu de la Loi, actes ou pratiques malhonnêtes ou mensongers s’entend, entre autres choses, de « toute déclaration erronée ou trompeuse concernant les conditions, les prestations ou les avantages d’une police ou d’un contrat d’assurance établis ou à établir »;
    10. Compte tenu des circonstances décrites ci-dessus, le surintendant est d’avis qu’Axccess Lifestyle Membership Corporation et Robert Mattacchione, son administrateur, ont formulé ou sont responsables de la formulation de déclarations erronées ou trompeuses quant aux conditions, aux prestations ou aux avantages d’un contrat d’assurance à établir, plus précisément que la protection s’assurance serait offerte par Lloyd’s Canada et que Chesterfield Insurance Brokers Limited agirait comme courtier;
    11. Il semblerait que le public court un risque du fait que, dans le matériel promotionnel d’Axccess, l’on demande aux « adhérents » de s’engager à souscrire une assurance pour une durée de cinq ans en contrepartie d’un règlement immédiat de 7 797 $ et que, dans ce matériel, le public est invité à acquérir et les conseillers financiers à promouvoir un produit qui n’existe pas en la forme sous laquelle il est présenté et qui pourrait ne jamais exister;
    12. Dans les circonstances en question, il est approprié de rendre une ordonne immédiate enjoignant à Axccess Lifestyle Membership Corporation et Robert Mattacchione, son administrateur, de cesser et de s’abstenir de faire et (ou) de publier des déclarations selon lesquelles cette assurance est offerte aux membres d’Axccess par Lloyd’s Canada et (ou) que Chesterfield Insurance Brokers Limited et (ou) Chesterfield Insurance Brokers Ltd. et (ou) Chesterfield Canada Inc. pourraient agir comme courtiers à l’égard de cette assurance.
     
    Conformément aux dispositions du paragraphe 441(4) de la Loi, le surintendant peut rendre, sans avis préalable, une ordonnance provisoire qui prendra effet immédiatement.

    ORDONNANCE PROVISOIRE

    Avec prise d’effet en date des présentes et en vertu du paragraphe 441(4) de la Loi, le surintendant ordonne à Axccess Lifestyle Membership Corporation et Robert Mattacchion ainsi qu’à leurs mandataires, représentants et ayants droit :
     
    A. de cesser immédiatement de faire, par écrit ou de toute façon, et (ou) de publier des déclarations selon lesquelles Axccess Lifestyle Membership Corporation peut faire en sorte d’obtenir ou obtenir une assurance fournie par Lloyd’s Canada, ou en faciliter l’obtention;
     
    B. de cesser immédiatement de faire, par écrit ou de toute façon, et (ou) de publier des déclarations selon lesquelles Axccess Lifestyle Membership Corporation peut faire en sorte d’obtenir ou obtenir une assurance, dont Insurance Brokers Limited et (ou) Chesterfield Insurance Brokers Ltd. et (ou) Chesterfield Canada Inc. se chargent de l’autorisation et du courtage, ou en faciliter l’obtention.
     
    Si une audience est demandée à la suite de l’avis d’intention de rendre une ordonnance de cesser et de s'abstenir, le surintendant peut proroger la durée de l’ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir jusqu’à la fin de l’audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers.
     
    L’alinéa 447(2) b) de la Loi stipule qu’une personne qui ne se conforme pas à une ordonnance rendue en vertu de la Loi est coupable d’une infraction et passible d’une amende d’au plus 100 000 $ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200 000 $ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
     
    Aux termes du paragraphe 447(4) de la Loi, les administrateurs, dirigeants et mandataires principaux d’une personne morale qui ont causé, autorisé ou permis la perpétration d’une infraction par la personne morale ou qui y ont participé ou qui n’ont pas pris les soins raisonnables afin d’empêcher la perpétration d’une infraction sont également coupables d’une infraction et passibles d’une amende d’au plus 100 000 $ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200 000 $ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
     
     
    FAIT DANS la ville de Toronto, le 20 octobre, 2011.
     
     
    Philip Howell
    Surintendant des services financiers
     
     
    DESTINATAIRES :     Axccess Lifestyle Membership Corporation
                                  ICC Global Group
                                  665 Millway Avenue, Suite 38
                                  Concord (Ontario)
                                  L4K 3T8
     
                                  Robert Mattacchione
                                  79 Selvapiano Cresent
                                  Woodbridge (Ontario)
                                  L4H OX1
                        
     
    ET :                        Stephen Scharbach
                                  Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario
                                  Direction des services juridiques
                                  5160, rue Yonge, Bureau 1700
                                  Toronto (Ontario) M2N 6L9
                                  Tél. : 416 590‑7244
                                  Téléc. : 416 590-7556