Interim Cease And Desist Order Against David Braganza O/A "Financial Link", "Financial Traders", And "Capital Traders Plus"

IN THE MATTER OF THE
LOAN AND TRUST CORPORATIONS ACT
R.S.O. 1990, CHAPTER L.25

AND IN THE MATTER OF
DAVID BRAGANZA O/A “FINANCIAL LINK”,
“FINANCIAL TRADERS”, AND “CAPITAL TRADERS PLUS”

AND IN THE MATTER OF AN APPLICATION FOR
ORDERS OF THE SUPERINTENDENT OF FINANCIAL SERVICES PURSUANT TO SECTIONS 192 AND 206 OF
THE LOAN AND TRUST CORPORATIONS ACT

 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

- and -

INTERIM CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

Section 192 of the Loan and Trust Corporations Act R.S.O. 1990 Chapter L.25, (“the LATCA”) provides that where, in the opinion of the Superintendent, a registered corporation or other person is committing any act or pursuing any course of conduct that does not comply with the LATCA or the regulations, the Superintendent may give notice to the corporation or person of an intention to order him, her or it to cease doing any act or to cease pursuing any course of conduct identified by the Superintendent or to perform such acts as in the opinion of the Superintendent are necessary to remedy the situation;

The Superintendent believes that David Braganza o/a “Financial Link” is not complying with the requirements of section 213 of the LATCA for the following reasons:

A. Neither David Braganza nor “Financial Link” is a registered loan or trust corporation under the LATCA;

B. David Braganza o/a “Financial Link” is conducting, undertaking or transacting in Ontario the business of a loan or trust corporation by borrowing money from the public by receiving deposits for the purpose of lending or investing such money, in contravention of subsection 213(1);

C. David Braganza is the sole proprietor of “Financial Link”.

THE SUPERINTENDENT HEREBY GIVES NOTICE THAT:

She intends to issue an Order fifteen (15) days from the date of this Notice unless you file within that time a request in writing to the Superintendent for a Hearing pursuant to subsection 192(3) of the Loan and Trust Corporations Act.

The terms of the Order that the Superintendent intends to issue are as follows:

1. David Braganza shall cease conducting, undertaking or transacting in Ontario the business of a loan or trust corporation by receiving deposits and lending or investing such money;

2. David Braganza shall deliver up to a representative of the Superintendent copies of all business records including but not limited to, lists of the names of all investors, the amounts received from each investor, the bank accounts where all the deposits are invested, and all such other records and documents as are requested; and

3. David Braganza or any person or corporation acting on behalf of or as agent of David Braganza or as an agent of “Financial Link”, shall take all action, or cause all such action to be taken, to preserve all existing funds, deposits, securities or assets and to regain control of any funds, deposits, securities or assets from any person, and to hold all such funds, deposits, securities or assets in trust for the Superintendent pending further Order of the Superintendent, the Financial Services Tribunal, or the Superior Court of Justice.

TAKE NOTICE that you may within fifteen (15) days of the date of this Notice make a request in writing to the Superintendent for a Hearing pursuant to subsection 192(3) of the Loan and Trust Corporations Act. Your request should be directed to:

Rhonda Booth, Registrar
Financial Services Commission of Ontario
Superintendent of Financial Services
17th Floor
5160 Yonge Street
Toronto ON M2N 6L9

DATED at Toronto this 29th day of July 2005.


Grant Swanson
Executive Director
Licensing and Market Conduct Division
By Delegated Authority of
Cheryl Cottle
Chief Executive Officer
and Superintendent of Financial Services (Acting)

 

TEMPORARY CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

Subsection 192(3) of the LATCA provides that where in the opinion of the Superintendent the interests of the depositors or the public may be prejudiced or adversely affected by any delay in the issuance of a permanent order, the Superintendent may make a temporary order which shall take effect immediately on its making and which shall become permanent on the fifteenth day after its making unless within that time a hearing before the Superintendent is requested.

The Superintendent is of the opinion that the interests of the depositors or the public may be prejudiced or adversely affected by any delay in the issuance of a permanent order for the following reasons:

  1. there is clear and cogent evidence that David Braganza’s contravention of the LATCA is ongoing;

  2. it is reasonable to infer from the clear and cogent evidence of David Braganza’s past conduct that informing him that he is contravening the LATCA will not deter him;

  3. it is reasonable to infer from the clear and cogent evidence of David Braganza’s past conduct that he would give depositors little information about their deposits, and he would stonewall their requests for information and for repayment.

THE SUPERINTENDENT HEREBY ORDERS THAT:

  1. David Braganza and “Financial Link” or any person or corporation acting on behalf of or as agent of David Braganza or “Financial Link” shall cease conducting, undertaking or transacting in Ontario the business of a loan or trust corporation by receiving deposits and lending or investing such money;

  2. David Braganza and “Financial Link” shall deliver up to a representative of the Superintendent copies of all business records including but not limited to, lists of the names of all investors, the amounts received from each investor, the bank accounts where all the deposits are invested, and all such other records and documents as are requested; and

  3. David Braganza and “Financial Link”, or any person or corporation acting on behalf of or as agent of David Braganza or Financial Link, shall take all action, or cause all such action to be taken, to preserve all existing funds, deposits, securities or assets and to regain control of any funds, deposits, securities or assets from any person, and to hold all such funds, deposits, securities or assets in trust for the Superintendent pending further Order of the Superintendent, the Financial Services Tribunal, or the Superior Court of Justice.

TAKE NOTICE that you may within fifteen (15) days of the date of this Order make a request in writing to the Superintendent for a Hearing pursuant to subsection 192(2) of the LATCA. Your request should be directed to:

Financial Services Commission of Ontario
Superintendent of Financial Services
17th Floor
5160 Yonge Street
Toronto ON M2N 6L9

Attention: Rhonda Booth
Registrar

AND FURTHER TAKE NOTICE if you request a hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal, the Superintendent may extend the Temporary Cease and Desist Order until the hearing is concluded.

AND FURTHER TAKE NOTICE THAT section 214(1)(c) of the LATCA provides that anyone who fails to comply with any order made under the LATCA is guilty of an offence. Section 214(2) provides that the person convicted of an offence under section 214(1)(c) is liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

This order takes effect on the 29th day of July 2005.


Grant Swanson
Executive Director
Licensing and Market Conduct Division
By Delegated Authority of
Cheryl Cottle
Chief Executive Officer
and Superintendent of Financial Services (Acting)

TO: David Braganza o/a “Financial Link”
250 Consumers Road Suite 207
Toronto ON M2J 4V6

Ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s'abstenir contre David Braganza, « Financial Link», « Financial Traders» et «Capital Traders Plus»

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE LA
LOI SUR LES SOCIÉTÉS DE PRÊT ET DE FIDUCIE
L.R.O. 1990, CHAPITRE L.25
 

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE
DAVID BRAGANZA, «FINANCIAL LINK»,
«FINANCIAL TRADERS» ET «CAPITAL TRADERS PLUS»
 

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE D’UNE DEMANDE
D’ORDONNANCES DU SURINTENDANT DES SERVICES FINANCIERS
EN VERTU DES ARTICLES 192 ET 206 DE
LA LOI SUR LES SOCIÉTÉS DE PRÊT ET DE FIDUCIE

 

 

 
AVIS D’ORDONNANCE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR PROPOSÉE
 
- et -
 
ORDONNANCE PROVISOIRE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR
  

 

L’article 192 de la Loi sur les sociétés de prêt et de fiducie, L.R.O. 1990, chapitre L.25 (la «LSPF») stipule que lorsque, de l’avis du surintendant, une société inscrite ou une autre personne commet un acte ou suit une ligne de conduitequi ne sont pas conformes à la LSPF ou aux règlements, le surintendant peut envoyer à la société inscrite ou à l’autre personne un avis de son intention de prendre une ordonnance lui enjoignantde mettre fin aux actes ou à la ligne de conduite que le surintendant précise ou de prendre les mesures qui, de l’avis du surintendant, s’imposent afin de remédier à la situation; 

 

Le surintendant est d’avis que David Braganza ou «Financial Link» ne se conforme pas aux exigences de l’article 213 de la LSPF pour les motifs suivants:
 
A. Ni David Braganza ni «Financial Link» ne sont une société de prêt et de fiducie constituée en vertu de la LSPF;
 
B. David Braganza ou «FinancialLink» mène, entreprend ou négocie en Ontario des activités de société de prêt et de fiducie en empruntant de l’argent du public en recevant des dépôts dans le but de prêter ou d’investir cet argent, en contravention avec le paragraphe 213(1);
 
C. David Braganza est l’unique propriétaire de «Financial Link».
 

LE SURINTENDANT DONNE PAR LA PRÉSENTE AVIS QUE:

 
Le surintendant prévoit émettre une ordonnance quinze (15) jours à partir de la date du présent avis à moins que vous ne déposiez par écrit, et dans ce délai, une demande au surintendant pour une audience en vertu du paragraphe 192(3) de la Loi sur les sociétés de prêt et de fiducie.
 
Le surintendant prévoit ordonner que:
 
1. David Braganza cesse de mener, d’entreprendre ou de négocier en Ontario des activités de société de prêt et de fiducie qui reçoit des dépôts et prête ou investit ces fonds;
 
2. David Braganza fournisse à un représentant du surintendant des copies de tous les livres comptables, notamment les listes des noms de tous les investisseurs, des sommes reçues de chaque investisseur, des comptes bancaires dans lesquels les dépôts ont été investis, de même que tous les autres dossiers similaires demandés;
 
3. David Braganza ou toutes les personnes ou sociétés agissant pour son compte ou à titre d’agent de David Braganza ou d’agent de «Financial Link» doivent prendre ou faire en sorte que soient prises toutes les dispositions nécessaires afin de préserver tous les fonds, dépôts, titres ou actifs existants et que les investisseurs en recouvrent le contrôle, et que tous ces fonds, dépôts, titres ou actifs soient détenus en fiducie pour le compte du surintendant dans l’attente de l’ordonnance du surintendant, du Tribunal des services financiers ou de la Cour supérieure de justice.
 
PRENEZ AVIS QUE vous disposez de quinze (15) jours de la date du présent avis pour demander par écrit que le surintendant tienne une audience en vertu du paragraphe 192(3) de la Loi sur les sociétés de prêt et de fiducie. Votre demande doit être adressée à:
 
Rhonda Booth, registraire
Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario
Surintendante des services financiers
17e étage
5160, rue Yonge
Toronto (Ontario) M2N 6L9
 
DATÉ à Toronto ce 29e jour du mois de juillet 2005.

Grant Swanson
Directeur
Division de la délivrance des permis et de la surveillance des pratiques de l’industrie
Par pouvoir délégué de
Cheryl Cottle
Directrice générale
et surintendante des services financiers (intérim)
 

ORDONNANCE PROVISOIRE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR

 
En vertu du paragraphe 192(3) de la LSPF, lorsque de l’avis du surintendant, tout retard apporté à la prise de l’ordonnance permanente risque de porter atteinte aux droits des déposants ou du public, le surintendant peut prendre une ordonnance provisoire qui prend effet dès qu’elle est prise et devient permanente le quinzième jour suivant, sauf si une demande d’audience devant le surintendant est présentée au cours de ce délai.
Le surintendant est d’avis que tout retard apporté à la prise de l’ordonnance permanente risque de porter atteinte aux droits des déposants ou du public pour les motifs suivants:
 
  1. il existe des preuves claires et fortes à l’effet que l’infraction à la LSPF par David Braganza se poursuit;
  2. il est raisonnable d’inférer des preuves claires et fortes concernant la conduite antérieure de David Braganza que le fait de l’aviser qu’il commet une infraction à la LSPF ne l’empêchera pas de continuer;
  3. il est raisonnable d’inférer des preuves claires et fortes concernant la conduite antérieure de David Braganza qu’il donnerait aux déposants peu de renseignements concernant leurs dépôts et qu’il parerait aux demandes de renseignements et de remboursement.
LE SURINTENDANT ORDONNE PAR LA PRÉSENTE QUE:
 
  1. David Braganza et «FinancialLink» ou toutes les personnes ou sociétés agissant pour son compte ou à titre d’agent de David Braganza ou «Financial Link» cessent de mener, d’entreprendre ou de négocier en Ontario des activités de société de prêt et de fiducie qui reçoit des dépôts et prête ou investit ces fonds;
  2. David Braganza et «Financial Link» fournissent à un représentant du surintendant des copies de tous les livres comptables, notamment les listes des noms de tous les investisseurs, des sommes reçues de chaque investisseur, des comptes bancaires dans lesquels les dépôts ont été investis, de même que tous les autres dossiers similaires demandés;
  3. David Braganza et «Financial Link» ou toutes les personnes ou sociétés agissant pour son compte ou à titre d’agent de David Braganza ou d’agent de «Financial Link» doivent prendre ou faire en sorte que soient prises toutes les dispositions nécessaires afin de préserver tous les fonds, dépôts, titres ou actifs existants et que les investisseurs en recouvrent le contrôle, et que tous ces fonds, dépôts, titres ou actifs soient détenus en fiducie pour le compte du surintendant dans l’attente de l’ordonnance du surintendant, du Tribunal des services financiers ou de la Cour supérieure de justice.
 
PRENEZ AVIS QUE vous disposez de quinze (15) jours de la date de la présente ordonnance pour demander par écrit que le surintendant tienne une audience en vertu du paragraphe 192(2) de la LSPF. Votre demande doit être adressée à:
 
Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario
Surintendante des services financiers
17e étage
5160, rue Yonge
Toronto (Ontario) M2N 6L9
 
Aux soins de Rhonda Booth
Registraire
 
ET PRENEZ AUSSI AVIS QUE si vous demandez la tenue d’une audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers, le surintendant peut prolonger l’effet de l’ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir jusqu’à la conclusion de l’audience.
 
ET PRENEZ AUSSI AVIS QUE l’article 214(1)(c) de la LSPF stipule que toute personne qui enfreint une ordonnance rendue en vertu de la LSPF est coupable d’une infraction. L’article 214(2) prévoit que toute personne déclarée coupable d’une infraction visée à l’article 214(1)(c) est passible d’une amende d’au plus 100000$ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200000$ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 
Cette ordonnance prend effet le 29e jour de juillet 2005.

  


Grant Swanson
Directeur
Division de la délivrance des permis et de la surveillance des pratiques de l’industrie
Par pouvoir délégué de
Cheryl Cottle
Directrice générale
et surintendante des services financiers (intérim)
 
À l’attention de David Braganza et «Financial Link»
250, rue Consumers, bureau 207
Toronto (Ontario) M2J 4V6