Permanent Cease and Desist Order Against Marcello Calise and Calise & Associates Legal Services Inc.

REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990, Chapter I.8, as amended, in particular section 441
AND REGARDING a Proposed Permanent Cease and Desist Order against Marcello Calise and Calise & Associates Legal Services Inc.
AND REGARDING an Interim Cease and Desist against Marcello Calise and Calise & Associates Legal Services Inc.
 

NOTICE OF PERMANENT CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

Subsection 441(2) of the Insurance Act, (the “Act”), provides that where the Superintendent of Financial Services (“Superintendent”) is of the opinion that a person has committed or is committing any act, or has pursued or is pursuing any course of conduct, that is an unfair or deceptive act or practice, or might reasonably be expected to result in a state of affairs that would constitute an unfair or deceptive act or practice, the Superintendent may give notice in writing of his intention to order any person to cease or refrain from doing any act or pursuing any course of conduct identified by the Superintendent or to perform such acts that, in the opinion of the Superintendent, are necessary to remedy the situation. Within 15 days of receiving the notice, a person may request in writing that the Financial Services Tribunal hold a hearing before the Superintendent takes any action described in the notice.

Subsection 441(4) of the Act provides that if the Superintendent is of the opinion that the interests of the public may be adversely affected by any delay in the issuance of the order, the Superintendent may, without prior notice, make an interim order which takes effect immediately and which shall become permanent on the 15th day after its making unless within that time a hearing is requested.

On February 8, 2004, the Superintendent issued a notice under subsection 441(2) and an Interim Order under subsection 441(4) of the Act. There has been no request for a hearing within the prescribed 15 days and in accordance with subsection 441(4) of the Act, the Interim Order became permanent on February 25, 2005.

The Superintendent confirms that the Interim Cease and Desist Order issued February 8, 2005, (attached) is a Permanent Order as of February 25, 2005.

ISSUED AT the City of Toronto, February 25, 2005


Bryan P. Davies
Superintendent of Financial Services

TO:
Marcello Calise
c/o Calise & Associates Legal Services Inc
15 Church Street, Suite 600
St. Catharines ON L2R 3B5

AND TO:
Calise & Associates Legal Services Inc
15 Church Street, Suite 600
St. Catharines ON L2R 3B5

Ordonnance permanente de cesser et de s'abstenir contre Marcello Calise et Calise & Associates Legal Services Inc.

 DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O. 1990, chapitre I.8, telle que modifiée, et plus particulièrement l’article 441
 
ET DANS L’AFFAIRE D’UNE proposition d’ordonnance permanente de cesser et de s’abstenir contre Marcello Calise et Calise & Associates Legal Services Inc.
 
ET DANS L’AFFAIRE D’UNE ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir contre Marcello Calise et Calise & Associates Legal Services Inc.
 
 

AVIS D’ORDONNANCE PERMANENTE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR

 

Le paragraphe 441 (2) de la Loi sur les assurances (la «Loi») prévoit que, si le surintendant des services financiers («surintendant») est d’avis qu’une personne a commis ou commet un acte, ou a suivi ou suit une ligne de conduite qui constituent un acte ou une pratique malhonnêtes ou mensongers, ou dont la poursuite risque vraisemblablement de créer une situation qui constituerait un acte ou une pratique malhonnêtes ou mensongers, il peut donner à cette personne un avis écrit qui lui enjoint de cesser de cesser ou de s’abstenir de commettre des actes ou de poursuivre une ligne de conduite que le surintendant précise, ou de prendre les mesures qui, de l’avis du surintendant, s’imposent afin de remédier à la situation. Une personne peut, dans les 15 jours de la réception de l’avis, demander par écrit que le Tribunal des services financiers tienne une audience avant que le surintendant ne prenne les mesures prévues dans l’avis.
 
Le paragraphe 441 (4) de la Loi prévoit que si, de l’avis du surintendant, tout retard dans la délivrance de l’ordonnance risque de porter atteinte ou de nuire à l’intérêt public, le surintendant peut, sans avis préalable, rendre une ordonnance provisoire qui prend effet dès qu’elle est rendue et devient permanente le 15e jour qui suit celui où elle est rendue, sauf si la personne présente une demande d’audience devant le Tribunal dans ce délai.
 
Le 8 février 2005, le surintendant a donné un avis en vertu du paragraphe 441 (2) et une ordonnance provisoire en vertu du paragraphe 441 (4) de la Loi. Il n’y a pas eu de demande d’audience devant le Tribunal dans le délai prescrit de 15 jours et, conformément au paragraphe 441 (4) de la Loi, l’ordonnance provisoire est devenue permanente le 25 février 2005.

 

Le surintendant confirme que l’ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir datée du 8 février 2005 (ci-jointe) est devenue une ordonnance permanente le 25 février 2005.
 
FAIT À Toronto, le 25 février 2005.
 
Bryan P. Davies
surintendant des services financiers
 
À L’ATTENTION DE:

Marcello Calise
a/s Calise & Associates Legal Services Inc
15, rue Church, bureau 600
St-Catharines (Ontario) L2R 3B5
 
ET À L’ATTENTION DE:

Calise & Associates Legal Services Inc
15, rue Church, bureau 600
St-Catharines (Ontario) L2R 3B5