Notice of Permanent Cease and Desist Order Against Carlos Castro

REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990, Chapter I.8, as amended, in particular section 441

AND REGARDING an Interim Cease and Desist Order Against Carlos Castro

NOTICE OF PERMANENT CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

Section 441(2)of the Insurance Act, (the "Act"), provides that where the Superintendent is of the opinion that a person has committed or is committing any act, or has pursued or is pursuing any course of conduct, that is an unfair or deceptive act or practice, or might reasonably be expected to result in a state of affairs that would constitute an unfair or deceptive act or practice, the Superintendent may give notice in writing of his intention to order any person to cease or refrain from doing any act or pursuing any course of conduct identified by the Superintendent or to perform such acts that, in the opinion of the Superintendent, are necessary to remedy the situation. Within 15 days of receiving the notice, a person may request in writing that the Financial Services Tribunal hold a hearing before the Superintendent takes any action described in the notice.

Section 441(4) of the Act provides that if the Superintendent is of the opinion that the interests of the public may be adversely affected by any delay in the issuance of the order, the Superintendent may, without prior notice, make an interim order which takes effect immediately and which shall become permanent on the 15th day after its making unless within that time a hearing is requested.

On December 2, 2004, the Superintendent issued an Interim Cease and Desist Order under section 441(4) of the Act against Carlos Castro and Manuel Castro. A request for hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal ("Tribunal") was made separately by both Carlos Castro and Manuel Castro. The matter was scheduled for hearing commencing April 10, 2006.

By letter dated March 17, 2006, and filed with the Tribunal, Carlos Castro withdrew his request for a hearing. Accordingly, no request for a hearing is now before the Tribunal and in accordance with section 441(4) of the Act, the Interim Cease and Desist Order as against Carlos Castro became permanent on December 17, 2004, the 15th day after the issuance of the Interim Cease and Desist Order.

The Superintendent confirms that the Interim Cease and Desist Order dated December 2, 2004, is a Permanent Order as of December 17, 2004, against Carlos Castro and provides as follows:

The Superintendent orders that Carlos Castro, and any agents or representatives thereof:

A. Immediately cease carrying on business as statutory accident benefits representatives;

B. Immediately notify in writing all of his clients who have claims for statutory accident benefits that he can no longer act for them; provide them with a copy of this cease and desist order; and, provide copies of every notification sent to each client to the Superintendent forthwith; and,

C. Immediately cease advertising or holding themselves out, in any form, as statutory accident benefits representatives within Ontario.

DATED at the City of Toronto on the 23rd day of March, 2006.

___________________
Robert Christie
Superintendent of Financial Services

TO:

Carlos Castro
P. O. Box 20153
1395 Lawrence Ave. West
Toronto, ON M6L 3C8

Avis d'ordonnance permanente de cesser et de s'abstenir contre Carlos Castro

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O. 1990, chapitre I.8, telle que modifiée, et en particulier de l’article 441;

 

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE D’une ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir rendue contre Carlos Castro;

 
AVIS D’ORDONNANCE PERMANENTE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR
 

 

Le paragraphe Section 441 (2) de la Loi sur les assurances, (la « Loi ») prévoit que si le surintendant est d’avis qu’une personne a commis ou commet un acte, ou a suivi ou suit une ligne de conduite qui constituent un acte ou une pratique malhonnêtes ou mensongers, ou dont la poursuite risque vraisemblablement de créer une situation qui constituerait un acte ou une pratique malhonnêtes ou mensongers, il peut donner un avis écrit à la personne de son intention de rendre une ordonnance lui enjoignant de cesser ou de s’abstenir de commettre des actes ou de poursuivre une ligne de conduite que le surintendant précise ou de prendre les mesures qui, de son avis, s’imposent afin de remédier à la situation. La personne peut, dans les 15 jours de la réception de l’avis, demander par écrit que le Tribunal des services financiers tienne une audience avant que le surintendant ne prenne les mesures prévues dans l’avis.
 
Le paragraphe 441 (4) de la Loi prévoit que si le surintendant est d’avis que tout retard dans la délivrance de l’ordonnance risque de nuire à l’intérêt public, il peut, sans avis préalable, rendre une ordonnance provisoire qui prend effet immédiatement et devient permanente le 15e jour qui suit celui où elle est rendue, sauf si la personne présente une demande d’audience dans ce délai.
 
Le 2 décembre 2004, le surintendant a rendu une ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir en vertu du paragraphe 441 (4) de la Loi contre Carlos Castro et Manuel Castro. MM. Carlos Castro et Manuel Castro ont chacun présenté une demande distincte d’audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers (le « Tribunal »). L’audience devait commencer à compter du 10 avril 2006.
 
Dans une lettre, datée du 17 mars 2006, déposée au Tribunal, Carlos Castro retirait sa demande d’audience. Le Tribunal n’est donc saisi d’aucune demande d’audience à son nom et, conformément au paragraphe 441 (4) de la Loi, l’ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir rendue contre Carlos Castro est devenue permanente le 17 décembre 2004, le 15e jour suivant l’émission de l’ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir.
 
Le surintendant confirme que l’ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir rendue contre Carlos Castro en date du 2 décembre 2004 est devenue permanente à compter du 17 décembre 2004, et prévoit ce qui suit :
 
Le surintendant ordonne à Carlos Castro, ainsi qu’à ses agents ou représentants :
 
A. de cesser immédiatement d’agir en qualité de représentants de personnes ayant droit à des indemnités d’accidents légales;
 
B. d’informer immédiatement par écrit tous leurs clients qui ont des demandes d’indemnités d’accident légales qu’ils ne peuvent plus les représenter; de leur remettre une copie de la présente ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir; et de remettre sans délai au surintendant une copie de l’avis envoyé à chaque client;
 
C. de cesser immédiatement d’annoncer ou de faire croire au public, de quelque manière que ce soit, qu’ils offrent des services de représentants de personnes ayant droit à des indemnités d’accident légales en Ontario.
 
 
FAIT dans la ville de Toronto, le 23 mars 2006.
___________________
Robert Christie
Surintendant des services financiers
 
DESTINATAIRE :
 
Carlos Castro
C. P. 20153
1395, avenue Lawrence Ouest
Toronto ON M6L 3C8