Extension of Second Interim Cease and Desist Order Against Robert Crosbie and R.E.C. Paralegal


REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990, Chapter I.8, as amended, in particular section 441

 

AND REGARDING a Proposed Permanent Cease and Desist Order against Robert Crosbie and 1460246 Ontario Inc. carrying on business as R.E.C. Paralegal

 

AND REGARDING an Interim Cease and Desist against Robert Crosbie

 

EXTENSION OF INTERIM CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

 

On June 22, 2005, the Superintendent of Financial Services (“Superintendent”) issued an Interim Cease and Desist Order against Robert Crosbie ("Crosbie") and 1460246 Ontario Inc. carrying on business as R.E.C. Paralegal ("R.E.C. Paralegal").

 

The Interim Cease and Desist Order required Crosbie and R.E.C. Paralegal, and any agents or representatives thereof, to:

 

A. Immediately cease carrying on business as statutory accident benefit representatives;

B. Immediately cease providing any service to anyone related in any way to a claim for statutory accident benefits, whether or not such services are charged a fee or not;

C. Immediately cease advertising or holding out to the public in any way, that services of any kind relating to claims for statutory accident benefits are offered or provided, whether or not such services are charged a fee or not;

D. Immediately cease sending, or allowing the use of, REC Paralegal letterhead, or the name REC Paralegal, in connection with any claim for statutory accident benefits regardless if the person has or has not filed a declaration with the Superintendent to be exempted from the prohibition set out in section 398 of the Insurance Act;

E. Immediately provide to the Superintendent a list of the names, addresses and telephone numbers of all persons who had claims for statutory accident benefits who were clients of Crosbie or REC Paralegal as of May 19, 2005, to date.

The Interim Cease and Desist Order was issued pursuant to subsection 441(4) of the Insurance Act.

Crosbie and R.E.C. Paralegal filed a Request for a hearing by the Financial Services Tribunal. The hearing is scheduled to commence August 2, 2005.

 

The Superintendent is of the opinion that the Interim Cease and Deist Order should be extended until the hearing in this matter has been concluded and the Interim Cease and Desist Order is either confirmed, varied or revoked by the Financial Services Tribunal ,or revoked by the Superintendent in writing. The Superintendent continues to be of the opinion that the interests of the public may be prejudiced or adversely affected by any delay.

 

ORDER

 

TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to subsection 441(6) of the Insurance Act, the Superintendent orders that the Interim Cease and Desist Order issued June 22, 2005, be extended until the hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal is concluded and the Interim Cease and Desist Order is confirmed, varied or revoked, or is revoked by the Superintendent in writing.


ISSUED AT the City of Toronto, July 5, 2005.

Cheryl Cottle
Superintendent of Financial Services (Acting)

TO:

Robert Crosbie
c/o R.E.C. Paralegal
Unit 23
1270 Finch Avenue West
Toronto ON M9L 2R8

AND TO:

1460246 Ontario Inc.
carrying on business
as R.E.C. Paralegal

Enclosure: Second Notice of the Cease and Desist Against Crosbie and R.E.C. Paralegal [PDF Document] Size: ## kb

Prolongation de la deuxième ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s'abstenir contre Robert Crosbie et R.E.C. Paralegal

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O. 1990, chapitre I.8, telle que modifiée, et plus particulièrement l’article 441

 

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE D’UNE proposition d’ordonnance permanente de cesser et de s’abstenir contre Robert Crosbie et 1460246 Ontario Inc., qui font affaire sous le nom de R.E.C Paralegal

 

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE D’UNE ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir contre Robert Crosbie

 

PROLONGATION DE L’ORDONNANCE PROVISOIRE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR

 
Le 22 juin 2005, le surintendant des services financiers («surintendant») a rendu une ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir contre Robert Crosbie («Crosbie») et 1460246 Ontario Inc., qui font affaire sous le nom de R.E.C. Paralegal («R.E.C.Paralegal»).
 
L’ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir intime à Crosbie et à R.E.C. Paralegal, et à tous leurs agents ou représentants, de:
 
A. cesser immédiatement d’exercer des activités de représentant en matière d’indemnités d’accident légales;
 
B. cesser immédiatement d’offrir à quiconque tout service qui touche une demande en matière d’indemnités d’accident légales, que ces services soient rendus moyennant contribution ou non;
 
C. cesser immédiatement d’annoncer ou d’offrir au public de quelque manière que ce soit, des services de toute nature qui touchent des demandes en matière d’indemnités d’accident légales sont offerts, que ces services soient rendus moyennant contribution ou non;
 
D. cesser immédiatement d’utiliser l’en-tête de lettre de REC Paralegal, ou de permettre son utilisation, ou le nom REC Paralegal, relativement à toute demande en matière d’indemnités d’accident légales, peu importe que la personne ait, ou non, rempli une déclaration auprès du surintendant pour être exemptée de l’interdiction prévue à l’article 398 de la Loi sur les assurances;
 
E. fournir immédiatement au surintendant une liste des noms, des adresses et des numéros de téléphone de toutes les personnes qui ont fait des demandes en matière d’indemnités d’accident légales et qui étaient clientes de Crosbie ou de REC Paralegal entre le 19 mai 2005 et la date des présentes.
 
L’ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir a été rendue conformément au paragraphe 441 (4) de la Loi sur les assurances.
 
Crosbie et R.E.C. Paralegal ont présenté une demande d’audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers. Le début de l’audience est prévu le 2 août 2005.
 
Le surintendant est d’avis que l’ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir doit être prolongée jusqu’à ce que l’audience soit terminée et que l’ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir soit confirmée, modifiée ou révoquée par le Tribunal des services financiers, ou révoquée par écrit par le surintendant. Le surintendant est toujours d’avis que tout retard dans la délivrance de l’ordonnance permanente risque de porter atteinte ou de nuire à l’intérêt public.
 

ORDONNANCE

 
PRENEZ AVIS QUE, conformément au paragraphe 441 (6) de la Loi sur les assurances, le surintendant ordonne que l’ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir rendue le 22 juin 2005soit prolongée jusqu’à ce que l’audience soit terminée et que l’ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir soit confirmée, modifiée ou révoquée par le Tribunal des services financiers, ou révoquée par écrit par le surintendant.


FAIT DANS la ville de Toronto, le 5 juillet 2005.
 
Cheryl Cottle
Surintendante des services financiers (par intérim)
 
À L’ATTENTION DE:
 
Robert Crosbie
a/s R.E.C. Paralegal
Bureau 23
1270, avenue Finch Ouest
Toronto (Ontario)  M9L 2R8
 
ET À L’ATTENTION DE:
 
1460246 Ontario Inc.
qui fait affaire sous le nom
de R.E.C. Paralegal
 

Pièce jointe : Deuxième avis de l’ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir contre Crosbie et R.E.C. Paralegal