Notice of Permanent Cease and Desist Order Against Ideal Therapy Inc. and Osman Abukar

REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990, Chapter I.8, as amended, in particular sections 438, 441(2) and 447(2)(a.3), and Ontario Regulation 7/00, in particular section1¶1

AND REGARDING a Proposed Cease and Desist Order against Ideal Therapy Inc. and Osman Abukar

CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

Section 441(2) of the Insurance Act (the "Act"), provides that where the Superintendent of Financial Services (the "Superintendent") is of the opinion that a person has committed or is committing any act, or has pursued or is pursuing any course of conduct, that is an unfair or deceptive act or practice, or might reasonably be expected to result in a state of affairs that would constitute an unfair or deceptive act or practice, the Superintendent may give notice in writing of his intention to order any person to cease or refrain from doing any act or pursuing any course of conduct identified by the Superintendent or to perform such acts that, in the opinion of the Superintendent, are necessary to remedy the situation.  Within 15 days of receiving the notice, a person may request in writing that the Financial Services Tribunal hold a hearing before the Superintendent takes any action described in the notice.

On Augus 16, 2007, the Superintendent issued a notice under section 441(2) of the Act. Osman Abukar and Ideal Therapy Inc. were served with the notice on September 18, 2007.

Osman Abukar did not file a request for a hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal within 15 days of receiving the notice.

TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to sections 441(2) and 441(7) of the Act the Superintendent orders that Ideal Therapy Inc. and Osman Abukar:

A. cease conducting the business of a rehabilitation clinic that provides services to Ontario residents who suffered injuries in motor vehicle collisions;

B. cease providing to anyone any service related in any way to a claim for statutory accident benefits, whether or not a fee is charged for such services;

C. cease advertising or holding out to the public that services of any kind relating to claims for statutory accident benefits are offered or provided, whether or not a fee is charged for such services; and,

D. immediately notify in writing all clients of Ideal Therapy Inc. and Osman Abukar who have claims for statutory accident benefits that Ideal Therapy Inc. and Osman Abukar, and any of their agents or representatives, can no longer act for them, and  provide them with a copy of the cease and desist order; and provide copies of every notification sent to each client to the Superintendent forthwith.

AND FURTHER TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(2)(b) of the Act  provides that any person who fails to comply with any order made under the Act is guilty of an offence, and section 447(3) of the Act provides that a person convicted of an offence under the Act is liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

ISSUED AT the City of Toronto, October 11, 2007

 

Robert Christie
Superintendent of Financial Services

TO:                                       

Ideal Therapy Inc. and Osman Abukar
1635 Lawrence Avenue West, 2nd Floor
Toronto ON  M6L 3C9

Ordonnance de cesser et de s'abstenir contre Ideal Therapy Inc. et Osman Abukar

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O.1990, chapitreI.8, telle que modifiée, et en particulier de l’article 438, du paragraphe 441(2) et de l’alinéa 447(2)a.3), et du Règlement de l’Ontario7/00, et en particulier de l’article1;

 

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE D’UNE proposition d’ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir rendue contre Ideal Therapy Inc. et Osman Abukar.

 

ORDONNANCE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR  

 

Le paragraphe 441(2) de la Loi sur les assurances (la «Loi») prévoit que si le surintendant des services financiers (le «surintendant») est d'avis qu’une personne a commis ou commet un acte, ou a suivi ou suit une ligne de conduite qui constituent un acte ou une pratique malhonnêtes ou mensongers, ou dont la poursuite risque vraisemblablement de créer une situation qui constituerait un acte ou une pratique malhonnêtes ou mensongers, il peut donner à la personne un avis écrit de son intention de rendre une ordonnance lui enjoignant de cesser ou de s’abstenir de commettre des actes ou de poursuivre une ligne de conduite que le surintendant précise ou de prendre les mesures qui, de son avis, s’imposent afin de remédier à la situation. La personne peut, dans les 15 jours de la réception de l’avis, demander par écrit que le Tribunal des services financiers tienne une audience avant que le surintendant ne prenne les mesures prévues dans l’avis.

 
Le 16 août 2007, le surintendant a émis un avis en vertu du paragraphe 441(2) de la Loi. Cet avis a été signifié à Osman Abukar et Ideal Therapy Inc. le 18 septembre 2007.
 
Osman Abukar n’a pas présenté de demande d’audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers dans les 15 jours de la réception de l’avis.
 
PRENEZ AVIS QUE, conformément aux paragraphes 441(2) et 441(7) de la Loi, le surintendant ordonne à Ideal Therapy Inc. et Osman Abukar:
 
A. de cesser d’exercer les activités d’une clinique de réadaptation offrant des services aux résidents de l’Ontario blessés dans une collision automobile;
 
B. de cesser d’offrir des services se rapportant de quelque façon que ce soit à une demande d’indemnités d’accident légales, que ces services soient ou non rémunérés;
 
C. de cesser d’annoncer ou de faire croire au public qu’ils offrent ou fournissent des services se rapportant à des demandes d’indemnités d’accident légales, que ces services soient ou non rémunérés;
 
D. d’informer immédiatement par écrit tous leurs clients ayant présenté une demande d’indemnités d’accident légales que ni Ideal Therapy Inc., ni Osman Abukar, ni aucun de leurs agents ou représentants, ne peuvent plus les représenter et de leur remettre une copie de la présente ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir; et de remettre sans délai au surintendant une copie de l’avis envoyé à chaque client.
 
ET PRENEZ AVIS QUE l’alinéa 447(2)b) de la Loi prévoit que les personnes qui ne se conforment pas aux exigences de la Loi sont coupables d’une infraction et que le paragraphe 447(3) de la Loi précise que, sur déclaration de culpabilité pour une infraction à la Loi, les personnes reconnues coupables sont passibles d’une amende d’au plus 100000$ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200000$ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 
FAIT DANS la ville de Toronto, le 11 octobre 2007.
 

 

_______________________________
Robert Christie
Surintendant des services financiers

 

DESTINATAIRES :       

 

Ideal Therapy Inc. et Osman Abukar
1635, avenue Lawrence Ouest, 2e étage
Toronto ON  M6L3C9