Cease and Desist Order Against ING Insurance Company of Canada ("ING") and ING Novex Insurance Company of Canada ("Novex")

On August 22, 2005 the Superintendent of Financial Services issued the following order:

REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990,
Chapter I.8, as amended, in particular section 441,
and the Automobile Insurance Rate Stabilization Act,
2003, S.O. 2003, c.9.

AND REGARDING ING Insurance Company
of Canada (“ING”) and ING Novex Insurance Company of Canada (“Novex”).

CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

On August 4, 2005, the Superintendent of Financial Services (“Superintendent”) issued a Notice of Proposed Cease and Desist Order as she was of the opinion that ING and Novex had committed an unfair or deceptive act or practice by inadvertently charging rates for coverages or categories of automobile insurance that were not approved by the Superintendent.

On August 4, 2005, ING and Novex were each served with a copy of the Notice of Proposed Cease and Desist Order. Neither ING nor Novex requested a hearing within 15 days.

TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to section 441(7) of the Insurance Act (“the Act”), the Superintendent hereby orders that ING and Novex (“Companies”):

(A) Reimburse affected policyholders by a date and in a manner acceptable to the Superintendent. The plan for reimbursement shall include the following features:

(i) In any case where the amount to be reimbursed is $5 or greater, reimbursement for the appropriate amount plus interest shall be sent to the latest address on file, or the last known address from the policyholder’s broker.

(ii) A notice shall be placed in a national newspaper informing the public of the reimbursement process and the fact that amounts to be reimbursed of less than $5 can be obtained upon request.

(iii) Any amounts that remain unclaimed after an appropriate period of time shall be donated to Safe Kids Canada/SécuriJeunes Canada - National injury prevention program of the Hospital for Sick Children.

(B) On or before the Companies’ next annual general meeting, the Companies shall provide to the Superintendent confirmation, in writing, that their respective boards of directors are satisfied that their current:

(i) written internal control procedures with respect to the handling of policyholder complaints are effective and that senior company officials, with appropriate authority, have the responsibility and adequate resources to oversee the receipt, investigation and response to policyholder complaints, including those complaints involving rates, classification and billing; and,

(ii). written internal control procedures with respect to system change management are effective and that any system change that will have, or potentially have, an impact on rates applied to policyholders, are reviewed and approved by a management official or committee with management responsibility extending beyond the operational unit proposing the change and that system changes are consistent with current industry and IT standards.

TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(2) of the Act provides that any person who fails to comply with any order made under the Act is guilty of an offence and liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

AND FURTHER TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(4) of the Act provides that every director, officer, and chief agent of a corporation who caused, authorized, permitted or participated in a corporation committing an offence, or who fails to take reasonable care to prevent a corporation from committing an offence, is also guilty of an offence and is liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

 

 

ISSUED AT the City of Toronto, August 22, 2005

 

___________________________________
Cheryl Cottle
Superintendent of Financial Services (Acting)

 

TO:

ING Insurance Company of Canada
(Compagnie d'Assurance ING Du Canada)
181 University Avenue, 7th Floor
Toronto, Ontario M5H 3M7

Attn:
Mr. Derek Iles, Executive Vice President, ING Canada

AND TO:

ING Novex Insurance Company of Canada
(ING Novex Compagnie d'Assurance du Canada)
181 University Avenue, 7th Floor
Toronto Ontario M5H 3M7

Attn:
Mr. Derek Iles, Executive Vice President, ING Canada

Ordonnance de cesser et de s'abstenir dans l'affaire de ING Insurance Company of Canada («ING») et ING Novex Insurance Company of Canada («Novex»)

Le 22 août 2005, le surintendant des services financiers a émis l’ordonnance suivante:

 

 

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O. 1990, chapitre I-8, telle que modifiée, en particulier l’article 441, et de la Loi de 2003 sur la stabilisation des taux d’assurance-automobile, L.O. 2003, ch. 9

 

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE ING Insurance Company of Canada («ING») et ING Novex Insurance Company of Canada («Novex»)

 

 

CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

 
Le 4 août 2005, la surintendante des services financiers (la « surintendante ») a rendu un avis de proposition d’ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir, parce qu’elle était d’avis qu’ING et Novex avaient commis des actes ou des pratiques malhonnêtes ou mensongers, en exigeant par inadvertance des taux d’assurance pour des garanties ou des catégories d’assurance-automobile qui n’étaient pas approuvés par la surintendante.
 
Le 4 août 2005, ING et Novex ont chacune reçu une copie de l’avis de proposition d’ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir. Ni ING ni Novex n’a demandé une audience dans un délai de 15 jours.
 
PRENEZ AVIS QUE conformément au paragraphe 441 (7) de la Loi sur les assurances (la « Loi »), la surintendante ordonne par la présente à ING et Novex (les « compagnies ») de :
 
(A) rembourser les titulaires de police concernés, dans un délai et d’une façon acceptables par la surintendante. Le plan de remboursement doit inclure les modalités suivantes :
 
(i) Chaque fois que le montant à rembourser est supérieur à 5 $ ou plus, le remboursement du montant approprié, avec intérêts, sera envoyé à la dernière adresse figurant dans le dossier, ou à la dernière adresse connue du courtier du titulaire de la police.
 
(ii) Un avis paraîtra dans un journal national pour informer le public du processus de remboursement et du fait que les montants inférieurs à 5 $ à rembourser peuvent être obtenus sur demande.
 
(iii) Tout montant qui ne sera pas réclamé après un certain délai sera versé à Safe Kids Canada/SécuriJeunes Canada - programme national de prévention des lésions du Hospital for Sick Children.

À leur prochaine assemblée générale annuelle, ou avant cette date, les compagnies remettront à la surintendante la confirmation écrite que leur conseil d’administration respectif est convaincu de ce qui suit :

(i) Leurs procédures de contrôle internes, telles qu’elles existent actuellement par écrit en matière de traitement des plaintes des titulaires de police, sont efficaces, et leurs cadres supérieurs, avec le pouvoir approprié, ont la responsabilité et les ressources adéquates pour surveiller la réception des plaintes des titulaires de police, les enquêtes sur ces plaintes et la réponse à ces plaintes, y compris les plaintes concernant les taux, la classification et la facturation;

(ii) Leurs procédures de contrôle internes, telles qu’elles existent actuellement par écrit en matière de gestion des changements au système, sont efficaces, et tout changement au système qui aura, ou pourrait avoir, des conséquences sur les taux appliqués aux titulaires de polices, est examiné et approuvé par un représentant de la direction ou un comité assumant des responsabilités de gestion plus élevées que celles de l’unité opérationnelle qui a proposé le changement, et les changements au système sont conformes aux normes actuelles de l’industrie et de la technologie de l’information.
 
Prenez avis que l’alinéa 447 (2) b) de la Loi sur les assurances énonce que sont coupables d’une infraction les personnes qui ne se conforment pas aux ordonnances rendues en vertu de la Loi, et sur déclaration de culpabilité pour une infraction à la présente loi, la personne reconnue coupable est passible d’une amende d’au plus 100 000 $ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200 000 $ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 
Et prenez avis que le paragraphe 447 (4) de la Loi sur les assurances prévoit que les administrateurs, dirigeants et mandataires principaux d’une personne morale qui ont causé, autorisé ou permis la perpétration d’une infraction ou qui y ont participé, ou qui n’ont pas pris les soins raisonnables afin d’empêcher la perpétration d’une infraction sont coupables d’une infraction et passibles d’une amende d’au plus 100 000 $ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200 000 $ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes, que la personne morale ou l’association sans personnalité morale ait été ou non poursuivie ou déclarée coupable relativement à l’infraction.
 
FAIT DANS la ville de Toronto, le 22 août 2005.
___________________________________
Cheryl Cottle
Surintendante intérimaire des services financiers
 
À L’ATTENTION DE :
 
ING Insurance Company of Canada
(Compagnie d'assurance ING Du Canada)
181, avenue University, 7e étage
Toronto (Ontario) M5H 3M7

À L’ATTENTION DE :
 
M. Derek Iles, vice-président général, ING Canada
 
ET À L’ATTENTION DE :
 
ING Novex Insurance Company of Canada
(ING Novex Compagnie d'assurance du Canada)
181, avenue University, 7e étage
Toronto (Ontario) M5H 3M7
 
À L’ATTENTION DE :
 
M. Derek Iles, vice-président général, ING Canada