Cease and Desist Order Against Insurance Company of Canada ("ING") and ING Novex Insurance Company of Canada ("ING Novex")

REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990,
Chapter I.8, as amended, in particular section 441.

AND REGARDING ING Insurance Company of Canada ("ING") and ING Novex Insurance Company of Canada ("ING Novex").

CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

The Superintendent of the Financial Services Commission of Ontario ("Superintendent") is of the opinion that ING and ING Novex committed an unfair or deceptive act or practice by inadvertently charging rates for coverages or categories of automobile insurance that were not approved by the Superintendent.

ING and ING Novex waive the procedural requirement under section 441(2) of the Insurance Act (the “Act”) for a Notice of Intention to make an order and their right under section 441(3) to request a hearing.

TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to section 441(7) of the Insurance Act, AND WITH THE CONSENT OF ING AND ING NOVEX, the Superintendent hereby orders that ING and ING Novex (“the Companies”):

(A) Reimburse all affected eligible policyholders (both current and former policyholders) in a time and manner acceptable to the Superintendent. The plan for reimbursement shall include the following features:

For insurance contracts with an effective date on or after January 1, 1999 and on or before December 31, 2005:

(i) The affected policyholder shall be reimbursed the amount that was paid in excess of the approved rate, as well as interest at an annual rate of 5% from the time of overpayment to the time of reimbursement, and historical sales tax will be applied on policies effective prior to April 1, 2004.

(ii) Reimbursement shall be by means of a cheque sent to the latest address on file. A letter will be enclosed with the cheque to explain why the policyholder received this refund, and a specific phone number will be provided to answer any questions.

(iii) In any case where the address of a former policyholder is unavailable or a cheque sent to a policyholder is returned, the Companies will make reasonable efforts to contact the brokers of these former eligible policyholders to verify whether a more up to date address can be obtained. The cheques will then be forwarded to the new addresses.

(iv) The amount, if any, where cheques have been sent and remain un-cashed as of October 10, 2007, will be sent to a charity.

For insurance contracts with an effective date on or after January 1, 2006:

(v) Add the discount in the policy management system and adjust the premium so the policyholder will ultimately pay the same premium as if the discount would have been there during the whole policy term.

(vi) In any case where the address of a former policyholder is unavailable, or a cheque sent to a policyholder is returned, the companies will make reasonable efforts to contact the brokers of the former policyholder to verify whether a more up to date address can be obtained. The cheque will be forwarded to the new address.

(vii) The amount, if any, where cheques have been sent and remain un-cashed as of October 10, 2007, will be sent to a charity.

(B) At the conclusion of the reimbursement process, the Companies shall provide the Superintendent with a written report providing details of its compliance with the reimbursement plan.

On or before May 31, 2007, the Companies shall provide written confirmation to the Superintendent that their respective Chief Operating Officers are satisfied that their written internal control procedures have been reviewed and amended so that the deficiencies that resulted in, or permitted, the charging of unapproved rates have been reasonably and appropriately addressed. This confirmation will also be reported to the Companies’ Boards of Directors.

TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(2)(b) of the Act provides that any person who fails to comply with any order made under the Act is guilty of an offence and liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

AND FURTHER TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(4) of the Act provides that every director, officer and chief agent of a corporation who caused, authorized, permitted or participated in a corporation committing an offence, or who fails to take reasonable care to prevent a corporation from committing an offence, is also guilty of an offence and is liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

ISSUED AT the City of Toronto, December 18, 2006

______________________________________
Robert Christie
Chief Executive Officer and
Superintendent of Financial Services

TO:

ING Insurance Company of Canada
(Compagnie d’Assurance ING du Canada)
700 University Avenue, 15th Floor
Toronto ON M5G 0A1

Attention:
Debbie Coull-Cicchini, Chief Operating Officer

AND TO:

ING Novex Insurance of Canada
(ING Novex Compagnie d’Assurance du Canada)
700 University Avenue, 15th Floor
Toronto ON M5G 0A1

Attention:
Debbie Coull-Cicchini, Chief Operating Officer

Ordonnance de cesser et de s'abstenir contre la Compagnie d'assurance ING du Canada («ING») et d'ING Novex Compagnie d'assurance du Canada («ING Novex»)

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O. 1990, Chap. I.8, telle que modifiée, et en particulier l’article 441;

 

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Compagnie d’assurance ING du Canada (« ING ») et d’ING Novex Compagnie d’assurance du Canada (« ING Novex »).

 
 

ORDONNANCE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR

 
Le surintendant de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (le « surintendant ») est d’avis qu’ING et ING Novex ont commis des actes ou pratiques malhonnêtes ou mensongers en facturant par inadvertance des taux pour des couvertures ou des catégories d’assurance-automobile qui n’étaient pas approuvés par le surintendant.
 
ING et ING Novex ont renoncé à l’exigence procédurale accompagnant un avis d’intention de rendre une ordonnance prévue au paragraphe 441 (2) de la Loi sur les assurances (la « Loi »), et à leur droit de demander une audience en vertu du paragraphe 441 (3).
 
PRENEZ AVIS QUE, conformément au paragraphe 441 (7) de la Loi, ET AVEC LE CONSENTEMENT D’ING ET D’ING NOVEX, le surintendant ordonne par la présente à ING et ING Novex (« les compagnies ») :
 
A) de rembourser tous les titulaires de polices touchés admissibles (les titulaires actuels comme les anciens titulaires) dans le délai et de la manière jugés acceptables par le surintendant. Le plan de remboursement doit inclure les modalités suivantes :
 
Pour les contrats d’assurance en vigueur à compter du 1er janvier 1999 et au plus tard le 31 décembre 2005 :
 
i) Les titulaires de polices touchés seront remboursés du montant payé en excédent du taux approuvé, ainsi que de l'intérêt au taux annuel de 5 pour 100 (de la date où ils ont effectué le paiement excédentaire â la date du remboursement), et la taxe de vente originale sera appliquée sur les polices en vigueur avant le 1er avril 2004.
 
ii) Le remboursement se fera sous forme de chèque envoyé à la dernière adresse figurant dans les dossiers des compagnies. Le chèque sera accompagné d’une lettre expliquant la raison du remboursement, et contiendra un numéro de téléphone que le titulaire de police pourra appeler s’il a des questions.
 
iii) Lorsqu'on n’a pas l’adresse d’un ancien titulaire de police ou que le chèque adressé à un titulaire de police est renvoyé, les compagnies feront des efforts raisonnables pour contacter le courtier de l’ancien titulaire admissible pour savoir s’il a une adresse plus récente. Le chèque sera alors envoyé à la nouvelle adresse.
 
iv) Le montant des chèques qui n’auront pas été encaissés au 10 octobre 2007 sera remis à une œuvre de bienfaisance.

 

Pour les contrats d’assurance en vigueur à compter du 1er janvier 2006 :

 

v) Il faut ajouter l’escompte dans le système de gestion des polices et rajuster la prime afin que le titulaire de police paie la même prime que si l’escompte avait été appliqué pendant toute la durée de la police.
 
vi) Lorsqu'on n’a pas l’adresse d’un ancien titulaire de police ou que le cheque adressé à un titulaire est renvoyé, les compagnies feront des efforts raisonnables pour contacter le courtier de l’ancien titulaire pour savoir s’il a une adresse plus récente. Le chèque sera alors envoyé à la nouvelle adresse.
 
vii) Le montant des chèques qui n’auront pas été encaissés au 10 octobre 2007 sera remis à une œuvre de bienfaisance.
 
B) Une fois le processus de remboursement terminé, les compagnies remettront au surintendant un rapport écrit expliquant en détail comment elles se sont conformées au plan de remboursement.

 

Au plus tard le 31 mai 2007, les compagnies remettront au surintendant une confirmation écrite indiquant que leurs chefs de l’exploitation respectifs sont convaincus que les procédures de contrôle internes écrites ont été revues et modifiées, et que les irrégularités qui ont entraîné, ou permis, la facturation de taux non approuvés sont réglées de façon raisonnable et appropriée. Cette confirmation sera également remise aux conseils d’administration des compagnies.
 
PRENEZ AVIS QUE, selon l’alinéa 447 2) b) de la Loi, les personnes qui ne se conforment pas aux ordonnances rendues aux termes de la présente loi sont coupables d'une infraction et passibles d’une amende d’au plus 100 000 $ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200 000 $ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 
ET PRENEZ AVIS QUE, selon le paragraphe 447 (4) de la Loi, les administrateurs, dirigeants et mandataires principaux d’une personne morale qui ont causé, autorisé ou permis la perpétration d’une infraction par la personne morale, ou qui y ont participé, ou qui n’ont pas pris les soins raisonnables afin d’empêcher la perpétration d’une infraction par la personne morale, sont aussi coupables d’une infraction et passibles d’une amende d’au plus 100 000 $ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200 000 $ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 
FAIT DANS la ville de Toronto, le 18 décembre 2006.
 
 
______________________________________
Robert Christie
Directeur général et
surintendant des services financiers
 
DESTINATAIRE :
 
Compagnie d’assurance ING du Canada
(ING Insurance Company of Canada)
700, avenue University, 15e étage
Toronto ON M5G 0A1
 
À l’attention de :

Debbie Coull-Cicchini, chef de l’exploitation
 
DESTINATAIRE :
 
ING Novex Compagnie d’assurance du Canada
(ING Novex Insurance Company of Canada)
700, avenue University, 15e étage
Toronto ON M5G 0A1
 
À l’attention de :

Debbie Coull-Cicchini, chef de l’exploitation