Notice Of Proposed Cease and Desist Order and Interim Cease and Desist Order Against  Rockval Holding Corporation ("Rockval"), East Bonding Canada Corporation ("East Bonding") and Claude Vallée

REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. I.8, as amended, (the "Act") in particular section 441

AND REGARDING a Proposed Cease and Desist Order against Rockval Holding Corporation, East Bonding Canada Corporation and Claude Vallée

AND REGARDING an Interim Cease and Desist Order against Rockval Holding Corporation, East Bonding Canada Corporation and Claude Vallée

NOTICE OF PROPOSED CEASE AND DESIST ORDER
and
INTERIM CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

The Superintendent of Financial Services ("Superintendent") is of the opinion that Rockval Holding Corporation ("Rockval"), East Bonding Canada Corporation (“East Bonding”) and Claude Vallée have committed, and are committing, unfair or deceptive acts or practices in the business of insurance in the Province of Ontario. The particulars are set out in the Report of the Superintendent which will be served upon Rockval, East Bonding, and Mr. Vallée with this Notice and Order.

TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to section 441(2) of the Act, the Superintendent intends to order Rockval, East Bonding and Mr. Vallée, and any agents and representatives thereof, to:

A. Immediately cease carrying on the business of insurance in the Province of Ontario as an insurer and /or agent;

B. Immediately cease issuing or delivering insurance policies, including any form of surety bond to or on behalf of persons resident or carrying on business in Ontario;

C. Immediately cease collecting money or anything else of value from any member of the public, in exchange for assisting in the placement of surety bonds in Ontario of any kind;

D. Immediately cease issuing any surety bonds in respect of property or construction projects located in Ontario;

E. Immediately cease soliciting the sale of surety bonds of any form in Ontario;

F. Immediately cease advertising in any form within Ontario;

G. Immediately provide the Superintendent with a written list of all surety bonds, bid bonds or performance bonds issued to, or on behalf of, persons resident or carrying on business in Ontario within the previous twelve (12 ) months, along with a list of all claims paid with the previous twelve (12) months and a list of all pending claims; and

H. Immediately mail to all persons in Ontario, to whom sureties have been issued, a copy of the Cease and Desist Order and provide evidence satisfactory to the Superintendent that the mailing was done.

WITHIN 15 DAYS after receiving this notice, the persons named in this notice may request in writing that the Financial Services Tribunal hold a hearing before the Superintendent takes any action described in this notice.

IF NO HEARING IS REQUESTED within 15 days, the Superintendent may make a permanent order in accordance with this notice, which shall take effect on the date set out in the order.

Any request for a hearing should be directed to:
Financial Services Tribunal
5160 Yonge Street
Toronto, Ontario M2N 6L9
Attention: Registrar
Fax No.: (416) 226-7750

INTERIM CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

Pursuant to section 441(4) of the Act, the Superintendent is of the opinion that the interests of the public may be prejudiced or adversely affected by a delay in the issuance of a permanent order for the following reasons:

  1. Mr. Vallée is a director of Rockval and East Bonding, which companies are engaged in the business of insurance in Ontario without a licence, contrary to the Act and regulations.
  2. Mr. Vallée is also a director of Gestion Lamca Inc. (otherwise known as Lamca Holdings Inc.) ("Lamca"), Société Canadienne de Cautionnement (S.C.C.) Inc. (otherwise known as Canadian Bonding Corporation) ("SCC"). By Interim Cease and Desist Order dated May 19, 2005, the Superintendent ordered Lamca, SCC and Roger Goulet (a director of those companies) to cease engaging in the business of insurance in Ontario. That Order became permanent on March 3, 2006. Documents recently obtained by the Superintendent show that Vallée has been personally involved in the insurance business of Lamca and SCC in Ontario.
  3. Rockval and East Bonding have continued the business of Lamca and SCC in Ontario by soliciting or providing insurance in the form of bonds and surety to construction companies in Ontario, including customers of Lamca and SCC.
  4. These acts are in violation of the Act.
  5. These acts are a clear and flagrant attempt to circumvent the May 19, 2005 Cease and Desist Order against Lamca and SCC.

In accordance with section 441(4) of the Act, the Superintendent, without prior notice, may make an interim order which will take effect immediately.

ORDER

Effective this date, pursuant to section 441(4) of the Act, the Superintendent orders that Rockval Holding Corporation, East Bonding Canada Corporation and Claude Vallée, and any agents and representatives thereof:

A. Immediately cease carrying on the business of insurance in the Province of Ontario as an insurer and /or agent;

B. Immediately cease issuing or delivering insurance policies, including any form of surety bond to or on behalf of persons resident or carrying on business in Ontario;

C. Immediately cease collecting money or anything else of value from any member of the public, in exchange for assisting in the placement of surety bonds in Ontario of any kind;

D. Immediately cease issuing any surety bonds in respect of property or construction projects located in Ontario;

E. Immediately cease soliciting the sale of surety bonds of any form in Ontario;

F. Immediately cease advertising in any form within Ontario;

G. Immediately provide the Superintendent with a written list of all surety bonds, bid bonds or performance bonds issued to, or on behalf of, persons resident or carrying on business in Ontario within the previous twelve (12 ) months, along with a list of all claims paid with the previous twelve (12) months and a list of all pending claims; and

H. Immediately mail to all persons in Ontario, to whom sureties have been issued, a copy of the Cease and Desist Order and provide evidence satisfactory to the Superintendent that the mailing was done.

TAKE NOTICE THAT the above Interim Cease and Desist Order shall become permanent unless within 15 days a written request for a hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal is made.

AND FURTHER TAKE NOTICE THAT if a hearing is requested, the Superintendent may extend the interim cease and desist order until the hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal is concluded.

AND FURTHER TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(2)(b) of the Act provides that any person who fails to comply with any order made under the Act is guilty of an offence and liable on first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

AND FURTHER TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(4) of the Act provides that every director, officer, and chief agent of a corporation who caused, authorised, permitted or participated in a corporation committing an offence, or who fails to take reasonable care to prevent a corporation form committing an offence, is also guilty of an offence and is liable on first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

AND TAKE FURTHER NOTICE THAT the hearing before the Tribunal will proceed in accordance with the Rules of Practice and Procedure of the Financial Services Tribunal under the authority of the Statutory Powers Procedure Act, R.S.O. 1990, Chapter S.22. The Rules of Practice and Procedure are available at the website of the Tribunal: http://www.fstontario.ca. Alternatively, a copy can be obtained by telephoning the Registrar of the Financial Services Tribunal at (416) 226-7294, or toll free at 1-800-668-0128 ext. 7294.

ISSUED AT the City of Toronto, this day of , 2006.

 

______________________________
Robert Christie
Superintendent of Financial Services

TO:

Claude Vallée
c/o Rockval Holding Corporation
2603 de la Faune
Saint-Émile (Québec) G3E 1J4

AND TO:

Rockval Holding Corporation
c/o 2603 de la Faune
Saint-Émile (Québec) G3E 1J4

AND TO:

East Bonding Canada Corporation
c/o 2603 de la Faune
Saint-Émile (Québec) G3E 1J4

Avis d'intention de rendre une ordonnance de cesser et de s'abstenir Et Ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s'abstenir contre Rockval Holding Corporation («Rockval»), East Bonding Canada Corporation («East Bonding») et Claude Vallée

RELATIVEMENT à la Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O. 1990, chap. I.8, dans sa version modifiée, (la « Loi »), en particulier à l’article 441
 

ET RELATIVEMENT à l’intention de rendre une ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir contre Rockval Holding Corporation, East Bonding Canada Corporation et Claude Vallée
 

ET RELATIVEMENT à une ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir contre Rockval Holding Corporation, East Bonding Canada Corporation et Claude Vallée

 

 

 

AVIS D'INTENTION DE RENDRE UNE ORDONNANCE

DE CESSER ET DE S'ABSTENIR

ET

ORDONNANCE PROVISOIRE DE CESSER ET DE S'ABSTENIR

  

Le surintendant des services financiers (le « surintendant ») est d’avis que Rockval Holding Corporation (« Rockval »), East Bonding Canada Corporation (« East Bonding ») et Claude Vallée ont commis et commettent des actes ou des pratiques malhonnêtes ou mensongers dans des opérations d’assurance en Ontario. Les détails sont indiqués dans le rapport du surintendant qui sera signifié à Rockval, à East Bonding et à M. Vallée avec le présent avis et la présente ordonnance.

 
VEUILLEZ PRENDRE AVIS QUE, comme le prévoit le paragraphe 441(2) de la Loi, le surintendant a l'intention d'ordonner Rockval, East Bonding et M. Vallée, et tous leurs agents et représentants, qu'ils:
 
A. cessent immédiatement de faire des opérations d’assurance dans la province de l’Ontario en qualité d’assureur ou d’agent;
 
B. cessent immédiatement d’émettre ou de délivrer des polices d’assurance, y compris des cautionnements, sous quelque forme que ce soit, à des personnes qui résident ou font des affaires en Ontario ou en leur nom;
 
C. cessent immédiatement de percevoir auprès de membres du public de l’argent ou toute autre chose de valeur en échange d’une assistance à l’égard du placement de cautionnements de quelque type que ce soit;
 
D. cessent immédiatement d’émettre des cautionnements à l’égard de biens ou de projets de construction situés en Ontario;
 
E. cessent immédiatement de solliciter la vente de cautionnements de quelque type que ce soit en Ontario.
 
F. cessent immédiatement de faire de la publicité, sous quelque forme que ce soit, en Ontario;
 
G. fournissent immédiatement au surintendant une liste écrite de tous les cautionnements, cautionnements de soumission ou garanties de bonne exécution émis à des personnes résidant ou faisant des affaires en Ontario au cours des douze (12) mois précédents ou en leur nom, ainsi qu’une liste de toutes les réclamations honorées au cours des douze (12) mois précédents et une liste de toutes les réclamations en attente;
 
H. envoient immédiatement par la poste à toutes les personnes de l’Ontario auxquelles des cautionnements ont été émis une copie de l’ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir et fournissent au surintendant une preuve satisfaisante que cet envoi a été effectué.
 
DANS LES 15 JOURS de la réception du présent avis, vous pouvez demander par écrit que le Tribunal des services financiers tienne une audience avant que le surintendant ne prenne les mesures prévues dans le présent avis.

 

S’IL N’EST PAS DEMANDÉ D’AUDIENCE dans les 15 jours, le surintendant peut rendre l’ordonnance permanente prévue au présent avis, laquelle prend effet à la date qui y est précisée.
 
Toute demande d’audience doit être adressée au :
Tribunal des services financiers
5160, rue Yonge
Toronto (Ontario) M2N 6L9
À l’attention de la greffière
No de téléc. : 416 226-7750
 

ORDONNANCE PROVISOIRE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR

 
En vertu du paragraphe 441 (4) de la Loi, le surintendant est d’avis qu’un retard dans la délivrance de l’ordonnance permanente risque de porter atteinte ou de nuire à l’intérêt public pour les raisons suivantes :
 
  1. M. Vallée est administrateur des sociétés Rockval et East Bonding, qui font des opérations d’assurance en Ontario sans permis, en violation de la Loi et des règlements.
  2. M. Vallée est aussi administrateur de Gestion Lamca Inc. (connue également sous la dénomination « Lamca Holdings Inc. ») (« Lamca ») et de la Société Canadienne de Cautionnement (S.C.C.) Inc. (connue également sous la dénomination « Canadian Bonding Corporation ») (« SCC »). Au moyen d’une ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir datée du 19 mai 2005, le surintendant a enjoint à Lamca, à SCC et à Roger Goulet (administrateur de Lamca et de SCC) de cesser de faire des opérations d’assurance en Ontario. Cette ordonnance est devenue permanente le 3 mars 2006. Les documents que le surintendant a obtenus montrent que M. Vallée a participé personnellement aux opérations d’assurance de Lamca et de SCC en Ontario.
  3. Rockval et East Bonding ont poursuivi les activités de Lamca et de SCC en Ontario en sollicitant ou en fournissant des assurances sous forme de cautionnements et de garanties à des entreprises de construction en Ontario, notamment des clients de Lamca et de SCC.
  4. Ces actes sont contraires à la Loi.
  5. Ces actes constituent de toute évidence une tentative flagrante de contournement de l’ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir datée du 19 mai 2006 rendue contre Lamca et SCC.
Comme le prévoit le paragraphe 441 (4) de la Loi, le surintendant peut, sans avis préalable, rendre une ordonnance provisoire qui prend effet immédiatement.
 

ORDONNANCE

 
En vertu du paragraphe 441 (4) de la Loi, le surintendant ordonne, à compter de la date présente, que Rockval Holding Corporation, East Bonding Canada Corporation, Claude Vallée et tous leurs agents et représentants :
 
A. cessent immédiatement de faire des opérations d’assurance dans la province de l’Ontario en qualité d’assureur ou d’agent;
 
B. cessent immédiatement d’émettre ou de délivrer des polices d’assurance, y compris des cautionnements, sous quelque forme que ce soit, à des personnes qui résident ou font des affaires en Ontario ou en leur nom;
 
C. cessent immédiatement de percevoir auprès de membres du public de l’argent ou toute autre chose de valeur en échange d’une assistance à l’égard du placement de cautionnements de quelque type que ce soit;
 
D. cessent immédiatement d’émettre des cautionnements à l’égard de biens ou de projets de construction situés en Ontario;
 
E. cessent immédiatement de solliciter la vente de cautionnements de quelque type que ce soit en Ontario.
 
F. cessent immédiatement de faire de la publicité, sous quelque forme que ce soit, en Ontario;
 
G. fournissent immédiatement au surintendant une liste écrite de tous les cautionnements, cautionnements de soumission ou garanties de bonne exécution émis à des personnes résidant ou faisant des affaires en Ontario au cours des douze (12) mois précédents ou en leur nom, ainsi qu’une liste de toutes les réclamations honorées au cours des douze (12) mois précédents et une liste de toutes les réclamations en attente;
 
H. envoient immédiatement par la poste à toutes les personnes de l’Ontario auxquelles des cautionnements ont été émis une copie de l’ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir et fournissent au surintendant une preuve satisfaisante que cet envoi a été effectué.
 
VEUILLEZ PRENDRE AVIS QUE l’ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir ci-dessus deviendra permanente à moins qu’une demande d’audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers ne soit présentée par écrit dans les 15 jours.
 
ET PRENDRE AVIS EGALEMENT QUE, si une demande d’audience est présentée, le surintendant peut prolonger les effets de l’ordonnance provisoire tant que l’audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers n’est pas terminée.
 
ET PRENDRE AVIS EGALEMENT QUE, selon l’alinéa 447 (2) b) de la Loi sur les assurances, toute personne qui ne se conforme pas à une ordonnance rendue aux termes de la Loi est coupable d’une infraction et passible d’une amende d’au plus 100 000 $ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200 000 $ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 
ET PRENDRE AVIS EGALEMENT QUE, selon le paragraphe 447 (4) de la Loi sur les assurances, les administrateurs, dirigeants et mandataires principaux d’une personne morale qui ont causé, autorisé ou permis la perpétration d’une infraction par la personne morale ou qui y ont participé, ou qui n’ont pas pris les soins raisonnables afin d’empêcher la perpétration d’une infraction par la personne morale, sont également coupables d’une infraction et passibles d’une amende d’au plus 100 000 $ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200 000 $ à chacune des déclarations suivantes.
 
ET PRENDRE AVIS EGALEMENT QUE l’audience devant le Tribunal se déroulera conformément aux Règles de pratique et de procédure du Tribunal des services financiers en vertu de la Loi sur l’exercice des compétences légales, L.R.O. 1990, chapitre S.22. Les Règles de pratique et de procédure se trouvent dans le site Web du Tribunal : http://www.fstontario.ca. Vous pouvez aussi en obtenir un exemplaire en téléphonant à la greffière du Tribunal des services financiers, au 416 226-7294 ou, sans frais, au 1 800 668-0128, poste 7294.
 
FAIT À Toronto, le 2006.
 
______________________________
Robert Christie
Surintendant des services financiers
 
À L’ATTENTION DE :
 
Claude Vallée
c/o Rockval Holding Corporation
2603 de la Faune
Saint-Émile (Québec) G3E 1J4
 
ET DE :
 
Rockval Holding Corporation
c/o 2603 de la Faune
Saint-Émile (Québec) G3E 1J4
 
ET DE :
 
East Bonding Canada Corporation
c/o 2603 de la Faune
Saint-Émile (Québec) G3E 1J4