Cease and Desist Order Against Kingscroft Investments Limited ("Kingscroft Investments") and Donald Alexander Carmichael ("Carmichael")

REGARDING the Loan and Trust Corporations Act R.S.O. 1990, c. L. 25 (the "Act")

AND REGARDING the Matter of Kingscroft Investments Limited ("Kingscroft Investments") and Donald Alexander Carmichael ("Carmichael")

CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

Section 192 of the Act, as amended, provides that where, in the opinion of the Superintendent of Financial Services (the "Superintendent"), a registered corporation or other person is committing any act or pursuing any course of conduct that does not comply with the Act or the regulations, or might reasonably be expected, if continued, to result in a state of affairs that would not be in compliance with the Act or the regulations, or constitutes a practice which might prejudice or adversely affect the interests of depositors, the Superintendent may give notice to the registered corporation or other person of an intention to order the corporation or other person to cease doing any act or to cease pursuing any course of conduct identified by the Superintendent, or to perform such acts as in the opinion of the Superintendent are necessary to remedy the situation.

The Superintendent issued a Notice of Proposed Cease and Desist Order under section 192(1) of the Act dated June10, 2005.  Kingscroft Investments and Carmichael requested a hearing before the Superintendent in relation to that Notice.

On May19, 2005 Kingscroft Investments and Carmichael were charged under sections 213(1) and 214(1)(a) of the Act, which make it an offence to transact, conduct, undertake or solicit the business of a loan or trust company in Ontario while not registered under the Act.

The Superintendent, Kingscroft Investments and Carmichael entered into Interim Minutes of Settlement and Undertaking [sic] to avoid potential duplication between proceedings in relation to the Notice and proceedings in relation to the charge under sections 213(1) and 214(1)(a) of the Act.  The Interim Minutes of Settlement and Undertaking were dated December15, 2005.

Kingscroft Investments and Carmichael were convicted of the charge under sections 213(1) and 214(1)(a) of the Act on November 20, 2006, based on a plea of guilty.

Kingscroft Investments and Carmichael withdrew their request for a hearing before the Superintendent in relation to the Notice of Proposed Cease and Desist Order, and acknowledged that a Permanent Cease and Desist Order would be issued.

The Superintendent hereby orders that Kingscroft Investments and Carmichael and the officers, directors, employees, agents or representatives of Kingscroft Investments:

A. Immediately cease and desist soliciting and/or accepting deposits from the public.

B. Immediately cease and desist transacting and/or soliciting business in Ontario as a loan corporation and /or as a trust corporation.

C. Immediately cease and desist in engaging in any form of advertisement, solicitation or negotiation for the receipt of deposits from the public.

TAKE NOTICE THAT section 214(1)(c) of the Act provides that anyone who fails to comply with any order made under the Act is guilty of an offence. Section 214(2) provides that the person convicted of an offence under section 214(1)(c) is liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

AND TAKE NOTICE THAT section 214(3) of the Act provides that anyone who caused, authorized, permitted or participated in a failure to comply with any order made under the Act is guilty of an offence, and on conviction is liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

DATED at Toronto, Ontario, this 11th day of December, 2006.  

__________________
Robert Christie
Superintendent of Financial Services

TO:

Terry Corsianos
Barrister & Solicitor
1595 Sixteenth Avenue Suite 301
Richmond Hill ON L4B 3N9
Solicitor for Kingscroft Investments Limited
and Donald Alexander Carmichael
Robert Conway
Legal Services Branch
Financial Services Commission of Ontario
5160 Yonge Street 17th Floor
Toronto ON M2N 6L9
Solicitor for Superintendent of
Financial Services

Ignorer les commandes du Ruban
Passer au contenu principal

Ordonnance de cesser et de s'abstenir contre Kingscroft Investments Limited («Kingscroft Investments») et Donald Alexander Carmichael («Carmichael»)

 

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les sociétés de prêt et de fiducie, L.R.O. 1990, chap. L. 25, (la « Loi »);
 

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE Kingscroft Investments Limited (« Kingscroft Investments ») et Donald Alexander Carmichael (« Carmichael »).

 
 

ORDONNANCE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR

 
L’article 192 de la Loi, telle que modifiée, prévoit que lorsque, de l’avis du surintendant des services financiers (le « surintendant »), une société inscrite ou une autre personne commet un acte ou suit une ligne de conduite qui ne sont pas conformes à la Loi ou aux règlements, ou dont la poursuite risque vraisemblablement de créer une situation qui ne soit pas conforme à la Loi ou aux règlements, ou qui risquent de léser les droits des déposants, le surintendant peut envoyer à la société inscrite ou à l’autre personne un avis d’intention de prendre une ordonnance lui enjoignant de mettre fin aux actes ou à la ligne de conduite qu’il précise, ou de prendre les mesures qui, à son avis, s’imposent afin de remédier à la situation.
 

Le surintendant a émis, le 10 juin 2005, un Avis d’intention de rendre une ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir en vertu du paragraphe 192 (1) de la Loi. Kingscroft Investments et Carmichael ont demandé une audience devant le surintendant concernant cet avis.
 
Le 19 mai 2005, Kingscroft Investments et Carmichael ont été accusés en vertu du paragraphe 213 (1) et à l’alinéa 214 (1) a) de la Loi de l’infraction consistant à poursuivre, entreprendre ou exercer en Ontario les activités d’une société de prêt ou d’une société de fiducie, ou à solliciter la clientèle d’une telle société qui n’était pas inscrite comme l’exige la Loi.

 
Le surintendant, Kingscroft Investments et Carmichael ont signé un procès-verbal provisoire de transaction et un engagement [sic] afin d’éviter le risque de double emploi des instances liées à l’Avis et de celles liées à l’accusation portée en vertu du paragraphe 213 (1) et de l’alinéa 214 (1) a) de la Loi. Le procès-verbal provisoire de transaction et l’engagement étaient datés du 15 décembre 2005.
 

Le 20 novembre 2006, Kingscroft Investments et Carmichael ont été déclarés coupables de l’accusation portée en vertu du paragraphe 213 (1) et de l’alinéa 214 (1) a) de la Loi, accusation qu’ils n’avaient pas contestée.

Kingscroft Investments et Carmichael ont retiré leur demande d’audience devant le surintendant concernant l’Avis d’intention de rendre une ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir, et comprenant qu’une ordonnance permanente de cesser et de s’abstenir serait émise.
 

Le surintendant ordonne par la présente à Kingscroft Investments et Carmichael, ainsi qu’aux leurs dirigeants, administrateurs, employés, mandataires et représentants de Kingscroft Investments :

 
A. de cesser et de s’abstenir immédiatement de solliciter et/ou d’accepter des dépôts du public;
B. de cesser et de s’abstenir immédiatement d’exercer en Ontario les activités d’une société de prêt et/ou d’une société de fiducie, et/ou de solliciter la clientèle d’une telle société;
C. de cesser et de s’abstenir immédiatement de pratiquer toute forme de publicité, de sollicitation ou de négociation en vue de recevoir des dépôts du public.
 

PRENEZ AVIS QU’aux termes de l’alinéa 214 (1) c) de la Loi, quiconque enfreint une ordonnance prise ou rendue ou un ordre donné en vertu de la Loi est coupable d’une infraction. Le paragraphe 214 (2) prévoit qu’une personne déclarée coupable d’une infraction visée à l’alinéa 214 (1) c) est passible d’une amende d’au plus 100 000 $ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200 000 $ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.

 
ET PRENEZ AVIS QU’aux termes du paragraphe 214 (3) de la Loi, toute personne qui a causé, autorisé ou permis qu’on enfreigne à une ordonnance prise ou rendue ou un ordre donné en vertu de la Loi, ou qui y était partie, est coupable d’une infraction et passible, sur déclaration de culpabilité, d’une amende d’au plus 100 000 $ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200 000 $ à chacune des déclarations.
 
FAIT à Toronto, en Ontario, le décembre 2006.
 

___________________________
Robert Christie
Surintendant des services financiers
 

DESTINATAIRES :

Me Terry Corsianos
Avocat
1595, avenue sixteenth, bureau 301
Richmond Hill ON L4B 3N9
Avocat de Kingscroft Investments Limited
et de Donald Alexander Carmichael
Me Robert Conway
Direction des services juridiques
Commission des services financiers
de l’Ontario
5160, rue Yonge, 17e étage
Toronto ON M2N 6L9
Avocat du surintendant des
services financiers