Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Cease and Desist Order Against Stuart Kistruck ("Kistruck")

REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. I. 8, as amended, (the “Act”) in particular sections 441 and 447

 

AND REGARDING Stuart Kistruck ("Kistruck")

CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

 

The Superintendent of Financial Services ("Superintendent") is of the opinion that Kistruck committed an unfair or deceptive act or practice by furnishing misleading or incomplete information to the Financial Services Commission of Ontario. The particulars are set out in Schedule "A" attached to, and forming part of, this Order.

 

Kistruck chooses not to contest the proposed order and waives the procedural requirement under section 441(2) of the Act for a Notice of Intention to make an order and his right under section 441(3) to request a hearing.

 

TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to section 441(7) of the Act, AND WITH THE CONSENT OF KISTRUCK, the Superintendent hereby orders that Stuart Kistruck cease and desist from, directly or indirectly, engaging in the business of insurance or carrying on the business of insurance, or otherwise undertaking insurance on behalf of another person or as an insurer, an agent or an adjuster or an employee or representative of an insurer or an agent or an adjuster, for a period of two (2) years from the date of the Cease and Desist Order.

 

AND TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(2)(b) of the Act provides that any person who fails to comply with any order made under the Act is guilty of an offence and liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

 

AND FURTHER TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(4) of the Act provides

that every director, officer and chief agent of a corporation who caused, authorized, permitted or participated in a corporation committing an offence, or who fails to take reasonable care to prevent a corporation from committing an offence, is also guilty of an offence and is liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

 

ISSUED AT the City of Toronto this 31st day of January, 2007

 

 

 

______________________________________
Robert Christie
Chief Executive Officer and
Superintendent of Financial Services

 

 

SUPERINTENDENT OF FINANCIAL SERVICES

 

REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. I. 8, as amended, (the “Act”) in particular section 441

AND REGARDING Stuart Kistruck ("Kistruck")

SCHEDULE "A" TO CEASE AND DESIST ORDER 

 

  1. For the purposes of these proceedings, Kistruck and the Superintendent of Financial Services agree to the following facts.
  2. At the relevant time, Stuart Kistruck was President of Pilot Insurance, a position he had held since 1995, a period of eight years.  Kistruck had been employed by Pilot since 1981.
  3. Pilot had for some years had a reserving practice which Kistruck supported and in which he participated, which differed significantly from standard industry practice in that, among other things, it included a system of loss reserve banking.  In late 2002 and early 2003, concerns about this practice, including a potential material shortfall in reserves for the year 2002 and prior, had been raised with Kistruck and within Pilot.  Kistruck did not provide information about this practice and the concerns that had been raised, and did not personally ensure such information was provided, to the company’s actuary or external auditors. 
  4. On February 28, 2003, Kistruck signed an affidavit verifying Pilot’s Annual Return for the year ending December 31, 2002 (the “Original 2002 Return”), which was filed with the Superintendent on March 3, 2003.  The affidavit certified that, in summary:
  • the annual return was a full and correct report of all assets, liabilities, income expenditure and of the conditions and affairs of the insurer;
  • the signatories were satisfied that the provision for unpaid claims and adjustment expenses was adequate to cover all costs of ultimate settlement of the claims.
  1. The Original 2002 Return did not incorporate information concerning Pilot’s reserving practices and/or reflect the concerns regarding unreserved losses that had been identified.  Kistruck did not adequately investigate the concerns that had been raised prior to signing the Original 2002 Return, and did not ensure that the above information was incorporated in the Original 2002 Return.  In signing and filing the Original 2002 Return, Kistruck furnished misleading or incomplete information to the Superintendent.
  2. In early April 2003, Pilot informed the Superintendent that it had identified a material shortfall in claims reserving in respect of 2002 and prior year periods.  Pilot subsequently filed a restated Annual Return for the year ending December 31, 2002, in which Pilot’s reserves for the years 2002 and prior were materially increased.
  3. Kistruck acknowledges that an insurance company’s loss experience is a relevant factor in determining premiums charged to consumers and if losses are not fully recorded the company could be at financial risk.

Ordonnance de cesser et de s'abstenir contre Stuart Kistruck

SURINTENDANT DES SERVICES FINANCIERS

 

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O. 1990, chap. I. 8, telle que modifiée (la «Loi»), et en particulier les articles 441 et 447

 

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE Stuart Kistruck («M.Kistruck»)

 

ORDONNANCE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR

 

Le surintendant des services financiers (le «Surintendant») est d’avis que M. Kistruck a commis des actes ou des pratiques malhonnêtes ou mensongers en présentant des renseignements trompeurs ou incomplets à la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario. Les détails sont exposés dans l’annexe «A», jointe à la présente ordonnance et en faisant partie.

 

M.Kistruck choisit de ne pas contester l’ordonnance proposée et renonce à l’exigence établie au paragraphe 441(2) de la Loi relativement à un avis d’intention de rendre une ordonnance et à son droit, conformément au paragraphe 441(3), de demander une audience.
 
VEUILLEZ PRENDRE AVIS QUE comme le prévoit le paragraphe 441(7) de la Loi, ET AVEC LE CONSENTEMENT DE M.KISTRUCK, le Surintendant ordonne par les présentes à Stuart Kistruck de cesser et de s’abstenir, directement ou indirectement, de faire des opérations d’assurance ou d’exploiter une entreprise d’assurance, ou autrement de souscrire de l’assurance pour le compte d’une autre personne ou en tant qu’assureur, agent ou expert ou en tant qu’employé ou représentant d’un assureur ou d’un agent ou d’un expert, pour une période de deux (2) ans à partir de la date d’émission de l’ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir.
 
ET VEUILLEZ PRENDRE AVIS QUE l’alinéa 447(2)(b) de la Loi stipule que toute personne qui omet de se conformer à une ordonnance en vertu de la Loi est coupable d’une infraction et passible à la première condamnation d’une amende n’excédant pas 100000$ et, à chaque condamnation ultérieure, d’une amende n’excédant pas 200000$.
 
ET VEUILLEZ PRENDRE AVIS QUE le paragraphe 447(4) de la Loi stipule que chaque directeur, cadre et agent principal d’une société qui a occasionné, autorisé, permis qu’une société commette une infraction ou qui y a participé, ou qui néglige de prendre les précautions raisonnables suffisantes pour empêcher une société de commettre une infraction, est également coupable d’infraction et passible à la première condamnation d’une amende n’excédant pas 100000$ et, à chaque condamnation ultérieure, d’une amende n’excédant pas 200000$.
 
FAIT DANS la ville de Toronto, le  31 janvier 2007
 
______________________________________
Robert Christie
Directeur général et
surintendant des services financiers

 

 

SURINTENDANT DES SERVICES FINANCIERS

 

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O. 1990, chap. I. 8, dans sa version modifiée, (la «Loi», en particulier à l’article 441
 

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE Stuart Kistruck («M.Kistruck»)
 

 

ANNEXE «A» À L’ORDONNANCE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR
 

1.  Pour les besoins de la présente affaire, M.Kistruck et le Surintendant des services financiers conviennent des faits ci-dessous.

 

2.  Au moment considéré, Stuart Kistruck était président de Pilot Insurance, poste qu’il occupait depuis 1995, soit une période de huit ans.  M. Kistruck était à l’emploi de Pilot depuis 1981.

 

3.  Pilot avait, depuis quelques années, une méthode de provisionnement, que M.Kistruck appuyait et à laquelle il participait, et qui différait considérablement des pratiques standard du secteur en ce qu’elle incluait, entre autres, un système de mise de côté des provisions pour réclamations en suspens.  Fin 2002, début 2003, des inquiétudes ont été soulevées à M. Kistruck et au sein de Pilot, à propos de cette méthode, notamment au sujet de la possibilité d’une insuffisance importante des provisions pour l’année 2002 et avant.  M. Kistruck n’a pas donné d’information sur cette pratique ni sur les inquiétudes soulevées, et n’a pas personnellement veillé à ce que ces renseignements soient transmis, à l’actuaire ou aux vérificateurs externes de la compagnie. 

 

4.  Le 28 février 2003, M. Kistruck a signé un affidavit attestant la déclaration annuelle de Pilot pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 décembre 2002 (la «Déclaration de 2002 originale»), qui a été déposée auprès du Surintendant le 3 mars 2003. L’affidavit certifiait, en résumé, que:

 

  • la déclaration annuelle était un relevé complet et correct de tous les actifs, passifs et résultats ainsi que de la situation et des affaires de l’assureur;
  • les signataires étaient convaincus que la provision pour réclamations non payées et frais d’expertise était adéquate pour couvrir tous les coûts afférents au règlement définitif des réclamations.

5.  La déclaration originale de 2002 ne comprenait pas les renseignements relatifs aux méthodes de provisionnement de Pilot ni ne rapportait les inquiétudes soulevées à propos des pertes non provisionnées qui avaient été décelées.  M. Kistruck n’a pas investigué adéquatement les inquiétudes soulevées avant de signer la déclaration originale de 2002, et ne s’est pas assuré que l’information susmentionnée avait été incorporée à ladite déclaration.  En signant et présentant la déclaration originale de 2002, M.Kistruck a fourni des renseignements trompeurs ou incomplet au Surintendant.

 

6.  Au début d’avril 2003, Pilot a informé le Surintendant qu’une insuffisance importante avait été découverte au chapitre des provisions pour réclamations en suspens concernant l’exercice 2002 et les périodes antérieures.  Pilot a par la suite présenté une déclaration annuelle redressée pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 décembre 2002, dans laquelle les provisions de Pilot pour les exercices 2002 et précédents avaient été sensiblement augmentées.

 

7.  M.Kistruck admet que le dossier des sinistres d’une compagnie d’assurance est un facteur pertinent pour déterminer les primes facturées aux consommateurs et que le défaut d’enregistrer complètement les pertes pourrait poser un risque financier pour la compagnie.