Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Interim Cease and Desist Order Against Joseph London ("London") and Almada Insurance Limited, also known as Almada Insurance Ltd and Almada Insurance Group Inc. ("Almada")

REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990, c.I.8, as amended (the "Act"), in particular, sections 401, 438, 441(2) and 441(4), and Ontario Regulation 7/2000, as amended (the "Regulation")

AND REGARDING Joseph London ("London") and Almada Insurance Limited, also known as Almada Insurance Ltd and Almada Insurance Group Inc. ("Almada")

NOTICE OF PROPOSED CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

and

INTERIM CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

The Superintendent of Financial Services (the "Superintendent") is of the opinion that London and Almada have committed, and are committing, unfair or deceptive acts or practices by engaging in the business of insurance while not licensed to do so in any capacity. The particulars are set out in the Report of the Superintendent that will be served with this Notice.

TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to section 441(2) of the Act the Superintendent intends to order London and Almada to:

A) cease carrying on the business of insurance in any capacity, in particular as an agent or broker; and

B) cease advertising or holding out to the public in any way,  that services of any kind relating to insurance are offered or provided.

NOTE

WITHIN 15 DAYS after receiving this Notice, you may request in writing that the Financial Services Tribunal hold a hearing on whether or not a Cease and Desist Order should be issued.

IF NO HEARING IS REQUESTED within 15 days, the Superintendent may make a Cease and Desist Order in accordance with this Notice, which shall take effect on the date set out in the Cease and Desist Order.

A request for a hearing should be directed, in writing, to:

Financial Services Tribunal
5160 Yonge Street
Box 85
Toronto ON M2N 6L9          
Attention:  Registrar
Fax: 416.226.775

INTERIM CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

Pursuant to section 441(4) of the Act, if the Superintendent is of the opinion that the interest of the public may be prejudiced or adversely affected by any delay in the issuance of a permanent Cease and Desist Order, the Superintendent, without prior notice, may make an Interim Cease and Desist Order which shall take effect immediately and which shall become permanent unless within 15 days of receipt of the Interim Cease and Desist Order the named person requests a hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal.

The Superintendent is of the opinion that the interests of the public may be prejudiced or adversely affected by any delay in the issuance of a permanent order. The Superintendent is of this opinion because members of the public had purchased from London and/or Almada insurance policies that are invalid and of no force and effect. Persons who have purchased such insurance or who may purchase such insurance in the interim before a permanent order is issued are exposed to significant financial and property loss as a result of not having insurance coverage. Effective this date, pursuant to section 441(4) of the Act, the Superintendent orders that London and Almada:

C. cease carrying on the business of insurance in any capacity, in particular as an agent or broker;
and

D. cease advertising or holding out to the public in any way,  that services of any kind relating to insurance are offered or provided.

AND TAKE NOTICE THAT the above Interim Cease and Desist Order shall become permanent on the 15th day after you receive it, unless within 15 days a written request for a hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal is made.

AND TAKE NOTICE THAT if a hearing is requested, the Superintendent may extend the Interim Cease and Desist Order until the hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal is concluded.

AND TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(2)(b) of the Act provides that any person who fails to comply with any order made under the Act is guilty of an offence, and section 447(3) of the Act provides that a person convicted of an offence under the Act is liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

AND TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(4) of the Act provides that every director, officer and chief agent of a corporation who caused, authorized, permitted or participated in a corporation committing an offence under the Act, or who fails to take reasonable care to prevent a corporation from committing an offence under the Act, is also guilty of an offence and is liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

AND TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(5) of the Act provides thatwhere a person is convicted of an offence under the Act, the court making the conviction may, in addition to any other penalty, order the person convicted to make compensation or restitution in relation to the offence.

DATED at Toronto, Ontario, February 8, 2008.  

 

 

_____________________________

Robert E. Christie

Superintendent of Financial Services

TO:              

John Joseph London
4536 Woodkilton Road
Woodlawn, Ontario  K0A 3M0

AND TO:                                                                               

Almada Insurance Limited
4536 Woodkilton Road 
Woodlawn, Ontario  K0A 3M0   

Attn:

John Joseph London, Vice President and Director

Ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s'abstenir contre Joseph London («London») et Almada Insurance Limited, aussi connue sous le nom de Almada Insurance Ltd et d'Almada Insurance Group Inc. («Almada»)

DANS L’AFFAIRE de la Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O.1990, chapitre 1.8, telle que modifiée (la «Loi»), et plus particulièrement les articles 401 et 438 et les paragraphes 441(2) et 441(4), ainsi que du Règlement de l’Ontario 7/2000, tel que modifié (le «Règlement»)
 
ET DANS L’AFFAIRE Joseph London («London») et Almada Insurance Limited, aussi connue sous le nom de Almada Insurance Ltd et d’Almada Insurance Group Inc. («Almada»)

 

AVIS D'INTENTION  DE RENDRE UNE ORDONNANCE DE CESSER ET DE S'ABSTENIR

 

et

 

ORDONNANCE PROVISOIRE DE CESSER ET DE S'ABSTENIR

 

 

Le surintendant des services financiers (le «surintendant») est d’avis que London et Almada ont commis, et commettent, des actes ou des pratiques malhonnêtes ou mensongers en agissant en qualité d’assureurs alors qu’ils ne détiennent pas de permis délivré pour agir ainsi à quelque titre que ce soit. Les détails sont indiqués dans le Rapport du surintendant qui sera signifié en même temps que le présent avis. 
 

 

PRENEZ AVIS QUE, conformément au paragraphe 441(2) de la Loi, le surintendant a l’intention d’ordonner à London et à Almada de:

 

A) cesser d’exercer des activités comme assureurs à n’importe quel titre que ce soit, surtout à titre d’agent ou de courtier d’assurance;
 
B) cesser immédiatement d’annoncer ou de faire croire au public, de quelque manière que ce soit, qu’ils offrent ou fournissent des services liés aux assurances sous quelque forme que ce soit. '
 
REMARQUE

 

DANS LES 15 JOURS qui suivent la réception du présent avis, vous pouvez demander par écrit au Tribunal des services financiers de tenir une audience sur la pertinence d’émettre une ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir.
 
SI AUCUNE AUDIENCE N’EST DEMANDÉE dans le délai imparti, le surintendant peut rendre une ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir conformément au présent avis, qui prendra effet à la date indiquée dans l’ordonnance.
 
Toute demande d’audience doit être adressée au:
 
Tribunal des services financiers
5160, rue Yonge
Boîte postale 85
Toronto (Ontario)  M2N 6L9 
 
À l’attention du greffe                                                
Télécopieur: 416-226-7750
 

ORDONNANCE PROVISOIRE DE CESSER ET DE S'ABSTENIR

 

Conformément au paragraphe 441(4) de la Loi, si, de l’avis du surintendant, tout retard dans la délivrance d’une ordonnance permanente risque de porter atteinte ou de nuire à l’intérêt public, le surintendant peut, sans avis préalable, rendre une ordonnance provisoire qui prend effet dès qu’elle est rendue et qui devient permanente le 15e jour suivant celui où elle est rendue, sauf si la personne visée présente, dans ce délai, une demande d’audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers.

 

Le surintendant est d’avis que tout retard dans la délivrance d’une ordonnance permanente peut porter atteinte ou nuire à l’intérêt public. Le surintendant est de cet avis parce que des membres du public avaient acheté des polices d’assurance de London et/ou d’Almada qui ne sont pas valides et qui n’ont pas force exécutoire. Les personnes qui ont acheté ces polices d’assurance ou qui peuvent acheter ces polices d’assurance entre-temps, avant la délivrance d’une ordonnance permanente, sont exposées à d’importantes pertes financières et matérielles parce qu’elles n’ont aucune protection. 
 
En date d’aujourd’hui, conformément au paragraphe 441(4) de la Loi, le surintendant ordonne à London et à Almada de:
 
C) cesser d’exercer des activités comme assureurs à n’importe quel titre que ce soit, surtout à titre d’agent ou de courtier d’assurance;
 
D) cesser immédiatement d’annoncer ou de faire croire au public, de quelque manière que ce soit, qu’ils offrent ou fournissent des services liés aux assurances sous quelque forme que ce soit.
 
ET PRENEZ AVIS QUE cette ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir deviendra permanente le 15e jour suivant la réception de ladite ordonnance, sauf si une demande d’audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers est présentée par écrit dans les 15 jours.
 
ET PRENEZ AVIS QUE si une demande d’audience est présentée, le surintendant peut prolonger l’ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir jusqu’à la conclusion de l’audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers.
 
ET PRENEZ AVIS QUE l’alinéa 447(2)b) de la Loi prévoit que toute personne qui ne se conforme pas aux ordonnances rendues conformément à la Loi est coupable d’une infraction, et que le paragraphe 447(3) de la Loi prévoit que toute personne reconnue coupable d’une infraction en vertu de la Loi est passible d’une amende d’au plus 100000$ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200000$ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 
ET PRENEZ AVIS QUE le paragraphe 447(4) de la Loi prévoit que les administrateurs, dirigeants et mandataires principaux d’une personne morale qui ont causé, autorisé ou permis la perpétration d’une infraction par la personne morale, ou qui y ont participé, et ceux qui n’ont pas pris les soins raisonnables afin d’empêcher la perpétration d’une infraction par la personne morale, sont coupables d’une infraction et passibles d’une amende d’au plus 100000$ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200000$ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 
ET PRENEZ AVIS QUE le paragraphe 447(5) de la Loi prévoit que lorsqu’une personne est reconnue coupable d’une infraction en vertu de la Loi, le tribunal qui prononce la déclaration de culpabilité peut, en plus de toute autre peine, ordonner à la personne déclarée coupable d’une infraction à la présente loi de verser une indemnité ou de faire restitution en conséquence.
 
FAIT À : Toronto (Ontario), le 8 février 2008. 
 
 
Robert E. Christie
 
Surintendant des services financiers
 
À L’ATTENTION DE:         
                                  
John Joseph London
4536 Woodkilton Road
Woodlawn (Ontario)  K0A 3M0
 
ET DE :
 
Almada Insurance Limited
4536 Woodkilton Road
Woodlawn (Ontario)  K0A 3M0
 
À l’attention de:
 
John Joseph London, vice-président et directeur