Cease and Desist Order Against Timothy David Magill and Ben Net Corporation

REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990, Chapter I.8, as amended, in particular section 441

AND REGARDING a Proposed Cease and Desist Order against Timothy David Magill and Ben Net Corporation


CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

BACKGROUND

The Superintendent of Financial Services ("Superintendent") is of the opinion that Timothy David Magill ("Magill") and Ben Net Corporation ("Corporation") have committed unfair or deceptive acts or practices by contravening section 393(23) of the Insurance Act, (the "Act") by acting as agents without being the holder of a licence issued under the Act.

 

Following an investigation into this matter, Magill agreed by Minutes of Settlement to waive his rights to a hearing and to consent to the following Order. Magill also executed the Minutes of Settlement on behalf of the Corporation.

 

PURSUANT TO section 441(2) of the Insurance Act and to the Minutes of Settlement between Magill and the Corporation and the Superintendent,

ORDER

THE SUPERINTENDENT HEREBY ORDERS that Magill, the Corporation, and any agents or representatives thereof:

A. Immediately cease conducting the business of an insurance agent;

B. Refrain from contacting any insurance company directly or indirectly for the purpose of putting in place insurance on vehicles, property or other things of value that do not belong to Magill.

 

TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(2)(b) of the Act provides that any person who fails to comply with any order made under the Act is guilty of an offence and liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

 

AND FURTHER TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(4) of the Act provides that every director, officer, and chief agent of a corporation who caused, authorised, permitted or participated in a corporation committing an offence, or who fails to take reasonable care to prevent a corporation from committing an offence, is also guilty of an offence and is liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.


ISSUED AT the City of Toronto, December 29, 2005


Robert Christie
Chief Executive Officer and
Superintendent of Financial Services

TO:

Timothy David Magill
39 Balmoral Crescent
North Bay, ON
P1A 2E3

Ordonnance de cesser et de s'abstenir contre Timothy David Magill et Ben Net Corporation

DANS L'AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O. 1990, Chapitre I.8, telle que modifiée, et en particulier de l'article 441;

 

ET DANS L'AFFAIRE D'UNE proposition d'ordonnance de cesser et de s'abstenir contre Timothy David Magill et Ben Net Corporation.

 

 

ORDONNANCE DE CESSER ET DE S'ABSTENIR
 
CONTEXTE 

 

Le surintendant des services financiers (le « surintendant ») est d'avis que Timothy David Magill (« M. Magill ») et Ben Net Corporation (la « personne morale ») ont commis des actes ou pratiques malhonnêtes ou mensongers en enfreignant le paragraphe 393 (23) de la Loi sur les assurances (la « Loi ») en opérant comme agents alors qu'ils n'étaient pas titulaires d'un permis délivré en vertu de la Loi.
 
Après enquête sur cette affaire, M. Magill a convenu, par voie de procès-verbal de transaction, de renoncer à son droit à une audience et de consentir à l'ordonnance qui suit. M. Magill a également signé le procès-verbal de transaction au nom de la personne morale.
 
CONFORMÉMENT AU paragraphe 441 (2) de la Loi sur les assurances et au procès-verbal de transaction entre M. Magill, la personne morale et le surintendant,
 
ORDONNANCE
 
LE SURINTENDANT ORDONNE PAR LA PRÉSENTE à M. Magill, à la personne morale et à leurs agents ou représentants :
 
A. de cesser immédiatement de faire affaires comme agent d'assurance;
 
B. de s'abstenir de communiquer directement ou indirectement avec des compagnies d'assurance afin de souscrire une assurance pour des véhicules, des biens ou autres choses de valeur n'appartenant pas à M. Magill.
 
PRENEZ AVIS QUE, selon l’alinéa 447 (2) b) de la Loi, les personnes qui ne se conforment pas aux ordonnances rendues aux termes de la présente loi sont coupables d'une infraction et passibles d’une amende d’au plus 100 000 $ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200 000 $ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 
ET PRENEZ AVIS QUE, selon le paragraphe 447 (4) de la Loi, les administrateurs, dirigeants et mandataires principaux d’une personne morale qui ont causé, autorisé ou permis la perpétration d’une infraction par la personne morale, ou qui y ont participé, ou qui n’ont pas pris les soins raisonnables afin d’empêcher la perpétration d’une infraction par la personne morale, sont aussi coupables d’une infraction et passibles d’une amende d’au plus 100 000 $ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200 000 $ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 
FAIT DANS la ville de Toronto, le 9 décembre 2005.
 
Robert Christie
 
Directeur général et
surintendant des services financiers
 
À L'ATTENTION DE :
 
Timothy David Magill
39 Balmoral Crescent
North Bay ON P1A 2E3