Permanent Cease and Desist Order Against Wilton Neale and 360 Degree Financial Services Inc.

REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990, Chapter I.8, as amended (the "Act"), in particular section 441

AND REGARDING Wilton Neale and 360 Degree Financial Services Inc.

PERMANENT CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

Background

On February 10, 2009, the Superintendent of Financial Services ("Superintendent") issued an Interim Cease and Desist Order and Notice of Proposed Cease and Desist Order under sections 441(2) and 441(4) of the Act against Wilton Neale and 360 Degree Financial Services Inc.

Wilton Neale and 360 Degree Financial Services Inc. were served with the Notice by registered mail to the addresses on file with the Financial Services Commission on February 11, 2009. They are deemed to have received the Notice on February 16, 2009, and from that date had fifteen (15) days to request a hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal. No request for a hearing was made within 15 days and in accordance with section 441(7) of the Act, the Superintendent may make the Interim Cease and Desist Order permanent.

CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

Effective this date, pursuant to section 441(7) of the Act, the Superintendent orders that Neale, 360 Degree Financial, and any agents or representatives thereof:

  1. Immediately cease engaging in or carrying on the business of insurance in the Province of Ontario;
  2. Immediately cease collecting money or anything else of value from any member of the public in exchange for or in connection with the sale of insurance products in Ontario;
  3. Immediately cease withdrawing, transferring or dealing in any way whatsoever with any funds held in the accounts of 360 Degree Financial or elsewhere that were obtained from, or originate in funds obtained from, persons resident in Ontario in connection with the sale of insurance products to those persons;
  4. Immediately cease soliciting the sale of insurance products of any form in Ontario;
  5. Immediately cease advertising in any form in Ontario;
  6. Immediately provide the Superintendent with a written list of all insurance products for which applications have been received and/or which were sold to persons resident in Ontario within the previous eighteen (18) months, along with a complete accounting satisfactory to the Superintendent of all funds received from those persons and all payments made to or on behalf of such persons;
  7. Immediately mail to all clients in Ontario a copy of this Cease and Desist Order and provide evidence satisfactory to the Superintendent that this mailing was done.

TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(2)(b) of the Act provides that any person who fails to comply with any order made under the Act is guilty of an offence and liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

Section 447(4) of the Act provides that every director, officer and chief agent of a corporation who caused, authorized, permitted or participated in a corporation committing an offence, or who fails to take reasonable care to prevent a corporation from committing an offence, is also guilty of an offence and is liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

Section 447(5) of the Act provides that where a person is convicted of an offence under the Act, the court making the conviction may, in addition to any other penalty, order the person convicted to make compensation or restitution in relation to the offence.

ISSUED AT the City of Toronto, March 4, 2009.

 

Robert Christie
Superintendent of Financial Services

Ordonnance permanente de cesser et de s'abstenir contre Wilton Neale et 360 Degree Financial Services Inc.

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les assurances (la «Loi»), L.R.O.1990, chapitreI.8, selon sa version la plus à jour, et plus particulièrement de l’article 441;
 

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE Wilton Neale et 360 Degree Financial Services Inc.

 

 ORDONNANCE PERMANENTE DE CESSER ET DE S'ABSTENIR 

 

CONTEXTE

 

Le 10 février 2009, le surintendant des services financiers (le «surintendant») a rendu une ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir et a donné un avis d’intention de rendre une ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir en vertu des paragraphes 441(2) et 441(4) de la Loi contre Wilton Neale et 360 Degree Financial Services Inc.

 

L’avis a été signifié à Wilton Neale et à 360 Degree Financial Services Inc. par courrier recommandé aux adresses figurant dans les dossiers de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario le 11 février 2009. Les destinataires sont réputés avoir reçu l’avis le 16 février 2009 et, à compter de cette date, avaient quinze (15) jours pour demander une audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers. Comme aucune demande d’audience n’a été présentée dans ce délai, le surintendant peut, conformément au paragraphe 441(7) de la Loi, rendre permanente l’ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir.

 

ORDONNANCE DE CESSER ET DE S'ABSTENIR
 

Conformément au paragraphe 441(7) de la Loi, le surintendant ordonne dès aujourd’hui à Wilton Neale, à 360 Degree Financial et à tous leurs mandataires ou représentants qu’ils:

 

  1. cessent immédiatement d’effectuer des opérations d’assurance dans la province d’Ontario;
  2. cessent immédiatement de percevoir auprès de membres du public de l’argent ou toute autre chose de valeur en échange de produits d’assurance ou en relation avec la vente de ce type de produits en Ontario;
  3. cessent immédiatement de retirer, transférer ou gérer de quelque manière que ce soit les fonds détenus dans les comptes de 360 Degree Financial ou ailleurs qui ont été versés par des personnes vivant en Ontario en relation avec la vente de produits d’assurance ou qui ont été générés par les sommes versées par ces personnes;
  4. cessent immédiatement de faire de la sollicitation dans le but de vendre toute forme de produits d’assurance en Ontario;
  5. cessent immédiatement de faire de la publicité sous quelque forme que ce soit en Ontario;
  6. fournissent immédiatement au surintendant une liste écrite de tous les produits d’assurance qui ont fait l’objet d’une demande ou qui ont été vendus à des personnes vivant en Ontario au cours des dix-huit(18) derniers mois, ainsi qu’un compte rendu complet que le surintendant juge satisfaisant de tous les fonds reçus de ces personnes et de tous les paiements effectués à ces personnes ou en leur nom;
  7. envoient immédiatement par la poste à tous les clients en Ontario une copie de la présente ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir et fournissent au surintendant une preuve satisfaisante que l’envoi postal a été effectué.
PRENEZ AVIS QUE l’alinéa 447 (2)b) de la Loi édicte que les personnes qui ne se conforment pas aux ordonnances rendues aux termes de la Loi sont coupables d’une infraction et passibles d’une amende d’au plus 100000$ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200000$ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 

En vertu du paragraphe 447(4) de la Loi, les administrateurs, dirigeants et mandataires principaux d’une personne morale qui ont causé, autorisé ou permis la perpétration d’une infraction par la personne morale ou qui y ont participé ou qui n’ont pas pris les soins raisonnables afin d’empêcher la perpétration d’une infraction par la personne morale sont également coupables d’une infraction et passibles d’une amende d’au plus 100000$ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200000$ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.

 

Conformément au paragraphe 447(5) de la Loi, le tribunal qui prononce la déclaration de culpabilité peut, en plus de toutes autres peines, ordonner à la personne reconnue coupable de l’infraction aux termes de la Loi de verser une indemnité ou de faire restitution en conséquence.

 

FAIT DANS la ville de Toronto, le 4 mars 2009.
 
Robert Christie
Surintendant des services financiers