Interim Cease And Desist Order  and Notice Of Proposed Cease And Desist Order Against Wilton Neale

REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990, Chapter I.8, as amended (the "Act"), in particular section 441

AND REGARDING Wilton Neale and 360 Degree Financial Services Inc.

Interim Cease And Desist Order

And

Notice Of Proposed Cease And Desist Order

Wilton Neale ("Neale") holds a licence as a life insurance and accident and sickness insurance agent under the Act. 360 Degree Financial Services Inc. ("360 Degree Financial") holds a corporate life insurance agency licence under the Act.

INTERIM CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

The Superintendent of Financial Services ("Superintendent") is of the opinion that Neale and 360 Degree Financial committed an unfair or deceptive act or practice by knowingly procuring by fraudulent representations, payment or the obligation for payment of any premium on an insurance policy; and by making a false or misleading statement or representation in the solicitation of insurance. A notice of proposal to order Wilton Neale and 360 Degree Financial to cease and desist engaging in the business of insurance is set out below.

Pursuant to section 441(4) of the Act, if the Superintendent is of the opinion that the interest of the public may be prejudiced or adversely affected by any delay in the issuance of a permanent order, the Superintendent, without prior notice, may make an interim order which shall take effect immediately and which shall become permanent as against each and every named person unless within 15 days such person requests a hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal ("Tribunal").

The Superintendent is of the opinion that the interest of the public may be prejudiced or adversely affected by any delay in the issuance of a permanent order for the following reasons:

  1. Neale is the holder of life insurance agent licence # 93005664, which will expire on June 9, 2010. Neale is the sole director of 360 Degree Financial, a life insurance corporation with a corporate agency licence #31906M. That licence will expire on March14, 2009.

  2. In or about mid-January, 2009, the Superintendent received two complaints regarding the activities of Neale and 360 Degree Financial and conducted an investigation. The investigation revealed the following.

  3. Neale has sole or primary control over the accounts of 360 Degree Financial.

  4. Neale and other representatives of 360 Degree Financial encourage clients to take out investment loans from AGF Trust Company (“AGF Trust”). The loan monies are then advanced to 360 Degree Financial for the purpose of being further advanced to the investment designated by the client.

  5. GT and MO are clients of Neale and of 360 Degree Financial.  In or about September 2007, GT obtained an investment loan of $300,000.00 from AGF Trust. AGF Trust advanced the loan monies to 360 Degree Financial. GT filled out an application for an Empire Life variable insurance product and instructed Neale and 360 Degree Financial to invest the loan with Empire Life.

  6. Shortly thereafter, GT began to receive $3,300.00 per month from 360 Degree Financial, which Neale informed GT were the interest payments earned on GT’s investment.

  7. The payments abruptly stopped in December 2008.

  8. In January 2009, Empire Life confirmed that it holds no account in the name of GT and that no investment was made in GT’s name at Empire Life.

  9. In September 2008, MO applied for a $50,000.00 investment loan from AGF Trust. A representative of 360 Degree Financial advised MO to invest $20,000.00 of the loan in a variable insurance contract at Empire Life and the remainder in an RSP with another institution. The loan was approved by AGF Trust. MO completed an application for the Empire Life product. The loan amounts were transferred to 360 Degree Financial.

  10. In or about December 2008, MO learned that 360 Degree Financial had not transferred the funds to Empire Life or the other financial institution. Empire Life has confirmed that, while it had received MO’s application for variable insurance contracts, it holds no account in the name of MO and that no actual funds were advanced in MO’s name to Empire Life.

  11. Neither GT nor MO has been able to contact Neale.

  12. A life insurance agent working for 360 Degree Financial has indicated that he has eight other clients for whom he arranged loans totalling $170,500.00 from AGF Trust. The loans had been approved by AGF Trust and forwarded to 360 Degree Financial. The funds were not subsequently advanced by 360 Degree Financial to the investment institution, as per the clients’ instructions. The institution, Marketing Concepts Group Inc., has confirmed that no monies had been received in respect of those clients.

  13. As of January 2009, 360 Degree Financial’s office appears to be closed. The life insurance agent referred to above has not been able to contact Neale and believes that Neale may have left the country.

  14. Neale, through his agency 360 Degree Financial, has been engaged in a practice of fraudulent misrepresentation, by selling insurance products of significant face value to clients and misappropriating the purchase monies for himself. He has made false or misleading statements in purporting to sell insurance products that were never actually purchased. These are unfair or deceptive acts or practices under the Act.

  15. Neale and his agency pose an imminent and significant risk to the public. That risk will continue as long as Neale and 360 Degree Financial are authorized to engage in or carry on the business of insurance in Ontario. Neale could continue his fraudulent activities at any point in time.

  16. Accordingly, the Superintendent is of the opinion that an order requiring Neale and 360 Degree Financial to cease engaging in or carrying on the business of insurance in Ontario must be immediately issued.

INTERIM CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

Effective this date, pursuant to section 441(4) of the Act, the Superintendent orders that Neale, 360 Degree Financial, and any agents or representatives thereof:

  1. Immediately cease engaging in or carrying on the business of insurance in the Province of Ontario;

  2. Immediately cease collecting money or anything else of value from any member of the public, in exchange for or in connection with the sale of insurance products in Ontario;

  3. Immediately cease withdrawing, transferring or dealing in any way whatsoever with any funds held in the accounts of 360 Degree Financial or elsewhere that were obtained from, or originate in funds obtained from, persons resident in Ontario in connection with the sale of insurance products to those persons;

  4. Immediately cease soliciting the sale of insurance products of any form in Ontario;
  5. Immediately cease advertising in any form in Ontario;

  6. Immediately provide the Superintendent with a written list of all insurance products for which applications have been received and/or which were sold to persons resident in Ontario within the previous eighteen (18) months, along with a complete accounting satisfactory to the Superintendent of all funds received from those persons and all payments made to or on behalf of such persons;

  7. Immediately mail to all clients in Ontario a copy of this Cease and Desist Order and provide evidence satisfactory to the Superintendent that this mailing was done.

TAKE NOTICE THAT the above Interim Cease and Desist Order shall become permanent unless within 15 days after you receive it, you make a written request for a hearing before the Tribunal.

AND TAKE NOTICE THAT if a hearing is requested, the Superintendent may extend the interim cease and desist order until the hearing before the Tribunal is concluded.

TAKE FURTHER NOTICE THAT section 447(2)(b) of the Act provides that any person who fails to comply with any order made under the Act is guilty of an offence and liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

Section 447(4) of the Act provides that every director, officer and chief agent of a corporation who caused, authorized, permitted or participated in a corporation committing an offence, or who fails to take reasonable care to prevent a corporation from committing an offence, is also guilty of an offence and is liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

Section 447(5) of the Act provides that where a person is convicted of an offence under the Act, the court making the conviction may, in addition to any other penalty, order the person convicted to make compensation or restitution in relation to the offence.

NOTICE OF PROPOSED CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

 

The Superintendent is of the opinion that Neale and 360 Degree Financial committed an unfair or deceptive act or practice by knowingly procuring by fraudulent representations, payment or the obligation for payment of any premium on an insurance policy; and by making a false or misleading statement or representation in the solicitation of insurance. The particulars are set out in the Report of the Superintendent which will be served with this Notice.

 

TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to section 441(2) of the Act the Superintendent intends to order Neale and 360 Degree to:

  1. Immediately cease engaging in or carrying on the business of insurance in the Province of Ontario;

  2. Immediately cease collecting money or anything else of value from any member of the public, in exchange for or in connection with the sale of insurance products in Ontario;

  3. Immediately cease withdrawing, transferring or dealing in any way whatsoever with any funds held in the accounts of 360 Degree Financial or elsewhere that were obtained from, or originate in funds obtained from, persons resident in Ontario in connection with the sale of insurance products to those persons;

  4. Immediately cease soliciting the sale of insurance products of any form in Ontario;

  5. Immediately cease advertising in any form in Ontario;

  6. Immediately provide the Superintendent with a written list of all insurance products for which applications have been received and/or which were sold to persons resident in Ontario within the previous eighteen (18) months, along with a complete accounting satisfactory to the Superintendent of all funds received from those persons and all payments made to or on behalf of such persons;

  7. Immediately mail to all clients in Ontario a copy of this Cease and Desist Order and provide evidence satisfactory to the Superintendent that this mailing was done.

WITHIN 15 DAYS after receiving this Notice, you may request in writing that the Tribunal hold a hearing on whether or not a Cease and Desist Order should be issued.

IF NO HEARING IS REQUESTED within 15 days, the Superintendent may make a Cease and Desist Order in accordance with this Notice, which shall take effect on the date set out in the Order.

A request for a hearing should be directed, in writing, to:

Financial Services Tribunal
5160 Yonge Street
Box 85
Toronto ON  M2N 6L9         

Attention: 
Registrar                                                              
Fax: 416.226.7750

ISSUED AT the City of Toronto,  February 10, 2009

 

Robert Christie
Chief Executive Officer and
Superintendent of Financial Services

 

TO:                

Wilton Neale
4 Rovinelli Road
Toronto ON M1B 4L6

AND TO:      

360 Degree Financial Services Inc.
231-80 Nashdene Road
Toronto ON  M1V 5E4

360 Degree Financial Services Inc.
701- 2075 Kennedy Road
Toronto ON  M1T 3V4

AND TO:      

Larissa Easson
Counsel
Financial Services Commission of Ontario
5160 Yonge Street, Suite 1700
Toronto ON  M2N 6L9
Tel: 416.226.7842
Fax: 416.590.7556

Ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s'abstenir et avis d'intention de rendre une ordonnance de cesser et de s'abstenir contre Wilton Neale

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les assurances (la «Loi»), L.R.O. 1990, chapitre I.8, selon sa version la plus à jour, et plus particulièrement de l’article 441;
 

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE Wilton Neale et 360 Degree Financial Services Inc.

 
ORDONNANCE PROVISOIRE DE CESSER ET DE S'ABSTENIR
 
et
 
AVIS D'INTENTION DE RENDRE UNE ORDONNANCE DE CESSER ET DE S'ABSTENIR
 
Wilton Neale («M.Neale») est titulaire d’un permis d’agent d’assurance vie et d’assurance contre les accidents et la maladie et 360 Degree Financial Services Inc. («360 Degree Financial»), d’un permis d’agence d’assurance vie constituée en personne morale. Ces permis ont été délivrés en vertu de la Loi.
 
ORDONNANCE PROVISOIRE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR

 

Le surintendant des services financiers (le «surintendant») est d’avis que M.Neale et 360 Degree Financial se sont livrés à un acte ou une pratique malhonnête ou mensonger en obtenant sciemment, au moyen de déclarations dolosives, le paiement de primes en vertu d’une police d’assurance ou une obligation de paiement de celles-ci et en faisant une déclaration ou une présentation fausse ou trompeuse pour la sollicitation d’assurance. Un avis d’intention d’ordonner à Wilton Neale et à 360 Degree Financial de cesser et de s’abstenir d’effectuer des opérations d’assurance est formulé ci-dessous.
 
Conformément au paragraphe 441(4) de la Loi, s’il estime que tout retard dans la délivrance d’une ordonnance permanente risque de porter atteinte ou de nuire à l’intérêt public, le surintendant peut, sans avis préalable, rendre une ordonnance provisoire qui prend immédiatement effet et devient permanente, sauf si la personne ou les personnes qui y sont nommées présentent une demande d’audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers (le «Tribunal») dans les 15 jours qui suivent celui où l’ordonnance est rendue.
 
Le surintendant est d’avis que tout retard dans la délivrance d’une ordonnance permanente risque de porter atteinte ou de nuire à l’intérêt public pour les motifs énoncés ci-dessous.
 
  1. M.Neale est titulaire du permis d’agent d’assurance vie no 93005664, qui expirera le 9 juin2010. M.Neale est l’unique administrateur de 360 Degree Financial, une compagnie d’assurance vie dont le permis d’agence d’assurance vie constituée en personne morale porte le numéro 31906M. Ce permis expirera le 14 mars 2009.
  2. Vers le milieu du mois de janvier 2009, le surintendant a reçu deux plaintes concernant les activités de M.Neale et de 360 Degree Financial. Il a mené une enquête qui a révélé ce qui suit.
  3. M.Neale possède les pleins pouvoirs ou les pouvoirs principaux à l’égard des comptes de 360 Degree Financial.
  4. M.Neale et les autres représentants de 360 Degree Financial encouragent les clients à contracter des prêts pour placement auprès de la Compagnie de fiducie AGF (la «Fiducie AGF»). Le montant des prêts est ensuite avancé à 360 Degree Financial afin que l’entreprise effectue les placements indiqués par les clients.
  5. GT et MO sont des clients de M.Neale et de 360 Degree Financial. Aux alentours du mois de septembre 2007, GT a obtenu un prêt pour placement de 300000,00$ de la Fiducie AGF. Celle-ci a avancé l’argent du prêt à 360 Degree Financial. GT a rempli une demande relative à un produit d’assurance variable offert par Empire Vie et a demandé à M.Neale et à 360 Degree Financial d’investir le montant du prêt dans Empire Vie.
  6. Peu de temps après, GT a commencé à recevoir des versements mensuels de 3300,00$ de 360 Degree Financial. M.Neale a informé GT qu’il s’agissait des intérêts produits par son placement.
  7. Les versements ont brusquement cessé en décembre 2008.
  8. En janvier 2009, Empire Vie a confirmé qu’elle ne détenait aucun compte au nom de GT et qu’aucun placement n’avait été effectué à Empire Vie au nom de GT.
  9. En septembre 2008, MO a présenté une demande de prêt pour placement de 50000,00$ à la Fiducie AGF. Un représentant de 360 Degree Financial a conseillé à MO d’investir 20000,00$ du prêt dans un contrat d’assurance variable à Empire Vie et le reste dans un régime d’épargne-retraite d’une autre institution. Le prêt a été approuvé par la Fiducie AGF. MO a rempli une demande pour le produit d’assurance d’Empire Vie. Le montant du prêt a été transféré à 360 Degree Financial.
  10. Vers le mois de décembre 2008, MO a appris que 360 Degree Financial n’avait pas transféré les fonds à Empire Vie ni à l’autre institution financière. Empire Vie a confirmé qu’elle avait reçu la demande de contrat d’assurance variable de MO mais qu’elle ne détenait aucun compte au nom de MO et qu’aucuns fonds ne lui avaient été avancés au nom de cette personne.
  11. Ni GT ni MO n’a réussi à communiquer avec M.Neale.
  12. Un agent d’assurance vie qui travaille pour 360 Degree Financial a indiqué qu’il avait négocié avec la Fiducie AGF des prêts totalisant 170500,00$ pour huit autres clients. Les prêts avaient été approuvés par la Fiducie AGF et transmis à 360 Degree Financial. Par la suite, 360Degree Financial n’a pas avancé les fonds à l’organisme de placement, contrairement à ce que les clients lui avaient demandé. L’organisme en question, Marketing Concepts Group Inc., a confirmé qu’il n’avait reçu aucun montant pour ces clients.
  13. Depuis janvier 2009, le bureau de 360 Degree Financial semble fermé. L’agent d’assurance vie mentionné ci-dessus n’a pas réussi à communiquer avec M.Neale et croit que ce dernier a quitté le pays.
  14. M.Neale, par l’entremise de son agence 360 Degree Financial, a fait des déclarations frauduleuses pour vendre à des clients des produits d’assurance d’une valeur nominale importante et s’approprier les fonds versés pour l’achat de ces produits. Il a fait des déclarations fausses ou trompeuses en prétendant vendre des produits d’assurance qui en fait n’ont jamais été achetés. En vertu de la Loi, il s’agit là d’actes ou de pratiques malhonnêtes et mensongers.
  15. M.Neale et son agence présentent un risque imminent et important pour le public. Ce risque sera présent tant que M.Neale et 360 Degree Financial seront autorisés à effectuer des opérations d’assurance en Ontario. M.Neale pourrait poursuivre ses activités frauduleuses n’importe quand.
  16. En conséquence, le surintendant estime qu’une ordonnance exigeant que M.Neale et 360 Degree Financial cessent d’effectuer des opérations d’assurance en Ontario doit être rendue sans délai.
ORDONNANCE PROVISOIRE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR
 
Conformément au paragraphe 441(4) de la Loi, le surintendant ordonne dès aujourd’hui à M.Neale, à 360Degree Financial et à tous leurs mandataires ou représentants qu’ils:
 
  1. cessent immédiatement d’effectuer des opérations d’assurance dans la province d’Ontario;
  2. cessent immédiatement de percevoir auprès de membres du public de l’argent ou toute autre chose de valeur en échange de produits d’assurance ou en relation avec la vente de ce type de produits en Ontario;
  3. cessent immédiatement de retirer, transférer ou gérer de quelque manière que ce soit les fonds détenus dans les comptes de 360 Degree Financial ou ailleurs qui ont été versés par des personnes vivant en Ontario en relation avec la vente de produits d’assurance ou qui ont été générés par les sommes versées par ces personnes;
  4. cessent immédiatement de faire de la sollicitation dans le but de vendre toute forme de produits d’assurance en Ontario;
  5. cessent immédiatement de faire de la publicité sous quelque forme que ce soit en Ontario;
  6. fournissent immédiatement au surintendant une liste écrite de tous les produits d’assurance qui ont fait l’objet d’une demande ou qui ont été vendus à des personnes vivant en Ontario au cours des dix-huit(18) derniers mois, ainsi qu’un compte rendu complet que le surintendant juge satisfaisant de tous les fonds reçus de ces personnes et de tous les paiements effectués à ces personnes ou en leur nom;
  7. envoient immédiatement par la poste à tous les clients en Ontario une copie de la présente ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir et fournissent au surintendant une preuve satisfaisante que l’envoi postal a été effectué.
PRENEZ AVIS QUE l’ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir ci-dessus deviendra permanente, sauf si vous présentez par écrit une demande d’audience devant le Tribunal dans les 15jours suivant la réception de l’ordonnance.
 
ET PRENEZ AVIS QUE si vous demandez une audience, le surintendant pourra prolonger l’ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir jusqu’à ce que l’audience devant le Tribunal soit terminée.
 
ET PRENEZ AVIS QUE l’alinéa 447(2)b) de la Loi édicte que les personnes qui ne se conforment pas aux ordonnances rendues aux termes de la Loi sont coupables d’une infraction et passibles d’une amende d’au plus 100000$ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200000$ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 
En vertu du paragraphe 447(4) de la Loi, les administrateurs, dirigeants et mandataires principaux d’une personne morale qui ont causé, autorisé ou permis la perpétration d’une infraction par la personne morale ou qui y ont participé ou qui n’ont pas pris les soins raisonnables afin d’empêcher la perpétration d’une infraction par la personne morale sont également coupables d’une infraction et passibles d’une amende d’au plus 100000$ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200000$ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 
Conformément au paragraphe 447(5) de la Loi, le tribunal qui prononce la déclaration de culpabilité peut, en plus de toutes autres peines, ordonner à la personne reconnue coupable d’une infraction aux termes de la Loi de verser une indemnité ou de faire restitution en conséquence.
 
AVIS D'INTENTION DE RENDRE UNE ORDONNANCE DE CESSER ET DE S'ABSTENIR
 
Le surintendant est d’avis que M.Neale et 360 Degree Financial se sont livrés à des actes ou des pratiques malhonnêtes et mensongers en obtenant sciemment, au moyen de déclarations dolosives, le paiement de primes en vertu d’une police d’assurance ou une obligation de paiement de celles-ci et en faisant une déclaration ou une présentation fausse ou trompeuse pour la sollicitation d’assurance. Les détails figurent dans le rapport du surintendant qui sera signifié avec le présent avis.
 
PRENEZ AVIS QUE, conformément au paragraphe 441(2) de la Loi, le surintendant a l’intention d’ordonner à Neale et à 360 Degree qu’ils:
 
  1. cessent immédiatement d’effectuer des opérations d’assurance dans la province d’Ontario;
  2. cessent immédiatement de percevoir auprès de membres du public de l’argent ou toute autre chose de valeur en échange de produits d’assurance ou en relation avec la vente de ce type de produits en Ontario;
  3. cessent immédiatement de retirer, transférer ou gérer de quelque manière que ce soit les fonds détenus dans les comptes de 360Degree Financial ou ailleurs qui ont été versés par des personnes vivant en Ontario en relation avec la vente de produits d’assurance ou qui ont été générés par les sommes versées par ces personnes;
  4. cessent immédiatement de faire de la sollicitation dans le but de vendre toute forme de produits d’assurance en Ontario;
  5. cessent immédiatement de faire de la publicité sous quelque forme que ce soit en Ontario;
  6. fournissent immédiatement au surintendant une liste écrite de tous les produits d’assurance qui ont fait l’objet d’une demande ou qui ont été vendus à des personnes vivant en Ontario au cours des dix-huit(18) derniers mois, ainsi qu’un compte rendu complet que le surintendant juge satisfaisant de tous les fonds reçus de ces personnes et de tous les paiements effectués à ces personnes ou en leur nom;
  7. envoient immédiatement par la poste à tous les clients en Ontario une copie de la présente ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir et fournissent au surintendant une preuve satisfaisante que l’envoi postal a été effectué.
DANS LES 15 JOURS suivant la réception du présent avis, vous pouvez demander par écrit au Tribunal de tenir une audience afin de déterminer si une ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir doit ou non être rendue.
 
SI AUCUNE AUDIENCE N’EST DEMANDÉE dans le délai imparti, le surintendant peut, conformément au présent avis, rendre une ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir qui prendra effet à la date indiquée dans l’ordonnance.
 
La demande d’audience doit être faite par écrit et adressée au:
 
Tribunal des services financiers
5160, rue Yonge
Boîte 85
Toronto (Ontario)  M2N 6L9
 
À l’attention du:
Greffier
Téléc.: 416226-7750
 
FAIT DANS la ville de Toronto, le 10 février 2009.
 
Robert Christie
Directeur général et surintendant, Services financiers
 
DESTINATAIRES
 
Wilton Neale
4 Rovinelli Road
Toronto (Ontario)  M1B 4L6
360 Degree Financial Services Inc.
231-80 Nashdene Road
Toronto (Ontario)  M1V 5E4
360Degree Financial Services Inc.
701-2075 Kennedy Road
Toronto (Ontario)  M1T 3V4
 
AUTRE DESTINATAIRE
 
Larissa Easson
Avocate
Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario
5160, rue Yonge, bureau1700
Toronto (Ontario)  M2N 6L9
Tél.: 416226-7842
Téléc.: 416590-7556