Notice Of Permanent Cease And Desist Order Against Mary (Patricia) Norris aka Pat Norris, aka Mary Patricia Kehoe, aka Patricia Ann Kehoe, aka Patricia Ann Riopelle, aka Mary Riopelle


REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990, Chapter I.8, as amended, in particular section 441

AND REGARDING a Proposed Cease and Desist Order against Mary (Patricia) Norris aka Pat Norris, aka Mary Patricia Kehoe, aka Patricia Ann Kehoe, aka Patricia Ann Riopelle, aka Mary Riopelle

AND REGARDING an Interim Cease and Desist Order against Mary (Patricia) Norris aka Pat Norris, aka Mary Patricia Kehoe, aka Patricia Ann Kehoe, aka Patricia Ann Riopelle, aka Mary Riopelle

 

NOTICE OF PERMANENT CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

Section 441(2) of the Insurance Act (the “Act”), provides that where the Superintendent is of the opinion that a person has committed or is committing any act, or has pursed or is pursing any course of conduct, that is an unfair or deceptive act or practice, or might reasonably be expected to result in a state of affairs that would constitute an unfair or deceptive act or practice, the Superintendent may give notice in writing of his intention to order any person to cease or refrain from doing any act or pursuing any course of conduct identified by the Superintendent or to perform such acts that, in the opinion of the Superintendent, are necessary to remedy the situation. Within 15 days of receiving the Notice, a person may request in writing that the Financial Services Tribunal hold a hearing before the Superintendent takes any action described in the notice.

Section 441(4) of the Act provides that if the Superintendent is of the opinion that the interests of the public may be adversely affected by any delay in the issuance of the order, the Superintendent may, without prior notice, make an interim order which takes effect immediately and which shall become permanent on the 15th day after its making unless within that time a hearing is requested.

On August 31, 2005, the Superintendent issued a Notice under section 441(2) and an Interim Order under section 441(4) of the Act. There has been no request for a hearing within the prescribed 15 days and in accordance with subsection 441(4) of the Act, the Interim Order became permanent on September 15, 2005.

The Superintendent confirms that the Interim Cease and Desist Order issued August 31, 2005, (attached) is a Permanent Order as of September 15, 2005.

ISSUED AT the City of Toronto, September 22, 2005.


Robert Christie
Superintendent of Financial Services

TO:

Mary (Patricia) Norris aka Pat Norris, aka Mary Patricia Kehoe, aka Patricia Ann Kehoe, aka Patricia Ann Riopelle, aka Mary Riopelle
771 Caistorville Road,
RR#2 Canfield, ON,
N0A 1C0


AND TO:

Mary (Patricia) Norris aka Pat Norris, aka Mary Patricia Kehoe, aka Patricia Ann Kehoe, aka Patricia Ann Riopelle, aka Mary Riopelle
c/o Swaminathan & Associates,
Suite 262, Tomken Road,
Mississauga, ON,
L5S 1R6

Ordonnance d'interdiction permanente contre Mary (Patricia) Norris alias Pat Norris, alias Mary Patricia Kehoe, alias Patricia Ann Kehoe, alias Patricia Ann Riopelle, alias Mary Riopelle

CONCERNANT la Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O. 1990, chap. I.8, telle que modifiée, plus particulièrement l’article 441

 

ET CONCERNANT l’ordonnance d’interdiction provisoire proposée contre Mary (Patricia) Norris alias Pat Norris, alias Mary Patricia Kehoe, alias Patricia Ann Kehoe, alias Patricia Ann Riopelle, alias Mary Riopelle
 

ET CONCERNANT une ordonnance d’interdiction provisoire contre Mary (Patricia) Norris alias Pat Norris, alias Mary Patricia Kehoe, alias Patricia Ann Kehoe, alias Patricia Ann Riopelle, alias Mary Riopelle

 
AVIS D’ORDONNANCE D’INTERDICTION PERMANENTE 

 

L’article 441(2) de la Loi sur les assurances (la « Loi »), stipule que, lorsque le Surintendant est d’avis qu’une personne est en train ou sur le point de commettre un acte, ou d’adopter une attitude qui constitue un acte ou une pratique injuste ou trompeur, ou dont on peut raisonnablement s’attendre que naisse un état de choses qui constituerait un acte ou une pratique injuste ou trompeur, le Surintendant peut aviser cette personne par écrit qu’il a l’intention d’ordonner qu’elle cesse les agissements ou l’attitude identifiés par lui ou de prendre des mesures qui, selon lui, s’imposent pour remédier à la situation. Dans les 15 jours qui suivent la réception de l’avis, la personne peut demander par écrit que le tribunal des services financiers tienne une audience avant que le Surintendant ne prenne les mesures décrites dans l’avis.
 
L’article 441(4) de la Loi stipule que si le Surintendant est d’avis que l’intérêt public peut être touché par tout retard dans l’émission de l’ordonnance, ce dernier peut, sans écrire un avis préalable, émettre une ordonnance provisoire qui entre en vigueur immédiatement et qui deviendra permanente le 15e jour après son émission, à moins qu’une audience ne soit demandée dans l’intervalle.
 

 

Le 31 août 2005, le Surintendant a émis un avis en vertu de l’article 441(2) et une ordonnance provisoire en vertu de l’article 441(4) de la Loi. Aucune demande d’audience n’a été déposée dans le délai prescrit de 15 jours, et conformément au paragraphe 441(4) de la Loi, l’ordonnance provisoire est devenue permanente le 15 septembre 2005.

 

 
Le Surintendant confirme que l’ordonnance d’interdiction provisoire émise le 31 août 2005, (ci-jointe) est devenue une ordonnance permanente le 15 septembre 2005.

ÉMIS À la Ville de Toronto, le 22 septembre 2005.

Robert Christie
Surintendant des services financiers
 
À :
 
Mary (Patricia) Norris alias Pat Norris, alias Mary Patricia Kehoe, alias Patricia Ann Kehoe, alias Patricia Ann Riopelle, alias Mary Riopelle
771 Caistorville Road,
RR#2 Canfield, ON,
N0A 1C0
 
ET À :
 
Mary (Patricia) Norris alias Pat Norris, alias Mary Patricia Kehoe, alias Patricia Ann Kehoe, alias Patricia Ann Riopelle, alias Mary Riopelle
c/o Swaminathan & Associates,
Suite 262, Tomken Road,
Mississauga, ON,
L5S 1R6