Notice of Proposed Permanent Cease And Desist Order and Interim Cease And Desist Order Mary (Patricia) Norris aka Pat Norris, aka Mary Patricia Kehoe, aka Patricia Ann Kehoe, aka Patricia Ann Riopelle, aka Mary Riopelle

REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990, Chapter I.8, as amended, in particular section 441

AND REGARDING a Proposed Cease and Desist Order against Mary (Patricia) Norris aka Pat Norris, aka Mary Patricia Kehoe, aka Patricia Ann Kehoe, aka Patricia Ann Riopelle, aka Mary Riopelle

AND REGARDING an Interim Cease and Desist Order against Mary (Patricia) Norris aka Pat Norris, aka Mary Patricia Kehoe, aka Patricia Ann Kehoe, aka Patricia Ann Riopelle, aka Mary Riopelle

NOTICE OF PROPOSED PERMANENT CEASE AND DESIST ORDER
and
INTERIM CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

 

The Superintendent of Financial Services (“Superintendent”) is of the opinion that Mary (Patricia) Norris aka Pat Norris, aka Mary Patricia Kehoe, aka Patricia Ann Kehoe, aka Patricia Ann Riopelle, aka Mary Riopelle (“Norris”) has committed, and is committing, unfair or deceptive acts or practices in the business of acting as a statutory accident benefits representative. The particulars are set out in the Report of the Superintendent, which will be served on Norris with this Notice and Order.

 

The Superintendent intends to issue an Order fifteen (15) days from the date of this Notice that Mary (Patricia) Norris aka Pat Norris, aka Mary Patricia Kehoe, aka Patricia Ann Kehoe, aka Patricia Ann Riopelle, aka Mary Riopelle:

 

A. Immediately cease carrying on business as a statutory accident benefit representative;

B. Immediately notify in writing all clients of Mary (Patricia) Norris aka Pat Norris, aka Mary Patricia Kehoe, aka Patricia Ann Kehoe, aka Patricia Ann Riopelle, aka Mary Riopelle who have claims for statutory accident benefits that she can no longer act for them; provide them with a copy of this Cease and Desist Order; and, provide copies of every notification sent to each client to the Superintendent forthwith; and,

C. Immediately cease advertising or holding out, in any form, as a statutory accident benefit representative within Ontario.

 

WITHIN 15 DAYS after receiving this Notice, you may request in writing that the Financial Services Tribunal hold a hearing on whether or not a permanent cease and desist order should be issued.

 

IF NO HEARING IS REQUESTED within 15 days, the Superintendent shall make a permanent order in accordance with this notice, which shall take effect on the date set out in the order.

A request for a hearing should be directed, in writing, to:

 

Financial Services Tribunal
5160 Yonge Street
Toronto, Ontario
M2N 6L9

Attention: Rhonda Booth, Registrar Fax: (416) 226-7750

 

FURTHER

The Superintendent is of the opinion that the interests of the public may be prejudiced or adversely affected by a delay in the issuance of a permanent order for the following reasons:

 

1. Serious questions have arisen as to the proper and legal name and identity of Norris;

2. The obligation of statutory accident benefit representatives, set out in the Code of Conduct for Statutory Accident Benefit Representatives, to “act honestly in dealing with... FSCO” among others, is a critical requirement in the regime that allows individuals to be exempted from the prohibition set out in section 398 of the Act, and allows them to act as representatives. Norris has provided misinformation about her criminal record that goes directly to the ability of the regime to effectively ensure confidence in the automobile insurance system and to allow FSCO to ensure compliance.

In accordance with section 441(4) of the Act, the Superintendent, without prior notice, may make an interim order which shall take effect immediately.

 

INTERIM CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

Effective this date, pursuant to section 441(4) of the Act, the Superintendent orders that Mary (Patricia) Norris aka Pat Norris, aka Mary Patricia Kehoe, aka Patricia Ann Kehoe, aka Patricia Ann Riopelle, aka Mary Riopelle:

 

A. Immediately cease carrying on business as a statutory accident benefit representative;

B. Immediately notify in writing all clients of Mary (Patricia) Norris aka Pat Norris, aka Mary Patricia Kehoe, aka Patricia Ann Kehoe, aka Patricia Ann Riopelle, aka Mary Riopelle who have claims for statutory accident benefits that she can no longer act for them; provide them with a copy of this Cease and Desist Order; and, provide copies of every notification sent to each client to the Superintendent forthwith; and,

C. Immediately cease advertising or holding out, in any form, as a statutory accident benefit representative within Ontario.

 

TAKE NOTICE THAT the above Interim Cease and Desist order shall become permanent unless within 15 days a written request for a hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal is made.

 

AND FURTHER TAKE NOTICE THAT if a hearing is requested, the Superintendent may extend the interim cease and desist order until the hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal is concluded.

 

AND FURTHER TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(2)(b) of the Act provides that any person who fails to comply with any order made under the Act is guilty of an offence and liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

 

AND FURTHER TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(4) of the Act provides that every director, officer, and chief agent of a corporation who caused, authorised, permitted or participated in a corporation committing an offence, or who fails to take reasonable care to prevent a corporation from committing an offence, is also guilty of an offence and is liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

ISSUED AT the City of Toronto, August 31, 2005.


Cheryl Cottle
Superintendent of Financial Services (Acting)

TO:

Mary (Patricia) Norris aka Pat Norris, aka Mary Patricia Kehoe, aka Patricia Ann Kehoe, aka Patricia Ann Riopelle, aka Mary Riopelle
771 Caistorville Road,
RR#2 Canfield, ON,
N0A 1C0

AND TO:

Mary (Patricia) Norris aka Pat Norris, aka Mary Patricia Kehoe, aka Patricia Ann Kehoe, aka Patricia Ann Riopelle, aka Mary Riopelle
c/o Swaminathan & Associates,
Suite 262, Tomken Road,
Mississauga, ON,
L5S 1R6

Attachments: Superintendent's Report [PDF Document] Size: ## kb

Proposition d'ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s'abstenir contre Mary (Patricia) Norris alias Pat Norris, alias Mary Patricia Kehoe, alias Patricia Ann Kehoe, alias Patricia Ann Riopelle, alias Mary Riopelle

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O. 1990, chapitre I-8, telle que modifiée, et plus particulièrement l’article 441

 

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE D’UNE proposition d’ordonnance permanente de cesser et de s’abstenir contre Mary (Patricia) Norris alias Pat Norris, alias Mary Patricia Kehoe, alias Patricia Ann Kehoe, alias Patricia Ann Riopelle, alias Mary Riopelle

 

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE D’UNE proposition d’ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir contre Mary (Patricia) Norris alias Pat Norris, alias Mary Patricia Kehoe, alias Patricia Ann Kehoe, alias Patricia Ann Riopelle, alias Mary Riopelle

 

 AVIS DE PROPOSITION D'ORDONNANCE PERMANENTE DE CESSER ET DE S'ABSTENIR

 

et

 

D'ORDONNANCE PROVISOIRE DE CESSER ET DE S'ABSTENIR

 

 
La surintendante des services financiers (la « surintendante ») est d’avis que Mary (Patricia) Norris alias Pat Norris, alias Mary Patricia Kehoe, alias Patricia Ann Kehoe, alias Patricia Ann Riopelle, alias Mary Riopelle (« Mme Norris ») a commis, et commet, des actes ou des pratiques malhonnêtes ou mensongers dans ses activités en qualité de représentante en matière d’indemnités d’accident légales. Des précisions figurent dans le Rapport de la surintendante, qui sera signifié à Mme Norris avec le présent avis et ordonnance.
 
La surintendante a l’intention de rendre une ordonnance quinze jours après la date du présent avis, portant que Mary (Patricia) Norris alias Pat Norris, alias Mary Patricia Kehoe, alias Patricia Ann Kehoe, alias Patricia Ann Riopelle, alias Mary Riopelle doit :
 
A. cesser immédiatement d’agir en qualité de représentante en matière d’indemnités d’accident légales;
 
B. aviser immédiatement par écrit tous les clients de Mary (Patricia) Norris alias Pat Norris, alias Mary Patricia Kehoe, alias Patricia Ann Kehoe, alias Patricia Ann Riopelle, alias Mary Riopelle, qui ont déposé une demande d’indemnités d’accidents légales qu’elle ne peut plus agir en leur nom; leur fournir un exemplaire de la présente ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir; et transmettre à la surintendante un exemplaire de chacun des avis envoyés à chaque client;
 
C. cesser immédiatement d’annoncer ou d’offrir, de quelque façon que ce soit, des services de représentant en matière d’indemnités d’accident légales en Ontario.
 
DANS LES 15 JOURS de la réception du présent avis, vous pouvez demander par écrit que le Tribunal des services financiers tienne une audience sur la pertinence d’émettre ou pas une ordonnance permanente de cesser et de s’abstenir.

SI AUCUNE AUDIENCE N’EST DEMANDÉE dans les 15 jours, la surintendante rendra une ordonnance permanente conformément au présent avis, qui prendra effet à la date prévue dans l’ordonnance.
Toute demande d’audience doit être adressée par écrit au :
 
Tribunal des services financiers
5160, rue Yonge
Toronto (Ontario)
M2N 6L9
À l’attention de: Rhonda Booth, greffière Télécopieur : 416 226-7750
 
AVIS
 
La surintendante est d’avis que tout retard dans la délivrance de l’ordonnance permanente risque de porter atteinte ou de nuire à l’intérêt public pour les raisons suivantes :
 
1. Des questions graves ont été soulevées à propos du nom commercial et de l’identité de Mme Norris;
 
2. L’obligation imposée aux représentants en matière d’indemnités d’accident légales, telle qu’énoncée dans le code de conduite des représentants en matière d’indemnités d’accident légales (Code of Conduct for Statutory Accident Benefit Representatives), d’« agir avec honnêteté dans ses relations avec ... la CSFO », entre autres, est une exigence fondamentale dans le régime qui accorde à des particuliers une exemption à l’interdiction stipulée à l’article 398 de la Loi, et leur permet d’agir en qualité de représentant. Mme Norris a fourni des renseignements mensongers au sujet de ses antécédents criminels, qui sapent directement la capacité du régime de susciter la confiance du public à l’égard du système d’assurance-automobile et de permettre à la CSFO de veiller à l’observation des règles.
 
Conformément au paragraphe 441 (4) de la Loi, le surintendant peut, sans avis préalable, rendre une ordonnance provisoire qui prendra effet immédiatement.
 
ORDONNANCE PROVISOIRE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR
 
En date d’aujourd’hui, conformément au paragraphe 441 (4) de la Loi, la surintendante ordonne à Mary (Patricia) Norris alias Pat Norris, alias Mary Patricia Kehoe, alias Patricia Ann Kehoe, alias Patricia Ann Riopelle, alias Mary Riopelle (« Mme Norris ») :

A. De cesser d’agir en qualité de représentante en matière d’indemnités d’accident légales;
 
B. D’aviser immédiatement par écrit tous les clients de clients Mary (Patricia) Norris alias Pat Norris, alias Mary Patricia Kehoe, alias Patricia Ann Kehoe, alias Patricia Ann Riopelle, alias Mary Riopelle qui ont des demandes d’indemnités de prestations d’accident légales en cours, qu’elle ne peut plus les représenter; de leur remettre une copie de la présente ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir; et de remettre des copies de chaque avis envoyé à chaque client à la surintendante;
 
C. De cesser immédiatement d’annoncer ou de faire croire au public, de quelque manière que ce soit, qu’elle offre des services de représentante pour des demandes d’indemnités d’accident légales en Ontario.
 
PRENEZ AVIS QUE cette ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir deviendra permanente, sauf si une demande d’audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers est présentée par écrit dans les 15 jours.

ET PRENEZ AVIS QUE si une demande d’audience est présentée, le surintendant peut prolonger l’ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir jusqu’à la conclusion de l’audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers.

ET PRENEZ AVIS QUE
l’alinéa 447 (2) b) de la Loi prévoit que toute personne qui ne se conforme pas aux ordonnances rendues conformément à la Loi est coupable d’une infraction et passible d’une amende d’au plus 100 000 $ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200 000 $ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.

ET PRENEZ AVIS QUE le paragraphe 447 (4) de la Loi prévoit que les administrateurs, dirigeants et mandataires principaux d’une personne morale qui ont causé, autorisé ou permis la perpétration d’une infraction par la personne morale, ou qui y ont participé, et ceux qui n’ont pas pris les soins raisonnables afin d’empêcher la perpétration d’une infraction par la personne morale, sont coupables d’une infraction et passibles d’une amende d’au plus 100 000 $ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200 000 $ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.

FAIT DANS la ville de Toronto, le 31 août 2005.
 
Cheryl Cottle
Surintendante intérimaire des services financiers
 
À L’INTENTION DE :

Mary (Patricia) Norris alias Pat Norris, alias Mary Patricia Kehoe, alias Patricia Ann Kehoe, alias Patricia Ann Riopelle, alias Mary Riopelle
771 Caistorville Road,
RR#2 Canfield ON
N0A 1C0
 
À L’INTENTION DE :
 
Mary (Patricia) Norris alias Pat Norris, alias Mary Patricia Kehoe, alias Patricia Ann Kehoe, alias Patricia Ann Riopelle, alias Mary Riopelle
a/s Swaminathan & Associates,
Suite 262, Tomken Road,
Mississauga ON
L5S 1R6
 
Voyez également : Rapport de la surintendante des services financiers [PDF Document] Size: ## kb