Cease and Desist Order Against the Old Republic Insurance Company of Canada

REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990,
Chapter I. 8, as amended, in particular section 441

AND REGARDING Old Republic Insurance Company of Canada ("Old Republic")

CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

The Superintendent of the Financial Services Commission of Ontario ("Superintendent") is of the opinion that Old Republic committed an unfair or deceptive act or practice by writing non-fleet insurance business which it was not authorized to do.

TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to section 441(2) of the Insurance Act (the "Act"), and with the consent of Old Republic, the Superintendent hereby orders that the Chief Executive Officer and Vice President of Finance of Old Republic, on behalf of Old Republic, shall provide on or before November 30, 2007, written confirmation to the Superintendent that they are satisfied that Old Republic’s written internal control procedures with respect to its operating processes have been reviewed and amended so that the deficiencies that resulted in or permitted the writing of unapproved non-fleet policies with unapproved rates have been appropriately addressed.  The confirmation shall also include a description of any revisions or amendments that are made as a result of this review, together with copies of the revised or amended internal control procedures.  

AND TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(2)(b) of the Act provides that any person who fails to comply with any order made under the Act is guilty of an offence and section 447(3) provides that that a person guilty of an offence under section 447(2)(b) is liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

AND FURTHER TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(4) of the Act provides that every director, officer and chief agent of a corporation who caused, authorized, permitted or participated in a corporation committing an offence, or who fails to take reasonable care to prevent a corporation from committing an offence, is also guilty of an offence and is liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

ISSUED AT the City of Toronto, July 6, 2007

_____________________________________

Robert Christie
Superintendent of Financial Services

TO:

Old Republic Insurance Company of Canada
Box 557, 100 King Street West
Hamilton ON L8N 3K9

Attention:
Paul M. Field, Chief Executive Officer
Jason Smith, Vice President Finance

Ordonnance de cesser et de s'abstenir contre la compagnie d'assurance Old Republic Insurance Company of Canada («Old Republic»)

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O. 1990, Chap.I.8, telle que modifiée, et en particulier l’article 441;
 

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la compagnie d'assurance Old Republic Insurance Company of Canada («Old Republic»).

 
ORDONNANCE DE CESSER ET DE S'ABSTENIR
 
Le surintendant de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (le «surintendant») est d’avis que Old Republic a commis des actes ou pratiques malhonnêtes ou mensongers en souscrivant des polices d’assurance pour véhicules ne faisant pas partie d’un parc alors qu’elle n’y était pas autorisée.
 
PRENEZ AVIS QUE, conformément au paragraphe 441(2) de la Loi sur les assurances (la «Loi»), et avec le consentement de Old Republic, le surintendant ordonne par la présente au président-directeur général et au vice-président des Finances de Old Republic de lui remettre, au nom de cette compagnie et d’ici le 30 novembre 2007, une confirmation écrite indiquant qu’ils sont convaincus que les procédures de contrôle internes écrites de Old Republic en matière de processus d’exploitation ont été revues et modifiées, et que les irrégularités qui ont entraîné, ou permis, la souscription non autorisée de polices d’assurance pour véhicules ne faisant pas partie d’un parc sont réglées de façon appropriée. La confirmation doit aussi être accompagnée d’une description de toutes les révisions ou modifications apportées dans le cadre de cet examen, ainsi que d’une copie des procédures de contrôle internes révisées ou modifiées.
 
ET PRENEZ AVIS QUE, conformément à l’alinéa 447(2)b) de la Loi, les personnes qui ne se conforment pas aux ordonnances rendues aux termes de la Loi sont coupables d'une infraction et que le paragraphe 447(3) prévoit qu’une personne coupable d’une infraction aux termes de l’alinéa 447 (2)b) est passible d’une amende d’au plus 100000$ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200000$ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 
ET PRENEZ AVIS QUE, conformément au paragraphe 447(4) de la Loi, les administrateurs, dirigeants et mandataires principaux d’une personne morale qui ont causé, autorisé ou permis la perpétration d’une infraction par la personne morale, ou qui y ont participé, ou qui n’ont pas pris les soins raisonnables afin d’empêcher la perpétration d’une infraction par la personne morale, sont aussi coupables d’une infraction et passibles d’une amende d’au plus 100000$ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200000$ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 
FAIT DANS la ville de Toronto, le 06 juillet 2006.
______________________________________
 
Robert Christie
Surintendant des services financiers
 
DESTINATAIRE:               
Old Republic Insurance Company of Canada
C.P. 557, 100, rue King Ouest
Hamilton ON  L8N 3K9
 
À l’attention de:
 
Paul M. Field, président-directeur général
Jason Smith, vice-président des Finances