Peter Bariamis and Interamerican Financial Inc.

Permanent Cease and Desist Orders Against Peter Bariamis and Interamerican Financial Inc. Carrying on Business as York Commonwealth Direct

REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990, Chapter I.8, as amended, in particular section 441 (the “Act”)

AND REGARDING a Proposed Permanent Cease and Desist Order against Peter Bariamis and Interamerican Financial Inc. carrying on business as York Commonwealth Direct

AND REGARDING an Interim Cease and Desist against Peter Bariamis and Interamerican Financial Inc., carrying on business as York Commonwealth Direct

NOTICE OF PERMANENT CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

Subsection 441(2)of the Insurance , (the “Act”), provides that where the Superintendent is of the opinion that a person has committed or is committing any act, or has pursued or is pursuing any course of conduct, that is an unfair or deceptive act or practice, or might reasonably be expected to result in a state of affairs that would constitute an unfair or deceptive act or practice, the Superintendent may give notice in writing of his intention to order any person to cease or refrain from doing any act or pursuing any course of conduct identified by the Superintendent or to perform such acts that, in the opinion of the Superintendent, are necessary to remedy the situation. Within 15 days of receiving the notice, a person may request in writing that the Financial Services Tribunal hold a hearing before the Superintendent takes any action described in the notice.

Subsection 441(4) of the Act provides that if the Superintendent is of the opinion that the interests of the public may be adversely affected by any delay in the issuance of the order, the Superintendent may, without prior notice, make an interim order which takes effect immediately and which shall become permanent on the 15th day after its making unless within that time a hearing is requested.

On June 6, 2005, the Superintendent issued a notice under subsection 441(2) and an Interim Order under subsection 441(4) of the Act. There has been no request for a hearing and, in accordance with subsection 441(4) of the Act, the Interim Order became permanent on June 22, 2005.

The Superintendent confirms that the Interim Order dated June 6, 2005 (attached) is a Permanent Order as of June 22, 2005.

DATED at the City of Toronto on the th day of June, 2005.


Bryan P. Davies
Superintendent of Financial Services

TO:

Peter Bariamis
769 Pape Ave
Toronto, Ontario
M4K 3T2

AND TO:

Interamerican Financial Inc., carrying on business
as York Commonwealth Direct
769 Pape Ave
Toronto, Ontario
M4K 3T2

Peter Bariamis et Interamerican Financial Inc.

Ordonnances permanentes de cesser et de s’abstenir contre Peter Bariamis et Interamerican Financial Inc. qui font affaire sous le nom de York Commonwealth Direct

 

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O. 1990, chapitre I.8, telle que modifiée, et plus particulièrement l’article 441 (la «Loi»)

 

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE D’UNE proposition d’ordonnance permanente de cesser et de s’abstenir contre Peter Bariamis et Interamerican Financial Inc., qui font affaire sous le nom de York Commonwealth Direct

 

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE D’UNE ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir contre Peter Bariamis et Interamerican Financial Inc., qui font affaire sous le nom de York Commonwealth Direct

 

AVIS D'ORDONNANCE PERMANENTE DE CESSER ET DE S'ABSTENIR

 

Le paragraphe 441(2) de la Loi sur les assurances (la «Loi») prévoit que, si le surintendant est d’avis qu’une personne a commis ou commet un acte, ou a suivi ou suit une ligne de conduite qui constituent un acte ou une pratique malhonnêtes ou mensongers, ou dont la poursuite risque vraisemblablement de créer une situation qui constituerait un acte ou une pratique malhonnêtes ou mensongers, il peut donner à cette personne un avis écrit qui lui enjoint de cesser de cesser ou de s’abstenir de commettre des actes ou de poursuivre une ligne de conduite que le surintendant précise, ou de prendre les mesures qui, de l’avis du surintendant, s’imposent afin de remédier à la situation. Une personne peut, dans les 15 jours de la réception de l’avis, demander par écrit que le Tribunal des services financiers tienne une audience avant que le surintendant ne prenne les mesures prévues dans l’avis.

 

Le paragraphe 441(4) de la Loi prévoit que si, de l’avis du surintendant, tout retard dans la délivrance de l’ordonnance risque de porter atteinte ou de nuire à l’intérêt public, le surintendant peut, sans avis préalable, rendre une ordonnance provisoire qui prend effet dès qu’elle est rendue et devient permanente le 15e jour qui suit celui où elle est rendue, sauf si la personne présente une demande d’audience devant le Tribunal dans ce délai.
 
Le 6 juin 2005, le surintendant a donné un avis aux termes du paragraphe 441(2) et rendu une ordonnance provisoire aux termes du paragraphe 441(4) de la Loi. Il n’y a pas eu de demande d’audience devant le Tribunal et, conformément au paragraphe 441(4) de la Loi, l’ordonnance provisoire est devenue permanente le 22 juin 2005.
 
Le surintendant confirme que l’ordonnance provisoire du 6 juin 2005(ci-jointe) est devenue une ordonnance permanente le 22 juin 2005.

 

DATÉ du Xe jour de juin 2005, dans la ville de Toronto.

Bryan P. Davies
Surintendant des services financiers
 
À L’ATTENTION DE:

 

Peter Bariamis
769, avenue Pape
Toronto (Ontario)
M4K 3T2
 
ET À L’ATTENTION DE:

 

Interamerican Financial Inc., faisant affaire sous le nom
de York Commonwealth Direct
769, avenue Pape
Toronto (Ontario)
M4K 3T2