Notice of Proposed Cease and Desist Order and Temporary Cease and Desist Order Against Daniel P. Reeve, Millionaire Mortgage Inc., and DPR Financial Inc.

REGARDING the  Loan and Trust Corporations Act, R.S.O.1990, c.L.25, as amended (the "Act"), in particular, sections192(1), 192(3), 206, 208, 213,214

AND REGARDING Daniel P.Reeve, Millionaire Mortgage Inc., and DPR Financial Inc.

 NOTICE OF PROPOSED CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

and

TEMPORARY CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

The Superintendent of Financial Services (the "Superintendent") is of the opinion that Daniel P.Reeve, Millionaire Mortgage Inc. ("Millionaire Mortgage"), and DPR Financial Inc. ("DPR Financial") have contravened section 213 of the Act by conducting, undertaking or transacting in Ontario the business of a loan or trust corporation while unregistered, by borrowing money from the public by receiving deposits for the purpose of lending and investing such money.

The particulars are set out in a statement made under oath by Harry McClenaghan, an Investigator with the Financial Services Commission of Ontario ("FSCO"), that will be served with this Notice.

TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to section 192(1) of the Act, the Superintendent intends to order Daniel P.Reeve, Millionaire Mortgage and DPR Financial, and any agents or representatives thereof, to:

A. cease conducting, undertaking or transacting in Ontario the business of a loan or trust corporation, by receiving deposits and lending or investing such money;

B. deliver up to a representative of the Superintendent copies of all business records including but not limited to, lists of the names of all investors and depositors, the amounts received from each investor or depositor, the bank accounts where all the deposits are invested, and all such other records and documents as are requested; and

C. take all action, or cause all such action to be taken, to preserve all existing funds, deposits, securities or assets and to regain control of any funds, deposits, securities or assets from any person, and to hold all such funds, deposits, securities or assets in trust for the Superintendent pending further order of the Superintendent, the Financial Services Tribunal, or the Superior Court of Justice.

NOTE

WITHIN 15 DAYS after receiving this notice, you may request in writing that the Superintendent hold a hearing on whether or not a Cease and Desist Order should be issued.

TAKE NOTICE THAT the hearing before the Superintendent will proceed in accordance with the Rules of Practice and Procedure of the Superintendent under the authority of the Statutory Powers Procedure Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. S. 22.  The Rules of Practice and Procedure are available at the website of the Financial Services Commission of Ontario:

www.fsco.gov.on.ca/english/hearings/superintendent/rules.asp.

Alternatively, a copy can be obtained by telephoning the Registrar at 416.226.7294, or toll free at 1.800.668.0128 ext. 7294.

IF NO HEARING IS REQUESTED within 15 days, the Superintendent may make a Cease and Desist Order in accordance with this Notice, which shall take effect on the date set out in the Cease and Desist Order.

A request for a hearing should be directed, in writing, to:

Financial Services Commission of Ontario
Superintendent of Financial Services,
14thFloor
5160 Yonge Street
Toronto ON  M2N 6L9
Attention: Registrar                                               
Fax No.: 416.226.7750

DATED at Toronto, Ontario May 13, 2009.  

 

Robert E. Christie

Superintendent of Financial Services

TEMPORARY CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

Pursuant to section 192(3) of the Act, if the Superintendent is of the opinion that the interests of the depositors or the public may be prejudiced or adversely affected by any delay in the issuance of a permanent Cease and Desist Order, the Superintendent may make a Temporary Cease and Desist Order which shall take effect immediately and which shall become permanent unless within 15 days of receipt of the Temporary Cease and Desist Order the named persons request a hearing before the Superintendent.

The Superintendent is of the opinion that the interests of the depositors or the public may be prejudiced or adversely affected by any delay in the issuance of a permanent Cease and Desist Order for the following reasons:

  1. there is clear and cogent evidence that Daniel P.Reeve, Millionaire Mortgage and DPR Financial contravened the Act from on or about June 1, 2008 until mid-April 2009, in order to unlawfully obtain deposits from the public in the aggregate amount of $950,000;

  2. Daniel Reeve’s failure to respond to a communication from an Investigator of the Financial Services Commission of Ontario, together with the clear and cogent evidence that he contravened the Act, shows that he is ungovernable;

  3. the interests of the depositors may be prejudiced or adversely affected if there is any delay in requiring Daniel P. Reeve, Millionaire Mortgage and DPR Financial to deliver up to a representative of the Superintendent copies of all business records including but not limited to, lists of the names of all investors and depositors, the amounts received from each investor or depositor, the bank accounts where all the deposits are invested, and all such other records and documents as are requested;

  4. the interests of the depositors may be prejudiced or adversely affected if there is any delay in ordering Daniel P.Reeve, Millionaire Mortgage and DPR Financial to take all action, or cause all such action to be taken, to preserve all existing funds, deposits, securities or assets and to regain control of any funds, deposits, securities or assets from any person, and to hold all such funds, deposits, securities or assets in trust for the Superintendent pending further order of the Superintendent, the Financial Services Tribunal, or the Superior Court of Justice.

Effective this date, pursuant to section 192(3) of the Act, the Superintendent orders that Daniel P.Reeve, Millionaire Mortgage and DPR Financial:

A. immediately cease conducting, undertaking or transacting in Ontario the business of a loan or trust corporation, by receiving deposits and lending or investing such money;

B. immediately deliver up to a representative of the Superintendent copies of all business records including, but not limited to, lists of the names of all investors, the amounts received from each investor, the bank accounts where all the deposits are invested, and all such other records and documents as are requested; and

C. immediately take all action, or cause all such action to be taken, to preserve all existing funds, deposits, securities or assets and to regain control of any funds, deposits, securities or assets from any person, and to hold all such funds, deposits, securities or assets in trust for the Superintendent pending further order of the Superintendent, the Financial Services Tribunal, or the Superior Court of Justice.

TAKE NOTICE THAT the above Temporary Cease and Desist Order shall become permanent on the 15th day after you receive it, unless within 15 days a written request for a hearing before the Superintendent is made.

AND TAKE NOTICE THAT if you request a hearing before the Superintendent, the Superintendent may extend the Temporary Cease and Desist Order until the hearing is concluded.

DATED at Toronto, Ontario May 13, 2009.

 

Robert E.Christie
Superintendent of Financial Services

Avis de l'intention de rendre une ordonnance de cesser et de s'abstenir et ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s'abstenir contre Daniel P. Reeve, Millionaire Mortgage Inc., et DPR Financial Inc.

DANS L’AFFAIRE de la Loi sur les sociétés de prêt et de fiducie, L.R.O.1990, c.L.25, dans sa version modifiée (la « Loi »), en particulier les paragraphes 192 (1) et 192 (3), et les articles 206, 208, 213 et 214
 

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE de Daniel P.Reeve, Millionaire Mortgage Inc., et DPR Financial Inc.
 

AVIS DE L'INTENTION DE RENDRE UNE ORDONNANCE DE CESSER ET DE S'ABSTENIR

et

ORDONNANCE PROVISOIRE DE CESSER ET DE S'ABSTENIR

 

Le surintendant des services financiers  (le « surintendant ») est d’avis que Daniel P.Reeve, Millionaire Mortgage Inc. (« Millionaire Mortgage »), et DPR Financial Inc. («DPR Financial») ont enfreint l’article 213 de la Loi en poursuivant, entreprenant ou exerçant en Ontario les activités d’une société de prêt ou d’une société de fiducie sans être inscrits, en empruntant de l’argent du public sous la forme de dépôts aux fins de prêter et d’investir cet argent.
 
Les détails sont précisés dans une déclaration faite sous serment de Harry McClenaghan, un enquêteur de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario (« FSCO »), qui sera signifiée avec le présent avis.
 
PRENEZ AVIS QUE conformément au paragraphe 192 (1) de la Loi, le surintendant a l’intention d’ordonner à Daniel P.Reeve, Millionaire Mortgage et DPR Financial, ainsi qu’à tout mandataire ou représentant de ceux-ci, de prendre les mesures suivantes :

 

A. Cesser de poursuivre, d’entreprendre ou d’exercer en Ontario les activités d’une société de prêt ou d’une société de fiducie, en recevant des dépôts et en prêtant ou investissant cet argent;
 
B. Remettre à un représentant du surintendant des copies de tous les dossiers commerciaux, y compris, mais sans y être limités, les listes de noms de tous les investisseurs et déposants, les montants reçus de chaque investisseur ou déposant, les comptes en banque où tous les dépôts sont investis, ainsi que tout autre dossier ou document requis;
 
C. Prendre, ou faire prendre, les mesures nécessaires pour préserver les fonds, dépôts, valeurs mobilières ou actifs existants ou pour reprendre le contrôle de fonds, dépôts, valeurs mobilières ou actifs d’une personne, et pour détenir les fonds, dépôts, valeurs mobilières et actifs en fiducie pour le surintendant, en attendant une autre ordonnance du surintendant, du Tribunal des services financiers ou de la Cour supérieure de justice.
 
REMARQUE

 

DANS LES 15 JOURS de la réception du présent avis, vous pouvez demander par écrit au surintendant de tenir une audience pour déterminer si une ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir devrait être rendue.
 
PRENEZ AVIS QUE l’audience devant le surintendant se déroulera conformément aux Règles de pratique et de procédure du surintendant, sous le régime de la Loi sur l’exercice des compétences légales, L.R.O. 1990, c. S. 22.  Les Règles de pratique et de procédure sont consultables sur le site Web de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario à :
 
 
Une copie de ces Règles peut également être obtenue auprès du greffier, au 416 226-7294, ou sans frais, au 1 800 668.0128, poste 7294.
 
SI AUCUNE AUDIENCE N’EST DEMANDÉE dans le délai de 15 jours, le surintendant rendra une ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir conformément au présent avis, qui entrera en vigueur à la date précisée dans l’ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir.
 
La demande d’audience doit être adressée, par écrit, à la :
 
Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario
Surintendant des services financiers
14e étage
5160, rue Yonge
Toronto ON  M2N 6L9
 
À l’attention du greffier                                            
Télécopieur: 416 226-7750
 
FAIT À Toronto (Ontario), le 13 mai 2009.  
Robert E.Christie
Surintendant des services financiers
 
ORDONNANCE PROVISOIRE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR
 
En vertu du paragraphe 192 (3) de la Loi, si le surintendant est d’avis que tout retard apporté à la prise de l’ordonnance permanente de cesser et de s’abstenir risque de porter atteinte aux droits des déposants ou du public, le surintendant peut prendre une ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir, qui entrera en vigueur immédiatement et qui deviendra permanente, à moins que dans les 15 jours de la réception de l’ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir, les personnes nommées demandent une audience devant le surintendant.
 
Le surintendant est d’avis que tout retard apporté à la prise de l’ordonnance permanente de cesser et de s’abstenir risque de porter atteinte aux droits des déposants ou du public ou d’y porter préjudice, pour les raisons suivantes :
 
  1. Il y a des preuves évidentes et pertinentes que Daniel P.Reeve, Millionaire Mortgage et DPR Financial ont enfreint la Loi, depuis le 1er juin 2008, ou vers cette date, jusqu’à la mi-avril 2009, afin d’obtenir illégalement des dépôts du public, pour un montant total de 950 000 $;
     
  2. L’omission, par Daniel Reeve, de répondre à une communication de l’enquêteur de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario, ainsi que les preuves évidentes et pertinentes qu’il a enfreint la Loi, démontre qu’il est incontrôlable;
     
  3. Les intérêts des déposants risquent de souffrir de tout retard apporté à la prise d’une ordonnance exigeant de Daniel P. Reeve, Millionaire Mortgage et DPR Financial qu’ils remettent à un représentant du surintendant des copies de tous les dossiers commerciaux, y compris, mais sans y être limités, les listes des noms de tous les investisseurs et déposants, les montants reçus de chaque investisseur ou déposant, les comptes en banque où tous les dépôts sont investis ainsi que tout autre dossier ou document requis;
     
  4. Les intérêts des déposants risquent de souffrir de tout retard apporté à la prise d’une ordonnance exigeant de Daniel P. Reeve, Millionaire Mortgage et DPR Financial qu’ils prennent, ou fassent prendre, les mesures nécessaires pour préserver les fonds, dépôts, valeurs mobilières ou actifs existants ou pour reprendre le contrôle de fonds, dépôts, valeurs mobilières ou actifs d’une personne, et pour détenir les fonds, dépôts, valeurs mobilières et actifs en fiducie pour le surintendant en attendant une autre ordonnance du surintendant, du Tribunal des services financiers ou de la Cour supérieure de justice.
À compte de cette date, conformément au paragraphe 192 (3) de la Loi, le surintendant ordonne que Daniel P.Reeve, Millionaire Mortgage et DPR Financial prennent les mesures suivantes :
 
A. Cesser immédiatement de poursuivre, d’entreprendre ou d’exercer en Ontario les activités d’une société de prêt ou d’une société de fiducie, en recevant des dépôts et en prêtant ou investissant cet argent;
 
B. Remettre immédiatement à un représentant du surintendant des copies de tous les dossiers commerciaux, y compris, mais sans y être limités, les listes des noms de tous les investisseurs et déposants, les montants reçus de chaque investisseur ou déposant, les comptes en banque où tous les dépôts sont investis ainsi que tout autre dossier ou document requis;
 
C. Prendre immédiatement ou faire prendre, les mesures nécessaires pour préserver les fonds, dépôts, valeurs mobilières ou actifs existants ou pour reprendre le contrôle de fonds, dépôts, valeurs mobilières ou actifs d’une personne, et pour détenir les fonds, dépôts, valeurs mobilières et actifs en fiducie pour le surintendant en attendant une ordonnance du surintendant, du Tribunal des services financiers ou de la Cour supérieure de justice.
 
PRENEZ AVIS QUE l’ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir ci-dessus deviendra permanente le 15e jour de sa réception, à moins que dans un délai de 15 jours, une demande d’audience devant le surintendant ne soit déposée par écrit.
 
ET PRENEZ AVIS QUE si vous demandez une audience devant le surintendant, ce dernier pourrait prolonger l’ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir jusqu’à la conclusion de l’audience.
 
FAIT à Toronto (Ontario), le 13 mai 2009.
 
Robert E.Christie
Surintendant des services financiers