Permanent Cease And Desist Order Against Security National Insurance Company (Security National) And TD General Insurance Company (TD General)

REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990, Chapter I.8, as amended, in particular section 441

 

AND REGARDING Security National Insurance Company (“Security National”) and TD General Insurance Company (“TD General”)
 
 

CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

On March 14, 2005, the Superintendent of Financial Services (“Superintendent”) issued a “Notice of Proposed Cease and Desist Order” to Security National and TD General as he was of the opinion that Security National and TD General had committed unfair or deceptive acts or practices by charging rates for coverages or categories of automobile insurance that were not approved by the Superintendent.

 

On March 14, 2005, Security National and TD General were each served with a copy of the “Notice of Proposed Cease and Desist Order.”  Neither Security National nor TD General requested a hearing with respect to the “Notice of Proposed Cease and Desist Order” within 15 days.

TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to section 441(7) of the Insurance Act (“the Act”), the Superintendent hereby orders that Security National and TD General:

 

A.        Reimburse affected policyholders in a manner acceptable to the Superintendent

 

B.        Institute internal control procedures, which are satisfactory to the Superintendent, designed to ensure that all rates charged for all coverages or categories of automobile insurance are in accordance with the rates filed with, and approved by, the Superintendent or the Financial Services Tribunal, as the case may be, and provide the Superintendent with a written copy of these internal control procedures;

 

C.        Each make a payment to the Minister of Finance in the amount of $50,000 in order to remedy the effects of the failure to charge rates for coverages or categories of automobile insurance in accordance with the Act, including the reduction of public confidence in the automobile insurance industry.

TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(2)(b) of the Act provides that any person who fails to comply with any order made under the Act is guilty of an offence and liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

AND FURTHER TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(4) of the Act provides that every director, officer, and chief agent of a corporation who caused, authorized, permitted or participated in a corporation committing an offence, or who fails to take reasonable care to prevent a corporation from committing an offence, is also guilty of an offence and is liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

 

ISSUED AT the City of Toronto, March 30, 2005

                                                           

Bryan P. Davies

Chief Executive Officer and

Superintendent of Financial Services

 

TO:                 
Security National Insurance Company
c/o Meloche Monnex Inc.
50 Place Cremazie, 12th Floor
Montreal, Quebec   H2P 1B6

 

AND TO:
TD General Insurance Company
c/o Meloche Monnex Inc.
50 Place Cremazie, 12th Floor
Montreal, Quebec   H2P 1B6

Ignorer les commandes du Ruban
Passer au contenu principal

Ordonnance permanente de cesser et de s'abstenir contre Security National insurance company (Security National) et la compagnie d'assurances Générales TD (Générales TD)

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O. 1990, chapitre I.8, telle que modifiée, et plus particulièrement l’article 441

 

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Security National Insurance Company («Security National») et de la Compagnie d’assurances générales TD («Générales TD»)

 
ORDONNANCE DE CESSER ET DE S'ABSTENIR 

 

Le 14 mars 2005, le surintendant des services financiers («surintendant»), qui était d’avis que la Security National et Générales TD avaient commis des actes ou des pratiques malhonnêtes ou mensongers pour avoir facturé des primes pour des protections ou des catégories d’assurance-automobile qui ne sont pas approuvées par le surintendant, a délivré un «Avis de proposition d’une ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir» à Security National et à Générales TD.
 
Le 14 mars 2005, une copie de l’«Avis de proposition d’une ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir» a été signifiée à Security National et à Générales TD. Ni Security National ni Générales TD n’a demandé d’audience au sujet de l’«Avis de proposition d’une ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir» dans le délai de 15 jours.
 
PRENEZ AVIS QUE, conformément au paragraphe 441(7) de la Loi sur les assurances (la «Loi»), le surintendant ordonne par la présente à Security National et à Générales TD:
 
A. de rembourser les titulaires de polices d’une manière acceptable pour le surintendant;
 
B. d’établir des procédures de contrôle internes qui satisfont le surintendant, conçues pour garantir que toutes les primes facturées, pour toutes protections ou catégories d’assurance-automobile, respectent les primes présentées au surintendant, ou au Tribunal des services financiers selon le cas, et acceptées par lui, et fournir au surintendant un exemplaire écrit de ces procédures de contrôle internes;
 
C. de payer la somme de 50000$ chacune au ministre des Finances, afin de remédier aux effets du défaut de facturer des primes pour des protections ou catégories d’assurance-automobile qui respectent la Loi, notamment la perte de confiance du public dans l’industrie de l’assurance-automobile.
 
PRENEZ AVIS QUE l’alinéa 447 (2)b) de la Loi prévoit que toute personne qui ne se conforme pas aux ordonnances rendues conformément à la Loi est coupable d’une infraction et est passible d’une amende d’au plus 100000$ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200000$ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 
PRENEZ DE PLUS AVIS QUE le paragraphe 447 (4) de la Loi prévoit que chaque administrateur, dirigeant et mandataire principal d’une personne morale qui a causé, autorisé ou permis la perpétration d’une infraction par la personne morale, ou qui n’a pas pris les soins raisonnables afin d’empêcher la perpétration d’une infraction par la personne morale, est aussi coupable d’une infraction et est passible d’une amende d’au plus 100000$ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200000$ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 
FAIT À Toronto, le 30 mars 2005.
 
Bryan P. Davies
Directeur général et
surintendant des services financiers
 
À L’ATTENTION DE:
 
Security National Insurance Company
a/s Meloche Monnex Inc.
50, Place Crémazie, 12e étage
Montréal (Québec) H2P 1B6
 
ET À L’ATTENTION DE:

Compagnie d’assurances générales TD
a/s Meloche Monnex Inc.
50, Place Crémazie, 12e étage
Montréal (Québec) H2P 1B6