Notice of Permanent Cease and Desist Order Against Sovereign General Insurance Company

REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990, Chapter I.8, as amended, in particular section 441

AND REGARDING Sovereign General Insurance Company

NOTICE OF PERMANENT ORDER

On March 8, 2006, the Superintendent of Financial Services ("Superintendent") issued a Notice of Proposed Order as he was of the opinion that Sovereign General Insurance Company ("Sovereign") had committed an unfair or deceptive act or practice by charging rates for coverages and categories of automobile insurance that were not approved or authorized by the Superintendent.

On March 9, 2006, Sovereign was served with a copy of the Notice of Proposed Order. The Insurance Act ("the Act") provides that within 15 days after receiving the Notice, a person may request a hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal. Sovereign did not request a hearing within the 15 days and as a result, the Proposed Order is now permanent.

TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to section 441(2) of the Act, the Superintendent orders Sovereign to:

Reimburse all affected policyholders (both current and former policyholders) in a manner acceptable to the Superintendent. The plan for reimbursement shall include the following features:

(i) Sovereign shall reimburse all current and former policyholders who purchased automobile insurance in respect of private buses all monies above the amount approved by the Superintendent for Class 44, including any overpayment of Sales Tax, plus interest of 6% calculated from the time of the payment for the policy.

(ii) Reimbursement shall be by means of a cheque sent to the policyholder’s latest address on file with Sovereign or, if not deliverable to that address, Sovereign shall contact the policyholder’s broker, to determine whether a valid address can be obtained and if not, Sovereign will attempt to locate a new address from publicly available sources. If a valid address can be obtained, the reimbursement cheque will be sent to that address.

(iii) In any case where the address of a policyholder is unavailable,
after reasonable efforts to locate same, or a cheque sent to a policyholder remains uncashed after a specified date, the reimbursement amount shall be donated to a charity acceptable to the Superintendent.

(iv) Sovereign shall provide the Superintendent with written reports
containing details of its compliance with the reimbursement plan.

(v) On or before the next general meeting, Sovereign shall provide to the Superintendent confirmation, in writing, that the board of directors has considered its current written internal control procedures with respect to the insurer’s underwriting rules, rating and risk classification systems and have determined that they are effective in ensuring that any changes to underwriting rules, rates or risk classification systems that will have, or potentially may have an impact, on risk selection and rating applied to policyholders, are reviewed and approved by a management official or committee with management responsibility extending beyond the operational unit proposing the change and that those change management practices are consistent with current industry standards.

TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(2)(b) of the Act provides that any person who fails to comply with any order made under the Act is guilty of an offence and liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

AND FURTHER TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(4) of the Act provides that every director, officer and chief agent of a corporation who caused, authorized, permitted or participated in a corporation committing an offence, or who fails to take reasonable care to prevent a corporation from committing an offence, is also guilty of an offence and is liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

ISSUED AT the City of Toronto, March 30, 2006


______________________________________
Robert Christie
Superintendent of Financial Services

TO:

Sovereign General Insurance Company
Sovereign Centre
6700 Macleod Trail SE, Suite 140
Calgary AB T2H 0L3

Attn:

Mr. Brian Speirs
Vice President Insurance Operations

AND TO:

The Sovereign General Insurance Company
4 King Street, W., 17th Floor
Toronto, Ontario M5H 1B6

Attn:

Mr. Dave Broadhurst
Chief Agent

Avis d'ordonnance permanente contre La Souveraine Compagnie D'Assurance Générale

DANS L'AFFAIRE DE LA Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O. 1990, chapitre I.8, telle que modifiée, et en particulier de l'article 441;
 

ET DANS L'AFFAIRE DE La Souveraine Compagnie D'Assurance Générale;

 
AVIS D'ORDONNANCE PERMANENTE
 
Le 8 mars 2006, le surintendant des services financiers (le « surintendant ») a émis un avis de proposition d'ordonnance car il était d'avis que La Souveraine Compagnie D'Assurance Générale (« La Souveraine ») avait commis des actes ou des pratiques malhonnêtes ou mensongers en facturant des taux pour des couvertures ou des catégories d'assurance-automobile qui n'étaient ni approuvés ni autorisés par le surintendant.
 
Le 9 mars 2006, copie de l'avis de proposition d'ordonnance a été signifié à La Souveraine. La Loi sur les assurances (« la Loi ») prévoit qu'une personne peut, dans les 15 jours de la réception de l'avis, demander une audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers. La Souveraine n'a pas demandé d'audience dans les 15 jours, par conséquent la proposition d'ordonnance est désormais permanente.
 
PRENEZ AVIS QUE, conformément au paragraphe 441 (2) de la Loi, le surintendant ordonne à La Souveraine de :
 
Rembourser tous les titulaires de police touchés (les titulaires actuels comme les anciens titulaires) d'une manière jugée acceptable par le surintendant. Le plan de remboursement doit inclure les modalités suivantes :
 
i) La Souveraine doit rembourser à tous les titulaires de police actuels et tous les anciens titulaires qui ont souscrit une assurance-automobile pour des autobus privés toutes les sommes versées en excédent du montant approuvé par le surintendant pour la catégorie 44, y compris l'excédent de taxe de vente, plus l'intérêt de 6 pour 100 calculé depuis le règlement de la police.
 
iii) Le remboursement se fera sous forme de chèque envoyé à la dernière adresse connue de chaque titulaire de police figurant dans les dossiers de La Souveraine ou, s'il ne peut être livré à cette adresse, La Souveraine contactera le courtier en assurance du titulaire pour obtenir une adresse valide, si cela n'est pas possible, La Souveraine essaiera d'obtenir la nouvelle adresse auprès de sources publiques. Si la tentative est fructueuse, le chèque de remboursement sera envoyé à l'adresse valide.
 
iii) Si on ne réussit pas à obtenir l'adresse d'un titulaire de police, après des efforts raisonnables, ou si un chèque envoyé à un titulaire de police n'est pas encaissé passée une certaine date, le remboursement sera remis à une œuvre de charité approuvée par le surintendant.
 
iv) La Souveraine fournira au surintendant des rapports écrits expliquant en détail comment elle s'est conformée au plan de remboursement.
 
v) La Souveraine fournira au surintendant, au plus tard lors de sa prochaine assemblée générale, confirmation écrite que son conseil d'administration a examiné les procédures actuelles de contrôle internes écrites visant les règles de souscription, les systèmes de cotation et de classification des risques de l'assureur, et juge qu'elles permettent de s'assurer que tous les changements apportés aux règles de souscription, aux systèmes de cotation et de classification des risques qui influeront, ou risquent d'influer, sur le choix et l'évaluation des risques applicables aux titulaires de police, sont examinés et approuvés par un gestionnaire ou comité de gestion dont la responsabilité s'étend au-delà de l'unité opérationnelle proposant les changements et que les pratiques de gestion des changements sont conformes aux normes actuelles de l'industrie.
 
ET PRENEZ AVIS QUE, selon l’alinéa 447 2) b) de la Loi, les personnes qui ne se conforment pas aux ordonnances rendues aux termes de la présente loi sont coupables d'une infraction et passibles d’une amende d’au plus 100 000 $ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200 000 $ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 
ET PRENEZ AVIS QUE, selon le paragraphe 447 (4) de la Loi, les administrateurs, dirigeants et mandataires principaux d’une personne morale qui ont causé, autorisé ou permis la perpétration d’une infraction par la personne morale, ou qui y ont participé, ou qui n’ont pas pris les soins raisonnables afin d’empêcher la perpétration d’une infraction par la personne morale, sont aussi coupables d’une infraction et passibles d’une amende d’au plus 100 000 $ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200 000 $ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 
FAIT DANS la ville de Toronto, le 30 mars 2006.
 
______________________________________
Robert Christie
Surintendant des services financiers
 
DESTINATAIRE :
 
La Souveraine Compagnie D'Assurance Générale
Sovereign Centre
6700 Macleod Trail SE, Suite 140
Calgary AB T2H 0L3
 
À L'ATTENTION DE :
 
M. Brian Speirs
Vice-président des opérations d'assurance
 
DESTINATAIRE :
 
La Souveraine Compagnie D'Assurance Générale
4, rue King Ouest, 17e étage
Toronto ON M5H 1B6
 
À L'ATTENTION DE :
 
M. Dave Broadhurst
Mandataire principal