Order To Cease And Desist Unlicensed Activity Against Spartan Financial Inc.

Regarding the Mortgage Brokerages, Lenders and Administrators Act, 2006, S.O. 2006, c.29 (the "Act"), in particular section 35.
 
And Regarding Spartan Financial Inc.

Order To Cease and Desist Unlicensed Activity

 
To:             

 

Spartan Financial Inc.
213 Cumming Drive 
Barrie ON  L4N 0S8
 
On December 1, 2015, the Superintendent of Financial Services (the "Superintendent") issued a Notice of Proposal to Impose a Compliance Order to Cease and Desist Unlicensed Activity (the "Notice") against Spartan Financial Inc. ("Spartan") pursuant to subsection 35(3) of the Act.

Spartan had 15 days after service of the Notice to request a hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal (the "Tribunal") in accordance with subsections 35(3) and 35(4) of the Act.

The Registrar of the Tribunal has confirmed that no request for a hearing has been received from Spartan, or anyone on its behalf, in respect of the proposal to impose a compliance order to cease and desist unlicensed activity.

Subsection 35(6) of the Act provides that the Superintendent may carry out the proposal to impose a compliance order when no hearing has been requested.
 

Order

 
It is ordered that Spartan Financial Inc. is required to:

  1. Immediately cease soliciting persons or entities to borrow or lend money on the security of real property in Ontario, or holding itself out as doing so, including the deactivation of the website http://spartanfinancial.ca and other internet or social media content including but not limited to content on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and YouTube; and
  2. Immediately cease otherwise dealing in mortgages as defined in section 2(1) of the Act.

Take notice that pursuant to subsections 48(4) and 49(1) and (2) of the Act, every person who fails to comply with an order made under this Act is guilty of an offence and every individual convicted of an offence under the Act is liable to a fine of not more than $100,000.00 or imprisonment for a term of not more than a year or both a fine and imprisonment.  Every corporation convicted of an offence under the Act is liable to a fine of not more than $200,000.00.

Pursuant to subsection 48(5) of the Act, every director or officer of a corporation that commits an offence under this Act who directed, authorized, assented to, acquiesced in or participated in the commission of the offence, or who failed to take reasonable care to prevent the corporation from committing the offence, is guilty of an offence, whether or not the corporation is prosecuted or convicted.

Subsection 48(6) provides that every partner of a partnership and every individual who is a member of the directing body of an entity, other than a person or partnership, who directed, authorized, assented to, acquiesced in or participated in the commission of an act or omission by the partnership or entity which, if committed by a person, would be an offence under the Act, is guilty of an offence.

Si vous désirez recevoir cet ordre en français, veuillez envoyer votre demande immédiatement à: Adjointe, audiences, Greffe, Commission des services financiers de l'Ontario, 5160 rue Yonge, boîte 85, Toronto ON M2N 6L9.
 
Dated at Toronto, Ontario, December 23, 2015.

original signed by "Anatol Monid"

per 

Brian Mills
Superintendent of Financial Services

Ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir contre Spartan Financial Inc.

Concernant la Loi de 2006 sur les maisons de courtage d’hypothèques, les prêteurs hypothécaires et les administrateurs, L.O. 2006, chap. 29 (la « Loi »), en particulier l’article 35

 

Et concernant Spartan Financial Inc.

Ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir d’exercer une activité sans permis


À : 
 
Spartan Financial Inc.
213, promenade Cumming 
Barrie (Ontario)  L4N 0S8
 
Le 1er décembre 2015, le surintendant des services financiers (le « surintendant ») a émis un avis d’intention d’imposer une ordonnance de conformité pour cesser et s’abstenir d’exercer une activité sans permis (l’« avis ») contre Spartan Financial Inc. (« Spartan ») conformément au paragraphe 35(3) de la Loi.
 
Spartan disposait de 15 jours, après la signification de l’avis, pour demander une audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers (le « Tribunal »), conformément aux paragraphes 35(3) et 35(4) de la Loi.
 
Le registraire du Tribunal a confirmé qu’aucune demande d’audience n’avait été reçue de Spartan ou de quiconque en son nom relativement à l’intention d’imposer une ordonnance de conformité pour cesser et s’abstenir d’exercer une activité sans permis.
 
Le paragraphe 35(6) de la Loi prévoit que le surintendant peut donner suite à son intention d’imposer une ordonnance de conformité lorsqu’aucune audience n’a été demandée.


Ordonnance

 
Il est ordonné que Spartan Financial Inc. :
 
  1. cesse immédiatement de solliciter des personnes ou des entités pour qu’elles contractent des emprunts d’argent ou qu’elles consentent des prêts d’argent garantis sur des biens immeubles en Ontario, ou de donner l’impression de le faire, notamment par la désactivation du site Web http://spartanfinancial.ca (en anglais seulement) et d’autre contenu Internet ou de médias sociaux, y compris, sans en exclure d’autres, Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn et YouTube;
  2. cesse immédiatement d’exercer toute autre activité de courtage d’hypothèques au sens du paragraphe 2(1) de la Loi.
Prenez avis que, conformément aux paragraphes 48(4) et 49(1) et (2) de la Loi, quiconque n’observe pas une ordonnance prévue par la Loi est coupable d’une infraction, et le particulier reconnu coupable d’une infraction à la Loi, est passible d’une amende maximale de 100 000 $, d’une peine d’emprisonnement de un an au maximum, ou d’une amende et d’une peine d’emprisonnement à la fois. Toute société reconnue coupable d’une infraction à la Loi est passible d’une amende maximale de 200 000 $.

En vertu du paragraphe 48(5) de la Loi, les dirigeants ou administrateurs d’une société ayant perpétré une infraction au titre de la Loi et qui l’ont ordonnée ou autorisée, qui y ont consenti ou participé, ou qui n’ont pas pris de précaution raisonnable pour empêcher la société de la commettre sont coupables d’une infraction, que la société ait été ou non poursuivie ou déclarée coupable.

Selon les termes du paragraphe 48(6), sont coupables d’une infraction les associés d’une société de personnes et les particuliers membres de l’instance dirigeante d’une entité qui n’est pas une personne ou une société de personnes, qui ont ordonné ou autorisé la commission, par la société de personnes ou l’entité, d’un acte ou d’une omission, laquelle constituerait une infraction à la Loi si elle était le fait d’une personne, qui y ont consenti ou participé.

If you would like to receive this order in English, please send your request immediately to: Assistant, Hearings, Registry, Financial Services Commission of Ontario, 5160 Yonge Street, P.O. Box 85, Toronto ON M2N 6L9.

Ordonnance datée du 23 décembre 2015 à Toronto, en Ontario.
 
Document original signé par Anatol Monid

pour  
Brian Mills
Surintendant des services financiers