Notice of Proposed Cease And Desist Order and Interim Cease and Desist Order Against Roland Spiegel

REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990, Chapter I.8, as amended, in particular sections 31(1), 438, 441(2) and 441(4), and Ontario Regulation 7/00, in particular section 1¶1

AND REGARDING a Proposed Cease and Desist Order against Roland Spiegel

AND REGARDING an Interim Cease and Desist Order against Roland Spiegel

NOTICE OF PROPOSED CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

and

INTERIM CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

The Superintendent of Financial Services ("Superintendent") is of the opinion that Roland Spiegel has committed and is committing unfair or deceptive acts or practices while acting as a statutory accident benefit representative. The particulars are set out in the Report of the Superintendent appended as Appendix "A" to this Notice.

TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to section 441(2) of the Insurance Act (the "Act")  the Superintendent intends to order Roland Spiegel to:

A. cease carrying on business as a statutory accident benefit representative;

B. cease providing to anyone any service related to a claim for statutory accident benefits, whether or not a fee is charged for such services;

C. cease advertising or holding out to the public that services of any kind relating to claims for statutory accident benefits are offered or provided, whether or not a fee is charged for such services; and,

D. immediately notify in writing all clients of Roland Spiegel who have claims for statutory accident benefits that Roland Spiegel, and any of his agents or representatives, can no longer act for them, and provide them with a copy of the cease and desist order; and provide copies of every notification sent to each client to the Superintendent forthwith.

NOTE

WITHIN 15 DAYS after receiving this Notice, you may request in writing that the Financial Services Tribunal hold a hearing on whether or not a cease and desist order should be issued.

IF NO HEARING IS REQUESTED within 15 days, the Superintendent may make a cease and desist order in accordance with this notice, which shall take effect on the date set out in the order.

A request for a hearing should be directed, in writing, to:

Financial Services Tribunal
5160 Yonge Street
Box 85
Toronto, Ontario
M2N 6L9                                 

Attention: Rhonda Booth, Registrar  Fax: 416.226.7750

 

INTERIM CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

Pursuant to section 441(4) of the Act, if the Superintendent is of the opinion that the interest of the public may be prejudiced or adversely affected by any delay in the issuance of a permanent order, the Superintendent, without prior notice, may make an interim order which shall take effect immediately and which shall become permanent unless within 15 days of receipt of the interim order the named person requests a hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal.

The Superintendent is of the opinion that the interest of the public may be prejudiced or adversely affected by any delay in the issuance of a permanent order for the following reasons:

1.         A statutory accident benefit representative is obliged under the Code of Conduct for Statutory Accident Benefit Representatives to respond to a request for information from the Financial Services Commission of Ontario ("FSCO") fully and promptly.  This is a critical requirement in the regime that allows individuals to be exempted from the prohibition set out in section 398 of the Act, and allows them to act as statutory accident benefit representatives ("SABS representatives").  

2.         Despite being advised about the serious allegations against him, and despite repeated requests since January 8, 2006 for information about the allegations and a request to review his files, Roland Spiegel has not provided any information or documentation to date. Spiegel’s failure to comply with FSCO’s demands strikes at the very heart of  the regime to ensure confidence in the automobile insurance system.

3.         On October 16, 2006, the Divisional Court confirmed a decision of the Financial Services Tribunal which held that it is an unfair or deceptive act or practice for  a SABS representative not to disclose information or documents that the Superintendent has requested under section 31(1) of the Act or section 440 of the Act. The Divisional Court specifically held that a SABS representative has a duty under those sections to disclose information and documents, because a SABS representative is engaged in the business of insurance. 

4.         A FSCO investigator informed Spiegel of the decision of the Divisional Court in March2007.  Spiegel still refused to disclose the information and documents that the Superintendent requested under section 31(1) of the Act.

5.         Spiegel engaged in, and continues to engage in, an unfair or deceptive act or practice by failing to comply with the Superintendent’s request under section 31(1) of the Act for disclosure of information and documents.

Effective this date, pursuant to section 441(4) of the Act, the Superintendent orders that Roland Spiegel:

A. Immediately cease carrying on business as a statutory accident benefit representative;

B. Immediately cease providing to anyone any service related to a claim for statutory accident benefits, whether or not a fee is charged for such services;

C. Immediately cease advertising or holding out to the public that services of any kind relating to claims for statutory accident benefits are offered or provided, whether or not a fee is charged for such services; and

D. Immediately notify in writing all clients of Roland Spiegel who have claims for statutory accident benefits that Roland Spiegel, and any of his agents or representatives, can no longer act for them, and provide them with a copy of the Interim Cease and Desist Order; and provide copies of every notification sent to each client to the Superintendent forthwith.

AND FURTHER TAKE NOTICE THAT the above Interim Cease and Desist Order shall become permanent on the 15th day after you receive it, unless within 15 days a written request for a hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal is made.

AND FURTHER TAKE NOTICE THAT if a hearing is requested, the Superintendent may extend the Interim Cease and Desist Order until the hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal is concluded.

AND FURTHER TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(2)(b) of the Act  provides that any person who fails to comply with any order made under the Act is guilty of an offence, and section 447(3) of the Act provides that a person convicted of an offence under the Act is liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

ISSUED AT the City of Toronto, August 16, 2007

____________________________
Robert Christie
Superintendent of Financial Services

TO:

Roland Spiegel
27 Vanity Crescent
Richmond Hill ON L4B 4E6

Avis d'intention de rendre une ordonnance de cesser et de s'abstenir et ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s'abstenir contre Roland Spiegel

RELATIVEMENT à la Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O. 1990, chap. I.8, tel qu’il est modifié, notamment à l’article 438, aux paragraphes 31(1), 441(2) et 441(4) et au Règlement de l’Ontario 7/00, notamment au paragraphe1(1).
 

ET RELATIVEMENT à l’intention de rendre une ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir contre Roland Spiegel
 

ET RELATIVEMENT à une ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir contre Roland Spiegel  

 

AVIS D'INTENTION DE RENDRE UNE ORDONNANCE DE CESSER ET DE S'ABSTENIR

et

ORDONNANCE PROVISOIRE DE CESSER ET DE S'ABSTENIR

 

 

Le surintendant des services financiers (le «surintendant») est d’avis que Roland Spiegel a commis, et commet, des actes ou des pratiques malhonnêtes ou mensongers en agissant en qualité de représentant de personnes ayant droit à des indemnités d’accident légales. Les détails figurent dans le Rapport du surintendant joint au présent avis sous le titre Annexe «A».
 
PRENEZ AVIS QUE, conformément au paragraphe 441(2) de la Loi sur les assurances (la «Loi»), le surintendant a l’intention d’ordonner à Roland Spiegel:
 
A. de cesser d’exercer des activités de représentant en matière d’indemnités d’accident légales;
 
B. de cesser d’offrir à quiconque quelque service que ce soit qui touche une demande en matière d’indemnités d’accident légales, que ces services soient rendus moyennant contribution ou non;
 
C. de cesser d’annoncer ou de faire croire au public, de quelque manière que ce soit, que des services de quelque nature que ce soit relatifs à des demandes en matière d’indemnités d’accident légales sont offerts ou fournis, que ces services soient rendus moyennant contribution ou non;
 
D. d’informer immédiatement par écrit tous les clients de Roland Spiegel qui ont des demandes d’indemnités d’accident légales que Roland Spiegel et ses agents ou représentants ne peuvent plus les représenter; de leur remettre une copie de l’ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir; et de remettre sans délai au surintendant une copie de l'avis envoyé à chaque client.
 

REMARQUE

 

DANS LES QUINZE (15) JOURS qui suivent la réception du présent avis, vous pouvez demander par écrit au Tribunal des services financiers de tenir une audience sur la pertinence d’émettre une ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir.

SI AUCUNE AUDIENCE N’EST DEMANDÉE
dans le délai imparti, le surintendant peut rendre une ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir conformément au présent avis, qui prendra effet à la date indiquée dans l’ordonnance.
 
Toute demande d’audience doit être adressée par écrit au :
 
Tribunal des services financiers
5160, rue Yonge
Boîte postale 85
Toronto ONM2N 6L9
 
À l’attention de: Rhonda Booth, greffière - Télécopieur: 416-226-7750
 
ORDONNANCE PROVISOIRE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR
 
Conformément au paragraphe 441(4) de la Loi, si, de l’avis du surintendant, tout retard dans la délivrance d’une ordonnance permanente risque de porter atteinte ou de nuire à l’intérêt public, le surintendant peut, sans avis préalable, rendre une ordonnance provisoire qui prend effet dès qu’elle est rendue et qui devient permanente le 15e jour suivant celui où elle est rendue, sauf si la personne visée présente, dans ce délai, une demande d’audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers.
 
Le surintendant est d’avis que tout retard dans la délivrance d’une ordonnance permanente risque de porter atteinte ou de nuire à l’intérêt public pour les raisons suivantes:
 
  1. L’obligation imposée aux représentants de personnes ayant droit à des indemnités d’accident légales, telle qu’énoncée dans le Code de conduite des représentants de personnes ayant droit à des indemnités d’accident, de répondre sans réserve et promptement à une demande de renseignements de la Commission des services financiers de l'Ontario (la «CSFO») est une exigence fondamentale du régime qui permet aux particuliers d'être exemptés de l’interdiction figurant à l’article 398 de la Loi, et leur permet d’agir en qualité de représentants («représentants aux fins de l’AIAL»).
  2. Bien qu'il ait été informé des graves allégations portées contre lui, et qu'on lui ait demandé à de nombreuses reprises depuis le 8 janvier 2006 de s'expliquer sur ces allégations et de présenter ses dossiers pour examen, Roland Spiegel n'a, à ce jour, fourni aucun renseignement ni document. Le défaut de M. Spiegel de se conformer aux demandes de la CSFO viole l'essence même du régime qui vise à assurer la confiance dans le système d'assurance automobile.
  3. Le 16 octobre 2006, la Cour divisionnaire de l’Ontario a confirmé une décision du Tribunal des services financiers selon laquelle un représentant aux fins de l’AIAL  commet un acte ou une pratique malhonnêtes ou mensongers en ne fournissant pas les renseignements ou les documents demandés par le surintendant aux termes du paragraphe 31(1) de la Loi ou de l’article 440 de la Loi. La Cour divisionnaire a  précisément jugé que le représentant aux fins de l’AIAL a l’obligation, conformément à ces articles de la Loi, de fournir des renseignements et des documents puisqu’il effectue des opérations d’assurance.
  4. Un enquêteur de la CSFO a informé M. Spiegel de la décision de la Cour divisionnaire enmars 2007.M. Spiegel refuse toujours de fournir les renseignements et les documents que lui demande le surintendant en vertu de l’article 31(1) de la Loi.
  5. M. Spiegel a commis et continue de commettre un acte ou une pratique malhonnêtes et mensongers en refusant de se conformer à la demande du surintendant de fournir des renseignements et des documents en vertu de l’article 31(1) de la Loi.
En date d’aujourd’hui, conformément au paragraphe 441(4) de la Loi, le surintendant ordonne à Roland Spiegel:
 
A. de cesser immédiatement d’agir en qualité de représentant de personnes ayant droit à des indemnités d’accident légales;
 
B. de cesser immédiatement d’offrir à quiconque quelque service que ce soit qui touche une demande en matière d’indemnités d’accident légales, que ces services soient rendus moyennant contribution ou non;
 
C. de cesser immédiatement d’annoncer ou de faire croire au public, de quelque manière que ce soit, que des services de quelque nature que ce soit relatifs à des demandes en matière d’indemnités d’accident légales sont offerts ou fournis, que ces services soient rendus moyennant contribution ou non;
 
D. d’informer immédiatement par écrit tous les clients de Roland Spiegel qui ont des demandes d’indemnités d’accident légales que Roland Spiegel et ses agents ou représentants ne peuvent plus les représenter; de leur remettre une copie de l’ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir; et de remettre sans délai au surintendant une copie de l'avis envoyé à chaque client.
 
ET PRENEZ AVIS QUE cette ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir deviendra permanente à moins qu'une demande d’audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers ne soit présentée par écrit dans les quinze (15) jours suivant la réception du présent avis.
 
ET PRENEZ AVIS QUE si une demande d’audience est présentée, le surintendant peut prolonger les effets de l’ordonnance provisoire tant que l’audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers n’est pas terminée.
 
ET PRENEZ AVIS QUE, selon l’alinéa 447(2)b) de la Loi, les personnes qui ne se conforment pas aux ordonnances rendues aux termes de la Loi sont coupables d'une infraction et passibles d’une amende d’au plus 100000$ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200000$ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 
FAIT À Toronto, le 16 août 2007
 
__________________________
Robert Christie
Surintendant des services financiers

À L’ATTENTION DE :
 
Roland Spiegel
27 Vanity Crescent
Richmond Hill ON L4B 4E6