Cease and Desist Order Against State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance

REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990,
Chapter I.8, as amended, in particular section 441.

AND REGARDING State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company.

CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

On December 8, 2005, the Superintendent of Financial Services ("Superintendent") issued a Notice of Proposed Cease and Desist Order as he was of the opinion that State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company ("State Farm") committed an unfair or deceptive act or practice by charging rates for coverages or categories of automobile insurance that were not approved by the Superintendent.

On December 8, 2005, State Farm was served with a copy of the Notice of Proposed Cease and Desist Order. The Insurance Act ("the Act") provides that within 15 days after receiving the Notice, a person may request a hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal. In a letter dated December 8, 2005, State Farm waived its right to a hearing.

TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to section 441(7) of the Act, the Superintendent orders State Farm to:

(A) Reimburse all affected policyholders (both current and former policyholders) in a manner acceptable to the Superintendent. The plan for reimbursement shall include the following features:

(i) Affected policyholders shall be reimbursed the amount that was paid in excess of the approved rate, interest at a rate of 5% from the time of overpayment to the time of reimbursement and any refund required for overpayment of Ontario Sales Tax.

(ii) Reimbursement shall be by means cheque and/or credit to the policyholder’s account.

(iii) In any case where the address of a former policyholder is unavailable or a cheque sent to a policyholder remains uncashed after a specified date, the reimbursement amount shall be donated to charity.

(iv) At the conclusion of the reimbursement process, State Farm shall provide the Superintendent with a written report containing details of its compliance with the reimbursement plan.

(B) On or before February 28, 2006, State Farm shall:

(i) Provide written confirmation to the Superintendent that its Chief Agent and Senior Vice-President for Canada is satisfied that State Farm’s written internal control procedures with respect to its operating processes have been reviewed and amended so that the deficiencies that resulted in, or permitted, the charging of unapproved rates have been appropriately addressed.

(ii) Establish and implement written internal control procedures, acceptable to the Superintendent, which shall ensure that a senior company official, with appropriate authority, will be given the responsibility and adequate resources to oversee the receipt, investigation and response to inquiries, complaints and concerns made by agents or policyholders involving rates, classification and billing.

TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(2) of the Act provides that any person who fails to comply with any order made under the Act is guilty of an offence and liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

AND FURTHER TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(4) of the Act provides that every director, officer, and chief agent of a corporation who caused, authorized, permitted or participated in a corporation committing an offence, or who fails to take reasonable care to prevent a corporation from committing an offence, is also guilty of an offence and is liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

ISSUED AT the City of Toronto, December 9, 2005

 

______________________________________
Robert Christie
Chief Executive Officer and
Superintendent of Financial Services

TO:

Mr. Bob Cooke
State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company.
Senior Vice-President and Chief Agent for Canada
100 Consilium Place, Suite 102
Scarborough ON M1H 3G

Ordonnance de cesser et de s'abstenir contre State Farm Mutual Automobile Assurance

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O. 1990, Chap. I.8, telle que modifiée, et en particulier l’article 441;
 

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la compagnie State Farm Mutual Automobile Assurance.

 
ORDONNANCE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR
 
Le 8 décembre 2005, le surintendant des services financiers (le « surintendant ») a émis un avis de proposition d’ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir parce qu’il était d’avis que la compagnie State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance (« State Farm ») avait commis des actes ou pratiques malhonnêtes ou mensongers en facturant par inadvertance des taux pour des couvertures ou des catégories d’assurance-automobile qui n’étaient pas approuvés par le surintendant.
 
Le 8 décembre 2005, State Farm a reçu copie de l’avis de proposition d’ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir. La Loi sur les assurances (la « Loi ») prévoit qu’une personne peut, dans les quinze (15) jours qui suivent la réception de l’avis, demander une audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers. Dans une lettre datée du 8 décembre 2005, State Farm a renoncé à son droit à une audience.
 
PRENEZ AVIS QUE, conformément au paragraphe 441 (2) de la Loi, le surintendant ordonne à State Farm de :
 
A) rembourser tous les titulaires de polices touchés (les titulaires actuels comme les anciens titulaires) d’une manière jugée acceptable par le surintendant. Le plan de remboursement doit inclure les modalités suivantes :
 
i) Les titulaires de polices seront remboursés du montant payé en excédent du taux approuvé, de l'intérêt au taux de 5 pour 100 (de la date où ils ont effectué le paiement excédentaire à la date du remboursement), et de tout remboursement auquel ils ont droit pour le trop-payé en taxe de vente de l'Ontario.
 
ii) Le remboursement prendra la forme d'un chèque ou d'un crédit porté au compte du titulaire de la police.
 
iii) Lorsqu'on n’a pas l’adresse d’un ancien titulaire de police ou que le chèque envoyé à un titulaire de police n’est pas encaissé passée une certaine date, le remboursement et l'intérêt seront remis à une œuvre de bienfaisance.
Page 2 de 3
 
iv) Lorsque le remboursement aura été effectué, State Farm devra fournir au surintendant un rapport écrit expliquant en détail comment la compagnie s'est conformée au plan de remboursement.
 
B) Au plus tard le 28 février 2006, State Farm doit :
 
i) fournir au surintendant la confirmation écrite que son mandataire principal et premier vice-président pour le Canada est convaincu que les procédures de contrôle internes écrites de State Farm en matière de processus d'exploitation ont été revues et modifiées, et que les irrégularités qui ont entraîné, ou permis, la facturation de taux non approuvés sont réglées de façon appropriée.
 
ii) élaborer et mettre en œuvre place des procédures de contrôle internes écrites¸ jugées acceptables par le surintendant, prévoyant qu'un cadre supérieur de la compagnie ayant l'autorité requise ait la responsabilité et les ressources nécessaires pour superviser la réception des demandes de renseignements, des plaintes et des préoccupations des agents et titulaires de polices visant les taux, la classification et la facturation, et s'assurer que des enquêtes sont menées et des réponses fournies.
 
PRENEZ AVIS QUE, selon l’alinéa 447 2) b) de la Loi, les personnes qui ne se conforment pas aux ordonnances rendues aux termes de la présente loi sont coupables d'une infraction et passibles d’une amende d’au plus 100 000 $ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200 000 $ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 
ET PRENEZ AVIS QUE, selon le paragraphe 447 (4) de la Loi, les administrateurs, dirigeants et mandataires principaux d’une personne morale qui ont causé, autorisé ou permis la perpétration d’une infraction par la personne morale, ou qui y ont participé, ou qui n’ont pas pris les soins raisonnables afin d’empêcher la perpétration d’une infraction par la personne morale, sont aussi coupables d’une infraction et passibles d’une amende d’au plus 100 000 $ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200 000 $ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 
FAIT DANS la ville de Toronto, le 9 décembre 2005.

 

 
______________________________________
Robert Christie
Directeur général et surintendant des services financiers
 
À L'ATTENTION DE :
 
M. Bob Cooke
Compagnie State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance
Premier vice-président et mandataire principal pour le Canada
100, Consilium Place, Suite 102
Scarborough ON M1H 3G