Cease and Desist Order Against State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company

REGARDING the Automobile Insurance Rate Stabilization Act, 2003, S.O. 2003, c. 9 and the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990, Chapter I.8, as amended, in particular section 441                                               

AND REGARDING State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company

CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

The Superintendent of Financial Services ("Superintendent") is of the opinion that State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company ("State Farm") committed an unfair or deceptive act or practice by charging rates for coverages or categories of automobile insurance, regarding the application of the Graduated License Discount (GLD") and the Driver Inexperience Factor ("DIF"), that were not approved by the Superintendent.

State Farm waives the procedural requirements under section 441(2) of the Insurance Act ("Act") for a Notice of Intention to make an order and its right under section 441(3) to request a hearing.

TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to section 441(7) of the Act, and with the consent of State Farm, the Superintendent hereby orders that State Farm:

(A) Refund all current and former policyholders who were overcharged ("eligible policyholders") by a date and in a manner acceptable to the Superintendent.  The plan for refunding shall include the following features:   

(i) Eligible policyholders shall be refunded the amount that was paid in excess of the approved rate plus interest of 5% calculated annually from the date of the payment for the policy to the date the refund is issued.

(ii) Reimbursement shall be by means of a cheque and/or credit to the policyholder’s account. A letter in a form approved by the Superintendent shall be sent to the policyholder to explain why the policyholder received the refund.

(iii)State Farm shall begin to issue refund amounts on January 2, 2008, to eligible policyholders. Refunds are to be issued before, or at the latest on, July 1, 2008, including situations as outlined in paragraph A(iv) below.

(iv) In any case where the address of a former eligible policyholder is unavailable or a cheque sent to a policyholder is returned, State Farm will contact the policyholder’s agent to determine whether a valid address can be obtained or attempt to locate a new address from publicly available sources, on or before July 1, 2008.  If a valid address can be obtained, the refund cheque will be sent to that address before or at the latest on July 1, 2008.

(v) The amount, if any, representing the value of cheques that, as of December 31, 2008, have been sent and remain uncashed, or have been determined to be undeliverable, will be donated to charity.

(vi) State Farm shall maintain a database in and/or through which all accounting of funds in connection with this Order shall be administered, including full reconciliations of refunds payable, refunds paid, refunds outstanding (as applicable), and the amounts representing refund cheques that remain uncashed or are determined to be undeliverable in connection with this Order, including the total amount donated to charity (as outlined in paragraph A(v), above).

(B) State Farm shall not take any steps to recover amounts from current and former policyholders who were undercharged in connection with the misapplication of the GLD and DIF. 

(C) On or before December 31, 2008, State Farm shall provide the Superintendent with a written report specifying the details of its compliance with the plan for refunding in this Order, including a full reconciliation of the refunds payable, the refunds paid and the amounts that remain uncashed or are determined to be undeliverable. The report shall also address any other information relevant to compliance with the plan for refunding.

(D)On November 1, 2007, State Farms’ Chief Agent and Senior Vice President for Canada confirmed to the Superintendent, and the Superintendent accepted, that he is satisfied that:

(a) State Farm’s internal controls with respect to its operating processes have been reviewed and amended so that the deficiencies that resulted in, or permitted, the charging of unapproved rates when applying the GLD and DIF have been appropriately corrected; 

(b) State Farm’s internal control procedures include sufficient controls and checks to minimize or eliminate errors when manual intervention is required for the purposes of rating, classification and billing.State Farm will report the above confirmation to its Board of Directors, by way of its annual compliance reporting mechanism.

TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(2)(b) of the Act provides that any person who fails to comply with any order made under the Act is guilty of an offence and liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

AND FURTHER TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(4) of the Act provides that every director, officer and chief agent of a corporation who caused, authorized, permitted or participated in a corporationcommitting an offence, or who fails to take reasonable care to prevent a corporation from committing an offence, is also guilty of an offence and is liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

ISSUED AT Toronto, Ontario, this 20th day of December,  2007

 

Robert Christie
Chief Executive Officer and
Superintendent of Financial Services

TO:     

State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company
333 First Commercial Drive
Aurora, Ontario  L4G 8A4

Attention:         

Mr. Robert Cooke, Chief Agent and Senior Vice President for Canada

Ignorer les commandes du Ruban
Passer au contenu principal

Ordonnance de cesser et de s'abstenir contre State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi de 2003 sur la stabilisation des taux d’assurance-automobile, L.O.2003, chap.9 et de la Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O.1990, chapitre I.8, telle que modifiée, et en particulier l’article 441;
 

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la compagnie d’assurance State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company.
 

ORDONNANCE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR
  
Le surintendant des services financiers (le «surintendant») est d’avis que la compagnie d’assurance State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company («State Farm ») a commis un acte ou une pratique malhonnêtes ou mensongers en facturant des taux pour des couvertures ou des catégories d’assurance-automobile qui n’étaient pas approuvés par le surintendant, lors de l’application du rabais pour permis progressif et du supplément pour conducteur inexpérimenté.  
 
State Farm a renoncé aux exigences procédurales du paragraphe 441(2) de la Loi sur les assurances (la «Loi»), prévoyant la remise d’un avis d’intention de rendre une ordonnance, ainsi qu’à son droit de demander une audience en vertu du paragraphe 441(3).
 
PRENEZ AVIS QUE, conformément au paragraphe 441(7) de la Loi, et avec le consentement de State Farm, le surintendant ordonne ce qui suit par la présente:
 
A) State Farm remboursera tous les titulaires actuels et anciens titulaires de polices auxquels elle a facturé un excédent de prime (les «titulaires de polices touchés»), dans un délai et d’une manière jugés acceptables par le surintendant. Le plan de remboursement doit comporter les modalités suivantes: 
 
i) Les titulaires de polices touchés seront remboursés du montant payé en sus du taux approuvé, augmenté d’intérêts calculés au taux annuel de 5 pour 100, courant de la date du paiement de la prime à la date où est effectué le remboursement.
 
ii)Le remboursement s’effectuera au moyen d’un chèque ou d’un crédit porté au compte du titulaire de police. Une lettre d’un libellé approuvé par le surintendant sera envoyée aux titulaires de police pour leur expliquer le motif du remboursement.
 
iii) State Farm entreprendra de rembourser les titulaires de polices touchés le 2 janvier 2008 et l’opération devra être terminée au plus tard le 1er juillet 2008, y compris pour ce qui est des situations évoquées au paragraphe A iv) ci-dessous.
 
iv) Lorsque l’adresse d’un ancien titulaire de police touché est inconnue ou qu’un chèque envoyé à un titulaire de police est renvoyé, Sate Farm contactera l’agent du titulaire de police pour savoir s’il connaît l’adresse actuelle de ce dernier ou s’efforcera de la trouver à partir des sources à la disposition du public, et ce d’ici au 1er juillet 2008. Le chèque de remboursement sera alors envoyé à cette adresse, le 1er juillet 2008 au plus tard.
 
v) Le montant correspondant à la valeur des chèques envoyés et n’ayant pas été encaissés au 31 décembre 2008, ou jugés impossibles à livrer à leur destinataire, sera versé à des œuvres de bienfaisance.
 
vi) State Farm constituera une base de données dans laquelle seront comptabilisés tous les fonds en rapport avec la présente ordonnance et où figureront, notamment, des rapprochements complets des remboursements dus, des remboursements versés, des remboursements en suspens (selon le cas), et les montants des chèques de remboursement non encaissés ou jugés impossibles à livrer à leur destinataire, y compris le montant total versé à des œuvres de bienfaisance, comme le prévoit le paragraphe A v) ci-dessus.
 
B) State Farm s’abstiendra de toute mesure visant à récupérer auprès de titulaires actuels ou d’anciens titulaires de polices des moins-perçus résultant de la mauvaise application du rabais pour permis progressif et du supplément pour conducteur inexpérimenté.
 
C) Le 31 décembre 2008 au plus tard, State Farm fournira au surintendant un rapport écrit expliquant en détail comment la compagnie s’est conformée au plan de remboursement prévu dans la présente ordonnance et comportant, notamment, un rapprochement complet des remboursements dus, des remboursements versés et des montants des chèques non encaissés ou jugés impossibles à livrer à leur destinataire. Ce rapport fournira également tous les autres renseignements utiles en rapport avec le respect du plan de remboursement. 
 
D) Le 1er novembre 2007, le mandataire principal et premier vice-président de State Farm pour le Canada a confirmé au surintendant, lequel a accepté sa déclaration, qu’il est convaincu que:
 
a) les contrôles internes en rapport avec les processus d’exploitation de State Farm ont été  revus et modifiés de façon à remédier aux déficiences qui ont entraîné ou permis la facturation de taux non approuvés, lors de l’application du rabais pour permis progressif et du supplément pour conducteur inexpérimenté;
 
b) les contrôles et vérifications que prévoient les procédures de contrôle interne de Sate Farm sont suffisants pour réduire au minimum, voire éliminer, les erreurs découlant d’une intervention manuelle à des fins de tarification, de classement et de facturation. 
 
State Farm informera son conseil d’administration de la confirmation ci-dessus par le biais de son rapport annuel sur les questions de conformité.
 
PRENEZ AVIS QUE, selon l’alinéa 447 (2) b) de la Loi, les personnes qui ne se conforment pas aux ordonnances rendues aux termes de la présente loi sont coupables d'une infraction et passibles d’une amende d’au plus 100 000 $ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200 000 $ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 
ET PRENEZ AVIS QUE, selon le paragraphe 447 (4) de la Loi, les administrateurs, dirigeants et mandataires principaux d’une personne morale qui ont causé, autorisé ou permis la perpétration d’une infraction par la personne morale, ou qui y ont participé, ou qui n’ont pas pris les soins raisonnables afin d’empêcher la perpétration d’une infraction par la personne morale, sont aussi coupables d’une infraction et passibles d’une amende d’au plus 100 000 $ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200 000 $ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 
FAIT DANS la ville de Toronto, le 20 décembre 2007.
 
______________________________________
Robert Christie
Directeur général et surintendant des services financiers
 
DESTINATAIRE :
      
State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company
333 First Commercial Drive
Aurora ON  L4G 8A4
 
À L'ATTENTION DE :
 
M. Robert Cooke, mandataire principal et premier vice-président pour le Canada