Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Cease and Desist Order against Summit Underwriting Group Inc., carrying on business as Summit Underwriting Group, and Jared Howard Clarke

​REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. I.8, as amended (the "Act"), in particular section 441

 

AND REGARDING a Proposed Cease and Desist Order against Summit Underwriting Group Inc., carrying on business as Summit Underwriting Group, and Jared Howard Clarke.

 

CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

 
Pursuant to section 441(2) of the Act, if the Superintendent of Financial Services (the "Superintendent") is of the opinion that a person has committed, or is committing, any act, or has pursued, or is pursuing, any course of conduct that is an unfair or deceptive act or practice, or might reasonably be expected to result in a state of affairs that would constitute an unfair or deceptive act or practice, the Superintendent may give notice in writing of his intention to order any person to cease or refrain from doing any act, or pursuing any course of conduct, identified by the Superintendent or to perform such acts that, in the opinion of the Superintendent, are necessary to remedy the situation.  Within 15 days of receiving the Notice, a person may request in writing that the Financial Services Tribunal hold a hearing before the Superintendent takes any action described in the Notice.
 
Pursuant to sections 441(2) and 441(4) of the Act, the Superintendent issued a Notice of Proposed Cease and Desist Order and Interim Cease and Desist Order on March 30, 2011.  Summit Underwriting Group Inc., carrying on business as Summit Underwriting Group, and Jared Howard Clarke were served with the Notice on March 31, 2011.
 
Summit Underwriting Group Inc., carrying on business as Summit Underwriting Group, and Jared Howard Clarke did not file a request for a hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal within the time allowed under the Act.
 
TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to sections 441(2), 441(4) and 441(7) of the Act, the Superintendent orders that Summit Underwriting Group Inc., carrying on business as Summit Underwriting Group, and Jared Howard Clarke, and any of their agents, representatives and successors thereof: 
 
A. Immediately cease acting as insurance agents in the Province of Ontario;
B. Immediately cease offering, or assuming to act in the negotiation of insurance in the Province of Ontario,
C. Immediately cease holding themselves out as insurance agents in the Province of Ontario.
 
AND TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(2)(b) of the Act  provides that any person who fails to comply with any order made under the Act is guilty of an offence, and section 447(3) of the Act provides that a person convicted of an offence under the Act is liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.
 
AND TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(4) of the Act provides that every director, officer and chief agent of a corporation who caused, authorized, permitted or participated in a corporation committing an offence under the Act, or who fails to take reasonable care to prevent a corporation from committing an offence under the Act, is also guilty of an offence and is liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.
 
AND TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(5) of the Act provides that where a person is convicted of an offence under the Act, the court making the conviction may, in addition to any other penalty, order the person convicted to make compensation or restitution in relation to the offence.
 
DATED at Toronto, Ontario, April 18, 2011  
 
 
Philip Howell 
Superintendent of Financial Services
 
TO:
Summit Underwriting Group Inc.
Jared Howard Clarke
205 - 232 Merton Street
Toronto, Ontario M4S 1A1

Ordonnance de cesser et de s'abstenir Summit Underwriting Group inc., exerçant ses activités sous la dénomination Summit Underwriting Group, et contre Jared Howard Clarke

DANS L’AFFAIRE de la Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O. 1990, ch. I.8, dans sa version modifiée (la «Loi»), et plus particulièrement l’article 441
 

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE d’une proposition d’ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir contre Summit Underwriting Group Inc., exerçant ses activités sous la dénomination Summit Underwriting Group, et contre Jared Howard Clarke.
 

ORDONNANCE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR
 
Conformément au paragraphe 441(2) de la Loi, si le surintendant des services financiers (le «surintendant») est d’avis qu’une personne a commis ou commet un acte, ou a suivi ou suit une ligne de conduite qui constituent un acte ou une pratique malhonnêtes ou mensongers, ou dont la poursuite risque vraisemblablement de créer une situation qui constituerait un acte ou une pratique malhonnêtes ou mensongers, il peut donner à la personne un avis écrit de son intention de rendre une ordonnance lui enjoignant de cesser ou de s’abstenir de commettre les actes ou de poursuivre la ligne de conduite qu’il précise ou de prendre les mesures qui, de l’avis du surintendant, s’imposent afin de remédier à la situation. La personne peut, dans les 15 jours de la réception de l’avis, demander par écrit que le Tribunal des services financiers tienne une audience avant que le surintendant ne prenne les mesures prévues dans l’avis.
 
Conformément aux paragraphes 441(2) et 441(4) de la Loi, le surintendant a délivré un avis de proposition d’ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir et d’ordonnance provisoire de cesser et de s’abstenir le 30 mars 2011. Summit Underwriting GroupInc., exerçant ses activités sous la dénomination Summit Underwriting Group, et Jared Howard Clarke ont reçu signification de l’avis le 31 mars 2011.
 
Summit Underwriting Group Inc., exerçant ses activités sous la dénomination Summit Underwriting Group, et Jared Howard Clarke n’ont pas déposé de demande d’audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers dans le délai prescrit par la Loi.
 
PRENEZ AVIS QUE, conformément aux paragraphes 441(2), 441 (4) et 441 (7) de la Loi, le surintendant ordonne à Summit Underwriting Group Inc., exerçant ses activités sous la dénomination Summit Underwriting Group, et à Jared Howard Clarke ainsi qu’à leurs agents, représentants et successeurs,
 
A. de cesser immédiatement d’agir comme agents d’assurances dans la province d’Ontario;
 
B. de cesser immédiatement d’offrir des assurances ou de se charger de prendre part à la négociation d’assurances dans la province d’Ontario;
 
C. de cesser immédiatement de se présenter comme des agents d’assurances dans la province d’Ontario.
 
PRENEZ ÉGALEMENT AVIS QUE, selon l’alinéa 447(2)b) les personnes qui ne se conforment pas aux ordonnances rendues aux termes de la Loi sont coupables et que, selon le paragraphe 447(3) de la Loi, sur déclaration de culpabilité pour une infraction à la Loi, les personnes reconnues coupables sont passibles d’une amende d’au plus 100000$ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200000$ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 
PRENEZ ÉGALEMENT AVIS QUE, selon le paragraphe 447(4) de la Loi, les administrateurs, dirigeants et mandataires principaux d’une personne morale qui ont causé, autorisé ou permis la perpétration d’une infraction visée à la Loi par la personne morale, ou qui y ont participé, ou qui n’ont pas pris les soins raisonnables afin d’empêcher la perpétration d’une infraction visée à la Loi par la personne morale sont aussi coupables d’une infraction et passibles d’une amende d’au plus 100000$ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200000$ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 
PRENEZ ÉGALEMENT AVIS QUE, conformément au paragraphe 447(5) de la Loi, le tribunal qui prononce la déclaration de culpabilité peut, en plus de toutes autres peines, ordonner à la personne reconnue coupable d’une infraction aux termes de la Loi de verser une indemnité ou de faire restitution en conséquence.
 
FAIT à Toronto (Ontario), le 18 avril 2011  
 
 
Philip Howell 
Surintendant des services financiers
 
À L’INTENTION DE :
 
Summit Underwriting Group Inc.
Jared Howard Clarke
205 - 232 Merton Street
Toronto (Ontario) M4S 1A1