Cease And Desist Order Against Ian Stuart-Smith And Heritage International Inc. Carrying On Business As "Surplus Lines"


REGARDING THE INSURANCE ACT,
R.S.O. 1990, CHAPTER I.8,
AS AMENDED (“the Act”)


AND REGARDING A PROPOSED CEASE AND DESIST ORDER AGAINST IAN STUART-SMITH AND HERITAGE INTERNATIONAL INC. CARRYING ON BUSINESS AS "SURPLUS LINES"

 

CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

 

BACKGROUND

On October 21, 2003,  the Superintendent of Financial Services (“Superintendent”) issued a Notice of Proposed Cease and Desist Order indicating that the Superintendent proposed making an Order against Ian Stuart-Smith and Heritage International Inc. (“respondents”). That notice was later amended on January 20, 2005.  The Notice indicated that the respondents had 15 days to request in writing a hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal.

 

On December 29, 2003, the respondents requested a hearing before the FST. However, on April 11, 2005, the respondents withdrew their request for a hearing.

 

Pursuant to subsection 441 (7) of the Insurance Act, when no request for a hearing is received, the Superintendent of Financial Services may make an order in accordance with the Notice which shall take effect on the date set out in the order. Since the respondent’s request for a hearing has been withdrawn, the Superintendent makes the following Order:

 

CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

Ian Stuart-Smith, also known as Ian Stuart and Heritage International Inc.,carrying on business under the name Surplus Lines, are ordered to:

 

A.         Immediately cease acting as insurance agents in Ontario unless and until an agent’s licence is issued under the Ontario Insurance Act or registration is granted under the Registered Insurance Brokers of Ontario Act. 

           

B.         Immediately cease engaging in securing, placing, attempting to secure, attempting to place, or negotiate, insurance coverage sought by members of the public and/or insurance agents and/or insurance brokers on behalf of the agents’ or brokers’ clients. 

 

C.        Immediately cease collecting or receiving money or anything else of value from any insurance agent, insurance broker and/or any member of the public in exchange for securing, placing, attempting to secure, attempting to place, and/or negotiating insurance coverage of any kind.

 

D.        Immediately cease in engaging in any form of advertisement or solicitation for securing, placing or negotiating the sale or renewal of any insurance policy.

           
TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(2)(b) of the Insurance Act provides that any person who fails to comply with any order made under the Act is guilty of an offence and liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

AND FURTHER TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(4) of the Insurance Act provides that every director, officer, and chief agent of a corporation who caused, authorised, permitted or participated in a corporation committing an offence, or who fails to take reasonable care to prevent a corporation from committing an offence, is also guilty of an offence and is liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

 

This Order takes effect upon the date it is signed.


ISSUED AT the City of Toronto, April, 2005

 

 

                                                                

Bryan P. Davies

Superintendent of Financial Services

 

TO:                
Mr. Ian Stuart
908 Tegal Place
Newmarket, Ontario
L3X 1L3

 

AND TO:      
Heritage International Inc.
1595 Sixteenth Ave
Richmond Hill, Ontario
L4B 3N9

Ordonnance de cesser et de s'abstenir contre Ian Stuart-Smith et Heritage International Inc., qui font affaire sous le nom de «Surplus Lines»

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE LA LOI SUR LES ASSURANCES, L.R.O. 1990, CHAPITRE I.8, TELLE QUE MODIFIÉE (LA «LOI»)

 
ET DANS L’AFFAIRE D’UNE PROPOSITION D’ORDONNANCE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR CONTRE IAN STUART-SMITH ET HERITAGE INTERNATIONAL INC., QUI FONT AFFAIRE SOUS LE NOM DE «SURPLUS LINES»

 

 
ORDONNANCE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR

 

HISTORIQUE
 
Le 21 octobre 2003, le surintendant des services financiers («surintendant») a émis un avis de proposition d’une ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir qui indiquait que le surintendant proposait de rendre une ordonnance contre Ian Stuart-Smith et Heritage International Inc. («l’intimé»). Cet avis a été modifié le 20 janvier 2005. L’avis indiquait que les intimés avaient 15jours pour demander une audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers.
 
Le 29 décembre 2003, les intimés ont demandé une audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers. Cependant, les intimés ont retiré leur demande d’audience le 11 avril 2005.
 
Conformément au paragraphe 441 (7) de la Loi sur les assurances, le surintendant peut, quant il n’y a pas eu de demande d’audience, rendre, sans avis préalable, une ordonnance conformément à l’avis, qui prendra effet à la date prévue dans l’ordonnance. Étant donné que la demande d’audience des intimés a été retirée, le surintendant rend l’ordonnance qui suit:
 
ORDONNANCE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR
 
Le surintendant ordonne à Ian Stuart-Smith, aussi connu sous le nom de Ian Stuart et de Heritage International Inc., qui fait affaire sous le nom de Surplus Lines, de:
 
A.        cesser immédiatement d’agir comme agents d’assurances en Ontario tant et aussi longtemps qu’un permis d’agent d’assurances est délivré conformément à la Loi sur les assurances de l’Ontario ou que l’inscription est accordée aux termes de la Loi sur les courtiers d’assurances inscrits de l’Ontario;
 
B.         cesser immédiatement de procurer, de souscrire, de tenter de procurer, de tenter de placer, ou de négocier, une protection d’assurances pour des membres du public ou des agents d’assurances ou des courtiers d’assurances en faveur des clients de ces agents ou courtiers;
 
C.        cesser immédiatement d’encaisser ou de percevoir de l’argent ou toute autre valeur de tout agent d’assurances, courtier en assurances ou membre du public en contrepartie de procurer, de souscrire, de tenter de procurer, de tenter de placer ou de négocier toute protection d’assurance que ce soit;
 
D.        cesser immédiatement toute forme de message publicitaire ou de sollicitation en vue de procurer, de souscrire ou de négocier la vente ou le renouvellement de toute police d’assurance;

PRENEZ AVIS QUE l’alinéa 447 (2)b) de la Loi sur les assurances prévoit que toute personne qui ne se conforme pas aux ordonnances rendues conformément à la Loi est coupable d’une infraction et est passible d’une amende d’au plus 100000$ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200000$ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 
PRENEZ DE PLUS AVIS QUE le paragraphe 447 (4) de la Loi sur les assurances prévoit que chaque administrateur, dirigeant et mandataire principal d’une personne morale qui a causé, autorisé ou permis la perpétration d’une infraction par la personne morale, ou qui n’a pas pris les soins raisonnables afin d’empêcher la perpétration d’une infraction par la personne morale, est aussi coupable d’une infraction et est passible d’une amende d’au plus 100000$ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200000$ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 
Cette ordonnance prend effet à la date de sa signature.

FAIT À Toronto, en avril 2005.
 
Bryan P. Davies
Surintendant des services financiers
 
À L’ATTENTION DE :
 
M. Ian Stuart
908, Tegal Place
Newmarket (Ontario)
L3X 1L3
 
ET À L’ATTENTION DE:
 
Heritage International Inc.
1595, Sixteenth Ave.
Richmond Hill (Ontario)
L4B 3N9