Cease and Desist Order Against Evguenia Temis, in her own right, and operating as Phoenix Assessments and as Willowdale Health Services

REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O.1990, ChapterI.8, as amended (the "Act"), in particular, sections438, 439, 441(2) and 441(7), and Ontario Regulation 7/00

AND REGARDING Evguenia Temis, in her own right, and operating as Phoenix Assessments and as Willowdale Health Services

CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

The Superintendent of Financial Services (the "Superintendent") is of the opinion that Evguenia Temis, in her own right, and operating as Phoenix Assessments and as Willowdale Health Services, committed unfair or deceptive acts or practices. 

Temis waives the procedural requirement under section 441(2) of the Act for a Notice of Intention to make an order and her right under section 441(3) to request a hearing.

TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to section 441(7) of the Act, and with the consent of Temis, the Superintendent orders that:

A. Evguenia Temis, in her own right, and operating as Phoenix Assessments and as Willowdale Health Services, cease the use of Occupational Therapist Ma Magnolia Soria’s name on any documentation submitted to insurers in respect of Statutory Accident Benefits Schedule (SABS) claims for goods or services provided to an insured, whether or not the insured received the goods or services.  Without limiting the generality of the foregoing, this includes the use of Ma Magnolia Soria’s name on an Application for Approval of an Assessment or Examination (OCF-22) and on a Treatment Plan (OCF-18).

B. Evguenia Temis, in her own right, and operating as Phoenix Assessments and as Willowdale Health Services, cease the use of the name of any health professional in documentation not prepared or approved by the health professional, including documentation relating to SABS claims.

C. On or before April 31, 2009, Evguenia Temis in her own right, and operating as Phoenix Assessments and as Willowdale Health Services shall provide a written report to the Superintendent providing the details of the steps taken to ensure compliance with this Order.  This includes internal control procedures with respect to her operating processes that have been reviewed and amended so that the deficiencies that resulted in or permitted the unauthorized use of the name of a Health Professional have been corrected.  This report shall also address any other information relevant to compliance with this Order.

AND TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(2)(b) of the Act provides that any person who fails to comply with any order made under the Act is guilty of an offence, and section 447(3) of the Act provides that a person convicted of an offence under the Act is liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

AND TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(5) of the Act provides that if a person is convicted of an offence, the court making the conviction may, in addition to any other penalty, order the person convicted to make compensation or restitution in relation to the offence.

DATED at Toronto, December 8 , 2008

 

Robert Christie
Superintendent of Financial Services

TO:       

Evguenia Temis    
4 Mica Court
Richmond Hill ON  L4C 0J5

Evguenia Temis
Phoenix Assessments
145 Sheppard Avenue East
Suite 301
Toronto ON  M2N 3A7

Evguenia Temis
Willowdale Health Services
145 Sheppard Avenue East
Suite 301
Toronto ON  M2N 3A7

AND TO:       

Robert Conway
Legal Counsel
Legal Services Branch
Financial Services Commission of Ontario
5160 Yonge Street, 17th Floor
Box 85
Toronto ON  M2N 6L9

Ignorer les commandes du Ruban
Passer au contenu principal

Ordonnance de cesser et de s'abstenir contre Evguenia Temis, exerçant des activités sous son propre nom et sous ceux de Phoenix Assessments et de Willowdale Health Services

DANS L’AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les assurances (la «Loi»), L.R.O.1990, chapitre I.8, selon sa version la plus à jour, et plus particulièrement des articles 438 et 439 et des paragraphes 441(2) et 441(7), ainsi que du Règlement de l’Ontario7/00;

 

ET DANS L’AFFAIRE D’Evguenia Temis, exerçant des activités sous son propre nom et sous ceux de Phoenix Assessments et de Willowdale Health Services.

 
ORDONNANCE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR 

 

Le surintendant des services financiers (le «surintendant») est d’avis qu’Evguenia Temis, exerçant des activités sous son propre nom et sous ceux de Phoenix Assessments et de Willowdale Health Services, s’est livrée à des actes ou des pratiques malhonnêtes ou mensongers.
 
Mme Temis renonce à l’exigence procédurale prévue au paragraphe 441(2) de la Loi concernant l’avis d’intention de rendre une ordonnance et à son droit de demander une audience en vertu du paragraphe 441(3).
 
PRENEZ AVIS QUE, conformément au paragraphe 441(7) de la Loi et avec le consentement de Mme Temis, le surintendant ordonne qu’Evguenia Temis, exerçant des activités sous son propre nom et sous ceux de Phoenix Assessments et de Willowdale Health Services:
 
A. cesse d’utiliser le nom «Occupational Therapist Ma Magnolia Soria» dans les documents présentés à des assureurs en relation avec les demandes d’indemnité prévues à l’Annexe sur les indemnités d’accident légales (AIAL) pour des biens ou des services fournis à un assuré, que ce dernier les ait ou non reçus; sans que soit limitée la portée générale de ce qui précède, cela comprend l’utilisation du nom «Ma Magnolia Soria» sur les formulaires Demande d’approbation pour une évaluation ou un examen (FDIO-22) et Programme de traitement (FDIO-18);
 
B. cesse d’utiliser le nom de tout professionnel de la santé dans les documents qui ne sont ni établis ni approuvés par le professionnel en question, y compris les documents relatifs aux demandes d’indemnité prévues à l’AIAL;
 
C. fournisse au surintendant, au plus tard le 31 avril 2009, un rapport écrit détaillant les mesures qu’elle a prises pour se conformer à la présente ordonnance, notamment les procédures de contrôle interne relatives à ses méthodes d’exploitation qui ont été examinées et modifiées de sorte que les lacunes qui ont permis l’utilisation non autorisée du nom d’un professionnel de la santé ou qui y ont donné lieu soient corrigées. Le rapport doit également inclure tout autre renseignement concernant le respect de la présente ordonnance.
 
ET PRENEZ AVIS QUE, en vertu de l’alinéa 447(2)b) de la Loi, les personnes qui ne se conforment pas aux ordonnances rendues aux termes de la Loi sont coupables d’une infraction et que, en vertu du paragraphe 447(3) de la Loi, celles qui sont reconnues coupables d’une infraction à la Loi sont passibles d’une amende d’au plus 100000$ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200000$ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 
ET PRENEZ AVIS QUE, conformément au paragraphe 447(5) de la Loi, si une personne est reconnue coupable d’une infraction, le tribunal qui prononce la déclaration de culpabilité peut, en plus de toutes autres peines, ordonner à la personne en question de verser une indemnité ou de faire restitution en conséquence.
 
FAIT DANS la ville de Toronto, le 8 décembre 2008.
 
Robert Christie
Surintendant des services financiers
 
DESTINATAIRES

 

Evguenia Temis
4 Mica Court
Richmond Hill (Ontario)  L4C 0J5
 
Evguenia Temis
Phoenix Assessments
145, avenue Sheppard Est, bureau 301
Toronto (Ontario)  M2N 3A7
 
Evguenia Temis
Willowdale Health Services
145, avenue Sheppard Est, bureau 301
Toronto (Ontario)  M2N 3A7
 
AUTRE DESTINATAIRE
 
Robert Conway
Avocat
Direction des services juridiques
Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario
5160, rue Yonge, 17 eétage
Boîte 85
Toronto (Ontario)  M2N 6L9