Cease and Desist Order Against the Western Assurance Company

REGARDING the Insurance Act, R.S.O. 1990, Chapter I.8, as amended, in particular section 441.


AND REGARDING the Western Assurance Company.


CEASE AND DESIST ORDER

On November 25, 2005, the Superintendent of Financial Services ("Superintendent") issued a Notice of Proposed Cease and Desist Order as he was of the opinion the Western Assurance Company (Western) committed an unfair or deceptive act or practice by inadvertently charging rates for coverages or categories of automobile insurance that were not approved by the Superintendent.

On November 28, 2005, Western was served with a copy of the Notice of Proposed Cease and Desist Order. The Insurance Act provides that within15 days after receiving the notice, a person may request a hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal. On November 28, 2005, Western waived its right to a hearing.

TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to section 441(2) of the Insurance Act ("the Act"), the Superintendent orders Western to:

(A) Reimburse affected policyholders in a manner acceptable to the Superintendent. The plan for reimbursement shall include the following features:

(i) On or before December 15, 2005, Western shall notify both current policyholders and those whose policies have been cancelled or terminated of their entitlement to reimbursement and the amount to be reimbursed. The amount reimbursed shall include interest.

(ii) Reimbursement shall be by means of either cheque or credit to the policyholder’s account.

(iii) In any case where the address of a former policyholder is unavailable or a cheque sent to a policyholder remains uncashed after a specified date, the reimbursement amount plus interest shall be donated to charity.

(B) On or before February 28, 2006, Western shall provide written confirmation to the Superintendent that its board of directors is satisfied that Western’s written internal control procedures with respect to system change management have been
reviewed and amended so that the deficiencies that resulted in, or permitted, the charging of unapproved rates has been appropriately addressed.

TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(2) of the Act provides that any person who fails to comply with any order made under the Act is guilty of an offence and liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

AND FURTHER TAKE NOTICE THAT section 447(4) of the Act provides that every director, officer, and chief agent of a corporation who caused, authorized, permitted or participated in a corporation committing an offence, or who fails to take reasonable care to prevent a corporation from committing an offence, is also guilty of an offence and is liable on a first conviction to a fine of not more than $100,000 and on each subsequent conviction to a fine of not more than $200,000.

ISSUED AT the City of Toronto, December 2, 2005

 

______________________________________
Robert Christie
Chief Executive Officer and
Superintendent of Financial Services

 

TO:

Mr. Rowan Saunders
President and Chief Executive Officer
Western Assurance Company
10 Wellington Street East
Toronto ON M5E 1L5

Ordonnance de cesser et de s'abstenir contre Western Assurance

DANS L'AFFAIRE DE la Loi sur les assurances, L.R.O. 1990, Chap. I.8, telle que modifiée, et en particulier l'article 441;

 

ET DANS L'AFFAIRE DE la compagnie Western Assurance

 
ORDONNANCE DE CESSER ET DE S'ABSTENIR
 
Le 25 novembre 2005, le surintendant des services financiers (le « surintendant ») a émis un avis de proposition d’ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir parce qu’il était d’avis que la compagnie Western Assurance (« Western ») avait commis des actes ou pratiques malhonnêtes ou mensongers en facturant par inadvertance des taux pour des couvertures ou des catégories d’assurance-automobile qui n’étaient pas approuvés par le surintendant.
 
Le 28 novembre 2005, Western a reçu copie de l’avis de proposition d’ordonnance de cesser et de s’abstenir. La Loi sur les assurances prévoit qu’une personne peut, dans les quinze (15) jours qui suivent la réception de l’avis, demander une audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers. Le 28 novembre 2005, Western a renoncé à son droit à une audience.
 
PRENEZ AVIS QUE, conformément au paragraphe 441 (2) de la Loi sur les assurances (la « Loi »), le surintendant ordonne à Western de :
 
A) rembourser les titulaires de polices touchés d’une manière jugée acceptable par le surintendant. Le plan de remboursement doit inclure les modalités suivantes :
 
i) Au plus tard le 15 décembre 2005, Western doit informer les titulaires de polices actuels et ceux dont la police a été annulée ou résiliée de leur droit à un remboursement et du montant qui recevront. Ce montant comprendra l'intérêt dû.
 
ii) Le remboursement prendra la forme d'un chèque ou d'un crédit porté au compte du titulaire de la police.
 
iii) Lorsqu'on n’a pas l’adresse d’un ancien titulaire de police ou que le chèque envoyé à un titulaire de police n’est pas encaissé passée une certaine date, le remboursement et l’intérêt seront remis à une œuvre de bienfaisance.
 
B) Au plus tard le 28 février 2006, Western doit fournir au surintendant la confirmation écrite que son conseil d’administration est convaincu que les procédures de contrôle internes écrites de Western en matière de gestion des changements au système ont été revues et modifiées, et que les irrégularités qui ont entraîné, ou permis, la facturation de taux non approuvés sont réglées de façon appropriée.
 
PRENEZ AVIS QUE, selon l’alinéa 447 2) b) de la Loi, les personnes qui ne se conforment pas aux ordonnances rendues aux termes de la présente loi sont coupables d'une infraction et passibles d’une amende d’au plus 100 000 $ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200 000 $ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 
ET PRENEZ AVIS QUE, selon le paragraphe 447 (4) de la Loi, les administrateurs, dirigeants et mandataires principaux d’une personne morale qui ont causé, autorisé ou permis la perpétration d’une infraction par la personne morale, ou qui y ont participé, ou qui n’ont pas pris les soins raisonnables afin d’empêcher la perpétration d’une infraction par la personne morale, sont aussi coupables d’une infraction et passibles d’une amende d’au plus 100 000 $ à la première déclaration de culpabilité et d’au plus 200 000 $ à chacune des déclarations subséquentes.
 
FAIT DANS la ville de Toronto, le 2 décembre 2005.
 
_____________________________________
Robert Christie
Directeur général et surintendant des services financiers
 
À L’ATTENTION DE :
 
M. Rowan Saunders
Président-directeur général
Compagnie Western Assurance
10, rue Wellington Est
Toronto ON M5E 1L5