Compliance Order to Cease and Desist Unlicensed Activity Against Devinder Ghuman and Mortgage Guru Inc.

REGARDING the Mortgage Brokerages, Lenders and Administrators Act, 2006, S.O. 2006, c.29 (the “Act”), in particular section 35;

 

AND REGARDING Devinder Ghuman and Mortgage Guru Inc.

ORDER TO CEASE AND DESIST UNLICENSED ACTIVITY

Devinder Ghuman is currently a licensed mortgage agent under the Act, licence number M08003666.  Devinder Ghuman is the administrator of Mortgage Guru Inc. (“Mortgage Guru”).  Mortgage Guru is not licensed under the Act. As a result of an investigation into unlicensed activity, the Superintendent of Financial Services (the “Superintendent”) was satisfied that Devinder Ghuman and Mortgage Guru contravened the Act. 

 

On February 7, 2018, the Superintendent issued a Notice of Proposal to Impose a Permanent Compliance Order to Cease and Desist Unlicensed Activity (the “Notice”) against Devinder Ghuman and Mortgage Guru pursuant to subsection 35(3) of the Act. The Notice was served on Ms. Ghuman and Mortgage Guru by personal service and regular mail on February 9, 2018.

 

Devinder Ghuman and Mortgage Guru had 15 days after service of the Notice to request a hearing before the Financial Services Tribunal (the “Tribunal”) in accordance with subsections 35(3) and 35(4) of the Act.

 

The Registrar of the Tribunal has confirmed that, as of March 5, 2018, no request for hearing has been filed by Devinder Ghuman and/or Mortgage Guru, or anyone acting on their behalf.  

 

Subsection 35(6) of the Act provides that the Superintendent may carry out the proposal to impose a compliance order when no hearing has been requested.

ORDER

IT IS ORDERED that Devinder Ghuman and Mortgage Guru Inc. are required to immediately cease dealing in mortgages through Mortgage Guru Inc. as defined in section 2(1) of the Act.

 

TAKE NOTICE THAT pursuant to subsections 48(4) and 49(1) and (2) of the Act, every person who fails to comply with an order made under this Act is guilty of an offence and every individual convicted of an offence under the Act is liable to a fine of not more than $100,000.00 or imprisonment for a term of not more than a year or both a fine and imprisonment.  Every corporation convicted of an offence under the Act is liable to a fine of not more than $200,000.00.

 

Pursuant to subsection 48(5) of the Act, every director or officer of a corporation that commits an offence under this Act who directed, authorized, assented to, acquiesced in or participated in the commission of the offence, or who failed to take reasonable care to prevent the corporation from committing the offence, is guilty of an offence, whether or not the corporation is prosecuted or convicted.

 

Subsection 48(6) provides that every partner of a partnership and every individual who is a member of the directing body of an entity, other than a person or partnership, who directed, authorized, assented to, acquiesced in or participated in the commission of an act or omission by the partnership or entity which, if committed by a person, would be an offence under the Act, is guilty of an offence.

 

Si vous désirez recevoir cet ordre en français, veuillez envoyer votre demande immédiatement à: Adjointe, audiences, Greffe, Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario, 5160 rue Yonge, boîte 85, Toronto ON M2N 6L9.

 

DATED at Toronto, Ontario, April 17, 2018.

 

Original Signed by “Michael Doi” on behalf of “Brian Mills”

 

Brian Mills

Superintendent of Financial Services

Ordonnance de cesser et de s'abstenir d'exercer une activité sans permis contre Devinder Ghuman et Mortgage Guru Inc.

RELATIVEMENT À la Loi de 2006 sur les maisons de courtage d’hypothèques, les prêteurs hypothécaires et les administrateurs d’hypothèques, L. O. 2006, chap. 29 (ci‑après la « Loi »), en particulier l’article 35;

 

ET RELATIVEMENT À Devinder Ghuman et Mortgage Guru Inc.

ORDONNANCE DE CESSER ET DE S’ABSTENIR D’EXERCER UNE ACTIVITÉ SANS PERMIS

Devinder Ghuman est actuellement titulaire d’un permis d’agent en hypothèques en vertu de la Loi (permis noM08003666). Devinder Ghuman est la gestionnaire de Mortgage Guru Inc. (ci‑après « Mortgage Guru »). Mortgage Guru n’est pas titulaire d’un permis en vertu de la Loi. À la suite d’une enquête pour activité sans permis, le surintendant des services financiers (ci‑après « le surintendant ») a été convaincu que Devinder Ghuman et Mortgage Guru enfreignaient la Loi.

 

Le 7 février 2018, le surintendant a émis un avis d’intention d’imposer une ordonnance de conformité permanente pour cesser et s’abstenir d’exercer une activité sans permis (ci‑après « l’avis ») à l’encontre de Devinder Ghuman et Mortgage Guru, conformément au paragraphe 35 (3) de la Loi. L’avis a été envoyé par courrier ordinaire et signifié à Mme Ghuman et à Mortgage Guru le 9 février 2018.

 

Devinder Ghuman et Mortgage Guru disposaient de 15 jours suivant la signification de l’avis pour demander une audience devant le Tribunal des services financiers (ci‑après le « Tribunal »), conformément aux paragraphes 35 (3) et 35 (4) de la Loi.

 

Le 5 mars 2018, le greffier du Tribunal a confirmé qu’aucune demande d’audience n’avait été reçue de la part de Devinder Ghuman ou de Mortgage Guru ni de quiconque agissant en leur nom.

 

Le paragraphe 35 (6) de la Loi prévoit que le surintendant peut donner suite à son intention d’imposer une ordonnance de conformité lorsqu’aucune demande d’audience n’est déposée.

ORDONNANCE

IL EST ORDONNÉ que Devinder Ghuman et Mortgage Guru Inc. cessent immédiatement de faire le courtage d’hypothèques par l’entremise de Mortgage Guru Inc., tel que défini au paragraphe 2 (1) de la Loi.

 

PRENEZ AVIS QUE conformément aux paragraphes 48 (4), 49 (1) et 49 (2) de la Loi, quiconque omet de se conformer à une ordonnance rendue en vertu de la Loi est coupable d’une infraction et que toute personne déclarée coupable d’une infraction en vertu de la Loi est passible d’une amende maximale de 100 000 dollars ou d’une peine d’emprisonnement pour une durée maximale d’un an, ou les deux. De même, toute société qui est déclarée coupable d’une infraction à la Loi est passible d’une amende maximale de 200 000 $.

 

En vertu du paragraphe 48 (5), tout dirigeant ou tout administrateur d’une société qui commet une infraction en vertu de la Loi, qui l’a ordonnée ou autorisée, qui y a consenti ou participé ou qui a n'a pas pris de précautions raisonnables pour empêcher la société de la commettre est coupable d’une infraction, que la société ait été ou non poursuivie ou déclarée coupable.

 

Le paragraphe 48 (6) prévoit que sont coupables d’une infraction les associés d’une société de personnes ou les particuliers membres de l’instance dirigeante d’une entité qui n’est pas une personne ou une société de personnes, qui ont ordonné ou autorisé la commission, par la société de personnes ou l’entité, d’un acte ou d’une omission, laquelle constituerait une infraction à la Loi si elle était le fait d’une personne, ou qui y ont consenti ou participé.

 

If you would like to receive this order in English, please send your request immediately to: Assistant, Hearings, Registry, Financial Services Commission of Ontario, 5160 Yonge Street, P.O. Box 85, Toronto, Ontario, M2N 6L9.

 

FAIT À Toronto (Ontario), le 17 avril 2018.

 

Original signé par Michael Doi au nom de Brian Mills

 

Brian Mills

Surintendant des services financiers